Diets & Supplements Ask all your lose weight questions here. , *Don't Open New Theads. Use This*

richard3200
post Apr 8 2009, 02:57 PM

169 posts

Hi all,

I am a male 17years old, 185cm in height and 111kg in weight.

Can u guys and girls out there give me some advice on how to lose my weight and my daily diet?

Would really appriciate it.

My usual meals would be:-
for breakfast, it would be a cup of milo only.
then during school recess time (10.45am) i would eat 1 plate of nasi lemak, 3 curry puffs, a slice of fried chicken.
for lunch usually i dont get anything till dinner
dinner about 7pm normally would be rice and mostly only meats. my family only cooks 1 plate of green vegetables and the rest would be on meat and soup and my mum is cooking the rice using the brown rice.
sometimes i would drive out and get a bowl of porridge, if i didn't eat anything for my dinner.

Usually plays badminton with my frens once a week for 2hours but would get easily tired after a match or 2.

If i were to go for jogging, wad should i get for my lunch and dinner and how far / long should i jogged?

Last year i hit the gym thrice a week but due to the hectic schedule i stopped after 2 months. After the gym session i would normally be very tired to study. Is there any advice for this as i am having my SPM soon and if i were to go to the gym again?

richard3200
post Apr 8 2009, 10:11 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(fearz @ Apr 8 2009, 04:06 PM)
milo - a lot of empty sugar calories, switch to something healthier eg. eggs, low fat milk, wholemeal bread, oatmeal.

nasi lemak - rice in nasi lemak is full of extra fats, cut down as much as possible. Don't eat those peanuts fried in oil too.

curry puff - don't eat the whole puff pastry, less carbs the better.

your lunch - do not skip lunch, eat less during your recess time and eat something during your lunch to get your metabolism going throughout the day.

badminton - only once a week so it's insignificant

jogging - 3-6 times a week, 30-60mins each. Start at a much slower pace for the first week.

gym - SPM more important, so if you can't study after gym, don't. Weight lifting better in the long run than just cardio though.
will ask my mum to buy those low fat milks which is sold in supermarket. will be skipping my meal from school during the recess time starting for tomorrow. temptation is always there sad.gif . mayb wont be hitting the gym yet, is really tiring after the gym for studies .

QUOTE(BlueKM @ Apr 8 2009, 04:20 PM)
and don't push yourself while jogging tongue.gif once cannot go anymore, slow down and walk slowly tongue.gif!! i was once like you LOL. after a week, i can do more rounds biggrin.gif
would go with my sister for jogging, she is asking why today i didn't come and fetch her to go for jogging. lol. thx for the advice though

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 8 2009, 05:23 PM)
Can you describe your meal portions a bit more? Use your fist as a reference. Also, how the meals are prepared and what is a meal for you guys e.g. fried, boiled, sweet, salty, sour, etc.
in the morning, would be just 1 cup of milo. the normal 325ml cups.
nasi lemak... well 1 normal plates which we use in the house, slightly smaller ones (they need to sell them cheap and sufficient for student), for the fried chicken is about 1/2 the KFC fried chicken size, i would only buy those mostly with meats.

QUOTE(zeist @ Apr 8 2009, 08:11 PM)
No more canteen food if you want to lose weight.

Since you are eating at 10:45am, I suggest you have your first meal around 6am. Your 3rd meal can be at 1pm. Your 10:45am meal must be light. After 2 hours you are going to have lunch. You are eating a lot of crap, porridge is good, but still carbs.

Go and buy whole meal bread, milk, banana, tuna, chicken breast, fish, cauliflower, carrot, brocoli, eggs, lotsa fruits, high fiber cereals/biscuits.

Bring your own food to school, if you can't do this, don't bother to lose weight. You are going to eat the crap nasi lemak, curry puff and fried chicken again.
tomorrow i will wake up earlier to eat my breakfast. normally i wake up about 6.45am then pack my bag and go for a bath until 7.05am. then will reach school about 7.25am . is it advisable to eat things like "kaya pau" in the morning for breakfast? i bought 3 "pau" just now to eat for tomorrow's breakfast.

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 8 2009, 09:28 PM)
Rewriting this post and was just posting when mod moved the thread.

