Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

SUSgogo2
post Aug 10 2009, 02:53 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(edthrax @ Aug 10 2009, 10:58 AM)
i went to maxis centre.. they told me the rm100 is rm50 for the 333 minutes and rm50 for the 500Mb data. so i think its still 1 minute 15 cents.. unless i'm told wrongly..
500mb is supposed to be free. For example, if you buy without contract with prepaid, you also get free 500mb data.

Prepaid + Value 50
No contract
500mb
15 cents per minute call

Ivalue 50
Contract
500mb
33 cents per minute call

The RM50 per month is same for contract and no contract. Why want to get yourself in contract just for 500mb data???
Is RM50 for data + contract worth it? Its just not making any sense... laugh.gif

QUOTE(doomx @ Aug 10 2009, 12:47 PM)
The 100 u will be spending on yr iValue plan is RM50 for the 333 mins at 15cent/min and the other rm50 is for data

do read
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/iphone3gs/rateplan1.asp
for better understanding thanks.
Do read my reply above for better understanding of my context laugh.gif... you guys are being duped by Maxis wink.gif
doomx
post Aug 10 2009, 03:17 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 10 2009, 02:53 PM)
500mb is supposed to be free. For example, if you buy without contract with prepaid, you also get free 500mb data.

Prepaid + Value 50
No contract
500mb
15 cents per minute call

Ivalue 50
Contract
500mb
33 cents per minute call

The RM50 per month is same for contract and no contract. Why want to get yourself in contract just for 500mb data???
Is RM50 for data + contract worth it? Its just not making any sense... laugh.gif
Do read my reply above for better understanding of my context laugh.gif... you guys are being duped by Maxis  wink.gif
Most of the people get the contract is for the saving that they have on the iphone. Lol. That is why smile.gif.
SUSgogo2
post Aug 10 2009, 03:34 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Aug 10 2009, 03:17 PM)
Most of the people get the contract is for the saving that they have on the iphone. Lol. That is why smile.gif.
That's why its not making sense to get IValue plan contract just because of the 500MB data. That's the most ridiculous thing
I've heard ever since I read this thread. Some more that person scold Maxis for not letting him be duped by Maxis. tongue.gif
doomx
post Aug 10 2009, 03:41 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 10 2009, 03:34 PM)
That's why its not making sense to get IValue plan contract just because of the 500MB data. That's the most ridiculous thing
I've heard ever since I read this thread. Some more that person scold Maxis for not letting him be duped by Maxis.  tongue.gif
If all they want is the 500mb of data,better get the prepaid. got free 500mb for 12 months ma. As for me im getting the plan is for the phone savings smile.gif. Lol.
edthrax
post Aug 10 2009, 05:59 PM

829 posts

well the Idata 2 plan for existing maxis customer is rm50 entitles them with 500mb of data..

isnt it the same as ivalue100 = ivalue 50 + idata 2..

which interms mean RM50 for calls and another rm50 for 500Mb?
which means its rm0.15 per minute? .. well a maxis personnel just confirmed me its rm0.15 per minute and the 333 minutes and 500mb data is not free, the only free thing is the 100 sms .. unless its their standard practise to dupe customer..

and of course who wants data only should take the prepaid plan...but they need to maintain the line validity for a year right?
which need to top up rm33 for the 365 days validity, then atleast load rm30 once in 6 month? is this true?

This post has been edited by edthrax: Aug 10 2009, 06:05 PM
TSteikwing
post Aug 10 2009, 06:47 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 10 2009, 02:53 PM)

Prepaid + Value 50
No contract
500mb
15 cents per minute call

Ivalue 50
Contract
500mb
33 cents per minute call

Do read my reply above for better understanding of my context laugh.gif... you guys are being duped by Maxis  wink.gif
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 10 2009, 03:34 PM)
I've heard ever since I read this thread. Some more that person scold Maxis for not letting him be duped by Maxis.  tongue.gif
QUOTE(doomx @ Aug 10 2009, 03:41 PM)
If all they want is the 500mb of data,better get the prepaid. got free 500mb for 12 months ma. As for me im getting the plan is for the phone savings smile.gif. Lol.
QUOTE(edthrax @ Aug 10 2009, 05:59 PM)
well the Idata 2 plan for existing maxis customer is rm50 entitles them with 500mb of data..

isnt it the same as ivalue100 = ivalue 50 + idata 2..

