125 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Bottom

LYN Gen2 Club V3, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!

pokgaizai
post Feb 2 2010, 12:46 PM

684 posts

my car 2004 got pinging sound also, after shift to RON95, and only morning/ cold start. After engine warm up, no more sound.

eng98
post Feb 2 2010, 01:08 PM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

QUOTE(shazmn @ Feb 2 2010, 08:01 AM)

ur car ecu 2004 ah? dont want pingking? swap ecu with me want? if its a 2004 ecu, the pingking sound caused by the advance timing ke hapa ntah which gives more spark in the engine...better torque compared to other batch of ecu...there is a way actually where sa can reflash the ecu to latest mapping but sayang lor...the ecu is a rare germ...oh but that is only if ur ecu is the 2004 ecu la hahah

yes..... last batch of 04 lol.... after my batch is the batch that come with the additional spoiler and diff interior colour... lol.. not only it ping... it drink petrol too.. but nothing i care when i happy rev-ing.. lol btw the 1 u recommend for FPR and remove the lag... my car suitable? want to go seremban 1 day to fix it lar....
TSshazmn
post Feb 2 2010, 06:54 PM

~.~*I own a six Stars...do you?? :P*~.~
1,800 posts

eng98 - it drinks petrol because the advance timing that i mention before...more spark...more fuel i guess...sorry noob in technical...

all cars even cps can install the fpr...but first change header...result becomes more obvious
eng98
post Feb 2 2010, 11:43 PM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

i think because of the advance timing means.... it spark even b4 the valve are not fully closing? i guess the petrol smell are the cause by advance timing... left some unburn petrol goes to exhaust valve.... everytime i hard rev sure got petrol smell... especially after genting....

btw can pm me the price and location ? thanks bro shaz

and yes.. i changed my full exhaust... header to muffler

This post has been edited by eng98: Feb 2 2010, 11:46 PM
rcracer
post Feb 3 2010, 12:10 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:43 PM)
i think because of the advance timing means.... it spark even b4 the valve are not fully closing? i guess the petrol smell are the cause by advance timing... left some unburn petrol goes to exhaust valve.... everytime i hard rev sure got petrol smell... especially after genting....

btw can pm me the price and location ? thanks bro shaz

and yes.. i changed my full exhaust... header to muffler
well i don't know why FC increase.

but here are some timing basics

The spark plug needs to be fired a few degrees before the piston reaches top dead centre (TDC, the maximum stroke before the piston descends), the spark comes early because petrol burns slower than we think so igniting early allows combustion to build as the piston is traveling upwards and reaches maximum burn exactly when the piston is at TDC giving maximum power as the mix expands pushing the piston downwards capturing all the chemical energy into mechanical force.

Advancing timing means firing the plug earlier before TDC and retard means firing nearer to TDC.

For the campro first batch 2004 the pinging is happening because of advance timing, what happens at low speed is the maximum burn is achieved before piston TDC hence the downward expanding mixture collides with the upward moving piston hence the metallic ping noise. But at high speeds the timing becomes just right, reaching maximum burn at exact TDC, giving maximum power. this is why people say ecu 2004 early batch was most powerful.

New batch have no ping but less powerful because the timing is retarded = firing the plug closer to TDC, which causes the piston to pass TDC before reaching maximum burn so the energy from expansion is not fully transformed into energy pushing the piston down because there is more volume already.
eng98
post Feb 3 2010, 12:16 AM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

i see... means the plug ignite even b4 or half way coming up but b4 TDC rite? means adj cam pulley also cannot solve the pinging where plug are controlled by ecu rite?

This post has been edited by eng98: Feb 3 2010, 12:17 AM
rcracer
post Feb 3 2010, 12:26 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:16 PM)
i see... means the plug ignite even b4 or half way coming up but b4 TDC rite? means adj cam pulley also cannot solve the pinging where plug are controlled by ecu rite?
correcto, always before TDC, otherwise lots of power is lost.

exactly, adjustable cam pulley adjusts the valve gear, totally and absolutely separate system from the ignition system.

correct again, the ECU controls the timing, there is a notched wheel fixed on the crankshaft that tells the ECU where the position of the piston is, you only need to know one since the rest are fixed by the crankshaft already, and since everything is fixed together the positioning and timing is always accurate and at the same exact point.

This post has been edited by rcracer: Feb 3 2010, 12:26 AM
eng98
post Feb 3 2010, 12:42 AM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

no wonder my top range felt smoother den those persona.... but torque dip still an issue leh....
rcracer
post Feb 3 2010, 12:47 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:42 PM)
no wonder my top range felt smoother den those persona.... but torque dip still an issue leh....
persona onwards i cannot comment already as there were many updates to the ECU, i only can comment between 04 early and later, haha
eng98
post Feb 3 2010, 12:48 AM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

but the low end of persona is just nice.... even the auto i drove..
rcracer
post Feb 3 2010, 01:06 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Feb 2 2010, 04:48 PM)
but the low end of persona is just nice.... even the auto i drove..
most probably was the IAFM model
TSshazmn
post Feb 3 2010, 08:05 AM

~.~*I own a six Stars...do you?? :P*~.~
1,800 posts

wahhh rcracer i always dunno how to explain advance timing u did well i guess..sifoooo notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

yes persona iafm is wayyyy better at low end because of the iafm module rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
ahlong
post Feb 3 2010, 08:27 AM

not a debt collector
612 posts

and the IAFM olwes cepat rosak ketakkkkkkk ketakkkkkkk ktaakkkkkkkkkk brrrrrrrrrrr
Dovienya
post Feb 3 2010, 09:41 AM

293 posts

What is the adv. timing setting for the ECU?

