Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

vui_msia
post Jul 16 2009, 09:34 PM

367 posts

My data usage :

I have been using iValue 100 since march with iPhone 3G. I only activate 3G when i am away from my desk, lunch, after office hour, and weekend. this is because i have wifi connection at office and Home.

My 3G data activities are
1) GPS during weekend explore new places - avg. 2 hours p/week tongue.gif
2) Email fetch every 1 hour for Gmail, Yahoo & hotmail - avg 2 hrs/day ( i dont usually receive large email or attachment)
3) Push mail for Office - exchange and MobileMe - avg 2 hrs/day
4) Internet Access, Apps store browing - avg 2 hr/day
5) IM chat (WIth push notificaton) 24 hours online , chating - avg 2 hr/day
6) RSS news feeder - i subscripberd 15 news feeder - avg 1 hr/day

After 4 months, my average is 350MB per/mth. i have been using it extreme careful due to "Maxis" has no way for us (and themselves) to check usage (only way is to keep track from iphone ourself). So i try to connect to wifi most of the time smile.gif

This post has been edited by vui_msia: Jul 16 2009, 09:43 PM
vui_msia
post Jul 16 2009, 09:45 PM

367 posts

@leecwai

yeah, iPhone alrady part of my life.. lol commincation, news readers, Timetable, alarm, reminder...

@Tink

Sorry, it was a bit confusing. Just updated the post.

well, yeah,, these are 3G data, when i have no wifi.

This post has been edited by vui_msia: Jul 16 2009, 09:45 PM
vui_msia
post Jul 16 2009, 09:48 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(leecwai @ Jul 16 2009, 09:39 PM)
The only advantages for unlimited data is you don't have to worry about Maxis sending you a big Angpow at the end of the month, and best of all no need to keep an eye on the data usage at all.
yeah, my colleague who bought iphone 2G earlier didnt aware of that, end up with RM250 for the bills.. normal usage before get his iphone was RM30 . lol
vui_msia
post Jul 16 2009, 11:24 PM

367 posts

@tink..

yep, they r stupid... makesure you have itemise billing activated. even though it is free and ONLY way to know your usage. but they don't activate it by default.

when you have itemise billing activated, it will show a lum sum figure in your phone bill eg... how many MB have you use, how much it costs based on normal charges per KB.. then it will display all data charges waived

Added on July 16, 2009, 11:27 pm
QUOTE(alanelf @ Jul 16 2009, 11:20 PM)
lolz the unlimited is the iData3 3gb plan lo.... coz you wont use up to 3gb wan....their speed is so slow
lol, may be first 3GB is 3G speed, then after that is EDGE speed..

hm.. you guys aware that one of the new features in 3GS is support 7.2Mpbs 3G speed. wondering when Maxis will upgrade it .... our neighbor singtel already have that upgraded for 3GS blink.gif

This post has been edited by vui_msia: Jul 16 2009, 11:27 PM
vui_msia
post Aug 11 2009, 03:44 PM

367 posts

I have been on ivalue 100 since maxis 3g launch. my average mthly bill is RM125. ivalue = RM100, RM8 for SMS, which means i spent another RM17 on SMS to other service provider + taxes etc ...

I am a heavy sms user, so my voice only utilize RM10 , and data is about 300MB

0.1715sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:41 PM