Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

winner
post Jun 20 2009, 05:38 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 20 2009, 10:37 AM)
Actually DA is like the leader in giving benefits to card holders like free for life AF and the 1st to give  2% rebate on petrol at all stations. I am sure that DA will restudy their "offers" with time once they realize that other banks are taking their business away.
Except the not-so-great World MasterCard, I hardly see advertisements from CIMB/DA on new promotions lately. My colleague told me that he recently received a call from CIMB offering him a World MasterCard.

This post has been edited by winner: Jun 20 2009, 05:45 PM
hye
post Jun 20 2009, 06:34 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Jun 20 2009, 03:24 PM)
How long usually it will take for bank to "unhold" our RM 200 credit for petrol purchases?

Used my DA card to purchase RM 50 worth of petrol last Thursday, checked  and they "hold" RM 200. They updated the online statement today, and they updated the RM 50 petrol purchase, but they haven't unhold the RM 200, which means they charged me RM 250 for the petrol purchase.  rclxub.gif
In all my years of using cc (including from DA), banks will always charge you the actual fuel purchase. Yes, they do charge more than you pump but once the merchant submit their claims, you will be charged the actual amount.

To prove my point, in your statement DA charge you RM50 or RM250 ? You can even update us once your online statement is updated with the actual transaction.
Edison83
post Jun 20 2009, 06:38 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

Im a great fans of games, recently i discover the new capcom debit visa card. I'm thinking to get 1.

http://www.capcomrewardscard.com/?about

The card will be issue in US
What are the disadvantage use of using oversea card in Malaysia?

any good advice?
elhh82
post Jun 20 2009, 07:12 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Jun 20 2009, 06:38 PM)
Im a great fans of games, recently i discover the new capcom debit visa card. I'm thinking to get 1.

http://www.capcomrewardscard.com/?about

The card will be issue in US
What are the disadvantage use of using oversea card in Malaysia?

any good advice?
this is a prepaid card. you will have to load funds on it before using, like touch n go. Since it is in the US, you will have to find a way to load it in US currency.

Everytime you use it in Malaysia you will lose money for the currency conversion. In fact you will lose money twice. Once when you load the card, and once when you buy in ringgits.

Maybe good to have just for collection, but not practical for daily use.

Edison83
post Jun 20 2009, 07:24 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

you have a point there~ TQ... no annual fee but got monthly fee...swt

btw i just register a visa electron from Public bank and then i found out about the new card day2day card which pretty much like maybank debit visa but enable on9 transaction (as written in day2day card). On9 transaction is important to me... can i like convert it or change it without go to public bank? Public bank is so full everytime i go. I also opened a new saving account at the same day without any ATM card....
hye
post Jun 20 2009, 07:26 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Jun 20 2009, 07:24 PM)
you have a point there~ TQ... no annual fee but got monthly fee...swt

btw i just register a visa electron from Public bank and then i found out about the new card day2day card which pretty much like maybank debit visa but enable on9 transaction (as written in day2day card). On9 transaction is important to me... can i like convert it or change it without go to public bank? Public bank is so full everytime i go. I also opened a new saving account at the same day without any ATM card....
Bro ... you are talking about the wrong product in the wrong thread. You are talking about debit cards and this is credit cards ... please post your statements in the right place.
Edison83
post Jun 20 2009, 07:29 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

ops, sorry man, noobs here...i go find the debit card thread..

This post has been edited by Edison83: Jun 20 2009, 07:30 PM
mzaidi
post Jun 20 2009, 08:02 PM

Jerk
1,484 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 20 2009, 06:34 PM)
In all my years of using cc (including from DA), banks will always charge you the actual fuel purchase. Yes, they do charge more than you pump but once the merchant submit their claims, you will be charged the actual amount.

To prove my point, in your statement DA charge you RM50 or RM250 ? You can even update us once your online statement is updated with the actual transaction.
Just checked again, they actually charging me RM 200 only, but they did update the online statement stating that I've spent RM 50 for the petrol. So they've updated the statement, but haven't unhold the balance of RM 150.
winner
post Jun 20 2009, 08:58 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Jun 20 2009, 08:02 PM)
Just checked again, they actually charging me RM 200 only, but they did update the online statement stating that I've spent RM 50 for the petrol. So they've updated the statement, but haven't unhold the balance of RM 150.
I had never checked DA unbilled statement online so I'm not sure about its system. But I've been using HLB online for years and the bank only updates my cc transactions on the posting date, rather than transaction date. I think you need not worry about the temporary additional sum. The system will adjust the figure when posting date comes. However, it would always be safer if you keep the transaction bill and counter check after receiving your monthly statement.
tinkerbel
post Jun 20 2009, 09:07 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@mzaidi,
I don't think there's anything for U to worry about; unless of course U need the RM150 to be 'released' because CL is up?! *chuckles*
vin_ann
post Jun 20 2009, 11:06 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Jun 20 2009, 03:24 PM)
Guys,

How long usually it will take for bank to "unhold" our RM 200 credit for petrol purchases?

