ASUS k40AB/k50AB: HD 4570 for just RM2K!, Light gaming on the cheap
astria
Jul 20 2009, 11:09 AM
regarding the 8600M GS, well, i used to ve a S41 as well, and i can tell u that with the latest BIOS (aka the one that will spin the fan even more) doesn't solve the problem at all...
anyway, 8600M GS was a pretty good card honestly, 3k 3D mark 06 in a 14" at that time is really rare...
the K40Ab is really a steal for those who wants good performance at a low budget... AMD is really the way to go for gaming lappy, juz too bad they dun perform well in the higher-end market of laptops...
astria
Jul 20 2009, 01:08 PM
well, considering that u get almost the same performance as a Dell Studio 15 for rm700 less and 1 more yr of warranty, really hard to beat... or juz think this way lor, the next closest that Asus can offer is F81Se which is rm1k more ex...
astria
Jul 20 2009, 04:47 PM
u got update the game or not???
iirc, the initial release of L4D is poorly optimized for multi-core and thus will crash often... enabling or disabling multicore in options doesn't seem to help at all...
either u update or every time u start the game, alt-tab back to desktop and set to run on 1 core only in task manager...
astria
Jul 20 2009, 05:00 PM
a lot of places can buy la... there are already so many ppl using...
astria
Jul 20 2009, 05:21 PM
go flying spaghetti monster forum take a look, that's all i got to say...
astria
Jul 20 2009, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(karhoe @ Jul 20 2009, 07:49 PM) Why K50 got bigger screen yet same price? If that's the case, surely go for K50 right? in ur dream, perhaps... anyway, as a benchmark, in Hong Kong K50Ab sells for HK$4580 with Vista Home Basic and 4GB RAM, that's abt rm2115...
astria
Jul 21 2009, 07:20 AM
the interesting thing is, even some shops put Sempron, they still list the CPU model number as QL64, which definetely die die must be Athlon...
astria
Jul 21 2009, 02:41 PM
depends lor...
last time my BenQ S41 also can reach 8xC (GPU) when playing games or folding... but also never BSOD or anything...
astria
Jul 21 2009, 06:38 PM
u dun try u never know...
everybody starts from a noob...
astria
Jul 22 2009, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jul 22 2009, 02:49 PM)  Isn't the Dell Studio 15's HD4570 running on a 128-bit memory bandwidth? maybe... till now also not concrete info that it uses 128-bit instead of 64-bit...
astria
Jul 22 2009, 02:57 PM
iirc, Everest shows 64-bit, GPU-Z shows 128-bit, while notebookcheck changes almost every other day... u can find it here (this one's mine):
This post has been edited by astria: Jul 22 2009, 02:59 PM
astria
Jul 22 2009, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(-aPe- @ Jul 22 2009, 04:47 PM) need help!! i still cant play HD video in my k40ab.. already install dna ati driver but still cant get clear picture.. QUOTE(ayil @ Jul 22 2009, 05:01 PM) haaaa.. u ask astria  have u google as alternative? use K-Lite Codec pack... standard version is gud enuf... when installing, untick the codec for mkv files, this will use the codec in Media Player Classic instead, then u can get GPU acceleration... Added on July 22, 2009, 9:45 pmQUOTE(Phantom_KiD @ Jul 22 2009, 08:22 PM) i wanna ask...how can i change the gpu bus to 16x??mine rite now only run 8x.. is it b coz wrong driver??? i guess, that's 1 of the way to save cost also, by using PCI-E x8 only... anyway, for a low end card like HD4570, the PCI-E is not the bottleneck, so dun worry too much abt that... This post has been edited by astria: Jul 22 2009, 09:45 PM
astria
Jul 24 2009, 06:39 PM
let's juz say, Intel's money on marketing is definetely well spent... This post has been edited by astria: Jul 24 2009, 06:39 PM
astria
Jul 24 2009, 10:04 PM
pwned by me... again...  QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Jul 24 2009, 04:31 PM) Just bought it the Acer Aspire 4736G-654G32Mn the best value to performance lappy they give 800mhz 4gb DDR2 ram in the package no need to upgrade anymore  plus free 3 year warranty at RM2200 still where you can get a 2K lappy with a decent GC QUOTE(astria @ Jul 24 2009, 06:41 PM) got... Asus K40Ab... Athlon x2 with HD4570. cheapest in market is rm1899 with freedos... QUOTE(devilish_yin @ Jul 24 2009, 09:56 PM) NO comment at the moment Yayayaya got that but when it broke you wait wait and wait till you buy a new laptop in despair. LOL http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1065710/+180
astria
Jul 24 2009, 11:10 PM
well, the laptop comes with Freedos... u still need to pay for Vista rit???  anyway, whennu buy Vista u get to upgrade to Win7 also, so y not?