Milo : Not completely empty sugar calories. There is milk in there as well as sugar which the amount is not declared. It's listed under Total Carbo since all carbos are converted into sugar by our bodies before getting metabolise into energy. Any unused sugar (and hence carbo) will be converted to fat and stored. If you crave Milo, put some cocoa powder into milk and heat it up. Voila, you have Milo tasting milk. smile.gif When I'm ill or sick with no appetite, I will drink Milo since no mood for solid food.

Curry Puff : Preferably avoid this. Too many carbo everywhere, including the filling. Filling has sugar and potato. Also, probalby fat as well. Home made is probably a safer option but even then, you can't eat much.

Lunch : Don't skip is right. Just watch your portions and you'll be fine. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/978436

Getting started with exercise is not easy. A lot of people have this mentality that they need to do specific exercise activities or that it needs to be done at hard pace : both these reasons made a lot of overweight ppl give up. Just start off easy and recognize pain level. If it's sharp pain, time to stop and take a break. You can also start off some light weight "exercise" just by doing chores around the house or even shopping (plastic bags are heavy. Housewives are strong, even the skinny ones) bags. Even walking briskly to and fro from school helps.
QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 8 2009, 08:41 PM)
skylive + kurtbob : using a fist for food portioning is not uncommon when it comes to dietician planning. Gives an easy reference for ppl rather than trying to remember 1 cup or 1/2 cup. Especially for ppl who are trying to lose a lot of weight and trying to get measurements done, this is a simple way.

Using the fist doesn't have to be EXTREMELY ACCURATE but fairly accurate enough that ppl don't overeat. Adults' fist don't differ by much unless they are the small-sized folks. smile.gif

Here's some examples : http://www.hearthealthyonline.com/fitness/...ontrol_ss1.html

Also, when it comes to diet advice, yes, I will ask how the food is prepared as I can probably "guess" where the problem will lie. Breakfast and lunch are the obvious ones. Dinner looks to be also be a major problem but until the TS gives us some hint of how his dinner meal is like, we can't really say much no?

Most ppl who exercise a lot and find that they cannot lose weight is usually the diet which not only consists of food type and preparation but also the food portion.  Eat food in moderation, not when you feel hungry (which is actually a sign that your body is craving a drug known as sugar).
Usually i dont eat dinner unless i am really hungry. how to measure with fist? can teach me? by looking the size of the fist and compare it to ur plates or ? [ read ur thread be4 but still dont really understand on how u divides the food portion. ]

for my dinner if i eat them, would be fish, vegetables, soups and rice. thats wad i normally eat for dinner.

This post has been edited by richard3200: Apr 8 2009, 10:15 PM
richard3200
post Apr 8 2009, 11:46 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 8 2009, 10:20 PM)
i wont skip the recess meal if I were you. maybe you shud just chew two slices of wholemeal bread to keep your system running.....
okay . thx for the advice. if i were to buy the normal bread which is manufactured by gardinea with the fillings of corn is it advisable? or just wholemeal bread will do?

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 8 2009, 11:02 PM)
richard, you sound like you're starving yourself just to lose weight.

http://www.bmi-calculator.net/bmr-calculat...lose-weight.php

This is one of the many sources on how to lose weight ify ou're counting by calorie. Since you're skipping lunch and occassionally dinner, it's no wonder your body is shutting you down by making you tired : it's trying to perserve enough energy source by making you so tired you won't exercise.

US Food Portion : http://www.capitalhealth.ca/EspeciallyFor/..._NAME=&cms=true

UK Food Portion : http://www.wipp.nhs.uk/tools_scfp/img/part...food_circle.gif

I use the US version so that it's easier to follow. UK one got too many slices to remember.

Added on April 8, 2009, 11:19 pmCan try some of these options :

breakfast :
-oats + lowfat milk + banana slices in it (or any other fruit)
-wholemeal bread sandwich + egg + tomato + cucumber + lettuce
-porridge + green leafy veggie + egg (but maybe your mum can do it for u)

recess :
-3 hifibre biscuits like Jacobs
-2 pieces of bread
-1 cup of yogurt
-1 cup of lowfat milk
-1 fruit

lunch :
-eat like waht I mention as a plate
-or bring a sandwich

afternoon snack
-same as recess

dinner :
-eat like waht I mentioned as a plate. the trick is to put everything on the plate and not touch anything else other than water outside of that plate.

kaya : very fatty and maybe too much protein in one shot. 1 small pot of kaya = 10 eggs + a lot of sugar.

you can goggle for meal plans for weight loss. that's how i tend to get ideas for mine.

