ASUS k40AB/k50AB: HD 4570 for just RM2K!, Light gaming on the cheap

Hico
post Sep 12 2009, 09:11 PM

4,709 posts

astria or any other shifu, will like to seek your opinion:
i come across this two notebook the 4736G (RM2299) compare to Asus K40AB(rm1999)?

One is Intel C2D @ Geforce 105M GC, 4gb ram, bluetooth, 3 yrs local waranty
another is AMD Athlon X2@ ATI HD 4570 GC..
just wondering which one is more value for money?
Hico
post Sep 12 2009, 09:13 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Sep 12 2009, 09:07 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/931928
this seller 1 is 320GB.... got 250GB version ah?
today i checked this notebook, one sell at rm2099 for 320gb and rm1999 for 250gb and another shop sell rm1999 for 320gb..i think maybe they put the wrong price tag or they mislook the price tongue.gif
Hico
post Sep 12 2009, 09:31 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Sep 12 2009, 09:16 PM)
zzz read a few post earlier... on the same page from u posted.. its been told.. k40ab pawn 4736G...
value for money... im not sure the price for acer.. but i dont trust acer's built quality. its been said sucks..

Added on September 12, 2009, 9:18 pm

its mentioned in the thread itself.. xp does have some problems.. and some ppl solved it.. maybe u can take some time to look back the thread itself..

Added on September 12, 2009, 9:19 pm

go for the 1999 320gb.. haha.. its worth it.. lolz.. its really a good deal for this lappy. hahaa
i know in term of GC K40ab beat acer a lot..but acer come with 3 yrs waranty..just worry the mobo will die after 2 yrs of waranty.. tongue.gif cos my friend's notebook's mobo die after 1 yrs 3 months...and the high temperature also worry me.. hmm.gif
Hico
post Sep 12 2009, 10:05 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Sep 12 2009, 09:45 PM)
acer built quality is still a problem i'd say.. asus has good built quality.. u dont really have to worry.. and this comes with 2 years warranty.. what lappy is ur friends?? high temperature is something u cant avoid on a gaming lappy.. and a lappy for gaming.. u'r gonna have to bear with the high temperature lor..
my friend got HP.. blink.gif so now he put HP outside the gate after the bad experience..the high temperature will give any affect to the motherboard after some time? actually i dun play much game on it...maybe only simple game like flash game and watch movie.. tongue.gif

Added on September 12, 2009, 10:06 pm
QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Sep 12 2009, 09:55 PM)
I got my k50ab for RM 1950 including upgrade to 4gb RAM @ the HUB lowyat plaza.
wow..tats really a very good deal!!

This post has been edited by Hico: Sep 12 2009, 10:06 PM
Hico
post Sep 12 2009, 11:35 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Sep 12 2009, 10:12 PM)
lolz.. HP also like tat.. cant image others.. yeapp.. high temperature will affect the hardware components with time.. depends if its built to withstand i guess.. hahaa... flash games and movies oni... no point getting tis lappy?? i might opt for dell inspiron i guess.. hahaa.. nice design. simple.. and intel.. cooll smile.gif

Added on September 12, 2009, 10:14 pm

agree.. thats y i said.. acer built.. sucks.. haha.. sorry if offended anyone.. hahaa.. this asus built is niceee!
but i dun think dell can get any spec close to this with rm2k only lo...now my choice is this or acer 4736g.. but seems like a lot of problem with acer this model too after read the forum .. blush.gif too bad k series which with intel processor come with weaker gc but higher price.. sad.gif

Added on September 12, 2009, 11:35 pmare you guys using vista or xp?

This post has been edited by Hico: Sep 12 2009, 11:35 PM
Hico
post Sep 13 2009, 12:09 AM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Sep 12 2009, 11:48 PM)
yeah.. dell have higher price.. because of their quality and after sales service.. dell always provide good services..
yeap.. the other intel series isnt meant for gaming.. thats y..

its just depends on what u use on ba...

im using vista currently.. but i think i'll be upgrading to win 7 later.. xp.. i've wanted to use also.. but lazy to tweak all the bugs..

