176 Pages « < 135 136 137 138 139 > » Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V6, I LIKE to be left ALONE

nethelp
post Jun 22 2011, 02:07 PM

97 posts

If not found in next day then probably onli be found next month... mummify hedgehog...
TeliLeti
post Jun 22 2011, 02:40 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(nethelp @ Jun 22 2011, 01:49 PM)
Sometimes I can't really figure it out how they manage to climb that high and they especially like to hide in some place where u think it's impossible for them to get in.
They have pretty strong arms. I've seen my hedgie drag himself up onto a ledge.
ddr3
post Jun 22 2011, 04:44 PM

HEDGIE :3
1,459 posts

i think my boy is in quilling stage, it lost around 5-8 quills wif a tiny little balls at the end of the quills, bt this concern me, is this considered as bald patches? c the picture all sifus, thanks.

Salt&Pepper
post Jun 22 2011, 04:51 PM

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 21 2011, 05:04 PM)
This is the storage box that i juz got from TESCO, RM19.90 wif 4 wheels down there.
[attachmentid=2287071]
that's damn cheap..rm19.90.. I bought mine like RM50.. & WORST is the 6-wheeled cost around rm100 le shakehead.gif
ddr3
post Jun 22 2011, 04:59 PM

1,459 posts

QUOTE(Salt&Pepper @ Jun 22 2011, 04:51 PM)
that's damn cheap..rm19.90.. I bought mine like RM50.. & WORST is the 6-wheeled cost around rm100 le  shakehead.gif
realli? u might wanna search 4 TESCO, GIANT quite mahal.....the brand is FELTON =D
Salt&Pepper
post Jun 22 2011, 05:11 PM

@ddr if the tiny little white thingy still attached to the shedded quills, fret not... it's just a normal quilling stage. because he is still a hoglet.

the bald patches caused by the mites would be like this

usually, the bald patches followed by the bloody scabs on it (sometimes on face, ears)
and the shedded quills caused by the mites usually chipped off, that is, the little white round thingy has eaten by the mites.

however some of the bald patches is not caused by the mites (after consulted to the vet & result negative in mites-infest)
i read in other forum that this problem cause by the over-dried & flaky skin. it'll stress out the hedgie too.
Best is not to bath your hedgie too often. drop some baby oil into the last bathwater of hedgie.
TeliLeti
post Jun 22 2011, 05:26 PM

18 posts

If you worry about a possible mite problem, just check his fallen quills for the ball at the end.
I check each and every quill everytime I find them.
ddr3
post Jun 22 2011, 07:47 PM

1,459 posts

Salt&Pepper & TeliLeti -
icic, ya, its hot here, n he has dry skin, need 2 get a baby oil 4 him ald, wat oil is gd 4 hedgie? do suggest me, ya, i did checked each n every quill of my boy, still hav the ball intact =D
TeliLeti
post Jun 22 2011, 09:12 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 22 2011, 07:47 PM)
Salt&Pepper & TeliLeti -
icic, ya, its hot here, n he has dry skin, need 2 get a baby oil 4 him ald, wat oil is gd 4 hedgie? do suggest me, ya, i did checked each n every quill of my boy, still hav the ball intact =D
I just drip a bit of vegetable (canola) oil on Chubby Cheek's (she finally has a name!) back. You can use olive oil or flax seed oil as well.
Just don't let your hedgehog get into contact with anything that contains tea tree oil. wink.gif
verulin
post Jun 22 2011, 09:16 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 22 2011, 04:59 PM)
realli? u might wanna search 4 TESCO, GIANT quite mahal.....the brand is FELTON =D
can also try looking around Carrefour. I got a 19"x12" floor space storage bin for my leopard gecko at rm16(just an example; this bin not suitable for hedgies cz it can't fit a wheel). They are having promo on other bins too

This post has been edited by verulin: Jun 22 2011, 09:17 PM
ix3Rukia
post Jun 22 2011, 09:20 PM

18 posts

My hedgie no matter what wont eat the mealworm - -.

I tried putting near her mouth , putting in her bowl , put the LIVE mealworm for 4 days also never touch :C.

I keep mealworms so that i can provide my hedgie with healthy food. Basically i just give them oats and carrots for water source. That is all they need.

Also my hedgie still dont like me lah sad.gif. Keep on jumping and hissing whenever i make a sound like touch the newspaper or touch it. When i carry it out with a cloth , and she walks to my hand then only its okay - -. Other than that , she keep jumping her quills at me

Hibari says : Im scared.

This post has been edited by ix3Rukia: Jun 22 2011, 10:40 PM
ddr3
post Jun 22 2011, 10:46 PM

1,459 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Jun 22 2011, 09:20 PM)

I tried putting near her mouth , putting in her bowl  , put the LIVE mealworm for 4 days also never touch :C.

I keep mealworms so that i can provide my hedgie with healthy food. Basically i just give them oats and carrots for water source. That is all they need.

Also my hedgie still dont like me lah sad.gif. Keep on jumping and hissing whenever i make a sound like touch the newspaper or touch it. When i carry it out with a cloth , and she walks to my hand then only its okay - -. Other than that , she keep jumping her quills at me
Hibari says : Im scared.
such a cutie there rclxms.gif nvm, u wil gt used 2 the quills n doesnt need the piece of cloth anymore rclxms.gif
Salt&Pepper
post Jun 22 2011, 10:47 PM

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Jun 22 2011, 09:20 PM)

I tried putting near her mouth , putting in her bowl  , put the LIVE mealworm for 4 days also never touch :C.

It takes time to bond with the hedgehog. From my experience, for my boy to fully 'accept' me, it took me about 1 month. By that time, he's no longer hissing & jumping or bite me (Unless I disturb his hide when he's sleeping - he'll hiss,jump & bite!)
To wake him up, usually I call his name & offer a mealworm to slowly lure him out from his hide.

If your hedgie doesn't like mealies, try to chop off the mealie's head and let her lick the juice.
ix3Rukia
post Jun 23 2011, 01:05 AM

18 posts

Yeah she just sniff the mealworm and hiss and drink water lol
ddr3
post Jun 23 2011, 09:34 PM

1,459 posts

Another picture of my boy....wat will his color be? rclxub.gif

ix3Rukia
post Jun 23 2011, 09:41 PM

18 posts

albino?
ddr3
post Jun 23 2011, 09:56 PM

1,459 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Jun 23 2011, 09:41 PM)
albino?
i dun tink is albino coz no red eye...

another question, does hedgie scratch here n there in his quilling period?

This post has been edited by ddr3: Jun 23 2011, 09:57 PM
ix3Rukia
post Jun 23 2011, 11:18 PM

18 posts

albino doesnt meant will have red eye. there is also black eye 1 lor
SUSkenpachi
post Jun 23 2011, 11:33 PM

Legendary Banhammer
553 posts

hard to find black eye albino..like albino but dont have black eye..lol
Salt&Pepper
post Jun 23 2011, 11:40 PM

i think the colour is either champagne. does the eyes very dark or ruby?

and for your question, yes, they often scratch here & there when quilling. think of human baby teething. the baby love to bite things because the gum is itchy.. similar to hedgie also. the new quills make them itchy

176 Pages « < 135 136 137 138 139 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:50 PM