I'm planning to try baking some muffins and freezing them overnight. then just take out and eat. of course. reduce sugar and salt and carbo. smile.gif

Also, planning to try making wholemeal pau and see how that works. Got a recipe for it but not sure what kind of filling to put in.
got ur idea, would be eatting fruits in the canteen since they sell them. not really starving myself, but i ate alot during the recess period and not feeling hungry during lunch time . so normally i would just give a go for the lunch. tend to get ur ideas. thx for the advice though.

now i know y i get tired easily . nice and well written of advice which i am looking for. a great thx to u .
richard3200
post Apr 9 2009, 12:11 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 9 2009, 12:01 AM)
she is the wiki-san in this thread, forget about wikipedia xD

I just tried the corn flavor bread by gardenia, taste ok but i felt no corn taste at all, it's all cream. It will be better if you can prepare your own bread.

I am thinking to made some salad for tomorrow meal, any suggestion?
So far only thought of tomato, corn, cucumber, cabbage. Dressing with olive oil. Want to put chicken breast meet too if can obtain them? usually the breast meat is steamed before made into salad?
yea yea. she is really the wiki-san in this thread. well, the gardenia bread has the taste of the corn as well as alot of cream. thats wad i get when i eat them.

mayb u can add more fruits like apple and watermelon for ur salad.

This post has been edited by richard3200: Apr 9 2009, 12:12 AM
richard3200
post Apr 9 2009, 04:53 PM

169 posts

Manage to resist the temptation to eat those food during recess time today and only ate 2 packets of watermelons.

I was like starving at 12pm and went back home and eat for lunch about 1pm . Did the plate dividing thingy but only manage to divide the plate until 1/2 for my rice and 1/2 more for vegetables and steamed fish.

Should it be okay if i take noodles for breakfast during the weekend ?
richard3200
post Apr 10 2009, 05:47 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 9 2009, 11:56 PM)
You just pick the fruitwith one of the highest GI i.e. highest refined carbo. Heh! Watermelons. One packet next time and get something like guava (don't eat too much else cannot shit) or mango.

It takes awhile to get used to the new diet coz u're reducing sugar. It will take awhile. No rush.

Noodles - tang hoon or better yet, one of those alternative grain noodles in organic shop.

The side effect of reducing carbo is that when u eat refined carbo again, you get sugar headaches.

The only fruits which they sell in the canteen is this and i cannot find any vegetables meal in the canteen itself. Maybe next time i should just skip my recess meal, seriously.

Btw, how u guys calculate the fats % in ur body?

This post has been edited by richard3200: Apr 10 2009, 05:55 PM
richard3200
post Apr 10 2009, 05:51 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 10 2009, 05:48 PM)
My house cant finish 1 packet of sugar in 2 years time lol, but we eat quite salty food. I still wonder why would gardenia bread cause burping, as far as i know i only burp if i am eating spicy food and doing exercise the next thing, totally upset my stomach sometimes cant even move at all.

Any idea how to eat healthier outside? Though i am starting slow but better than nothing =/

Added on April 10, 2009, 5:49 pm
it's through a machine usually available in fitness center. I done a test in a fitness center before, my fat % is like 30%+ = =" that guy keep insist i join their membership elses i gonna die soon
Icic. thx for the info.

richard3200
post Apr 10 2009, 05:56 PM

169 posts

I still can't shallow my ego and go for jogging . Any advice for this? I know i need to reduce my weight by jogging. Can't find a friend to start with me. cry.gif
Do u guys think i should hit back de gym and lose my weight from the gym? I dont want to build any muscles 1st be4 losing my weight.

Btw, is there any other method to measure fats in ur body than the machine ?
richard3200
post Apr 10 2009, 06:17 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 10 2009, 06:09 PM)
How many gramme of EGO you will lose if you go for jogging?

Yes, there are equipment to measure body fat. They are available in the gym or the pharmacies...etc...
Wa, so sarcastic...... lol. none
richard3200
post Apr 10 2009, 11:19 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 10 2009, 06:26 PM)
RICHard - Dont mean to be evilish but need to be point blank and bring you back down to earth. Jogging aint lowering anyone ego. It boost up one stamina, metabolism, health level, etc......

