ASUS k40AB/k50AB: HD 4570 for just RM2K!, Light gaming on the cheap
xKAIZERUx
Aug 31 2009, 07:53 AM
my K50 also have the same brighness prob as you guys... and the funny thing is, when i change to power xpress mode, the display just went blank.
have to change back to dGPU mode. sigh~
xKAIZERUx
Aug 31 2009, 08:00 AM
Oh thanks...
Aku gi cube sekarang gak.
---
btw guys, What is the advantage of registering to the VIP account in Asus website?
xKAIZERUx
Aug 31 2009, 12:39 PM
it is heavier and bigger than the 14" ones, and most of the laptop bag is designed for 14" so this is not the case. Most of the people are more comfortable wit 14" laptops....
xKAIZERUx
Aug 31 2009, 01:21 PM
right2... anyway, for me, I've been using a normal laptop (13", 14") more than 2 years now, a bit 'kekok' to getting use to a full keyboard and numpad....
xKAIZERUx
Aug 31 2009, 02:23 PM
Just played Burnout Paradise. in 1366x768 medium settings, and the shadow is set to LOW. A bit laggy sometimes (i think it went to load the map some more) overall is good. Dunno how to calculate framerate. here is the screenie:
xKAIZERUx
Aug 31 2009, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(suadrif @ Aug 31 2009, 03:46 PM) kai, yeke? aku men full resolution, low shadow ok je. kalau high shadow kadang2 lag skit. mean aku punyer lg best dari kau la hahaa  lol. ape setting lagi tinggi utk reso? tu mmg dia punyer native da tu kan? maksudnye same la seting kite. aku lol betul ngan budak nie. main bese mmg smooth, tapi ade tempat kalo da laju sgt, dia akan ade stuttering(less than 1 sec lag) aku rase nie mase dia nak load certain2 part of the map.
xKAIZERUx
Sep 2 2009, 10:28 AM
i'm puzzled. Last night, my laptop even when idle, the fan blows like hell. Heck it even reached 36c coolest. and i'm not using any cooler nor any air conditioning. Will be posting the CoreTemp screenies soon.
Not even my old S41 can reach that low temp. It is almost like my Opty's normal temp under load. note- my opty can reach 20 something if not under load. and it is still using a stock cooling. Hows that for "hot AMD"?
xKAIZERUx
Sep 2 2009, 01:33 PM
maybe at that time my hdd is far too cluttered? I managed to used up to 80GB of the main partition (i set to 100GB) with my programs and games. Better be prepared for me to buy another external HDD. @-@
xKAIZERUx
Sep 3 2009, 01:32 PM
i also have this weird sound prob.
the method I use is then it happen, i sleep the system and resume it again. if it doesnt work, i try hibernate it.
i malas wanna go to asus to complain. too hassle.
xKAIZERUx
Sep 3 2009, 08:14 PM
i dont think all people have time to read all 66 pages just to find a solution to the prob. maybe what najmpd can do is put it on the first page.
i was only here starting from page 60 like that. dun bother to read all previous 59 pages.
xKAIZERUx
Sep 4 2009, 02:55 PM
yup, i've hit 36c no ac, just open the back cover and rise the laptop few cm. the arm rest is cool, but warning, the below side is hot when you dont open up the cover. It is hot when its in game, but normal surfing, movie, ms words the laptop keeps cool.
==== I've managed to install MS Virtual PC 2007, and I can enable the Virtualization. I though someone said that the diff with turion is virtualization part and P-State right?
This post has been edited by xKAIZERUx: Sep 4 2009, 02:56 PM
xKAIZERUx
Sep 4 2009, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Sep 4 2009, 05:03 PM) there is one problem with k40ab... some user gets auto fan adjust......some get full blast fan even when it's cool so urs the fan running max or auto? random, sometime it gets really hot but the fan just keeps it pace. sometime, the fan just hardworking all of the sudden. and that time, the 36c one, the fan blows non stop even when i didnt do anything.
xKAIZERUx
Sep 5 2009, 07:52 PM
sleeping or hibernate doesnt do that to me. i wonder how you do that?
i was wondering, why the K40 n K50 have so many bug and hardware glitch? Some have brightness prob, some have fan prob, some have sound prob.
is other series like F-series and U-series have this kind of prob? haha....
xKAIZERUx
Sep 6 2009, 02:05 PM
That it! The step I miss is to change to 3200 graphic. Now I can also make the fan full Speed!. haha.
Really convenient bug I would say. Could this be called an Exploit?
shockk, do you put the back cover on or open it up? I cabut the cover. and do nothing leave it overnight. That is how I get the 36c. If just like this maybe just around 40 something....
xKAIZERUx
Sep 6 2009, 03:57 PM
Wow. Lelong usually dont have that much fraud cases when the user is a verified member. I say go for it. Coz I also have dealt with verified members and all of them satisfies me.
If you dont trust them, how about let someone from you trust in this forum to buy for you and let him courier the packages for you? It might cost more than the one in the lelong, but at least you trust can trust him more.
p/s - maybe the store jsut copy and paste it somewhere, but the actual proc is QL-64, and the Battery is 11.1V/4400mAH, 46Wh. and please do verify once more to the store that you will be getting 320GB coz I see the title sez "ASUS K40AB-VX003L-LINUX 14' HD NOTEBOOK,2GB RAM,250GB HDD"
This post has been edited by xKAIZERUx: Sep 6 2009, 04:03 PM
xKAIZERUx
Sep 6 2009, 04:09 PM
linux or not its not the case. but 320GB hdd and 250GB hdd is much more to be concerned with. If you want Ori windows, Call them and ask them to quote price with the windows. If I not mistaken, most shops participated the Microsoft promo, "Buy Windows now and get free upgrade to Windows 7"
So you use Ori Vista now, and later on when Win7 become available, You can have Windows 7 FOC.
xKAIZERUx
Sep 7 2009, 07:01 PM
download any HD4000 series driver, and then please look at the first page, there is a modder. use it.
xKAIZERUx
Sep 7 2009, 07:09 PM
OK, this is the K50AB internal. Try and see. it is using the same mobo as the K40AB. the diff is the 2 red box that I drew.
xKAIZERUx
Sep 9 2009, 10:41 AM
tested 3DMark06. Got 3020 mark. almost the same mark as my previous BenQ S41 (which gets 3067). But why did the Vista rate my K50 graphic as 4.1 but the S41 graphic as 5.6?
what criteria does the Vista use? Later on when I get back home I post some screenies on this.
--- wan, takpe la. dia tu da 9k post. kite nie baru je nak berjinak2 kat sini. ape bahasa dia pakai tu ikut suke dia la. mane2 forum pon camtu gak. orang da elite nie susah skit nak bahasa baik2 ngan user2 baru.
Different person have different meaning of smooth, lag, stuttering, etc...
For me, when I play the game Burnout Paradise, I can feel the lags a bit, but you said yours play smooth right? But our hardware is exactly the same. So my meaning of smooth and your meaning of smooth is not the same.
This post has been edited by xKAIZERUx: Sep 9 2009, 10:46 AM
xKAIZERUx
Sep 9 2009, 08:44 PM
Guys, have any suggestion on Notebook cooler that can house our 15.6" beast?
most cooler are designed to fit 13" and 14"....