I'm quite consistent in maintaining a 3~4k RPM whenever I'm driving. Is this the reason why I dont hear the pinging sound?
unsure.gif

QUOTE(rcracer @ Feb 3 2010, 12:10 AM)
well i don't know why FC increase.

but here are some timing basics

The spark plug needs to be fired a few degrees before the piston reaches top dead centre (TDC, the maximum stroke before the piston descends), the spark comes early because petrol burns slower than we think so igniting early allows combustion to build as the piston is traveling upwards and reaches maximum burn exactly when the piston is at TDC giving maximum power as the mix expands pushing the piston downwards capturing all the chemical energy into mechanical force.

Advancing timing means firing the plug earlier before TDC and retard means firing nearer to TDC.

For the campro first batch 2004 the pinging is happening because of advance timing, what happens at low speed is the maximum burn is achieved before piston TDC hence the downward expanding mixture collides with the upward moving piston hence the metallic ping noise. But at high speeds the timing becomes just right, reaching maximum burn at exact TDC, giving maximum power. this is why people say ecu 2004 early batch was most powerful.

New batch have no ping but less powerful because the timing is retarded = firing the plug closer to TDC, which causes the piston to pass TDC before reaching maximum burn so the energy from expansion is not fully transformed into energy pushing the piston down because there is more volume already.
kokkie
post Feb 3 2010, 11:16 AM

QUOTE(shazmn @ Feb 2 2010, 08:54 AM)
hmmm i guess sometime driving behavior also plays important factor hmm.gif

and MT is easier to detect compared to AT
how do u know if ur ECU is the 2004 version? i have been driving at pretty low rpms in city, revving to 4-5 only on highways but hear nothing. either mine is not a 2004ECU or i actually lived well with the pinging.. lol rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
eng98
post Feb 3 2010, 01:21 PM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

what years is ur car? gen2 which after 04 or build in 2005 has the ECU remap....

Dovienya: u won't hear the ping sound in higher range RPM which around 4 - red line..... only lower range the sound is damm obvious... especially after bump!!! lol

want to ask u guys 1 more thing... any u guys using 4300k HID for gen2 projector?

This post has been edited by eng98: Feb 3 2010, 01:55 PM
Dovienya
post Feb 3 2010, 01:56 PM

293 posts

hmm...

Possible mine is not the "original" ECU.
Manufacturer and deployed on the road in Dec 2004.

QUOTE(eng98 @ Feb 3 2010, 01:21 PM)
what years is ur car? gen2 which after 04 or build in 2005 has the ECU remap....

Dovienya: u won't hear the ping sound in higher range RPM which around 4 - red line..... only lower range the sound is damm obvious... especially after bump!!! lol

want to ask u guys 1 more thing... any u guys using 4300k HID for gen2 projector?
daijoubu
post Feb 4 2010, 12:53 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

guys im considering to buy a gen 2 cps. i'd like to know what are all the problems current owners are facing? any particular problems that i should know before i buy? =D
Blue_Diamond
post Feb 4 2010, 02:19 PM

98 posts

hello guys..

Last night my Gen2 aircond developed some kind of problem. Firstly, the aircond blew freezing cold air eventhough i adjusted the temperature knob to the hottest while driving.

When i reached home and shut down the engine. I realised that my fan is still spinning. After 1 hour, it's still spinning until i on the engine then on the aircond then off it. Then only the fan stopped.

Then this morning, i switched on the aircond while driving to work. Still blows freezing cold air no matter how i adjust the temperature knob. After that, stopped by and shut down the engine to pump petrol. Fan still spinning. rclxub.gif

On engine again and switch on the aircond. White air or should i say "smoke" came out from my aircond vents. Similar to when i open the freezer. The air was freezing cold. rclxub.gif

Is it my aircond system kong aldy?

Dovienya
post Feb 4 2010, 02:36 PM

293 posts

One of the relay is not working already. You might need to get it replace.
I got this problem before, but cant be sure which relay needed to be replaced.

Your aicond valve produce white smoke is because it is too cold. In the long run, it is bad as the air will condense in your "aircond pipe" and "corrode" the pipe.

In another note, how do you know which temp is the coldest, and which is the hottest?
The knob is a clockwork type with Min--->Max.

QUOTE(Blue_Diamond @ Feb 4 2010, 02:19 PM)
hello guys..

Last night my Gen2 aircond developed some kind of problem. Firstly, the aircond blew freezing cold air eventhough i adjusted the temperature knob to the hottest while driving.

When i reached home and shut down the engine. I realised that my fan is still spinning. After 1 hour, it's still spinning until i on the engine then on the aircond then off it. Then only the fan stopped.

Then this morning, i switched on the aircond while driving to work. Still blows freezing cold air no matter how i adjust the temperature knob. After that, stopped by and shut down the engine to pump petrol. Fan still spinning. rclxub.gif

On engine again and switch on the aircond. White air or should i say "smoke" came out from my aircond vents. Similar to when i open the freezer. The air was freezing cold. rclxub.gif

Is it my aircond system kong aldy?

125 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:37 PM