Used my DA card to purchase RM 50 worth of petrol last Thursday, checked  and they "hold" RM 200. They updated the online statement today, and they updated the RM 50 petrol purchase, but they haven't unhold the RM 200, which means they charged me RM 250 for the petrol purchase.  rclxub.gif
huh? i thought this only happened to debit card?

u check online? can see 1? how come i never notice my DA got hold any amount?
SUSDavid83
post Jun 20 2009, 11:14 PM

52,874 posts

It also happens on credit card too. It depends on how fast that particular merchant clears the accounting.
hye
post Jun 20 2009, 11:17 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 20 2009, 11:06 PM)
huh? i thought this only happened to debit card?

u check online? can see 1? how come i never notice my DA got hold any amount?
No lah vin_ann ... for petrol transaction it is the same treatment for both debit and credit card and this is has been the same system for many years. You don't notice it in credit card coz you are using the "bank's money". I don't think it is something to worry about coz if he says is true then what the guy is indicating that the bank is fraudelently charging its customers ? It is unlikely right coz ... if any of the banks here do that then BNM will get them faster then us reporting it. Bank loses customers ... etc. It is an unlikely scenario and customers need not worry ... period.

Probably the guy studies his CL too much and likely coz it is affecting his CL. This indicate a indication (theory only) that he don't pay in full every month that's why seems to be rather sensitive about the CL.

No offense to the guy who posted the post.

This post has been edited by hye: Jun 20 2009, 11:17 PM
mzaidi
post Jun 21 2009, 07:56 AM

Jerk
1,484 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 20 2009, 09:07 PM)
@mzaidi,
I don't think there's anything for U to worry about; unless of course U need the RM150 to be 'released' because CL is up?! *chuckles*
QUOTE(hye @ Jun 20 2009, 11:17 PM)
Probably the guy studies his CL too much and likely coz it is affecting his CL. This indicate a indication (theory only) that he don't pay in full every month that's why seems to be rather sensitive about the CL.

No offense to the guy who posted the post.
No la, this is my first CC, so a bit nervous, that's why I keep on monitoring the statements and the CL. tongue.gif

So far my usage is < 5% of my CL, and I always make payment within 24 hours of the purchase. I only use the CC when I know I have the cash equivalent in hand to pay back. Have to be careful to not get addicted with unnecessary spending. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mzaidi: Jun 21 2009, 08:01 AM
SUSDavid83
post Jun 21 2009, 09:19 AM

52,874 posts

Some people use CC as cash revolving tool.
Gen-X
post Jun 21 2009, 09:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Jun 21 2009, 07:56 AM)
No la, this is my first CC, so a bit nervous, that's why I keep on monitoring the statements and the CL.  tongue.gif

So far my usage is < 5% of my CL, and I always make payment within 24 hours of the purchase. I only use the CC when I know I have the cash equivalent in hand to pay back. Have to be careful to not get addicted with unnecessary spending. sweat.gif
Bro, you do practice some good habits like checking online your transactions and only use CC when you got cash. You having DA is a good choice as it is free for life and you get to enjoy discounts/rebates that come with the card.

Paying back in full in 24 hours.... not necessary lah. Wonder if this action benefits your credit record. Banks will love what you your doing. The most important thing is to pay your bill in full before payment date and treat your CC like a charged card. One of the benefits of having a CC is where you can enjoy free interest credit for 20days from statement date and up to 40 days depending on your transaction date. So let your money sit in the bank and get interest (eventhough it is low now) and make payment few days before payment date. Click on my signature CC101 to read more on interest free period.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 21 2009, 09:32 AM
tinkerbel
post Jun 21 2009, 11:22 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@mzaidi,
I don't think U need to worry about paying back within 24hrs of using the CC. As good practice, just make sure you clear your bill in full at the end of the month; before the statement is due.

Also, in my years of using CC, I've never had problems with bank holding onto additional $ when I pump petrol; it's never affected my spending limit nor my CL.
Syd G
post Jun 21 2009, 11:24 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

I called DA just now to convert my spankin new Macbook Pro wub.gif wub.gif into installments

Smart Flexi-Pay 0% is only applicable to pay for hospital, insurance or education. For the rest, package goes like this :

3% upfront for 10 months installment
5% upfront for 20 months installment

What do u guys think? I hv cash for full payment in my ASB account.
tinkerbel
post Jun 21 2009, 11:29 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Syd G,
oOoh.. got urself a brand new unibody huh?! biggrin.gif I'll go with paying for the purchase in cash.
hye
post Jun 21 2009, 11:36 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 21 2009, 11:24 AM)
I called DA just now to convert my spankin new Macbook Pro  wub.gif  wub.gif into installments

Smart Flexi-Pay 0% is only applicable to pay for hospital, insurance or education. For the rest, package goes like this :

3% upfront for 10 months installment
5% upfront for 20 months installment

What do u guys think? I hv cash for full payment in my ASB account.
Congrats on yr new Macbook! I'm slightly green with envy.
Better to pay it off with cash if you have it. Better not to start having this debt positions.

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:08 PM