125 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Bottom

ASUS k40AB/k50AB: HD 4570 for just RM2K!, Light gaming on the cheap

GothFebrio
post Oct 7 2009, 09:52 PM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

processor, ram and hdd is not covered by asus. the warranty is by the dealer. the one who we buy with.

its ur choise to change the hdd. but the warranty will be void for the hdd only.

This post has been edited by GothFebrio: Oct 7 2009, 09:53 PM
Joshua_0718
post Oct 7 2009, 09:57 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Oct 7 2009, 09:52 PM)
processor, ram and hdd is not covered by asus. the warranty is by the dealer. the one who we buy with.

its ur choise to change the hdd. but the warranty will be void for the hdd only.
Then what is the point for global warranty?
kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 10:05 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Oct 7 2009, 08:55 PM)
i doubt the warranty for ram and hdd is with asus.. shud be under individual company.. their stickers are still there..

well.. i have my ram and hdd changed already..
QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Oct 7 2009, 09:52 PM)

mmm not sure what are the warranty terms are like.

But, well they could find fault with it

"oh, HD and rams changed, laptop was opened & meddled..warranty void. Habis cerita" , if they are mean enough
Hico
post Oct 7 2009, 10:06 PM

4,709 posts

then if let say HDD or ram faulty within 2 yrs, then where should we send the notebook to? Asus service centre or the dealer? and if you change ur hdd but b4 u claim ur waranty, u put it back again, how do they know?
kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 10:08 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Oct 7 2009, 10:06 PM)
then if let say HDD or ram faulty within 2 yrs, then where should we send the notebook to? Asus service centre or the dealer? and if you change ur hdd but b4 u claim ur waranty, u put it back again, how do they know?
to Asus service centre right away. If u send it to dealer, they will send it back to service centre too.
yeah exactly, that's why..i would recommend to keep the original HD/Rams along with it, even if u decide to upgrade.

If anything happens, juz swapped it back
Joshua_0718
post Oct 7 2009, 10:18 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 7 2009, 10:08 PM)
to Asus service centre right away. If u send it to dealer, they will send it back to service centre too.
yeah exactly, that's why..i would recommend to keep the original HD/Rams along with it, even if u decide to upgrade.

If anything happens, juz swapped it back
Yes. Based on the invoice. smile.gif
Anyway, they expected already, either these 2 only. RAM and HDD. Cause nothing else to upgrade. smile.gif
Hico
post Oct 7 2009, 10:18 PM

4,709 posts

i remembered last time i did ask the shop and he told me asus cover everything for 2 yrs except the adapter and battery only 1 yr... so i dun think the waranty for ram, hdd and processor is from dealer..suppose to send to asus service centre then the centre will go claim from the manufacturer... if those thing cover by dealer, then they also quite busy doing the replacement tongue.gif unless u upgrade the ram or HDD when u purchase, then the extra ram or HDD is cover by the dealer who you purchase and he will claim from the manufacturer...correct me if i am wrong..just my own opinion.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Hico: Oct 7 2009, 10:21 PM
Joshua_0718
post Oct 7 2009, 10:22 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Oct 7 2009, 10:18 PM)
i remembered last time i did ask the shop and he told me asus cover everything for 2 yrs except the adapter and battery only 1 yr... so i dun think the waranty for ram, hdd and processor is from dealer..suppose to send to asus service centre then the centre will go claim from the manufacturer... if those thing cover by dealer, then they also quite busy doing the replacement tongue.gif unless u upgrade the ram or HDD when u purchase, then the extra ram or HDD is cover by the dealer who you purchase and he will claim from the manufacturer...correct me if i am wrong..just my own opinion..  biggrin.gif
Dealer, reseller, retail won't want to cover the RAM and HDD themselves for sure.

Unless you willing pay more for longer & local warranty

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Oct 7 2009, 10:23 PM
Hico
post Oct 7 2009, 10:31 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 7 2009, 10:22 PM)
Dealer, reseller, retail won't want to cover the RAM and HDD themselves for sure.

