135 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

DFlo
post Dec 25 2009, 04:10 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Dec 25 2009, 04:03 PM)
well if that's the case, APN settings will be deemed useless then.

just tested. iPhone will not be able to access the internet if:

1. Place gibberish words in APN settings
2. Disable 3G and EDGE via SBSettings
What's up teikwing, long time no see!

But your above post is only useful for JB'ed iPhones right? No JB = $$ fly

I wonder what happened to the Fake APN settings that previously worked... Is this a Christmas present from Maxis? GDI
teikwing
post Dec 25 2009, 04:14 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(DFlo @ Dec 25 2009, 04:10 PM)
What's up teikwing, long time no see!

But your above post is only useful for JB'ed iPhones right? No JB = $$ fly

I wonder what happened to the Fake APN settings that previously worked... Is this a Christmas present from Maxis? GDI
hey bro! biggrin.gif

yes my method above only meant for JBed phone. but since all local sets are from Maxis i believe most of of you guys have subscribed to Maxis data plans?

well from what Superman7 has mentioned, it seems like the APN settings will play no role in connection to the internet since usage of GPRS/EDGE/3G will be direct activation from Maxis itself rather than being determined by the APN settings.

in short, the APN settings is rather useless now. sad.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Dec 25 2009, 04:16 PM
DFlo
post Dec 25 2009, 04:17 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Dec 25 2009, 04:14 PM)
hey bro!  biggrin.gif

yes my method above only meant for JBed phone. but since all local sets are from Maxis i believe most of of you guys have subscribed to Maxis data plans?

well from what Superman7 has mentioned, it seems like the APN settings will have no effect on connection to the internet since usage of GPRS/EDGE/3G will be direct activation from Maxis itself rather than being determined by the APN settings.

in short, the APN settings is rather useless now. sad.gif
Well, I did not subscribe to the data plan... And the APN settings did work before today! This is bad
Mackiddo
post Dec 25 2009, 06:47 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

i wonder how much Maxis gonna profit from this. There could be a lot of users who are still not aware of this.

Merry Christmas biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Dec 25 2009, 06:50 PM
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 25 2009, 07:07 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

Hmm, I'm not facing this problem.
Just now, when I used this setting
APN: unet
User: maxis
Pass: wap

I'm able to load web pages as per normal thru EDGE

but when I change it to

APN: uneta
User: maxisa

it says something like "you are not suscribed to a data cellular network"

teikwing
post Dec 25 2009, 08:16 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Dec 25 2009, 07:07 PM)

but when I change it to

did you test it via Safari alone or Via iTunes Store and App Store and other apps as well? do make sure you did check your data counter in 'Usage'.
Superman7
post Dec 25 2009, 08:22 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Dec 25 2009, 07:07 PM)

but when I change it to

yes, you will get those message the first time. Try a couple more times & I'm sure it'll be connected by itself e eventually.
Another thing i'm not sure is if it is the 4.0 or 5.0 problem.
Anyone can confirm if running on 4.0, the problem is still there..
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 25 2009, 08:36 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Dec 25 2009, 08:16 PM)
did you test it via Safari alone or Via iTunes Store and App Store and other apps as well? do make sure you did check your data counter in 'Usage'.
Tired only with safari and mail app only. Will test the others in a while.. I did check the usage counter. It did not move.

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 25 2009, 08:22 PM)
yes, you will get those message the first time. Try a couple more times & I'm sure it'll be connected by itself e eventually.
Another thing i'm not sure is if it is the 4.0 or 5.0 problem.
Anyone can confirm if running on 4.0, the problem is still there..
I tried a few times. Still the same.
Not sure if I'm on 4.0 or 5.0. I'm using a Singapore M1 set, with 3.1.2 on tethered jailbreak. No sbsettings installed. I did install the maxis ipcc file from here for nice maxis logo and the ability to edit cellular network settings.
Superman7
post Dec 25 2009, 08:48 PM

11,086 posts

Check in the "About" under general settings to see if the carrier settings is 5.0 or 4.0.

I guess the only solution via JB.
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 25 2009, 09:36 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

Reporting back. I'm on carrier 5.0.

I tried safari several times again with this settings

Still it does not connect. Even after waiting for some time. Mail Does not work as well. Apps store also does not connect.

Data usage remains the same. Apparently the fake APN trick is still working for me. BTW, I'm based in Sabah, dunno if that makes a difference.

The thing is, the claims are that the fake APN settings are now not working, so I don't think JBing your iphone will make any difference unless you mean JBing and then installing SBsettings to turn of EDGE and 3G.
Superman7
post Dec 25 2009, 09:44 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Dec 25 2009, 09:36 PM)

Still it does not connect. Even after waiting for some time. Mail Does not work as well. Apps store also does not connect.

Data usage remains the same. Apparently the fake APN trick is still working for me. BTW, I'm based in Sabah, dunno if that makes a difference.
The thing is, the claims are that the fake APN settings are now not working, so I don't think JBing your iphone will make any difference unless you mean JBing and then installing SBsettings to turn of EDGE and 3G.
yes, we were all referring to JB to install SBsettings. Teikwing confirmed that only by those 2 steps, it will work. Otherwise it'll be a problem still.
Not sure why yours the special one. You don't have SBsettings installed right?
hi54ever
post Dec 25 2009, 10:46 PM

744 posts

so my guess is not wrong after all when i realize this 'gift' from Maxis..great.

try to switch between all ipcc files and playing with apn settings, do have ONCE the cellular data failure, but return to normal data access after awhile.

