iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

yvonnesoo
post Dec 14 2009, 10:08 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

i got probs wif my iphone data usage. b4 that i didn't kno need to change the cellular network setting and i accidentally use the 3G or Edge. my phone is an unlocked phone from maxis but i didn't sign up any data plan. when i check my unbilled amount, it cost me a bomb.. thn i follow the steps n instruction given in the forum to disable the edge and type in using gribbish words on the apn n etc. after tat my usage in the cellular data didn't increase and remain as the same as where i stop previously.

but then i feel tat maxis slowly charge me $ on my unbilled amount when i check on theh *100#. i oredi stopped everything n i'm sure i can't even access the connection after i disable the edge cz i try to load the weather or stock page it prompt me a msg stating "cellular data is not available". but i dun get it why maxis still charge me the $.. my main n the sub line haven't reach the free limit of the talk time so it won't charges me on tat.. so i suspect is the data charges..

i call maxis n they say i use data as i didn't even use cz the sent n receive data didn't even increase.. i use wifi at home n in the office..it's because i use wifi so they still charge me on tat?? as i kno wifi is free cz it didn't connected 2 maxis data

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Dec 14 2009, 10:59 AM
yvonnesoo
post Dec 14 2009, 10:58 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ Dec 14 2009, 10:44 AM)
yvonnesoo, bear in mind when you using wifi and if the signal is weak, it will use cellular data ...
yea i kno.. as i stated..i oredi disable the cellular data network.. i can't even on9. so how can the cellular data use it when it can't connect??
yvonnesoo
post Dec 23 2009, 12:18 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

unless u totally change ur apn to other words when u r on wifi. thn it will be totally on wifi else as diegoadriadona mention, it will auto route to 3g if ur wifi is weak. when u wanna to use back the data, u jz key bek the apn again..
yvonnesoo
post Dec 23 2009, 03:17 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

it's the data tat increase is ur previous data b4 u change ur apn? well.. better change to something tat is nt related to unet.. in case still can use the 3g.. i put my name or perhaps like some forumer name it as iphone for apn, username and password. btw, did u change all of tis??

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 23 2009, 12:59 PM)
The correct one is unet (maxis). I purposely add in the 123 to make it not useable to ensure that it don't suddenly use my 3G data as I do not have dataplan.
yvonnesoo
post Dec 23 2009, 11:10 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 23 2009, 06:24 PM)
what about the mms settings?do I need to change the password as well?
From what you are saying,if the apn is wrong it will not increase my data count anymore right?
if u change ur mms setting.. thn it will be quite troublesome 4 u when u wanna send ur mms. unless as wat eternity4av mention, u haf to retype the setting again when u wanna mms. btw, mms won't affect ur credit flying out.. cz i doubt it's hardly 4 u to accidentally send a mms without u noticing it..

data count is counted when u use ur data thru 3g..else the count won't increase even when u use wifi to on9. correct me if i'm wrong.. cz i'm a newbie too.. haha tongue.gif

yvonnesoo
post Dec 24 2009, 03:08 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 23 2009, 11:56 PM)
That's exactly what I thought. But the thing is I already renamed the APN and disable 3G but the data is still counting.
Now I totally renamed the APN settings to other name totally. Initially I just add 123 at the back of the unet. Let's see what happens now..
btw, what's the data charges for normal rates? is it 0.005sen per kB?
i rename the apn totally to other name.. dunwan to haf any probs later on.. cz maybe even u put 123 d data is counting cz still gt unet wif it.. i guess la.. haha..

erm make it easy.. i counted as 1MB=RM10.. from tis u can count ur kb

yvonnesoo
post Dec 24 2009, 04:22 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 24 2009, 03:53 AM)
This is what I do and I think it's fine now, no more data download unnecessarily.
Rename totally the APN name.

APN: xxx
Username: xxx
Password: xxx

you don't have to change the MMS settings.
Another thing I did was to disable 3G. Since I will not be using data download, moreover, there is no video calling possible with iPhone, there is actually no use of using 3G for me. Since in M'sia, 2.5G is still possible smile.gif yet it shall save some battery life.