Unless you willing pay more for longer & local warranty
true...even if you buy the ram or hdd from them, they will help you to claim but not waranty by them.. same like HDD first yr shop wil help you to claim..2nd yr u have to send back to the manufacturer urself oledi.. ram also the same.. tats what i did b4..send back directly to WD for my faulty HDD after 1 yr..
Joshua_0718
post Oct 7 2009, 10:38 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Oct 7 2009, 10:31 PM)
true...even if you buy the ram or hdd from them, they will help you to claim but not waranty by them.. same like HDD first yr shop wil help you to claim..2nd yr u have to send back to the manufacturer urself oledi.. ram also the same.. tats what i did b4..send back directly to WD for my faulty HDD after 1 yr..
For me I did not send to dealer at all. I directly deal with the distributor or manufacturer unless I don't have a choice at all. Much faster. Retailer something delay your RMA. doh.gif
Hico
post Oct 7 2009, 10:50 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 7 2009, 10:38 PM)
For me I did not send to dealer at all. I directly deal with the distributor or manufacturer unless I don't have a choice at all. Much faster. Retailer something delay your RMA.  doh.gif
yalo..no choice..i am not from kl..so have to depend on the shop i bought.. or else need to send by post..dangerous also if missing or anything happen during delivery.. blush.gif
Joshua_0718
post Oct 7 2009, 10:57 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Oct 7 2009, 10:50 PM)
yalo..no choice..i am not from kl..so have to depend on the shop i bought.. or else need to send by post..dangerous also if missing or anything happen during delivery..  blush.gif
If you are in Penang, it is quite convenience to contact with the distributor too. smile.gif
Hico
post Oct 7 2009, 11:01 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 7 2009, 10:57 PM)
If you are in Penang, it is quite convenience to contact with the distributor too. smile.gif
i am from east msia..tats the problem...tats why if i buy any IT product from lowyat, i will face problem when claim the waranty..so most of the thing i have to buy in my place here..and spent a bit more $$$ cry.gif
Eyern
post Oct 8 2009, 12:18 AM

102 posts

Finally got my K50AB 320GB version tongue.gif. So far I have only tried Company of Heroes with some high and low settings (no AA). Smooth and no lag at all. I wanted to upgrade the ram to 4GB but they cannot do it. They said need to unscrew the laptop. Where did you guys upgrade your rams?

kucingfight
post Oct 8 2009, 12:25 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Eyern @ Oct 8 2009, 12:18 AM)
Finally got my K50AB 320GB version tongue.gif. So far I have only tried Company of Heroes with some high and low settings (no AA). Smooth and no lag at all. I wanted to upgrade the ram to 4GB but they cannot do it. They said need to unscrew the laptop. Where did you guys upgrade your rams?
mine sharing how much u got it?

yeah easy job..jus unscrew those connecting screws that holds the cover..n plug in ram
NaGeNaZ
post Oct 8 2009, 12:26 AM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 7 2009, 04:26 PM)
NaGeNaZ has been happily whacking NFS shift all these while.  laugh.gif  , not sure which OS he's on
I'm on vista 32Bit for now, lazy want to upgrade to 7 RC since October 22 is just few weeks waiting.

This post has been edited by NaGeNaZ: Oct 8 2009, 12:28 AM
Eyern
post Oct 8 2009, 12:57 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 8 2009, 12:25 AM)
mine sharing how much u got it?

yeah easy job..jus unscrew those connecting screws that holds the cover..n plug in ram
Oh sorry forgot to mention. Bought it from Imbi at RM1950. If upgrade the ram to 4GB is RM2090. Huh? Maybe I'll try open it myself huhu. It seems the worker doesn't know how to open the cover. Even their boss also don't want to open the cover. Scared the warranty might void.

Is it okay that I changed the VGA to dGPU mode? It detects as 4570.

NaGeNaZ
post Oct 8 2009, 01:14 AM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

So hard to find 320gb K50Ab model last time. RAM price quite high now, maybe i will go for an upgrade after the price fell to less than 100.

Plus COD MW 2 coming this november 10, there is quite some reason to enjoy life for a while.

This post has been edited by NaGeNaZ: Oct 8 2009, 02:01 AM
Someonesim
post Oct 8 2009, 02:14 AM

In my way
9,132 posts

It seem everyone going for K50AB, what about K40AB ?

Lighter weight ( less 250g ), more asus utilities ( from asus website )
I dont bother 1.6" inch screen size, numpad ( maybe handful ), better price/performance ratio ( yeah but K40AB also good )

K40AB got extra utilities ( from ASUSTEK website )
Asus SmartLogon, MultiFrame, Wireless Console, Fancy Start, AI Recovery ( plus AsusPower4Gear+, Live Update, Life Frame 3 )

K50AB got Asus Power4Gear+, Live Update, Life Fram 3, Splendid )

My question were DVD come with K50AB does only provide those 4 utilities only or ?
NaGeNaZ
post Oct 8 2009, 02:36 AM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Oct 8 2009, 02:14 AM)
It seem everyone going for K50AB, what about K40AB ?

Lighter weight ( less 250g ), more asus utilities ( from asus website )
I dont bother 1.6" inch screen size, numpad ( maybe handful ), better price/performance ratio ( yeah but K40AB also good )

K40AB got extra utilities ( from ASUSTEK website )
Asus SmartLogon, MultiFrame, Wireless Console, Fancy Start, AI Recovery ( plus AsusPower4Gear+, Live Update, Life Frame 3 )

K50AB got Asus Power4Gear+, Live Update, Life Fram 3, Splendid )

My question were DVD come with K50AB does only provide those 4 utilities only or ?
The application means nothing much and essentially the same for both models. Both systems use the same hardware so same utilities can used most of the time.

All apps for K40AB that listed came in my K50AB utilities disc.

125 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:43 AM