iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 14 2009, 03:42 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

Hi, I'm a new user to iphone. After reading n searching much on how to toggle on and off edge/3g/gprs, This is what I gather:

1) 3G, can be turned off via iphone settings, but Edge cannot
2) SBsettings may be used to toggle 3G, Edge (via fakeAPN), and wifi on/off
3) Edge may be disabled via editing the APN to a fake nonsense entry (for Maxis, dunno abt Digi n Celcom)
4) Once a fake APN is inserted, 3G will be rendered unusable along with Edge

Please do correct me if I made mistakes/misunderstood the above statements, esp. statement #4, as that is the one I'm least sure about.

Now here's my question. I'm prepared to JB my iphone since there are tons of software I want to install. Is there anyway for me to toggle between a real/fake APN quickly without having to manually type the real/fake APN every time I wanna toggle it on/off. Are there apps that does this? Also, I do not want to install SBsettings coz it runs on the background, and I'm a memory freak.

Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 19 2009, 07:39 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

Hi guys, I just added data services for my iphone. I'm on the maxis 250mb/month plan. I remember reading somewhere that The 250mb allowance includes both downloading and uploading data. Is that right?

Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 20 2009, 04:58 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

Thanks tinkerbell... I becareful from now on
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 25 2009, 07:07 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

Hmm, I'm not facing this problem.
Just now, when I used this setting
APN: unet
User: maxis
Pass: wap

I'm able to load web pages as per normal thru EDGE

but when I change it to

APN: uneta
User: maxisa

it says something like "you are not suscribed to a data cellular network"

Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 25 2009, 08:36 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Dec 25 2009, 08:16 PM)
did you test it via Safari alone or Via iTunes Store and App Store and other apps as well? do make sure you did check your data counter in 'Usage'.
Tired only with safari and mail app only. Will test the others in a while.. I did check the usage counter. It did not move.

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 25 2009, 08:22 PM)
yes, you will get those message the first time. Try a couple more times & I'm sure it'll be connected by itself e eventually.
Another thing i'm not sure is if it is the 4.0 or 5.0 problem.
Anyone can confirm if running on 4.0, the problem is still there..
I tried a few times. Still the same.
Not sure if I'm on 4.0 or 5.0. I'm using a Singapore M1 set, with 3.1.2 on tethered jailbreak. No sbsettings installed. I did install the maxis ipcc file from here for nice maxis logo and the ability to edit cellular network settings.
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 25 2009, 09:36 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

Reporting back. I'm on carrier 5.0.

I tried safari several times again with this settings

APN: uneta
User: maxisa

Still it does not connect. Even after waiting for some time. Mail Does not work as well. Apps store also does not connect.

Data usage remains the same. Apparently the fake APN trick is still working for me. BTW, I'm based in Sabah, dunno if that makes a difference.

I guess the only solution via JB.

The thing is, the claims are that the fake APN settings are now not working, so I don't think JBing your iphone will make any difference unless you mean JBing and then installing SBsettings to turn of EDGE and 3G.
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 26 2009, 01:35 AM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

QUOTE(hi54ever @ Dec 25 2009, 10:46 PM)

Those who still have APN working, see if these few days still able to block data from going out or not, my guess is Maxis JUST implement this, so have not gone effect on all user
I'll keep an eye on my data usage n report back a few days later

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 25 2009, 11:47 PM)
sigh.. if like tis case.. better change telco. i dy piss off wif maxis!!

Added on December 25, 2009, 11:51 pm

i oso no JB my phone.. no connection n no usage of data if change the apn
maybe u can also let us know if the apn trick is still working a few days later...
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 27 2009, 01:10 AM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

Guys, anyone tried this on your JBed Iphone b4?

http://media-phone.ch/en/software/smartscreen/

It is called smartscreen, which integrates the possibility to turn off EDGE, 3G etc on the lock screen plus sevral wacky widgets that you may use o your lockscreen.

The reason I didn't install SBsettings was because it ran in the background, hence taking up resources. Smartscreen however, doesn't seem to do that.

BTW, fake APN setting is still working for me.
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 27 2009, 02:40 AM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Dec 27 2009, 02:08 AM)
AFAIK, SBSettings does not take up that much resources/memory. anyway, an update from my side. i have subscribed to iData RM30 250MB per month just to be safe and get to browse the web when i am really i need. wink.gif
I just a b*tch when it comes to memory resources hehe. I also took up the 250mb package for replying my emails on the go. However, i will always disable edge by changing the apn when I'm at home coz wifi is available.
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 29 2009, 08:53 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

QUOTE(Remedy @ Dec 28 2009, 10:10 PM)
I had my 3G phone fully charged this morning 100%. Used it to listen to couple (may around 10 songs) on headphones, occasionally browsed few websites.. talked twice.. not more than 5 mins each.

and left it idle till now... Its around 35% left. Is this normal? somehow i felt the batter ran out pretty quick..
Another problem afte JBed and using SBSettings... i notice that everytime i would launch the SMS editor or Settings screen... the screen will wait for 3 - 5 seconds before it loads up.. I don't recall that happening when its unJBed.

Anyone of you guys experience this?

i am running 3.1.2.
Once I recieved my iPhone I JBed it immediately, so I can't comment on the battery life before JBing. However, when I began using my iPhone (already jailbroken), I realized the battery life is quite poor, approx. 8hrs including standby time. But after I reduce screen brightness from the default 50% to 30%, the battery can last me about a day and a half which includes about 3hours of listening to music, some light surfing on EDGE and occasional Wifi use. I made about 1 hour+ worth of phonecalls as well.

I have heard that the fakeAPN thing does cause battery drain in some handsets.

I don't think JBing your iPhone will cause lag coz it only opens up the possibility of installing third party software. I think it may be due to the third party software that you install that is causing the lag. SBsettings for example, runs in the background as well which increase your background CPU and memory load. Although by how much I don't know coz I avoided installing software that runs on background.

So far I have yet to encounter any lag on my iphone! And I love that! I used to be a WinMo user since the days where PDAs were stil PDAs, and I really appreaciate the fact that my PDA-phone is currently lag-free.
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 31 2009, 05:59 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

Reporting in from Sabah again. My fakeAPN settings re still working to block data. Maybe Sabah is slower in implementation? I might be going back to JB next week. Will report back again if the fakeAPN is working in JB or not.
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 31 2009, 11:33 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Dec 31 2009, 11:18 PM)
Thats y ppl without data plan and with a non-JB iPhone is having headache now sad.gif
Swtich to DiGi, it's "Always the Smarter Choice".
Kain_Sicilian
post Jan 1 2010, 06:41 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

QUOTE(zxc999 @ Jan 1 2010, 11:49 AM)
im using maxis prepaid and yesterday found out all my credit gone!!!
i already installed the disable-egde-3g but still doesn't work.
It was working few days ago??? can anyone help me??
If i switch to digi prepaid, will it work??
happy new year..... smile.gif
All we've heard is that Maxis does not require cprrect APN settings to connect to EDGE/GPRS, DiGi and Celcom still requires correct APN settings to work. So yes, switching to DiGi prepaid will work.
Kain_Sicilian
post Feb 26 2010, 09:53 AM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

Just changed to DiGi last week. Took up the unlimited broadband thing, so now I dont even have to worry about being overcharged for data... biggrin.gif

0.0474sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:41 PM