LYN Gen2 Club V3, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!

Blue_Diamond
post Sep 25 2009, 10:40 AM

98 posts

Lately, my car has this 'klak klak' sound coming from the back of the car whenever i go through uneven and rough roads...quite audible from inside.

Kinda like rattling plastics from the 3rd brake light but not very sure. Anyone experience this before? sad.gif

Blue_Diamond
post Sep 25 2009, 03:12 PM

98 posts

Currently, i got a few sounds coming from different parts of the car while going through uneven/rough roads..

But no sounds on flat surface roads as it's smooth and feel solid..

a) The famous 'klunk' sound from front suspension when i go through bumps while turning right. <-- Heard is the metal steering hose hitting the car body.

b) Dashboard rattling sound especially from the middle aircond vents. Turn aircond speed to after half level can hear the sound. <-- Heard it can't be fix, sort of like design flaw.

c) Front passenger door panel rattling sound. <-- I think it's due to the cheapo hard plastics used. Thinking to soundproof all the 4 doors to minimize the vibration sound.

d) Front suspension got a soft 'nyek nyek' sound when my car body flexes while passing 2 different surface height. <-- Seldom happen but it's there.

e) Plastics rattling sound like 'klak klak' when going through uneven roads. Heard it's coming from the rear windscreen area. <-- Suspected is the 3rd brake light but not sure. Sent the car to wash yesterday, right after wash no more sound. But came back this morning. rclxub.gif

Hope u guys can help me solve this sound problems. Waiting for my next service to highlight all these.

Btw, which SC around KL got good service?Is there any service center around Setapak/Jalan Genting Klang?
Blue_Diamond
post Sep 28 2009, 10:14 AM

98 posts

Aldy solve the noise for e) by tightening the screws around the back seats, rear speakers, 3rd brake light. Hope the noise won't come back. sweat.gif a) - d) will go to SC to rectify it.

Since u guys mentioned abt K&N air filter..wanna ask when i need to service the filter? and where is the best place to service?

And i'm also using Denso plugs, can last until how many KM? cos i forgot aldy.

Both items i aldy used about 10k KM. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Blue_Diamond: Sep 28 2009, 10:15 AM
Blue_Diamond
post Sep 29 2009, 05:18 PM

98 posts

shazmn,

Thanks a lot for the tips..I'll try this during the weekends. Wah, Gen2Club all monsters..Mine just stock car.. blush.gif

How about these questions? blush.gif

QUOTE(Blue_Diamond @ Sep 28 2009, 10:14 AM)
Since u guys mentioned abt K&N air filter..wanna ask when i need to service the filter? and where is the best place to service?

And i'm also using Denso plugs, can last until how many KM? cos i forgot aldy.

Both items i aldy used about 10k KM.  biggrin.gif
Blue_Diamond
post Dec 2 2009, 11:25 AM

98 posts

Erm..i bought the Gen2 on year 2007. The standard warranty is 2 years or 3 years or 5 years? Where to check ah?
Blue_Diamond
post Feb 4 2010, 02:19 PM

98 posts

hello guys..

Last night my Gen2 aircond developed some kind of problem. Firstly, the aircond blew freezing cold air eventhough i adjusted the temperature knob to the hottest while driving.

When i reached home and shut down the engine. I realised that my fan is still spinning. After 1 hour, it's still spinning until i on the engine then on the aircond then off it. Then only the fan stopped.

Then this morning, i switched on the aircond while driving to work. Still blows freezing cold air no matter how i adjust the temperature knob. After that, stopped by and shut down the engine to pump petrol. Fan still spinning. rclxub.gif

On engine again and switch on the aircond. White air or should i say "smoke" came out from my aircond vents. Similar to when i open the freezer. The air was freezing cold. rclxub.gif

Is it my aircond system kong aldy?

Blue_Diamond
post Feb 4 2010, 03:01 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(Dovienya @ Feb 4 2010, 02:36 PM)
One of the relay is not working already. You might need to get it replace.
I got this problem before, but cant be sure which relay needed to be replaced.

