How to enable MMS on your iPhone 2G, ActivateMMS2G

rattan
post Jun 30 2009, 01:33 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

yeah i also tested/compared against the 3g (maxis set) same results. Its identical.
prasys
post Jun 30 2009, 01:34 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

If its on EDGE/GPRS - expect it to be around 30 seconds to 50 seconds (at most a minute or two)

If its on 3G - its around 15-20 seconds
gengstapo
post Jun 30 2009, 01:36 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ Jun 30 2009, 01:28 PM)
Hey this is great, can I confirm something

Iphone 2G 3.0 firmware after applying patch can send and receive MMS. But can I disable the Edge data connection and MMS still function. If it is OK then I will proceed to upgrade my son's 2G iphone. I do not want to have another RM250/= data bill again sad.gif.

jackdon
You can disable the Edge via BossPrefs/ SBSetting
The MMS will still works & it only connect to Edge when you use the MMS
bluedream
post Jun 30 2009, 01:36 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(olly @ Jun 30 2009, 11:56 AM)
alright now im sucessful to send/receive mms.
b4 that it was failes, after try several time n read thru all the forumers post so this is how i done for it.

1) installed from cydia.
2) follow miskol step create the custom APN
    - use iphone go to this website www.unlockit.co.nz/#

3) To Enable Carrier Bundle Support in iTunes 8.2 (Windows)
    - follow the step http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/752226
    - i using iPhone_3.0_Maxis_my.ipcc.zip

after did the setting above i still hav some problem to sending out mms
refer i post ealier (post 55)

4) go to www.unlockit.co.nz/# again download the software
5) create a new profile n fill up this setting
  - APN: net
    Username: maxis
    Password: wap

after the step 5 if still not work follow by step 6

6) go to APN
    - (which is download in www.unlockit.co.nz/#)

7) full fill the setting
    -Cellular Data:
APN: net

MMS
APN: net
MMSC: https://172.16.74.100:10021/mmsc
MMS Proxy: 202.75.133.49:80
MMS Max Message Size: 307200

done! then try again...
hope this can help those ppl still cannot work.
anyway im maxis postpaid user.
mine failed even after applying the To Enable Carrier Bundle Support in iTunes 8.2 (Windows) then i followed your steps but since im using digi i used
APN: digimms
Username: mms
Password: mms

and it finally work!

lcwei85
post Jun 30 2009, 01:39 PM

118 posts

I tried to install Active2Gmms,after that using iphone go to unlockit.co.nz,
following the step create a profile.with
APN:digiwap
usename:(blank)
password:(blank)
however i still can't send or receive mms.
Any step I miss?

olly
post Jun 30 2009, 01:54 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(lcwei85 @ Jun 30 2009, 01:39 PM)
Any step I miss?
try to install the software in www.unlock.co.nz then open it n full fill all the setting.
anyway i hav mention this step b4, u can refer my previous post
bluedream
post Jun 30 2009, 01:56 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(lcwei85 @ Jun 30 2009, 01:39 PM)
Any step I miss?
change
APN : digimms
username : mms
password : mms
miskol
post Jun 30 2009, 02:14 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ Jun 30 2009, 01:28 PM)
Hey this is great, can I confirm something

Iphone 2G 3.0 firmware after applying patch can send and receive MMS. But can I disable the Edge data connection and MMS still function. If it is OK then I will proceed to upgrade my son's 2G iphone. I do not want to have another RM250/= data bill again sad.gif.

jackdon
i've tested it, my first picture, i forgot that my EDGE(gprs) was enabled... after sending the MMS i checked that my data counter increased. then i disabled my EDGE connection using SBSettings(install in from Cydia), and try sending picture again, this time the data counter did not increased and the picture is also successfully sent.

so in my opinion, you SHOULD disable EDGE connection before sending MMS pictures. because if u enable it, u would have to pay the MMS charge + the data charga for EDGE. am i right?

p/s: my usual way to check EDGE is disabled is by trying to refresh my mail inbox, i will get "Cannot Get Mail" error if my EDGE is off.

This post has been edited by miskol: Jun 30 2009, 02:23 PM
lcwei85
post Jun 30 2009, 02:34 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(bluedream @ Jun 30 2009, 01:56 PM)
change
APN : digimms
username : mms
password : mms
the carrier under custom APN leave it blank?
olly
post Jun 30 2009, 02:44 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(lcwei85 @ Jun 30 2009, 02:34 PM)
the carrier under custom APN leave it blank?
for me i leave blank.
lcwei85
post Jun 30 2009, 02:46 PM

118 posts

Still can't send my MMS.
I just show my step over here.Any sifu please help me out!!

1.DL Active2GMMS from cydia
2.Change Carrier Bundle by adding file 50216& digi.my bundle to "carrier bundle" in iPhone via SSH.
3.Go to unlockit.co.nz to DL the SW.
under the sw,
APN:digimms
username:mms
password:mms
carrier:blank
4.Restart iPhone

Anystep i miss?However,the step using press OPTION-CHECK FOR UPDATES ,the ipcc file was grey-out..i can't choose it for update after i DL from lyn.
miskol
post Jun 30 2009, 02:49 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(lcwei85 @ Jun 30 2009, 02:46 PM)
Anystep i miss?However,the step using press OPTION-CHECK FOR UPDATES ,the ipcc file was grey-out..i can't choose it for update after i DL from lyn.
if it was grey-out, then that means u did not correctly follow the steps in here:

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4271
lcwei85
post Jun 30 2009, 02:49 PM

118 posts

OH NO!!!I can't send my SMS too!!!!

