140 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Diets & Supplements Ask all your lose weight questions here. , *Don't Open New Theads. Use This*

Syd G
post Apr 10 2009, 11:51 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

eh fats arent useless - they're here for good reasons smile.gif
myremi
post Apr 10 2009, 12:14 PM

1,846 posts

charge-n-go : Your gym time is morning? Thought it was afternoon.

Hmm... maybe relook your breakfast if you feel like burping too often. Try eating 30 min earlier. What are you doing in the one hour between the time you wake up and the time you actually eat breakfast?

And tbh, I don't quite like Gardenia bread, even during KL study days and before I started my low-sodium diet. It was just too salty for me and the breads in Sarawak weren't that salty. So tak biasa eat Gardenia.

What SydG is saying is probably true too. And actually, Tupperware has a tapao container for dividing food portions : http://order.tupperware.com/coe/app/tup_sh...er=P10055421000 . RM42.80. I use this for my lunch.

Potato as a source of carbo hmm.... not a good choice but I guess not much of a choice.

Added on April 10, 2009, 12:15 pm
QUOTE(exsea @ Apr 10 2009, 11:31 AM)
me too
berak out much easier
hope i can weigh 70 kg by end of the year
There's a table for this. But you'll end up leaking out fat oils through your anus. Then you have to wear adult nappies or female sanitary pad else your pants got wet spot.

Added on April 10, 2009, 12:15 pm
QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 10 2009, 11:51 AM)
Our brains are made out of fat. smile.gif

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 10 2009, 12:15 PM
charge-n-go
post Apr 10 2009, 02:33 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 10 2009, 11:51 AM)
haha, i have 13.9kg of fats. only 3.9kg is useful, the others are crap tongue.gif

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 10 2009, 12:14 PM)
charge-n-go : Your gym time is morning? Thought it was afternoon.

Hmm... maybe relook your breakfast if you feel like burping too often. Try eating 30 min earlier. What are you doing in the one hour between the time you wake up and the time you actually eat breakfast?

And tbh, I don't quite like Gardenia bread, even during KL study days and before I started my low-sodium diet. It was just too salty for me and the breads in Sarawak weren't that salty. So tak biasa eat Gardenia.

What SydG is saying is probably true too. And actually, Tupperware has a tapao container for dividing food portions : http://order.tupperware.com/coe/app/tup_sh...er=P10055421000 . RM42.80. I use this for my lunch.

Potato as a source of carbo hmm.... not a good choice but I guess not much of a choice.

Our brains are made out of fat. smile.gif
erm... 11.30am - 12.30pm consider noon tongue.gif
ok... me wake up 8.00am, drink 1 cup water, then do dynamic stretching for 10 minutes.
Then start to cuci muka, gosok gigi........
Then go to work.
Then take supplement at about 8.45am.
Finally start breakfast at 9.00am.

Today I still burp, but ok la. Burp out liao feel very comfortable, I can pump more ohm into my elliptical. Today I managed to get 750Kcal in 40 minutes rclxm9.gif

I think I need some carb, else will easily feel dizzy in gym and in my physical trainings. tongue.gif
I like wholemeal because can tahan lapar only, hahaha.

thanks for your feedback SydG and WIKI-san biggrin.gif
myremi
post Apr 10 2009, 03:02 PM

1,846 posts

Instead of carbo, go take a protein shake. May just work. They will take awhile to get used to.

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 10 2009, 03:03 PM
charge-n-go
post Apr 10 2009, 03:19 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 10 2009, 03:02 PM)
Instead of carbo, go take a protein shake. May just work. They will take awhile to get used to.
What is protein shake?

From what I understand, protein is harder to convert to ATP during exercise. Carbo is the easiest one. Will it affect my exercise performance if I convert to protein shake only?
myremi
post Apr 10 2009, 03:24 PM

1,846 posts

the protein shake will also contain low fat milk and some fruits. so not toally carboless.

go google it and also for "protein shake recipes".

protein became another energy source when low carbo diets were introduced. still popular today. just have to monitor the liver and kidney functions and careful of portion intake. you still wouldn't be allowed to eat one entire chicken in a meal but at least it doesn'st get converted to fat (the reason why high protein diets are popular).
pizzaboy
post Apr 10 2009, 03:24 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 10 2009, 03:19 PM)
What is protein shake?

From what I understand, protein is harder to convert to ATP during exercise. Carbo is the easiest one. Will it affect my exercise performance if I convert to protein shake only?