Your aicond valve produce white smoke is because it is too cold. In the long run, it is bad as the air will condense in your "aircond pipe" and "corrode" the pipe.

In another note, how do you know which temp is the coldest, and which is the hottest?
The knob is a clockwork type with Min--->Max.
Is the relay u mentioned expensive to be replaced? Should i get it replaced at SC or outside shop? cos my car slightly over 2 years. So no more warranty liao.

I know which is which e.g. Min -> Coldest, Max -> Hottest. But whichever position i turned to, the air is still freezing cold. Emit some unpleasant smell also. doh.gif

And sometimes the aircond behaved strangely. Sometimes after i off aldy, it will automatically switch on with full blast for a few seconds before off again. rclxub.gif

Btw, only the the relay will be able to solve the problem above? How about the fan kept spinning non stop?

This post has been edited by Blue_Diamond: Feb 4 2010, 03:02 PM
Blue_Diamond
post Feb 4 2010, 05:55 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(kokkie @ Feb 4 2010, 03:13 PM)
what i believe is what you have mentioned, eg: e.g. Min -> Coldest, Max -> Hottest. my aircon has no problem, im keeping it slightly below btw 23-24degrees most of the time, ie with the knob pointer a slight degree towards the left.

no such problems as what you have reported. maybe u can send to proton edar to check?
If that's the case, i think i'll send it SC this weekend. The problem seems bad but hopefully it doesn't cost me a bomb. sweat.gif

Have to drive to work without aircond until weekend...sigh...
Blue_Diamond
post Mar 31 2010, 11:00 AM

98 posts

Hmm...i recently suffered the same problem as Dovienya. Replaced something at the engine bay there for RM10 and solved the problem. Forgot the name of it.

Talking about aircond, my aircond for the past few months have some kind of intermittent problem. It on or off by itself sometimes although not frequent. rclxub.gif How to solve this problem ah?

Another thing is my aircond mechanic said Gen.2's cooling coil very troublesome to service cos need to dismantle the whole dashboard. Is it true? He said just use until bocor then only replace a new one.. sweat.gif

My car 2 and half years aldy and never service the aircond system before. Planning to service and fix the intermittent problem this weekend. Please advice. Thx.
Blue_Diamond
post Apr 15 2010, 07:49 PM

98 posts

Bro eng98,

How much u changed ur rims and tyres? 16"? What tyres u using now? brows.gif

This post has been edited by Blue_Diamond: Apr 15 2010, 07:50 PM
Blue_Diamond
post Apr 16 2010, 10:48 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Apr 15 2010, 10:41 PM)
bro... u saw my rim in nestum thread ke? still 15 inch ler no money go for 16 - 17..... hehe just trade in rim only.... use back tyre.... now using hankook ler... next change most properly going for yoko... but that is like another 3 years

BTW nestum are ok... he got alot of avanti rims... ok lar.. price are good and he really did give me a good trade in price....
can pm me the address bro? i ask my fren see she know the place or not.. need to plan abit.... hehe everything in are 500 rite?
Yeah, i saw ur reply in his thread. Thinking to replace my stock rims and tyres at his shop if the price is within my budget. Interested in his 16" Enkei Tuning rims but will go to his shop and survey first. I also on tight budget la. blush.gif

Anyway, nice rims u have there. laugh.gif

Blue_Diamond
post Apr 16 2010, 03:10 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Apr 16 2010, 11:14 AM)
Oh with toll money lol
thanks bro smile.gif
price not bad... He got alot Yokohama tyre
btw I not sure how much he gonna take stock rim coz he gave me good price for my previous taiwan rim
No problem Bro. I'll go check out his shop when i'm free since his shop is very near to my house. It's about time to replace my stock noisy and hard Silverstone Kruiser tyres liao. laugh.gif
Blue_Diamond
post Apr 26 2010, 10:23 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Apr 26 2010, 12:58 AM)
China version of Gen2/Persona come with default front 2point strut bar...  yawn.gif