Let's put on your running shoes and give me 5 laps......

ps: my apology for being marginally sarky.
I want to but i got a problem getting a new and right shoe for me right now.My old ones are really crappy liao, had been using them for my tennis session since last 3 years. I dont mind about the price ( < rm300) is still okay for me but to find a UK12 in malaysia is very hard. I even tried hunting them during my overseas trip with my family but to no avail. cry.gif mayb seriously need o order them at the shop in my town.

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 10 2009, 07:32 PM)
dude, please share your personal data here, as in your BMI, weight and etc.

Diet wise, please consult WIKI-san smile.gif
I'll see what I can help you from exercise perspective.

It's because, if you are too overweight, jogging hurts.
If you have the ego, don't f***ing care about getting a friend.
Do it alone, and show your friends around that you can do it all by yourself!

I myself workout alone since 1 year ago, later on some friends who wanna keep fit come and join me, and all of them left because cannot tahan. And today, I am still doing workout myself.

I shift my gym time from after work to lunch hour, so that I can be the only one in gym, it's even easier for me to do all kind of stunts I wanted. I can half way jogging suddenly change to rowing, then suddenly change to cycling and etc.  whistling.gif
BMI : 33+- weight is 115kg , height would be 185cm.

I am still a student. thus i still need to concentrate on my studies, might spare about 1hour-30min for jogging but it would be to tired for me to study after the jog, most probably it will.

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 10 2009, 07:35 PM)
The gardenia wholemeal bread is causing burping because it's a change in diet. When changing from a lifetime of refined carbo to complex carbo, the stomach is still trying to adjust itself to getting used to it. Hence the burping.

Body Fat : I'm not bothered about this so much. I rather look at a mirror and just my weight and inches. Too many things to jaga and more demoralizing later if things don't turn out well. And the biggest source of fat is the brain. How to remove fat from the brain? Aiyo....

Added on April 10, 2009, 7:37 pmrichard : start by walking. then increase the distance. once your heart is more steady, start jogging. if cannot jog far, it's ok. jog - walk - jog - walk.

I'm overweight. VERY OVERWEIGHT. Didn't care what ppl said. Started at 5 min. Then 2 days later 10 min. Increase every other day. Now can do 20-30 min walking. Slowly building up coz of heart problems and I tend to panic when I feel too much palpitations.

On the flipside, clean your house to build up some slight cardio. Then go jogging. I'm serious here.

Added on April 10, 2009, 7:39 pmrichard : majority of ladies in H&F are EVIL.  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Lol.. there are really evil ones around but lucky they are still helpful. blush.gif would be trying to jog - walk - jog - walk. if i could wake up tomorrow morning, i will go for a jog with my tennis shoe.

This post has been edited by richard3200: Apr 10 2009, 11:20 PM
richard3200
post Apr 10 2009, 11:41 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 10 2009, 11:24 PM)
I use cross trainer.
I have a friend, 55kg, 163cm, he also likes cross trainer.
Level 5 at 60rpm burns about 8Kcal per minute. That will make 480kCal per hour.
Perhaps you can give a try wink.gif
115kg is too heavy to jog. Easiest way is to walk uphill consistently for more than 20 minutes.
Student life is muh easier compare to working life dude. Don't find this as excuse.
And dont complain about shoe. most of my friends who do regular exercise, they dont freaking care about that. Can wear can ady. We focus on burning fats and improving our body! Jogging is merely a tool for us to achieve our goals only.
No hills nearby my house. Any other alternatives? Seriously i need a comfortable shoe for my own feet. I wouldn't want my feet to ache when i am doing my excercises.

QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 10 2009, 11:35 PM)
Big mistake is NOT using a proper walking/running shoe. Tennis shoe aint doing good for heavy person. Poor cushion will lead to massive impact to your knee. I just bought apair of Brooks that is quite good for running. check out the website www.brooksrunning.com. Click for the shoe advisor part. I paid about RM300. The shoe is simply good and make running more enjoyable.

You can also look at Asics, Saucony, Nike, etc....

You may wanna start with walking......and up the pace....and then slight jog (1 minute) and then brisk walk (1 minute)....keep doing that for 30-40minutes....after a few weeks....up the pace again....eventually, you can do pure jogging.......Keep the exercise within 1hour...and then rest for awhile before heading for school.

where do you stay?

disclaimer - I dont work for Brooks neither do I sell shoes. I am use a consumer.
Thats the only 1 i can use right now be4 finding a real suitable and comfortable shoes which has the size which i want.