which interms mean RM50 for calls and another rm50 for 500Mb?
which means its rm0.15 per minute? .. well a maxis personnel just confirmed me its rm0.15 per minute and the 333 minutes and 500mb data is not free, the only free thing is the 100 sms .. unless its their standard practise to dupe customer..

and of course who wants data only should take the prepaid plan...but they need to maintain the line validity for a year right?
which need to top up rm33 for the 365 days validity, then atleast load rm30 once in 6 month? is this true?
@gogo2:
it's not fair to equate prepaid to postpaid in the first place as both are obviously two different plans. hence, the free 500MB obtained via prepaid can't be weigh against the 500MB in iValue/iData.

firstly, call rates for prepaid to Maxis numbers are not fixed. (except for Hotlink Youth Club, Activ10)

second, the convenience of postpaid against prepaid.

next, you get more savings on the iPhone upfront if you're on iValue/iData.

most people opted for iValue/iData due to the fact that they've already been on postpaid and looking for more savings on the iPhone upfront rather than paying for the outright prices.

and of course, if one is looking at the free 500MB data alone, he/she should go for outright/repaid purchase rather than iValue/iData.

as usual, those who're average users should go for VP50 + iData 2 rather than iValue 1.

*"duped by Maxis" isn't a appropriate term. this is not supposed to be a Maxis bashing thread. cheers~ smile.gif

@edthrax:
from the first page, post #4.
> Get the Hotlink Youth Club simpack at RM8.80 if you're under 25 and you'll get 4 years validity (with minimum top up of RM10 per year) or
> Get a normal Hotlink simpack, subscribe to Hotlink 365 (maintain prepaid line validity for a year) for:
Subscription is RM33 (one time) + RM30 (min top-up within 1st 6 months) = RM63
**Both will ensure your prepaid line will be valid 24/7 to receive the 500mb data bundle!

This post has been edited by teikwing: Aug 10 2009, 06:50 PM
SUSgogo2
post Aug 11 2009, 08:54 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Aug 10 2009, 06:47 PM)
@gogo2:
it's not fair to equate prepaid to postpaid in the first place as both are obviously two different plans. hence, the free 500MB obtained via prepaid can't be weigh against the 500MB in iValue/iData.

firstly, call rates for prepaid to Maxis numbers are not fixed. (except for Hotlink Youth Club, Activ10)

second, the convenience of postpaid against prepaid.

next, you get more savings on the iPhone upfront if you're on iValue/iData.

most people opted for iValue/iData due to the fact that they've already been on postpaid and looking for more savings on the iPhone upfront rather than paying for the outright prices.

and of course, if one is looking at the free 500MB data alone, he/she should go for outright/repaid purchase rather than iValue/iData.

as usual, those who're average users should go for VP50 + iData 2 rather than iValue 1.

*"duped by Maxis" isn't a appropriate term. this is not supposed to be a Maxis bashing thread. cheers~ smile.gif

@edthrax:
from the first page, post #4.
Ivalue 100 is not saving compare to prepaid. Both come to the same price point. The different is one with contract and the other
with none. You're just paying less and the remaining sum is paid instalment over the year + contract.

Duped can be use la bro. Maxis is playing David Copperfield by changing numbers and stuff but ultimately arriving to the same
amount of money. Hahaha... David Copperfield also duped us with his magic trick. Kekeke....
derrickflc
post Aug 11 2009, 01:54 PM

39 posts

i have an existing overseas iphone3g, tried to get the iData1 (250mb@rm30) plan yesterday. spoke to 2 customer care consultant people (by calling 123) who told me i could get it without having to buy a new phone, and so i applied for it and he told me it'll take 1-2 days to process. then today when I called, a different guy told me i can't do that and he doesn't understand why the 2 ppl yesterday told me I could. he insisted I have to buy a new phone eventhough they guy yesterday told me I didn't need to. so I guess now I can't get the idata plan still.

on the up side, the guy told me to wait about a month or so cos apparently Maxis is going to revamp their existing data plans, offering similar data plans like the iData but to all customers. hopefully it's real, cos rm8 for 5mb is just pathetic, and rm99 is a bit too much to fork out for some people.

guess we'll just have to wait and see... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by derrickflc: Aug 11 2009, 01:54 PM
doomx
post Aug 11 2009, 02:17 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

