125 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Bottom

iPhone 3G[S] Maxis Registration-Booking-Buying V3, Unconstructive post will be deleted

paco
post Sep 27 2009, 01:49 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 27 2009, 01:29 AM)
Hotlink customer needs to ensure that their line has validity in order to receive the free 500 MB data every month in their Hotlink plan.

yup. you paid in advance for the data for 12 months. everymonth u get 500mb.

setting->general->network->disable 3G
FOC
I am becoming more and more confuse now, should I enable to disable 3G? How to enable GPRS/EDGE?

Added on September 27, 2009, 1:50 amI keep on receiving message "could not activate cellular data network"

This post has been edited by paco: Sep 27 2009, 01:50 AM
naughtyz
post Sep 27 2009, 01:52 AM

1,557 posts

how big is 500mb..and how it shows ho many left mb?
lj0000
post Sep 27 2009, 01:59 AM

2,200 posts

disable 3g so the phone will only use the more stable GSM/GPRS/EDGE network.

better start reading the manual
In Settings, choose General > Usage
but its not accurate one. maxis also dunno how to gauge, until u receive ur bill/start deducting ur credit drastically.

500mb for me.. just 1 week use. light email and utube only.

Added on September 27, 2009, 2:00 amhttp://www.apple.com/iphone/how-to/#basics.using-iphone-as-a-modem

This post has been edited by lj0000: Sep 27 2009, 02:00 AM
Shoki
post Sep 27 2009, 02:11 AM

2,139 posts

500mb is quite little actually. It depends on you usage lo.
zilla
post Sep 27 2009, 02:17 AM

i booked mine on the 22nd of august. still waiting mad.gif
Blast_Cyrus
post Sep 27 2009, 02:49 AM

629 posts

QUOTE(fruitaleman @ Sep 26 2009, 05:31 PM)
Congratulations! smile.gif which firmware version? and what's K touch app for? xD
3.0.1 K-Touch app is to simulate the Kamen Rider Decade's ktouch henshin device hehe
paco
post Sep 27 2009, 04:04 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 27 2009, 01:59 AM)
disable 3g so the phone will only use the more stable GSM/GPRS/EDGE network.

better start reading the manual
In Settings, choose General > Usage
but its not accurate one. maxis also dunno how to gauge, until u receive ur bill/start deducting ur credit drastically.

500mb for me.. just 1 week use. light email and utube only.

Added on September 27, 2009, 2:00 amhttp://www.apple.com/iphone/how-to/#basics.using-iphone-as-a-modem
After I disable 3G, how to connect to GSM/GPRS/EDGE network? I don't see any of this setting, I only see WiFi and 3G On/Off only.
hades86
post Sep 27 2009, 04:30 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(paco @ Sep 27 2009, 04:04 AM)
After I disable 3G, how to connect to GSM/GPRS/EDGE network? I don't see any of this setting, I only see WiFi and 3G On/Off only.
turning off 3G will automatically switch to GPRS or EDGE
Xonius
post Sep 27 2009, 05:40 AM

Y U NO MAD???
1,113 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Sep 26 2009, 04:47 PM)
I thought it was inside ampang point initially, looking up and down for it till I called my friend to check the address for me again and realize it is a shop outside ampang point.  doh.gif

The girl told me that 16GB black will be faster compare to others, don't know how true is it but i just go with anything that is fast la ....
Same here, i looked high and low for it in the mall but soon found out that it was located outside, and not to mention closed at the time (it was sunday), so i went back the next day to book.

They also told me when i booked my 3Gs that the white color will have a longer delay, but i got it in less than 3 weeks, lucky i guess.

QUOTE(chunann @ Sep 26 2009, 06:04 PM)
hi everyone,
i would like to ask now can we buy the iphone using the prepaid plan and without sign contract with maxis??
or who want to sign contract with maxis but dont want the i phone??
i want to buy..
thanks.
The MEP at Ampang Point allows prepaid booking, theyre the fastest in delivering the phones too, <3 weeks. thumbup.gif

Anyway here are the details of my booking.

Model: iPhone 3GS 16gb White
Book Date: 7 September
Collection date: 25 September
Plan: Prepaid
Place: Orange Mobile, Ampang Point (MEP)
Comments: Very fast collection, friendly staff, took only 15 minutes for the whole process, 500mb monthly free data credited into hotlink account in under 1 hour.
Edoras
post Sep 27 2009, 07:08 AM

1,134 posts

As a test, take out yr Hotlink prepaid and place into another 3G phone (yr friend's etc) which is already prove working and see whether yr Hotlink prepaid really being activtated or not.
Otherwise, take a working 3G card 9from yr friend) and insert to yr 3G and see whether the setting is right or not.
princess_autumn87
post Sep 27 2009, 10:49 AM

Glamorous diva-Ghetto arse
597 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 26 2009, 07:02 PM)
You got it so fast? Which center did you go to collect your iPhone?  smile.gif
hi sorry for not putting it in the details .it is kl pavilion machine
davidmak
post Sep 27 2009, 10:58 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Secret Choong @ Sep 27 2009, 01:25 AM)
the 500mb is for edge/gprs usage, so when you surf using edge/gprs, you are using your free 500mb data. please correct me if i'm wrong.
Yes, the 500MB bandwidth quota is DATA allocated to your every month. It doesn't matter how you use this data. You can be on 3G, EDGE, GPRS, etc and it'll be using from this quota. Data transferred over WIFI is excepted.