Btw, i stay in perak. SPM taker this year. cry.gif

richard3200
post Apr 10 2009, 11:48 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 10 2009, 11:40 PM)
In my opinion, shoe isn't that important. I used to jog barefoot for 5 years. If one have the willpower to do, no matter what also can do.

Now I only use Bata Power jogging shoe. RM39.99 promotion price. Use 1 year still good.
Icic. ~_~ well thats individual preferences actually.

Btw, tengster which shoe did u bought , the model to be precise.

Off-topic: how can i make an add-on reply?
richard3200
post Apr 10 2009, 11:54 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 10 2009, 11:45 PM)
You are still young. Wait until older. Then you realise that some of the backaches is due to poor shoe selection.

Also, you'll feel the difference between a Bata Power jogging shoe and a good shoe. Never tried Brookes. Nike didn't last me. Have used New Balance and very impressed with the fact that it provided very good support.

Added on April 10, 2009, 11:46 pm

Walk around the neighbourhood. That's a good start.
Heard new balance provide pretty good shoes from my brother. If i have the chance, would really love to check it out.

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 10 2009, 11:48 PM)
Actually, better wear no shoe than wearing wrong shoe. This is my experience.

If there is no hill, then walk faster for longer duration. A very very light jog can be performed too. Just make sure you must hit at least 20 minutes. Less than 20 minutes, the exercise is pretty useless. It will only burn carbo, not fats.

Slowly increase the duration up to 60 minutes. Perhaps you can increase 5 minutes every week.
Light aerobic can be done everyday. Don't listen to BS like cannot exercise everyday, else will die.
Means i just jog continuesly for 20min or i can stop for a brisk walk in between? mind explaining in detail?

Off-topic : any1 know any shops in KL that really sells big size shoes like UK12 and above? My bro is in KL if i go out he should be able to fetch me if he dont have any classes that day.
richard3200
post Apr 11 2009, 12:06 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Apr 10 2009, 11:55 PM)

Added on April 10, 2009, 11:57 pm
No walk in between that 20 minutes. js continue to jog, but at slower pace.
after 20 minutes, if still can jog, just do it.
if not, then walk. BUT don't sit down. just continue to walk for at least 5 minutes before sitting down.
Jogging for 20min continuously is too hard for me , even for 8min i think it is really like wanting to die liao. I knew it because the school got test students to run 1.5km during the PJPK lesson. I jog for about 400meter already need to walk for 100m then only start jogging back for 100m.

I knew it because the school field is 200m per round and we have to jog/run for 7.5 rounds.
richard3200
post Apr 11 2009, 05:11 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 11 2009, 03:58 PM)
good lunch Sky-Live........

my lunch is 4 slices of wholemeal bread with microwaved sliced of chicken breast...with wifey-made coffee........that's all........

Sky-Live and RICHard....you two are now like One kati vs 600gramme....You two should just motivate in each and us (all) while executing all your weight loss program.

Go Go Go...burn all the unnecesary FAT.
Haha, sky.live and me are really sitting on the same boat. Btw sky.live, where do u come from and wad u normally do for ur exercises?

richard3200
post Apr 13 2009, 11:11 PM

169 posts

Wiki-san, wanna ask some things about diet.

What u normally "sapu" at your wholemeal bread & anything healthy to apply with it or just plain wholemeal bread with low-fat milk in the morning ? Jams ? Kaya? Peanut Butter?

For drinks , those very sweets ones , will they increase our weights also? Is it means the more sugar in it, the higher the calories intake?

How do u guys calculate the kCalories intake?

Today i ate:

6.45am:
4pieces of whole meal bread with kaya on it.
1 cup of low-fat milk.

10.45am:
2 fishballs
2 packets of guava.

1.30pm:
1/2 plate of brown rice and 1 fish curry with long beans
Including some potatoes and and...... 2 "kompiang" [ don't know how to say it out but in my community they call it that]. Inside the "kompiang" got pork meat. rclxub.gif

7pm:
1/2 plate of brown rice and 1 fish curry with long beans and 2 donuts.

8pm:
1/2 cup cappuccino which is extremely sweet. After i drank half of it, really cannot stand the sweetness and just throw it away.