Added on September 12, 2009, 11:54 pm

yeap yeap.. and CPU 800MHz ram support.. better proc also.. for the value.. its worth it lar.
but dell only give 1 yr waranty and if extend, need top up again...and 15inch is just too big and heavier..add up at last might need to spent extra 1k..i dun use notebook much actually..just for surfing, typing, movies or perhaps online flash game... cheap cheap one will do..hehe.. i think k40ab still within the price range lor..at first i got consider studio xps 16..but after careful consideration no point wasting so much money for simple tasking..cos i mostly bring my netbook out..so the money i save can even get me another netbook or even sony p series brows.gif haiih..i still trust asus more than acer! rclxms.gif and different for abt rm300.. hmm.gif
Hico
post Sep 13 2009, 12:42 AM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Sep 13 2009, 12:30 AM)
lolz.. if those are the oni things u wanna do.. u can opt for netbook... its much more smaller.. and easier to carry.. lolz.. or maybe some other simple models.. k40ab is kinda complicated with the tweaks..
i owned netbook already..but some facebook flash game not running smooth enuff....so now i still lack one proper notebook..
complicated? if i buy in my place, normally they will install everything but of cos using the pirated os lor.. after that then only bring back and ask the shifu here to tweaks! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Hico
post Sep 14 2009, 03:19 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(yw88 @ Sep 14 2009, 02:57 PM)
i wonder why K50ab cheaper than k40ab??? and which one is better r??? interest to get either one..........
some users commented that k40ab produce nicer display compare to k50ab.. u can compare yourself b4 u get it rclxms.gif but i still prefer 14" at least not too big and easier to carry around too.

This post has been edited by Hico: Sep 14 2009, 04:52 PM
Hico
post Sep 14 2009, 04:54 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(yw88 @ Sep 14 2009, 04:50 PM)
kk...thanks a lot for the info......
will go survey n buy after exam......^^
anyways......any other brand laptop to suggest compared to asus??? budget around RM2000.....
i think at the moment only acer 4736g which come with 3 yrs waranty and 4 gb ram with t6500 and G105m and cost rm2299 is another good deal..otherwise k40ab or k50ab is the best choice with rm2k budget.
Hico
post Sep 14 2009, 05:08 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(wah chai @ Sep 14 2009, 05:06 PM)
i thought acer 4736g many users complain got problem ?
yalo..i also read the forum seems like many problem..but at least got 3 yrs waranty to be claim..can make full use of it tongue.gif but i still think k40ab is the best..cos still cheaper rm300 although less 1 yrs waranty and 2gb ram
Hico
post Sep 14 2009, 07:44 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Sep 14 2009, 06:52 PM)
Studio 14 - HD4530
Inspiron 14 - HD4330
astria, may i know for watching movie or watching flash movie or game which involved lots of graphics, will a good gc improved the quality? rclxub.gif
Hico
post Sep 14 2009, 09:17 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Sep 14 2009, 08:47 PM)
i can manage to run my K50AB at temperature of 36c idle. is that called heat problem?  shocking.gif
tats kinda cool.. rclxms.gif i specially like k40ab which got 4 usb port whereby other normally only got 3 tongue.gif but the size is a bit bigger than normal 14 inch notebook.. blush.gif i think with rm2k , cant expect too much too rclxms.gif
Hico
post Sep 14 2009, 10:45 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Sep 14 2009, 10:29 PM)
dont know u all fight wat...

i tested few laptop

k40ab on battery power saving mode, 50C ..fan running auto slow and fast
k40 ab on battery power saving mode 30C ++ when open up the back casing with fan running max
K40ab max performance when play games ,overall can reach more than 90 C fan running max 
seriously, i dont know whether this is normal,but i say it's hot coz of the design of the laptop casing.

i think the heat issue is not from the AMD CPU, it's overall heat contributing it.

i have this k40ab,so i have my rights to voice out my personal opinion about this laptop... If one day play heavy games for 6 hours, i assume in 1 year time, sure got hardware failure

so far i dont dare to stress this K40AB with prime and atitool artifact scan
tested side by side with normal acer 4736z, stress it with prime and atitool.. overall 40C max.
Have dell 1555 the one with 4570...it's hot tho, but not as hot as k40ab...i open up all the back panel...full of foil sink to cool down.