QUOTE(paco @ Sep 27 2009, 04:04 AM)
QUOTE(paco @ Sep 27 2009, 01:49 AM)
I am becoming more and more confuse now, should I enable to disable 3G? How to enable GPRS/EDGE?

Added on September 27, 2009, 1:50 amI keep on receiving message "could not activate cellular data network"
No worries, when you disable 3G your iPhone will automatically fall back to the 'next best signal' which could be GPRS or EDGE. In most situations, it'll be EDGE if you're in Klang Valley or other places nearby. Some 'ulu' places will have GPRS indicated by 'o'. Most of the time 3G is the best. However, there can be situations where 3G is congested or 3G signal is weak. That way, falling back to EDGE is a good alternative. Also it helps save a little on the battery too.
fruitaleman
post Sep 27 2009, 11:55 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 27 2009, 01:12 AM)
maxis3g too congested to be used, so most of the time websites go timed out.
just switch to edge/gprs. its faster than 3g.

Added on September 27, 2009, 1:12 amtook me hours of testing, rebooting etc etc.. plus a trip to maxis center to figure this out.
Is maxis 3G really that bad? blink.gif Cos I signed the contract for ivalue because of 3g, if I wanna use edge I might as well use Digi campus, RM30 per month for unlimited edge and very stable.
jasjay8708
post Sep 27 2009, 11:57 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(kelwoo76 @ Sep 26 2009, 02:00 PM)
Model: iPhone 3GS 16gb White
Book Date: 28 August
Collection date: promised within 30days
Plan: iValue 1
Place: Pavillion KL, Maxis Center
Collection Day: 26 September...........smile.gif
hi bro.
how u get ur unit???
i booked 2 unit at pavilion also, 27 august,
just went to this centre at 26 sept,
but the guy just went in to stock n check,
come back to me n said that i still have
to wait for one week as i'm at the batch 7,
tell me what tactic u use to get ur phone???
thank you.
davidmak
post Sep 27 2009, 11:58 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(fruitaleman @ Sep 27 2009, 11:55 AM)
Is maxis 3G really that bad?  blink.gif Cos I signed the contract for ivalue because of 3g, if I wanna use edge I might as well use Digi campus, RM30 per month for unlimited edge and very stable.
Nah, Maxis 3G is pretty ok most of the time. I don't know about its other Maxis 3G broadband but surfing on my iPhone seems to be great. But it depends on the location you're in. Some places may have good signal but no respond on the internet = fail. Some other places, pretty consistent. But I only use internet on my iPhone for Facebook, IM and some regular Safari. So it doesn't matter if its 3G or EDGE.
kewlbabe
post Sep 27 2009, 12:19 PM

15 posts

does any1 book in kuantan?
Shoki
post Sep 27 2009, 01:08 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(jasjay8708 @ Sep 27 2009, 11:57 AM)
hi bro.
how u get  ur unit???
thank you.
No special tactic. It's all about luck. But you can call in to rush them tongue.gif
zwanvedder
post Sep 27 2009, 01:14 PM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Sep 27 2009, 11:58 AM)
Nah, Maxis 3G is pretty ok most of the time. I don't know about its other Maxis 3G broadband but surfing on my iPhone seems to be great. But it depends on the location you're in. Some places may have good signal but no respond on the internet = fail. Some other places, pretty consistent. But I only use internet on my iPhone for Facebook, IM and some regular Safari. So it doesn't matter if its 3G or EDGE.
agree with u... rclxms.gif for me maxis is much more stable than celcom
kelwoo76
post Sep 27 2009, 02:12 PM

QUOTE(jasjay8708 @ Sep 27 2009, 11:57 AM)
hi bro.
how u get  ur unit???
thank you.
No tactic lah Bro......Luck + Complaint Kau kau only once and the Manager scared already.
hide88
post Sep 27 2009, 03:31 PM

22 posts

hello..i got a question to ask

My fren jus got her iphone 3gs 16gb from maxis few days ago.
But now she doesnt wan it anymore and wanna sell to me rm2399
Im using Digi prepaid atm. Is this a good deal?

Sorry if i posted in wrong topic

125 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0429sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:10 PM