To those who apply for iValue 100,does yr bills comes ngam ngam 100 or still there are some tax or value extra service we must play? which will move the amount to 100+. thanks for the reply
tinkerbel
post Aug 11 2009, 02:23 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@doomx,
Most of the time there'll be some charges for value added services; itemised billing and taxes too. Not to mention, SMSes charges.
doomx
post Aug 11 2009, 02:54 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

@tinkerbell
thus will resulting to how much? that is what i wanted to ask those who uses iValue 100 plans smile.gif. Thanks tinkerbel
tinkerbel
post Aug 11 2009, 03:22 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@doomx,
It depends on what kind of value added services U've subscribed too. Itemised billing is RM3 if I ain't mistaken. Also, tax is 5% and well.... SMS charges are depending on how many SMSes U send lah.
r3kahsttub
post Aug 11 2009, 03:41 PM

IG: @MTHRFKNWIN
2,278 posts

i've had a barrage of problems with maxis before.

i haven't spent time to read the entire thread, but i too purchased a iphone 3GS (prepaid plan @ RM2490) that was supposed to come with 500Mb per month for 12 months.

supposedly, this was to be bundled in together with the simpack that we were supposed to get. however, i requested that the 500Mb be bundled into one of my existing lines, and they confirmed that it could be done (this was at maxis centre @ the gardens midvalley).

however, after my data wasn't bundled after 48 hours, i called maxis @ 123 up and found out that apparently, this couldn't be done at all. instead, they counter-offered me 500Mb worth of data (@ RM50) for 5 months.

i declined and made a lot of noise; and eventually, they will be billing me every month (RM50 per month) but at the same time, they will also be giving me a rebate monthly (RM50 + tax).

so very pointless.

anyone else facing this sort of problem?
vui_msia
post Aug 11 2009, 03:44 PM

367 posts

I have been on ivalue 100 since maxis 3g launch. my average mthly bill is RM125. ivalue = RM100, RM8 for SMS, which means i spent another RM17 on SMS to other service provider + taxes etc ...

I am a heavy sms user, so my voice only utilize RM10 , and data is about 300MB
doomx
post Aug 11 2009, 04:23 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 11 2009, 03:22 PM)
@doomx,
It depends on what kind of value added services U've subscribed too.  Itemised billing is RM3 if I ain't mistaken.  Also, tax is 5% and well.... SMS charges are depending on how many SMSes U send lah.
QUOTE(vui_msia @ Aug 11 2009, 03:44 PM)
I have been on ivalue 100 since maxis 3g launch. my average mthly bill is RM125. ivalue = RM100, RM8 for SMS, which means i spent another RM17 on SMS to other service provider + taxes etc ...

I am a heavy sms user, so my voice only utilize RM10 , and data is about 300MB
Now im on digi prepaid and already been using 100/month. Well just worried u know maxis tends to screw up everything. lol. anyway let me see if i can get prepaid for i3gs. easier.
selinix
post Aug 11 2009, 04:40 PM

7,343 posts

Just went to maxis center and inquire bout the Iphone 3GS.. If book the contract plan can get the phone by 11th of September..

This is gona be a long wait till they open booking for Prepaid
gameon
post Aug 11 2009, 07:21 PM

just call 123..that guy told me that the free local call only for maxis to maxis..call to other need to pay..darn..
DIABLOW
post Aug 11 2009, 09:33 PM

53 posts

Hi guys, I read most of the posted in this thread but I don't get the proper answer.

Btw here is my question. Can I buy the iPhone 3Gs 36GB in Malaysia from maxis with out contract (pay as you go) and how much in ringgit Malaysia?

This post has been edited by DIABLOW: Aug 11 2009, 09:36 PM
raptar_eric
post Aug 11 2009, 09:56 PM

Live life to the fullest!
1,367 posts

Diablow: Please read carefully ler. You can buy the phone outright without any plans, by picking the Prepaid solution. You needa pay RM2990 for the phone, and you get free 500mb data/month for 12 months. But for now, I've heard and read that orders for prepaid plan are on hold, priority given to contract customers. Nevertheless, you can approach any Maxis stores and ask =)
DIABLOW
post Aug 11 2009, 10:08 PM

53 posts

Ok thanks for a quick replied. I will do that when I get back in malysis end of September. Btw a bit difficult for me to read all the posting with my little window mobile. Thanks again.

128 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0388sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:59 AM