Hope this would help others.
it great to kno tat u finally manage to solve ur probs smile.gif yup.. no need to change mms setting. actually can video call rite? my fren told me tat.. jz u haf to face the mirror wif ur phone.. cz d cam is behind n nt infront tongue.gif i'm nt sure bout tis cz i haven't try yet..

well.. normally ppl who own the iphone will use the 3g function.. cz they will be using d data. some forumer n my frens did mention b4, wat d use of having such a smartphone n we r nt fully utilized d function? saying tat having an iphone bt dun haf the flexibility to connect 2 d net anytime.. is no point.. better buy some other phone instead.. tongue.gif bt who cares.. i like i buy..
yvonnesoo
post Dec 25 2009, 02:56 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 24 2009, 03:15 PM)
There's already 1mb data download in 1 day. It'll be around RM10 I think for 1MB. I really need help now. Nobody is having the same problem as I am? Everybody is with data plans? Will jailbreak to install sbsettings help solve this problem?
I just wonder why after changing the apn settings, it is still possible for the phone to connect..
i dunno y u can't. my case is ok. when i set the apn, i try to launch to the net, it pop out an error msg stating tat "Could not connect to data network". means tat it won't connect unless gt wifi detected. btw, did u took off ur simcard b4? cz from my experience, once i took off my simcard n change to another number simcard.. thn when i put bek the initial simcard.. the apn auto set back to unet n etc.. thn i haf to set bek again..

Added on December 25, 2009, 3:00 am
QUOTE(hi54ever @ Dec 24 2009, 03:32 PM)
did u guys check your carier version...? setting>general>about , as mentioned in a thread, that apn thingy setting only work with Maxis 4.0....mine was 4.0 before, just now i checked mine already become 5.0, so the apn thing doesn't work anymore...now im trying to restore to factory setting and see how thinhs going
from the day i received my phone, the carrier version is 5.0 n i haf no probs wif the apn wor. tat time due to the guide in lyn mention tat mms only work wif carrier version 4.0 so i haf to no choice restore to factory setting bt to no avail. it's still version 5. i guess the probs is at maxis n nt our phone. perhaps maxis upgrade their carrier to version 5

Added on December 25, 2009, 3:02 am
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 24 2009, 04:11 PM)
even if it's freeware which connect to data, it should prompt you if you would enable it to connect. So I guess it shouldn't be a problem. But now I'm really waiting for someone who can help me solve this problem. Else it's gonna be a big problem with my bill this coming month
i heard tat freeware sometimes gt free ads tat run behind. so it won't prompt u to enable it

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Dec 25 2009, 03:02 AM
yvonnesoo
post Dec 25 2009, 03:29 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(hi54ever @ Dec 25 2009, 03:16 AM)
Is urs 3gs or i3g? firmware 3.1.2 or 3.1 or 3.0? mine is i3g 3.0 with maxis 5.0 now. tried disabled everything on apn now still not working..the data is going through...mayb i have to wait awhile for it to take effect?
mine is 3gs wif firmware 3.1.2 maxis 5.0
----------------

Yours is running on 5.0? and when did you get your 3GS?
If we are both having the same batch of phone, then I think there should be no problem in mine as well..

i gt mine early of dec

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Dec 25 2009, 03:31 AM
yvonnesoo
post Dec 25 2009, 03:58 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 25 2009, 03:37 AM)
Since we are having similar batch (I just got mine 2 days ago), I should be closer to finding the solution to this.
You are sure that the data usage in the general settings does not show any increase after you had rename the APN?
the data no increase after i put the ipcc file

yvonnesoo
post Dec 25 2009, 11:47 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 25 2009, 02:54 PM)
I called up maxis center and they confirmed that the settings on the iPhone for the APN settings is not changeable.
It is a direct activation of the GPRS/EDGE/3G from maxis itself.
I guess at the moment to avoid unnecessary billing, you could call up maxis to deactivate/disable your GPRS/EDGE/3G settings.
Once that is done, the unnecessary charges caused by your iPhone will no longer happen.

