TSSyd G
post Jun 17 2009, 11:58 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

@metalfreak
You know what, prolly we'll run on Friday instead depending on how my body's recuperating. Am having slight diarrhea & indigestion (yesterday's salad n mashed potato came out this morning) and feeling like crap - classic signs of overtraining sad.gif I think I'm gonna have to settle with last week's 24k as my last long run and do mid-distance till the marathon day. Not good.
metalfreak
post Jun 17 2009, 12:03 PM

Working out is not my routine, it's my new lifestyle
3,300 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Jun 17 2009, 11:28 AM)
metalfreak : rub your feet. I do. smile.gif

I just checked out Oprah's site after hearing that she is also making it a point to get her life back in order.

Saw her exercise plan and diet plan. I eat less than her but also exercise less than her. BAD BAD BAD.

It's somewhere on her website. Can't access at work sadly. sad.gif
Yea will rub smile.gif

Sometimes may be its all publicity and media. =P She might be whacking some fat loss pills e.g Lipo 6 without us knowing it HAHAHA

Added on June 17, 2009, 12:09 pm
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 17 2009, 11:58 AM)
@metalfreak
You know what, prolly we'll run on Friday instead depending on how my body's recuperating. Am having slight diarrhea & indigestion (yesterday's salad n mashed potato came out this morning) and feeling like crap - classic signs of overtraining sad.gif I think I'm gonna have to settle with last week's 24k as my last long run and do mid-distance till the marathon day. Not good.
GOOD

even better LOL. Can rest another day. Rest well Syd.

This post has been edited by metalfreak: Jun 17 2009, 12:09 PM
pedro
post Jun 17 2009, 01:00 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

Weight taken yesterday morning=90.8 kgs,pretty much static since last week.

Need more cardio!
kianweic
post Jun 17 2009, 02:32 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Jun 17 2009, 01:00 PM)
Weight taken yesterday morning=90.8 kgs,pretty much static since last week.

Need more cardio!
Mine also hanging static around 81kg.

Last night, my pacing was not good. Got distracted by pretty girls but they were rude anyways.

So I started jogging seriously after 30 mins on the treadmill.

pizzaboy
post Jun 17 2009, 02:45 PM

9,495 posts

I wrote an article about Leptin that you guys may be interested in.

http://lifthard.com/2009/06/13/whys-leptin...p-you-lose-fat/

If you guys have any questions, post it in the blog and I'll work at answering them. biggrin.gif Anybody gonna try it btw?
metalfreak
post Jun 17 2009, 03:18 PM

3,300 posts

urgh, kirk, I just watched your cricket cooking 101 LOL
Gr3yL3gion
post Jun 17 2009, 05:25 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jun 17 2009, 02:45 PM)
I wrote an article about Leptin that you guys may be interested in.

http://lifthard.com/2009/06/13/whys-leptin...p-you-lose-fat/

If you guys have any questions, post it in the blog and I'll work at answering them. biggrin.gif Anybody gonna try it btw?
Good info, thanks for sharing. thumbup.gif
myremi
post Jun 17 2009, 07:49 PM

1,846 posts

pizzaboy, I think that is probably the tip of the iceberg. You may need to write more rather than just a one-side view.
pizzaboy
post Jun 17 2009, 08:23 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Jun 17 2009, 07:49 PM)
pizzaboy, I think that is probably the tip of the iceberg. You may need to write more rather than just a one-side view.
Which is exactly what I'm doing now. Studying more about this. Apparently, this hormone is quite easy for most people to take advantage of but, those that have always been morbidly obese, might not be able to take advantage of this because it's not because of the Leptin. It's because of their bodies insensitivity to Leptin. So despite Leptin overflowing everywhere in their bodies, their brains cannot identify Leptin and continue to add fat, thinking it's in a self-defense, hunger mode.
tennis4life
post Jun 17 2009, 08:58 PM