Added on April 26, 2010, 1:09 amAnd lack of below few things as well :  shakehead.gif

My car got this sunglasses holder wo.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Blue_Diamond: Apr 26 2010, 10:26 PM
Blue_Diamond
post Apr 26 2010, 10:30 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(NightShadow @ Apr 26 2010, 10:29 PM)
it becomes disabled i guess?

i have this mentality that the built-in alarm system isn't effective enough.

is someone able to prove me wrong?

plus these features are pretty tempting: http://www.steel-mate.com/product.php?pid=...CD_transmitters

tilt sensors seem useful when someone tries to jack your car up to steal your rims.

i've heard about captor. is there a dealer on lowyat forums? would like to weigh my options and see which of these security systems are worth getting.
Your new Gen.2 doesn't come with factory installed Captor?
Blue_Diamond
post Apr 26 2010, 11:01 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(NightShadow @ Apr 26 2010, 10:34 PM)
i doubt it. i wasn't informed of any advanced security system for my car. nor was there any mention of a annual RM200 fee for paying for Captor.

So i guess i do not have Captor factory-installed.

Am I. Supposed to? Was I conned?
I'm not sure as well. All the while i thought all Gen.2 comes with factory installed Captor. Need someone who has just bought a new Gen.2 to clarify here. smile.gif

Mine got when i bought in 2007. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Blue_Diamond: Apr 26 2010, 11:12 PM
Blue_Diamond
post May 1 2010, 01:09 AM

98 posts

Better buy new one that already factory smoked...when you use a new headlamp to smoke, won't look so clean and new because dust, dirty stuffs and etc might have gather inside. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Blue_Diamond: May 1 2010, 01:15 AM
Blue_Diamond
post May 4 2010, 01:59 PM

98 posts

I'm looking for quiet and comfort biased tyres for 205/50/16 for my Gen.2. I would like to avoid those in ultra high performance category as i'm not so much into handling in dry or wet stuffs. I don't take corners at crazy speed. laugh.gif

My budget not more than RM300 per piece. I heard Yokohama A-Drive R1 very noisy but handles not bad. Falken Ziex ZE-912 is quieter but easily botak and can't last long. Other than Falken 912, what other tyres available? hmm.gif

Can't afford Michelin Primacy LC or Yokohama ES501.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Blue_Diamond: May 4 2010, 02:00 PM
Blue_Diamond
post Aug 25 2010, 11:57 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Aug 21 2010, 03:54 PM)
guys... i'm selling off the eagle eyes projector with 18 months warranty(still left 10 months) and rear LED lamp together for 400 ringgit... if there is any1 still interested in swapping the GAH HAB adjustable let me know....
Bro, your rear LED lamp also from Eagle Eye? Any pictures to show? biggrin.gif
Blue_Diamond
post Sep 20 2010, 02:57 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Sep 20 2010, 02:46 PM)
nice  rclxms.gif
i always pump petronas ron95; rm60 could get around 430 - 450km
saga blm  laugh.gif
Yours is MT? Highway drive? Very good FC you have there.. biggrin.gif
Blue_Diamond
post Sep 20 2010, 04:44 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(infinity1613 @ Sep 20 2010, 03:20 PM)
mine 1.3 AT, full tank bout RM60, town driving around 380km,
if highway, about 450km..
QUOTE(s@ni @ Sep 20 2010, 04:21 PM)
AT  laugh.gif  needs to take care of my right leg always... so hard to maintain  tongue.gif
now stays around 7.2L/100km

BTW, k&n air filters drop in for gen2 will arrive next week. 2units reserved, left another 2units only  laugh.gif
Mine is AT and constantly getting 10.5-11L/100km since day 1 i took my car. I'm a light footer as well.. rclxub.gif But i'm riding on 16" la. Using Petronas/BHP Ron 95 all the while. Others never try before.

Envy you guys can get such good FC.. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Blue_Diamond: Sep 20 2010, 04:45 PM

0.0439sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:09 PM