astria
Jul 25 2009, 08:41 AM
well, Turion is more like the higher end of desktop Athlon, while mobile Athlon is the lower end of the desktop counterpart, to be honest...
AMD still dun ve any K10 mobile CPU till a few mths later, when the Turion II and Athlon II comes out...
anyway, for AMD, the CPU type determines the max RAM speed u can use, since the memory controller is built into the CPU, where for Intel, the FSB of the CPU is the key as memory controller is located on the mobo...
astria
Jul 25 2009, 02:10 PM
whichever RAM speed u can use, it's all determined by wat the memory controller supports...
for Intel, it's still going the old way, where the controller is built into the motherboard... so whenever u change CPU, the same type of RAM is still supported... (eg PM45 chipset, it supports DDR2 of up to 800MHz and DDR3 up to 1066MHz iirc, no matter u use C2D or Pentium Dual Core, these RAM still can be used) but for Intel, they go by the FSB (Front Side Bus) way, which u can see as the speed at which the CPU communicates with the RAM... a slow FSB can be limiting the max RAM bandwidth avaliable, and vice versa...
for eg, C2D 1066MHz FSB (real FSB 266MHz), RAM running @ 533MHz DDR (real speed 266MHz) is already sufficient, anything more is fine but wasted since the FSB cannot run as fast unless u overclock... putting in 400MHz DDR (real speed 200MHz) is fine too, but the RAM's speed will become bottleneck instead since it cannot catch up with the FSB... so yeah, dun listen to all the DDR3 bullshit, those are juz marketing gimmik...
for AMD, their memory controller is built into the CPU, so everytime u change the CPU, u re changing the controller as well, those affecting the RAM type that u can use... for Athlon x2, it supports only up to DDR2 667MHz, while Turion x2 is DDR2 800MHz... so for Athlon, even if i put DDR2 800MHz into the laptop, the RAM will still run at 667MHz since that is the max speed that the memory controller in the CPU can handle...
hope this make things clearer...
This post has been edited by astria: Jul 25 2009, 02:11 PM
astria
Jul 25 2009, 06:14 PM
for Intel laptops, high FSB with low RAM speed or vice versa is bad... best is when FSB and RAM are of the same speed...
for AMD, it's all abt RAM speed... the faster RAM u ve, the more bandwidth u ve... that's y gamers and servers would like to use AMD also...
astria
Jul 25 2009, 07:27 PM
Athlon is 512KB only la...  anyway, for K8, it's the speed that matters, the cache doesn't help much... if u notice, the 90nm Windsor K8 has got more cache than the newer 65nm Brisbane K8, but for the same model number, Brisbane is 100MHz faster... Turion x2 Ultra mainly is to refine the production process to push the speed further... only when u go into K10 with shared cache then it's good... This post has been edited by astria: Jul 25 2009, 07:27 PM
astria
Jul 25 2009, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(OrenDUTt @ Jul 25 2009, 11:05 PM) so for k40ab, is it worth to add ram? depends on wat u do... normally 2GB is pretty sufficient for day-to-day use and light gaming...