That is a pain in the @ss thing to do if you need to use your data the next time. You will have to call maxis to reactivate it again.
According to standard leadtime, activation and deactivation of the settings will that 2 hours.

I just wonder, by JB the phone and installing SBsettings, will this solve the problem? The SBsettings should be able to disable both 3G and EDGE at the same time right?
Anybody with experience of disabling both 3G and EDGE with SBsettings and edited the APN with nonsense info still having data charges iccured?
sigh.. if like tis case.. better change telco. i dy piss off wif maxis!!

Added on December 25, 2009, 11:51 pm
QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Dec 25 2009, 09:36 PM)
Reporting back. I'm on carrier 5.0.

I tried safari several times again with this settings

APN: uneta
User: maxisa
Pass: wap

Still it does not connect. Even after waiting for some time. Mail Does not work as well. Apps store also does not connect.

Data usage remains the same. Apparently the fake APN trick is still working for me. BTW, I'm based in Sabah, dunno if that makes a difference.
The thing is, the claims are that the fake APN settings are now not working, so I don't think JBing your iphone will make any difference unless you mean JBing and then installing SBsettings to turn of EDGE and 3G.
i oso no JB my phone.. no connection n no usage of data if change the apn

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Dec 25 2009, 11:51 PM
yvonnesoo
post Dec 26 2009, 09:30 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

will it be the case tat those new subscribe user to maxis line will get affected? well i jz assume.. will c hw later
yvonnesoo
post Dec 26 2009, 10:50 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

i would like to know. it's only happen to prepaid users??

btw, i jz file a complain to Maxis on their website. i dunno they will take my issue seriously or nt. but i guess if alot of customer file a complain to them, perhaps they will look at tis matter seriously.. i assume la.. kekeke
yvonnesoo
post Dec 28 2009, 01:04 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(DFlo @ Dec 26 2009, 11:15 AM)
Not only 'unexpectedly clicked on a website', but also remember the apps. Quite a few apps have advertisements in them. How do they display the ads, even if you're not connected to the Internet through WiFi? That's right: 3G/EDGE!
Guess not, I am a postpaid user and still, I'm getting this lovely gift from Maxis.
On what grounds are you complaining?
complaining their warranty issue..

yvonnesoo
post Dec 28 2009, 01:13 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 27 2009, 09:53 PM)
I didn't sign up for any contract. Just bought outright from maxis.
since u dun haf any contract.. u can change telco wat.. digi gt unlimited plan for RM48 for 12 mths if u sign up b4 31st of Dec.. normal charge is RM58
yvonnesoo
post Dec 29 2009, 10:24 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 28 2009, 01:26 PM)
cos I'm on another contract with maxis biggrin.gif
huh? kinda blur.. iszit u dun haf any contract on iphone bt gt another value plus contract wif maxis? tongue.gif

Added on December 29, 2009, 10:26 pm
QUOTE(Remedy @ Dec 28 2009, 04:38 PM)
Anyway just my 2 cents...

if you look at the comparison charts.. Digi RM48 has lower transfer speed as what the name implies.. if you look at the data transfer rate is capped at 700/200kbps while maxis is 3.6mbps/384kbps
aiyo.. it's still d same oso.. maxis speed is down the drain as well.. nw alot of ppl using maxis line to on9 due to iphone data usage wat...

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Dec 29 2009, 10:26 PM
yvonnesoo
post Apr 16 2010, 11:47 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

i would like to kno.. the usage of the cellular network data it's calculate only received or both??
yvonnesoo
post Oct 25 2010, 10:06 PM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(ken_jr @ Oct 24 2010, 01:34 PM)
got a shock today when my line was suddenly barred..
checked unbilled usage rm600++ .. WTF?!
5 days ago was just at rm140+..
barely used data for anything..
anyone facing the same problem?
i'm waiting for my bill now .. cycle cut on 24th..
wow.. tis is really bill shock!! some apps r run behind especially when ios4 use multitasking. so u won't kno tat ur data is leaking.. u tot u dy close ur running apps bt actually it's running behind..

0.0436sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:42 AM