278 posts

Found this pic in one of the fitness website and my body is exactly like the one in the pic. I'm quite happy with my body now but I think I'm packing on muscles because my weight loss is 0. wink.gif But instead the weight remains the same and my body fat percentage dropped tongue.gif

Pai seh post own pic. laugh.gif

Time to cut more fat tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tennis4life: Jun 17 2009, 08:58 PM
myremi
post Jun 17 2009, 10:42 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jun 17 2009, 08:23 PM)
Which is exactly what I'm doing now. Studying more about this. Apparently, this hormone is quite easy for most people to take advantage of but, those that have always been morbidly obese, might not be able to take advantage of this because it's not because of the Leptin. It's because of their bodies insensitivity to Leptin. So despite Leptin overflowing everywhere in their bodies, their brains cannot identify Leptin and continue to add fat, thinking it's in a self-defense, hunger mode.
You also would know by now that this hormone was only recently actively research i.e. last 90s. So limited data around but the body builders really love this theory.

It's the theory that made Joel Marion his money when he published a book called "Cheat to Eat" and open up his website on "Cheat to Eat".

You may also need to think back a bit more about how to incorporate leptin and what are their limitations / downside of carrying out such a diet a bit more. Especially if it also triggers the body immune system to go out of sync.

Added on June 17, 2009, 10:43 pmThe other thing to note is that some research papers are free to look at on PubMed but not all research papers are in there.

This post has been edited by myremi: Jun 17 2009, 10:43 PM
metalfreak
post Jun 17 2009, 11:00 PM

3,300 posts

QUOTE(tennis4life @ Jun 17 2009, 08:58 PM)

Found this pic in one of the fitness website and my body is exactly like the one in the pic.  I'm quite happy with my body now but I think I'm packing on muscles because my weight loss is 0.  wink.gif  But instead the weight remains the same and my body fat percentage dropped  tongue.gif

Pai seh post own pic.  laugh.gif

Time to cut more fat  tongue.gif
woo...congrats smile.gif

alar..post lar picture...like the one u found. crop the head section off. smile.gif No worries. Its not like u have to prove anything. But if u really have that body... drool.gif nice ada abs.

mine is work in progress sweat.gif

Nevertheless, good job thumbup.gif

pizzaboy
post Jun 18 2009, 03:36 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Jun 17 2009, 10:42 PM)
You also would know by now that this hormone was only recently actively research i.e. last 90s. So limited data around but the body builders really love this theory.

It's the theory that made Joel Marion his money when he published a book called "Cheat to Eat" and open up his website on "Cheat to Eat".

You may also need to think back a bit more about how to incorporate leptin and what are their limitations / downside of carrying out such a diet a bit more. Especially if it also triggers the body immune system to go out of sync.

Added on June 17, 2009, 10:43 pmThe other thing to note is that some research papers are free to look at on PubMed but not all research papers are in there.
Yeah I stumbled upon his site as well, after a little more reading about Leptin. I'm just wondering if it'll cause some crazy response to the insulin when you go back to a normal diet and then cause you to store major fat. My dad's just stopped this diet (he was only on it for 2 weeks) and did lose some fat somewhat (perhaps it could be his stretching and walking) but now that he's stopped it, I'm thinking he might gain it back and even more.

I think it's no harm trying though. Skip La Cour's carbohydrate cycling, seems to have a consistency with the theory albeit it's more forgiving on the carbohydrates. 3 days of greens, 3 days of starchy carbs which I think Asians would probably prefer to follow.

Then again, I'm not one that bothers about excessive science, for as long it works and the essential numbers are consistent, then I don't want to be bogged with excessive analysis.
myremi
post Jun 18 2009, 09:25 AM

1,846 posts

Hmm..if you want to do testing and all, you may need to make a matrix table to get an overview of the effects. I know that you think that this is analysis by paralysis yet it's a common tool for technical and business as well.