Thats all for today. Seeking advice to have a better healthy diet. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

tengster: please don't nuke me. tried my best. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by richard3200: Apr 13 2009, 11:15 PM
richard3200
post Apr 13 2009, 11:47 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 13 2009, 11:28 PM)
Nothing. I just eat it plain. Never got into the habit of putting butter or jam or kaya. TBH, I can't quite take sweet stuff. My Mum controlled my sugar intake when I was young so now as an adult, I don't take sweet stuff as much.

Hmm...but I sometimes do put a cheesespread over it, either cream cheese or cottage cheese. Then makan like that. I read the product labels for carbo, sugar, fat and calorie.

With butter hmm.... I'm not sure if you can get it but an alternative is either soy butter or olive butter. But compare the calories and fat first.
Yep and you'll need to exercise more if you want to continue to drink them. Usually, for weight loss, it's put aside for the time being.
I don't. Too much hassle. I just :'
-control food portions
-know what food is ok and not ok

Then I just go with that.

kaya : is very rich with sugar + eggs. The eggs maybe not so much of a problem if you're exercising regularly. But the sugar is bad.

fishball : either it's too much fat or too much flour (processed wheat is simple carbo). Sometimes a bit of sugar in here as well as pork fat.

guava : eating this is fine but too much and you find that you can't shit as often as before. It's something about this fruit but as long as you don't eat it for every meal or 5 days once, should be alrite.

\fish curry with long beans : curry bought from shop or eat at home? jaga the sugar in the curry sauce as well as the coconut milk. it's possible to eat curry without coconut milk and sugar but it's not easy. My granny makes it from the paste, not from the powder.

kompiang : err....processed white flour is big on carbo. potatoes too (unless it's sweet potato). hmm...kompiang is also deep fried rite?

donuts : process white flour + sugar?

sugar in coffee : errr, may want to cut down.

May take it a step at a time. It's not easy to turn a new leave and I gave myself one week of slowly moving into the new diet. You will also find that you have some trouble initially fighting off cravings because when you slowly move away from refined carbo, your body will crave for it more. Headaches, aches and pain may also appear butonce you're over this period (usually a few days to a week), it's easier.
shocking.gif ... From small till now, i still put kaya spread on it. Normally comes with peanut butter or strawberry jam.

Wiki-san, what do u mean by 5 days once? Means 5 days only can eat 1 time? blink.gif . My school canteen is really terrible. They got 4 stalls . 2 malays , 1 chinese and 1 indian. I normally only visit the chinese and indians ones and i dont think those malays stalls will sell anything better than these 2 stalls . BUT they all have the FIXED variable, that they don't sell any vegetables . I am thinking for those vegetarian how they gonna survive in the school for 5 years unless they eat bread and fruits daily. For now, i only saw 2 fruits that this chinese stall is selling which are the watermelons and guava.

For the fish curry, is self-cooked . My mum will cook daily unless it is on the weekends and my mum don't put any MSG or coconut milks in the curry. She, herself, is quite health conscious . She uses organic salt, olive oil, and brown rice for cooking.

The kompiang is not deeply fried . They are cooked using the heat in 1 kind of special oven. For the donuts and kompiang, yea white flour.

I think till now this is the best i can do.

Added on April 13, 2009, 11:50 pm
QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 13 2009, 11:37 PM)
richard3200 : actually, since you're still growing and still young enough to have a good metabolic rate, you may want to start it out slow. Just follow the simple guideline below :
-reduce fried food until it's out of your diet
-reduce sugar by half each time
-reduce rice until finally 2 tablespoon
-eat more vegetables
-eat more fruits

Don't worry about the other stuff. It will come to you in time and as you slowly get used to watching what to eat and all. It may take 1-2 weeks to get used to not only the food but watching the food.

Added on April 13, 2009, 11:39 pm

oh don't u start now  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
ohmy.gif 2 tablespoon of rice.... I gonna die in hunger with that. Eating more vegetables and fruits is not a problem with me. I forgot to add-on, i ate* mangoes at 7pm and 10pm just now. lol

This post has been edited by richard3200: Apr 13 2009, 11:50 PM
richard3200
post Apr 14 2009, 12:30 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 13 2009, 11:57 PM)
I forgot that you're still in high-school.

For recess, you could bring a snack from home. Different choices of food or even a sandwich. Speak to your Mum. I'm sure she can give you ideas. It doesn't have to include vegetables. It can be anything. The snack is only to tie you until your lunch meal so snacks shouldn't be too big. Plus, if you bring something from home, you will lose weight pretty fast because u're not taking oily food.