Added on June 30, 2009, 2:56 pm
QUOTE(miskol @ Jun 30 2009, 02:49 PM)
if it was grey-out, then that means u did not correctly follow the steps in here:

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4271
I tried.But then nothing happened to my iTunes.I'm using macbook.
I key in "default write com.apple.iTunes carrier-testing -bool TRUE" and press enter.
after that I click iTunes and select,still the same problem happened.

This post has been edited by lcwei85: Jun 30 2009, 02:56 PM
gengstapo
post Jun 30 2009, 03:03 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(miskol @ Jun 30 2009, 02:14 PM)
i've tested it, my first picture, i forgot that my EDGE(gprs) was enabled... after sending the MMS i checked that my data counter increased. then i disabled my EDGE connection using SBSettings(install in from Cydia), and try sending picture again, this time the data counter did not increased and the picture is also successfully sent.

so in my opinion, you SHOULD disable EDGE connection before sending MMS pictures. because if u enable it, u would have to pay the MMS charge + the data charga for EDGE. am i right?

p/s: my usual way to check EDGE is disabled is by trying to refresh my mail inbox, i will get "Cannot Get Mail" error if my EDGE is off.
No, it is not like that
The patch working differently
No matter how you disable the Edge, it will connect IT when you use the MMS
Ive been monitoring it since yesterday.. smile.gif

Need to use SBSetting to monitor the Edge connection coz, even it connected when you using MMS, you still can't browse Mail/ Safari. Its like working but w/out internet connection.. Something like that..

I don't know how to describe..
miskol
post Jun 30 2009, 03:16 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 30 2009, 03:03 PM)
No, it is not like that

Need to use SBSetting to monitor the Edge connection coz, even it connected when you using MMS, you still can't browse Mail/ Safari. Its like working but w/out internet connection.. Something like that..

yeah, i know that. MMS will use GPRS@EDGE@3G to receive or send pictures. MMS is combination of SMS and WAP technology. now, by enabling your EDGE connection it's like prolonging your use of EDGE, then u have to pay extra.
cempedak
post Jun 30 2009, 03:18 PM

hi guys. My MMS is working perfectly. Can receive and send but one thing that I dont understand is, what is Carier Bundle? And I saw at iClarified about how to set a carrier bundle using Terminal... can someone explain to me because I read all the thread in this LYN but still couldn't understand except from what I know, it only change the logo of our carrier. Can brief me more details?

Added on June 30, 2009, 3:22 pm
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 30 2009, 03:03 PM)
No, it is not like that

how u monitored it? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cempedak: Jun 30 2009, 03:22 PM
miskol
post Jun 30 2009, 03:22 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(cempedak @ Jun 30 2009, 03:18 PM)
hi guys. My MMS is working perfectly. Can receive and send but one thing that I dont understand is, what is Carier Bundle? And I saw at iClarified about how to set a carrier bundle using Terminal... can someone explain to me because I read all the thread in this LYN but still couldn't understand except from what I know, it only change the logo of our carrier. Can brief me more details?
i also dont fully understand its functions. but from my experience, when i configured my Carrier Bundle, my carrier logo is changed from text to a cute logo smile.gif and then my "Cellular Data Network" setting is finally visible in Setting>General>Network.

also with Carrier Bundle, u dont have to configure your APN through "www.unlockit.co.nz/#" because now like i said, the "Cellular Data Network" setting is visible so u can configure the APN from there. i have deleted my APN setting from "www.unlockit.co.nz/#" and my MMS is still working.

This post has been edited by miskol: Jun 30 2009, 03:26 PM
khonglo2n
post Jun 30 2009, 03:40 PM

76 posts

hi all, i try add the ipcc file frm LYN, but it came out the error code 0xE8000051,

whats wrong huh...
cempedak
post Jun 30 2009, 03:43 PM

QUOTE(miskol @ Jun 30 2009, 03:22 PM)
i also dont fully understand its functions. but from my experience, when i configured my Carrier Bundle, my carrier logo is changed from text to a cute logo smile.gif and then my "Cellular Data Network" setting is finally visible in Setting>General>Network.

also with Carrier Bundle, u dont have to configure your APN through "www.unlockit.co.nz/#" because now like i said, the "Cellular Data Network" setting is visible so u can configure the APN from there. i have deleted my APN setting from "www.unlockit.co.nz/#" and my MMS is still working.
well, lucky me I guess because I do not need to set up anything for my APN because after I installed the MMS apps in Cydia, it works like a magic. Anyway, thanks for answering my question
miskol
post Jun 30 2009, 03:51 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(khonglo2n @ Jun 30 2009, 03:40 PM)
hi all, i try add the ipcc file frm LYN, but it came out the error code 0xE8000051,

whats wrong huh...
save the file from LYN as .zip, and then only extract the file inside it and use it in iTunes.

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:22 AM