Do a comparison table to compare and get a bigger overview. I did one briefly because it was very hard to always remember what I had read or what assumptions that I had to rethink. Unfortunately, I threw the paper away.

It's tough work in the beginning but afterwards, it's easier. Plus, you are also more clear on what you know and what you don't.

It is true that too much analysis will paralyzed you. But not enough analysis will be equally detrimental. smile.gif

Having said that, there is a saying about engineers/science ppl : we are too detailed. tongue.gif
badutman
post Jun 18 2009, 09:56 AM

307 posts

morning all.... sad.gif
still feel the ankle pain since Monday's workout, plus heavily fast-walk at klia (change gate from A9 to B11 punya pasal).
just last nite heard about RICE (rest, ice, compression, elevation). doing the R, I and C seem help a bit.

pizzaboy,
u trying the leptin injection or following the tips?:

TSSyd G
post Jun 18 2009, 10:03 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

@myremi
you're in engineering? that explains A LOT! tongue.gif

Day 3 of rest and I'm restless (heh). @metalfreak, no running today. I promise we'll run tomorrow after work so bring ur running attire biggrin.gif

metalfreak
post Jun 18 2009, 10:06 AM

3,300 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 18 2009, 10:03 AM)
@myremi
you're in engineering? that explains A LOT! tongue.gif

Day 3 of rest and I'm restless (heh). @metalfreak, no running today.  I promise we'll run tomorrow after work so bring ur running attire biggrin.gif
Noted smile.gif

I also tak bawa running attire today. planning to rest sad.gif Tired. I gotta sleep earlier haha

By the way Syd, is it safe ah? to park at the park...i mean..if we're running till late? =P
TSSyd G
post Jun 18 2009, 10:29 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

@metalfreak
not going to do long run. prolly 2hr max. should be safe smile.gif
pizzaboy
post Jun 18 2009, 10:45 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Jun 18 2009, 09:25 AM)
Hmm..if you want to do testing and all, you may need to make a matrix table to get an overview of the effects. I know that you think that this is analysis by paralysis yet it's a common tool for technical and business as well.

Do a comparison table to compare and get a bigger overview. I did one briefly because it was very hard to always remember what I had read or what assumptions that I had to rethink. Unfortunately, I threw the paper away.

It's tough work in the beginning but afterwards, it's easier. Plus, you are also more clear on what you know and what you don't.

It is true that too much analysis will paralyzed you. But not enough analysis will be equally detrimental. smile.gif

Having said that, there is a saying about engineers/science ppl : we are too detailed. tongue.gif
That's the problem. I need test subjects. However, nobody thinks it's possible, gives excuses and a crap load of bullshit.
I'm trying to work with a lecturer from UKM but her subjects can't do it either. They're relying on exercise which is excellent, but I still want to know the results out of this Leptin thing.

QUOTE(badutman @ Jun 18 2009, 09:56 AM)
morning all....  sad.gif
still feel the ankle pain since Monday's workout, plus heavily fast-walk at klia (change gate from A9 to B11 punya pasal).
just last nite heard about RICE (rest, ice, compression, elevation). doing the R, I and C seem help a bit.

pizzaboy,
u trying the leptin injection or following the tips?:

Am I trying that? I'm 176CM and I weigh 79KG on a good day or 78.5 on an average day. I barely need that.
My 170GMS of protein a day diet doesn't seem to be working. Time to up it to 250gms and up my carbs to 355gms. The carbs are easy as hell to hit.....it's the protein I'm worried about. Or I could drop my protein to 220 and up carbs to 400. Yeah that sounds easier. Okay I'm talking nonsense again.
metalfreak
post Jun 18 2009, 11:06 AM

3,300 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 18 2009, 10:29 AM)
@metalfreak
not going to do long run. prolly 2hr max. should be safe smile.gif
If I can survive 2 hours without cramps, I'll be grateful.

42 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:08 PM