Guava : Too much guava is not a good idea. I was giving an example (but badly explained sorry) that if you ate guava once a day for a 5 day period, you're gong to have constipation problems. Guava has something inside it that hardens the stool.

Vegetarians : you're rite. They probably bring food everyday or they learn how to control their break hunger. I stop eating at recess starting Form 1. But can still put on weight because not exercising enough.

Your curry : sounds ok. Sinc eyou said your Mum is health conscious, should be ok.

Kompiang : Well, don't eat it too often should be fine.

I think if you bring a small packed meal during recess, you can easily see the weightloss drop, especially with the walking that you're doing.

Postnote : LOL! You type fast. Well, if you can't limit to 2 tablespoon of rice, take it slowly. Just reduce what you can for rice intake.
Is quite hard for me to bring small packed meal from home. I think is like only 0.5% of the community in my school who brings packed meal from home [ i even doubt there is 0.5% , most probably i can count them using my fingers and toes] . Maybe trying to stop eating during recess is still the best way. Anyway this is my last year in high school.

Sidenote: I am addicted to online games since i was standard 6 and sticking my butt on the chair during the holidays that's why my weight is rising every year and my typing skills too. LOL. But my addiction to online games is no more. Quitted all of them and concentrating in studies for my last year of high school.
richard3200
post Apr 14 2009, 07:29 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 14 2009, 12:38 AM)
You know what? the word kompiang strikes me, i just came back from a late class reached home, the first thing i saw on the table - kompiang, so my dominant right hand naturally try to grab it but my left hand somehow slapped my right hand to stop it. (angel vs demon situation)

If you know what kompiang is made of you must know you should avoid at all cost, it's FLOURRRRR, + Larkkk + More pig's fattest possible part inside.

Yes, i have a few vegetarian friend, they always bring their own food, it taste so good that sometimes if he has extra we will steal it and eat xD.

If you are given a chance, join in food preparation process you should have a clear picture what is the good and the bad. Note: my house's cooking has 'zero' sugar. Maybe it's just me, food with sugar taste AWFUL, happens to visit Taiwan years ago and those heavily advertised food by Jacky Woo aint my taste at all, all taste so sweet.

Added on April 14, 2009, 12:41 amFor the bread spread, you might opt for cheese, slice for lazy one. Bake them = omg

Butter + kaya = well kaya = sugar + sugar + more sugar, witness the process of making it, almost faint. I only take butter, anti margerine, you can mix with peanut butter too, quite fattening too.

I ate mostly without spread nowadays, putting eggs, meats and vegetable on it, makes it looks nice and certainly taste nice.
Note sure about tuna, wanted to try someday. Goose liver, those bought from Europe were finished, not sure bout the label and calories, since it is internal organs should have high fats.

My mom homemade a pineapple jam too, certainly jam without some addictive dont taste as good as those you bought in the supermarket, not sure what she didn't put, but i like the texture of the jam and not so sweet like commercial one
LOL. I should tell my mum not to buy those kompiang anymore. She always love to tempt me to eat for lunch cause last time i always skip it.

I dont think i have enough time to prepare the wholemeal bread with cheese. Anyway maybe i'll just stick to plain wholemeal bread and lowfat milk.

Will start my jogging in the morning in a few days time but my time management really sucks like experience. lol. I cannot manage my time propelly. I normally sleep about 1am or so then wake up in the morning at 6.30am. If want to do jogging, need to wake up at 5.30am or 5.45 then drive to the field jog until 6.30 then need to rush for home to prepare for school. Any advice for this?

Is it good sleeping in the evening like 4pm? What i mean is real sleeping not just nap, for about 2hours to 3hours. All working guys sure dont have the chance like me. After my school i would normally have my tuition class then i go take a sleep until normally 7pm. I don't think i am able to sleep early in the night .

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 14 2009, 09:03 AM)
richard3200 : you sound shy bringing a food container to school. smile.gif It's a girlie thing, no? smile.gif You'll be surprise when you go out and work, the number of guys who bring packed lunches from home smile.gif. Anyway, it's something that you have to decide for yourself. You know our stand, it's up to you now to decide what you want to do - your health or your pride (what makes you shy to bring food container to school).