So anyone here that willing to prove k40 AB is not hot, can u post the data?

using prime heat stressing and atitool artifact scan running both together?with casing close
i attach all the program here..so who willing to do it?

when running prime95, make 2 folder...choose affinity 0 CPU and the other folder choose affinity 1 CPu to stress both core

post ur speedfan screenshot
wow 90c...pretty scary... apart from the temperature of the k40ab, any other comment abt this notebook? now struggling in btw k40ab and 4736g cry.gif

This post has been edited by Hico: Sep 14 2009, 10:59 PM
Hico
post Sep 14 2009, 11:12 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(yw88 @ Sep 14 2009, 11:09 PM)
So go and buy one and u will have more fun wif it....^^
Anyways......anyone can give comment k40ab or k50ab to buy????was headache of choosing between tis 2.....tis laptop is for gal use to watch movie one....
why say so????
Hico
post Sep 14 2009, 11:18 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Sep 14 2009, 11:15 PM)
k50ab bigger lcd heavier...k40ab lighter and small lcd..but both is 1366*768

i tell u ....very smooth..very fast...
maybe mine was a faulty unit...wait till other forummer test the heat first.

u wanna do what with the laptop first?

4736G and k40AB is different level and different market lar...put aside the 4570 ...
just for normal using like watch movie, minor gaming, surfing, document, etc etc..not really heavy gaming type..but both got the attractive points..which really make me headache.. mind to explain wat do you mean by different lever and market?
Hico
post Sep 14 2009, 11:33 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Sep 14 2009, 11:23 PM)
if for girl better the smaller one. ^^

Added on September 14, 2009, 11:24 pm

actually k40ab is far better than acer 4736G....plus k40ab is cheaper cuz of no os...4736G 300 ringgit just for the vista home premium actually.
why u say k40ab is far better??? cos the gc is better? any other aspect? actually acer its also come with 4 gb ram and 3 yrs waranty and hdmi port..this is the good point.. but quality wise not sure lor..
Hico
post Sep 15 2009, 06:19 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Sep 15 2009, 06:15 PM)
may i know what's the price of k40 and k50?

how is the temperature? i normally use it at house, air circulation is ok ok only.

since 4570 is a class 2 GPU, i assume that it able to run most of the new games at low settings with no problem?

now waiting for my compaq V3000 to burn with extreme heat (max 103c @ load) then buy a new laptop, either benq or this one.
benq has better gc but with more expensive price..depend on your budget also. if buy benq, i will also consider dell sxps 16
Hico
post Sep 17 2009, 11:56 AM

4,709 posts

of cos..u can refer to this:

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Comparison-of...ards.130.0.html
Hico
post Sep 18 2009, 10:34 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Sep 18 2009, 10:09 PM)
really???

afaik WD 3.5" HDD are all 5yrs warranty... hmm.gif
Mobile Drives:
WD Scorpio Black BEKT, BJKT 5 year
WD Scorpio Blue VE, UE, BEAS, BEVS, BEVE, BEVT, KEVT, TEVT 3-year

Desktop Drives:
WD Caviar Black AALS, FALS, FASS 5-year
WD Caviar Blue (WD Caviar, WD Caviar SE, WD Caviar SE16) BB, LB, JB, PB, JD, JS, KS, KD, KS, ABKS, AABS, AAJS, AAKS, AABB, AAJB, AAKB 3-year
WD Raptor X AHFD 5-year
WD Caviar Green (WD Caviar GP) EACS, EADS, AACS, AADS 3-year
Hico
post Sep 18 2009, 10:50 PM

4,709 posts

hehe..but i prefer seagate ...i got tried seagate, WD and Maxtor.. the seagate very very old one still use until now..Maxtor mostly cannot last more than 3 yrs will kon...WD recently break down after used for abt 3 yr+ .. but i found that if compare the temperature, seagate is a bit warmer than WD... maybe the new model oledi improved...

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0453sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:15 PM