Protein is for your body's recovery. Muscle reconstruction.
Carbs is for ATP. I don't think anybody takes protein for energy......

Syd G
post Apr 10 2009, 03:27 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

er... your goal is to look good or to improve performance? cant be so tamak - choose one tongue.gif
charge-n-go
post Apr 10 2009, 03:37 PM

4,060 posts

My goal is to improve my cardiovascular performance and shave off some weight in the process.

I tried before once, eat very little rice and more meat. When I hit the elliptical, I can't last for more than 30 minutes, and the rowing speed is slightly below what I've expected.

However, when I makan 2 bowls nasi 3 hours before hitting the elliptical, I can last for 60 minutes, and burnt near to 1000Kcal. After that, take 10 minutes to stretch, still got energy to do weight training for another 10 minutes.

That time my calculation is like, white rice 2 bowls may supply 700Kcal, plus here plus there maybe more than 1000Kcal. So I go and exercise to burn all of them, and at the same time I improve my cardio. If wanna burn fat, when I rest only burn

This is what I have been doing for 1 month (as in eat more carb). Dont know if this is the effective way though tongue.gif

Added on April 10, 2009, 3:42 pmAnd hey, gardenia green bread looks good.

It can last, it has less carb and I am still able to perform similarly, compared to mihun / rice as my breakfast.

The downside is some burps for the 1st 15 minutes of exercise. hahaha.

Added on April 10, 2009, 3:43 pm
QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 10 2009, 03:24 PM)
the protein shake will also contain low fat milk and some fruits. so not toally carboless.

go google it and also for "protein shake recipes".
Thanks WIKI-san, I'll give it a try next week. smile.gif

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Apr 10 2009, 03:24 PM)
Protein is for your body's recovery. Muscle reconstruction.
Carbs is for ATP. I don't think anybody takes protein for energy......
Thanks for your info dude.

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Apr 10 2009, 03:43 PM
bunga_daisy
post Apr 10 2009, 04:06 PM

if i do cross trainer for 15 minutes and only burn 100kalorie.it s not so good is it?
charge-n-go
post Apr 10 2009, 04:15 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(bunga_daisy @ Apr 10 2009, 04:06 PM)
if i do cross trainer for 15 minutes and only burn 100kalorie.it s not so good is it?
It depends on our weight, the intensity and the speed we row.
If jogging helps us to burn more Kcal, go for it.

I personally prefer crosstrainer, because it helps me to burn the most fats. However, difference ppl have different preference and body structure smile.gif
Sky.Live
post Apr 10 2009, 04:19 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I wanna try other brand of whole meal bread, the gardenia taste very sweet actually. I tried take 1 slice and chew without filling, it's very sweet actually.

I ate cereal drink + 6 or 7 slice of jacob hi-fiber biscuit

Took chicken rice for lunch, super fattening, but not much choice near Uni, a quick survey reveal everything is as bad as the chicken rice.
charge-n-go
post Apr 10 2009, 04:33 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 10 2009, 04:19 PM)
I wanna try other brand of whole meal bread, the gardenia taste very sweet actually. I tried take 1 slice and chew without filling, it's very sweet actually.

I ate cereal drink + 6 or 7 slice of jacob hi-fiber biscuit

Took chicken rice for lunch, super fattening, but not much choice near Uni, a quick survey reveal everything is as bad as the chicken rice.
Gardenia whole meal wor? very sweet? I think it has no taste at all ler tongue.gif

myremi
post Apr 10 2009, 05:09 PM

1,846 posts

charge-n-go : what pizzaboy and SydG mention are both correct. There is a bit more to the science of taking high protein low carbo diets though.

Protein is to build muscles and it doesn't give the energy at the same rate as carbo does. However, carbo has a bad side effect of that if it's not utilized, it will be converted to storage fat. So, say a diet like Atkins (low carbo) was to reduce the amount of sugar in the body so that the body will start to utilize the storage fat already existing in the body. The downside is that the body is selfish and doesn't want to give up emergency fuel i.e. body fat. With the huge cutdown in carbo in the Atkins Diet, they recommended protein instead, as a source of energy. I could be wrong, mind you - can't remember and the site takes a long time to excess.

There was something about protein and energy which I can't quite remember. In terms of weight loss that is, not muscle building. You'll have to goto Atkins site and dig around in the science section.

The burps will go away after a week, I would think. Body is still adjusting to the change to wholemeal.