I'm going to stop here. If I tell you more stuff, you may get too confuse. And from your posts, I get the feeling that you are getting there. Give yourself 2 weeks to get used to the change in food eating :

-reduce deep fried food until it's out of your diet. eat maybe once a week?
-reduce sugar by half each time
-reduce rice until finally 2 tablespoon, but if not, just reduce by half
-eat more vegetables
-eat more fruits

Let you know in 2 weeks time on how it goes. Just try to control my intake of food 1st bah.

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 14 2009, 05:01 PM)
Went pool swimming, just swam 30mins then close liao = =, only done 5.5 laps. I took the form to enroll for swimming course edi, oldest noob in class later xD
Sky. You are the MAN . I think obese ppl like me and sky should be doing swimming for exercises. The buoyant force helps alot.

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 14 2009, 07:11 PM)
I'm feeling the guilt too for not exercising but for different reasons.

I'm sick yet again. Going to be sore when I start training tomorrow. Debating whether to start exercising before I finish the antibiotics or not. 2 more days. Going to start some light walking. This cough very hard to get rid off. Making me sweat but not a good way to do it. Warning to you all : never take up smoking. The toxins will come out of your body and make u feel worst. I see the black ashes, it's bad.

Scary when getting sick though. Lost another kilo in the span of 3 days. Not a good sign.

Added on April 14, 2009, 7:15 pmexperience : time management during my study days was plotting how i can get away with spending too much time on my assignments and exam studying. then rest of the time, go play play. smile.gif

with exercise, need buddies. we kinda support one another here. if we slack, wah, a lot of noise but encouragement too.

and we share what we eat to tempt each other.

syd g : err, i was reading up on some marathon details. you have someone running with u right? as well as someone training with u rite? got backup and contingency plans rite? (sorry, just worried after reading about what takes to be a marathon runner. scary).

tengster : i can tell you that when you start swimming, u realise that it's a different cardio workout from running. different muscles.
Wiki-san, i might need ur help again in time-management though is out of topic in this thread. notworthy.gif

Isn't losing 1kg good?

Added on April 14, 2009, 7:31 pm
QUOTE(ClarkFann @ Apr 14 2009, 07:17 PM)
driving car friggin tiring man~
before car practical lesson,i am 52kg,after practical lesson im 51.3 shakehead.gif rclxub.gif
after taken dinner,i gain to 52.2 doh.gif will be 51.7 next morning smile.gif coz my weight will decrease 0.5 everymorning before take my breakfast rclxms.gif
So fast u can start ur car practical lesson? I tot you could only start listening to those ceramah after ur birthday. Well thats how it goes in my town.

Yea. Those car practical lesson take a lot of energy and can really burn down ur fat with the heat itself in the car.

This post has been edited by richard3200: Apr 14 2009, 07:31 PM
richard3200
post Apr 14 2009, 08:14 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(ClarkFann @ Apr 14 2009, 07:34 PM)
i will be 18 years old on May 8th bro wink.gif
i borned in 1991,i already can start my car practical lesson since last year wink.gif
oh... sry . Cause i remembered u said u was form 5... then now i realise you are going to be 18 this year and taking SPM too?

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 14 2009, 07:37 PM)
I lose 1 kg because I lost my appetite in the last 2 days. Very weak. Bad way to lose weight. Only today manage to get appetite bad but not much.

Time management : U know how to look at a school timetable rite? Make a block like that for all the hours of the week and plan it that way. Use drawing paper if you have to. That's how I learnt it with my Dad when I was younger. smile.gif

I was a lazy student compared to my friends. They like to brag how they can study the whole afternoon until midnite. I study 2 hrs in afternoon. Rest - read book, watch TV, play with cat. You can start with 30 min exercise and work from there. Enough time to mandi and have dinner. After dinner, another 2-3 hrs study. Then sleep at 10 pm. I took short breaks in-between study time. Weekend rest days started from Friday afternoon until Sunday afternoon. Sunday evening - retrain mind back to studying and cramming homework. smile.gif If homework is tough one, sometimes start as early as Saturday but I try not too. Spoil my weekend only. smile.gif
Ooo. I tried but failed terribly lol.

QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 14 2009, 08:08 PM)
i talk only pandai....I also weigh on daily basis...sometimes twice a day.....
Yea yea, tengster talk pandai but he really can motivate stubborn ppl like me. lol

I don't even dare to step on the weighing machine scared will spoil. tongue.gif

Anyway i know wad i did the best i could do is okay liao. Never cheat on myself . whistling.gif

0.0486sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:52 AM