Those who still have APN working, see if these few days still able to block data from going out or not, my guess is Maxis JUST implement this, so have not gone effect on all user. biggrin.gif

great 2009 ending from Maxis, kampai

Added on December 25, 2009, 10:48 pmgotta switch off all my openfient...plus network....no more TTR unnecessarily...gotta watched out on every apps that have ads...

Added on December 25, 2009, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 25 2009, 08:48 PM)
Check in the "About" under general settings to see if the carrier settings is 5.0 or 4.0.

Time to switch to the smarter side, tried digi simcard and it does not connect via EDGE/GPRS biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hi54ever: Dec 25 2009, 11:04 PM
yvonnesoo
post Dec 25 2009, 11:47 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 25 2009, 02:54 PM)
I called up maxis center and they confirmed that the settings on the iPhone for the APN settings is not changeable.
It is a direct activation of the GPRS/EDGE/3G from maxis itself.
I guess at the moment to avoid unnecessary billing, you could call up maxis to deactivate/disable your GPRS/EDGE/3G settings.
Once that is done, the unnecessary charges caused by your iPhone will no longer happen.

That is a pain in the @ss thing to do if you need to use your data the next time. You will have to call maxis to reactivate it again.
According to standard leadtime, activation and deactivation of the settings will that 2 hours.

I just wonder, by JB the phone and installing SBsettings, will this solve the problem? The SBsettings should be able to disable both 3G and EDGE at the same time right?
Anybody with experience of disabling both 3G and EDGE with SBsettings and edited the APN with nonsense info still having data charges iccured?
sigh.. if like tis case.. better change telco. i dy piss off wif maxis!!

Added on December 25, 2009, 11:51 pm
QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Dec 25 2009, 09:36 PM)

i oso no JB my phone.. no connection n no usage of data if change the apn

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Dec 25 2009, 11:51 PM
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 26 2009, 01:35 AM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

QUOTE(hi54ever @ Dec 25 2009, 10:46 PM)

Those who still have APN working, see if these few days still able to block data from going out or not, my guess is Maxis JUST implement this, so have not gone effect on all user
I'll keep an eye on my data usage n report back a few days later

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 25 2009, 11:47 PM)
sigh.. if like tis case.. better change telco. i dy piss off wif maxis!!

Added on December 25, 2009, 11:51 pm

i oso no JB my phone.. no connection n no usage of data if change the apn
maybe u can also let us know if the apn trick is still working a few days later...
yvonnesoo
post Dec 26 2009, 09:30 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

will it be the case tat those new subscribe user to maxis line will get affected? well i jz assume.. will c hw later
DFlo
post Dec 26 2009, 09:48 AM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

Still the same thing today... I guess another solution would be to sign up the data plan package from Maxis, since I really don't wanna resort to JB
Remedy
post Dec 26 2009, 10:47 AM

83 posts

Damn maxis.. i am using prepaid for Maxis and unJBed phone... and no mather what i do for the APN settings.. after a few tries on Safari.. it will connect and download data.

I guess maxis manage to find out how we does it on iphone and found away to charge us.

I always wonder if every 1 iphone user unexpectedly clicked on a website and get charged for RM1 x all unexpected maxis iphone users in Malaysia... how much $$$$ they would have earned from a mistake of a single click.
yvonnesoo
post Dec 26 2009, 10:50 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

i would like to know. it's only happen to prepaid users??

btw, i jz file a complain to Maxis on their website. i dunno they will take my issue seriously or nt. but i guess if alot of customer file a complain to them, perhaps they will look at tis matter seriously.. i assume la.. kekeke
DFlo
post Dec 26 2009, 11:15 AM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Remedy @ Dec 26 2009, 10:47 AM)
Damn maxis.. i am using prepaid for Maxis and unJBed phone... and no mather what i do for the APN settings.. after a few tries on Safari.. it will connect and download data.

I guess maxis manage to find out how we does it on iphone and found away to charge us.

I always wonder if every 1 iphone user unexpectedly clicked on a website and get charged for RM1 x all unexpected maxis iphone users in Malaysia... how much $$$$ they would have earned from a mistake of a single click.
Not only 'unexpectedly clicked on a website', but also remember the apps. Quite a few apps have advertisements in them. How do they display the ads, even if you're not connected to the Internet through WiFi? That's right: 3G/EDGE!

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 26 2009, 10:50 AM)
i would like to know. it's only happen to prepaid users??
Guess not, I am a postpaid user and still, I'm getting this lovely gift from Maxis.

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 26 2009, 10:50 AM)
btw, i jz file a complain to Maxis on their website. i dunno they will take my issue seriously or nt. but i guess if alot of customer file a complain to them, perhaps they will look at tis matter seriously.. i assume la.. kekeke
On what grounds are you complaining?

This post has been edited by DFlo: Dec 26 2009, 11:17 AM
Remedy
post Dec 26 2009, 03:23 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(DFlo @ Dec 26 2009, 11:15 AM)
Not only 'unexpectedly clicked on a website', but also remember the apps. Quite a few apps have advertisements in them. How do they display the ads, even if you're not connected to the Internet through WiFi? That's right: 3G/EDGE!
Guess not, I am a postpaid user and still, I'm getting this lovely gift from Maxis.
On what grounds are you complaining?
Regardless if its web browser or ads or email sync or any other stuff which transfers data thru the 3G/EDGE network... it is definately bad news for us who didn't use the unlimited data plan.

Even with the unlimited data plan.. paying so much money every month to maxis is also bad.. considering digi provide a cheaper alternative.

Hope someone comes up with a good solution to permanently disable EDGE on a non-JBed phone.. or maybe should us JBed our phone ? I can't stand internet charges like this.

This post has been edited by Remedy: Dec 26 2009, 03:24 PM

135 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:22 PM