And the reason why you can't taste the Gardenia bread as sweet, is because you're taking in a lot of refined sugar. It's probably hidden in the lunch and dinner meals since you're eating outside.

It's the same as to why Sky.Live can't taste the salt in Gardenia bread but I can, on a low sodium diet and the breads in Sarawak doesn't have a lot of salt in them.
charge-n-go
post Apr 10 2009, 05:38 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 10 2009, 05:09 PM)
charge-n-go : what pizzaboy and SydG mention are both correct. There is a bit more to the science of taking high protein low carbo diets though.

There was something about protein and energy which I can't quite remember. In terms of weight loss that is, not muscle building. You'll have to goto Atkins site and dig around in the science section.

The burps will go away after a week, I would think. Body is still adjusting to the change to wholemeal.

And the reason why you can't taste the Gardenia bread as sweet, is because you're taking in a lot of refined sugar. It's probably hidden in the lunch and dinner meals since you're eating outside.

Yes you are right on the protein. It does provide energy. The first source is the ATP-PCr system, then the glycolisys system. Glyco system divided into 2 - fast and slow. Fast one use only carbo, slow one can use carbo, protein and fats.

The problem is, when we do high intensity exercise, we need lots of carbo as primary fuel. Fats will be secondary. Protein will be the last resort.

oh yea, i eat outside food, bad for health. dem dem... sugar sugar tongue.gif

Added on April 10, 2009, 5:41 pmActually I do find a way to use more protein and fats in exercise. I just need a bit more time in gym. weekdays lunch hour too freaking short, but weekend can use that method so that I can cut most of my carb intake biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by charge-n-go: Apr 10 2009, 05:41 PM
richard3200
post Apr 10 2009, 05:47 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 9 2009, 11:56 PM)
You just pick the fruitwith one of the highest GI i.e. highest refined carbo. Heh! Watermelons. One packet next time and get something like guava (don't eat too much else cannot shit) or mango.

It takes awhile to get used to the new diet coz u're reducing sugar. It will take awhile. No rush.

Noodles - tang hoon or better yet, one of those alternative grain noodles in organic shop.

The side effect of reducing carbo is that when u eat refined carbo again, you get sugar headaches.

The only fruits which they sell in the canteen is this and i cannot find any vegetables meal in the canteen itself. Maybe next time i should just skip my recess meal, seriously.

Btw, how u guys calculate the fats % in ur body?

This post has been edited by richard3200: Apr 10 2009, 05:55 PM
Sky.Live
post Apr 10 2009, 05:48 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

My house cant finish 1 packet of sugar in 2 years time lol, but we eat quite salty food. I still wonder why would gardenia bread cause burping, as far as i know i only burp if i am eating spicy food and doing exercise the next thing, totally upset my stomach sometimes cant even move at all.

Any idea how to eat healthier outside? Though i am starting slow but better than nothing =/

Added on April 10, 2009, 5:49 pm
QUOTE(richard3200 @ Apr 10 2009, 05:47 PM)
The only fruits which they sell in the canteen is this and i cannot find any vegetables meal in the canteen itself. Maybe next time i should just skip my recess meal, seriously.

it's through a machine usually available in fitness center. I done a test in a fitness center before, my fat % is like 30%+ = =" that guy keep insist i join their membership elses i gonna die soon

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Apr 10 2009, 05:49 PM
charge-n-go
post Apr 10 2009, 05:50 PM

4,060 posts

QUOTE(richard3200 @ Apr 10 2009, 05:47 PM)
Got a device to measure one.

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 10 2009, 05:48 PM)
Any idea how to eat healthier outside? Though i am starting slow but better than nothing =/
sendiri cook, hahaha
richard3200
post Apr 10 2009, 05:51 PM

169 posts

My house cant finish 1 packet of sugar in 2 years time lol, but we eat quite salty food. I still wonder why would gardenia bread cause burping, as far as i know i only burp if i am eating spicy food and doing exercise the next thing, totally upset my stomach sometimes cant even move at all.

Added on April 10, 2009, 5:49 pm
it's through a machine usually available in fitness center. I done a test in a fitness center before, my fat % is like 30%+ = =" that guy keep insist i join their membership elses i gonna die soon
Icic. thx for the info.

charge-n-go
post Apr 10 2009, 05:52 PM

4,060 posts

LOL, curse u like that, wtf.
eh, 30% is high... if you are 100kg, you are actually carrying 3x 10kg rice walking around tongue.gif

140 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:13 PM