ASUS k40AB/k50AB: HD 4570 for just RM2K!, Light gaming on the cheap
Batusai
Oct 7 2009, 02:51 PM
shud be everyone's method to clean dust i guess. hehee.. feels to good seeing da dusts being sucked out.. hahaa..
long term use.. i guess it wouldnt be any problem... they are built to withstand such environment... and if they are to break down.. tat means tats a bad built quality. if it lasts for a long period of time.. Thumbs up lor..
apple96
Oct 7 2009, 03:41 PM

What is the disadvantage of Asus K40AB and K50AB?
kucingfight
Oct 7 2009, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(apple96 @ Oct 7 2009, 03:41 PM) What is the disadvantage of Asus K40AB and K50AB? no disadvantageous. 14'' vs 15.6'', no additional keypad @ k40ab. up to ur preferences
Dguy
Oct 7 2009, 03:50 PM

QUOTE(apple96 @ Oct 7 2009, 03:41 PM) What is the disadvantage of Asus K40AB and K50AB? Erm... What kind of question is this??? Disadvantage compared to what??? Anyway, playing RE5 on K50AB now.... WOOOO!!! Most settings i had to customize... around 30++ FPS... Just need to get a better mouse... any recommendations?
Joshua_0718
Oct 7 2009, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(miahahaha @ Oct 7 2009, 01:41 PM) Just use vacuum cleaner to suck the dust will do...  QUOTE(astria @ Oct 7 2009, 02:08 PM) my all time favourite method to deal with any computers...  desktops included... I thought it is not recommended to do so on desktop, no? As vacuum sucking is too strong, some fragile components/parts will be suck as well. Although I do it as well, but just on the fan.  Added on October 7, 2009, 4:08 pmAMD turion on k40ab in singapore is $1198. That's is during Comex show last month. Free 8gb thumb drive, bluetooth dongle, free upgrade to 4gb ram, asus carrying bag and optical mouse. http://www.bootstrike.com/itfairsg/comex20...ochure-leaflet/What you guys think? This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Oct 7 2009, 04:08 PM
astria
Oct 7 2009, 04:14 PM
right now i rather wait for Turion II and Athlon II instead...
kucingfight
Oct 7 2009, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 7 2009, 04:04 PM) I thought it is not recommended to do so on desktop, no? As vacuum sucking is too strong, some fragile components/parts will be suck as well. Although I do it as well, but just on the fan.  Added on October 7, 2009, 4:08 pmAMD turion on k40ab in singapore is $1198. That's is during Comex show last month. Free 8gb thumb drive, bluetooth dongle, free upgrade to 4gb ram, asus carrying bag and optical mouse. http://www.bootstrike.com/itfairsg/comex20...ochure-leaflet/What you guys think? my calculator says SGD1198 = rm2935 if the k40ab (malaysia) were to be matched up with SG's spec = +2gb ram (rm110) = Vista OS (RM350?) = turion rm74 mmm (100mhz more & additional P-state) = FOC stuffs? neah kinda useless (the bag & mouse comes with default with it, not free as a package) the 'malaysia' set is definitely more worth it, that is with the exception of the legality of the OS This post has been edited by kucingfight: Oct 7 2009, 04:16 PM
Joshua_0718
Oct 7 2009, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 7 2009, 04:15 PM) my calculator says SGD1198 = rm2935 if the k40ab (malaysia) were to be matched up with SG's spec = +2gb ram (rm110) = Vista OS (RM350?) = turion rm74 mmm (100mhz more & additional P-state) = FOC stuffs? neah kinda useless (the bag & mouse comes with default with it, not free as a package) the 'malaysia' set is definitely more worth it, that is with the exception of the legality of the OS  But Malaysia k40ab dun have turion model right? Yeah, if purchase in Malaysia, I will ask for freedos.
kucingfight
Oct 7 2009, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 7 2009, 04:19 PM) But Malaysia k40ab dun have turion model right? Yeah, if purchase in Malaysia, I will ask for freedos.  yup no turion. the turion has an additional P state to further 'undervolt' @ lower speed well, there's no option for any OS here, freedos is the only option
Batusai
Oct 7 2009, 04:23 PM
yeah.. thats the sad case.. no turion in malaysia.. tats y..
hmm.. anyone having any problem running NFS shift or batman AA??
win7 64bit here.. NFS is due to phyX problem.. but i could do manual installation.. an error came out and installation roll back..
Joshua_0718
Oct 7 2009, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 7 2009, 04:21 PM) yup no turion. the turion has an additional P state to further 'undervolt' @ lower speed well, there's no option for any OS here, freedos is the only optionBusiness laptop got OS mar  Even studio 15  Or you are referring to K40ab and k50ab model only? This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Oct 7 2009, 04:25 PM
kucingfight
Oct 7 2009, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(Batusai @ Oct 7 2009, 04:23 PM) yeah.. thats the sad case.. no turion in malaysia.. tats y.. hmm.. anyone having any problem running NFS shift or batman AA?? win7 64bit here.. NFS is due to phyX problem.. but i could do manual installation.. an error came out and installation roll back.. NaGeNaZ has been happily whacking NFS shift all these while.  , not sure which OS he's on
Joshua_0718
Oct 7 2009, 05:08 PM
Not much review on playing GTA4 on this laptop huh?
kucingfight
Oct 7 2009, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 7 2009, 05:08 PM) Not much review on playing GTA4 on this laptop huh? nah pretty much unplayable..had tried it even the medium config deskstop is struggling
Joshua_0718
Oct 7 2009, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Oct 7 2009, 05:12 PM) nah pretty much unplayable..had tried it even the medium config deskstop is struggling Lowest configuration? I am not particular on high graphical performance, as long as I can play I am happy already
astria
Oct 7 2009, 05:21 PM
the bottleneck is the CPU...
tried on my laptop before (C2D T9550 + HD4650), the frame rate dun change much be it max graphic detail or lowest...
xKAIZERUx
Oct 7 2009, 07:31 PM
Guys, if i change the HDD now, and sold the HDD, what do you guys think of the warranty status?
Is the warranty require me to have all the default configuration (which includes original HDD) to be able to claim anything?
kucingfight
Oct 7 2009, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Oct 7 2009, 07:31 PM) Guys, if i change the HDD now, and sold the HDD, what do you guys think of the warranty status? Is the warranty require me to have all the default configuration (which includes original HDD) to be able to claim anything? mmm yeah i guess it's better to keep the ori HD that comes wiht it
Hico
Oct 7 2009, 08:44 PM
then how abt the memory ram? also need to keep the original one?
Batusai
Oct 7 2009, 08:55 PM
i doubt the warranty for ram and hdd is with asus.. shud be under individual company.. their stickers are still there..
well.. i have my ram and hdd changed already..