iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

Remedy
post Dec 26 2009, 10:47 AM

83 posts

Damn maxis.. i am using prepaid for Maxis and unJBed phone... and no mather what i do for the APN settings.. after a few tries on Safari.. it will connect and download data.

I guess maxis manage to find out how we does it on iphone and found away to charge us.

I always wonder if every 1 iphone user unexpectedly clicked on a website and get charged for RM1 x all unexpected maxis iphone users in Malaysia... how much $$$$ they would have earned from a mistake of a single click.
Remedy
post Dec 26 2009, 03:23 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(DFlo @ Dec 26 2009, 11:15 AM)
Not only 'unexpectedly clicked on a website', but also remember the apps. Quite a few apps have advertisements in them. How do they display the ads, even if you're not connected to the Internet through WiFi? That's right: 3G/EDGE!
Guess not, I am a postpaid user and still, I'm getting this lovely gift from Maxis.
On what grounds are you complaining?
Regardless if its web browser or ads or email sync or any other stuff which transfers data thru the 3G/EDGE network... it is definately bad news for us who didn't use the unlimited data plan.

Even with the unlimited data plan.. paying so much money every month to maxis is also bad.. considering digi provide a cheaper alternative.

Hope someone comes up with a good solution to permanently disable EDGE on a non-JBed phone.. or maybe should us JBed our phone ? I can't stand internet charges like this.

This post has been edited by Remedy: Dec 26 2009, 03:24 PM
Remedy
post Dec 26 2009, 06:50 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(DFlo @ Dec 26 2009, 04:42 PM)
Well, if there aren't any alternatives to JB within these few days, I shall get it JB'ed and follow the steps listed by teikwing... sad.gif
Damn.. i called maxis to disable my 3G and all data network this morning.. then i tried just now... at first it can't connect.. then 2nd try.. it connects! and the next thing i check RM5 credit gone!

thats it JBing.

This post has been edited by Remedy: Dec 26 2009, 06:50 PM
Remedy
post Dec 26 2009, 09:37 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 26 2009, 09:02 PM)
I tried mine after requesting maxis to disable my 3G. It doesn't connect anymore.
Probably Remedy needs to call up maxis again to confirm if the 3G service had already been deactivated.
Thanks for the advice guys... since morning till now.. i guess 8 hours + and the last i tried.. it sucks up RM10 from my account. Maybe that guy on the call didn't or forgot to deactivate mine. I have asked him to deactivate GPRS and 3G both...

ANYWAYS... i have JBed my phone using Blackrain and applied both SBSettings + APN change. CONFIRMED data network fully blocked now.

Remedy
post Dec 27 2009, 02:07 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(DFlo @ Dec 26 2009, 11:16 PM)
Either that, or resort to JB...

Added on December 27, 2009, 12:32 am
I have both SBSettings + APN change, but it seems that data is still coming through. Mind to elaborate more?

On SBSettings, I have red color on the the 3G icon.
On APN, I used one from www.unlockit.co.nz

edit: Got it!
Got it already? well I just turn off both 3G and Edge from sbsettings.
That will do it
Remedy
post Dec 27 2009, 03:27 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(DFlo @ Dec 27 2009, 02:49 PM)
Brother, how's the battery life?
So far ok.. i have wait till my phone fully charged then monitor. will let you know
Remedy
post Dec 28 2009, 04:38 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 28 2009, 01:13 PM)
since u dun haf any contract.. u can change telco wat.. digi gt unlimited plan for RM48 for 12 mths if u sign up b4 31st of Dec.. normal charge is RM58
Anyway just my 2 cents...

if you look at the comparison charts.. Digi RM48 has lower transfer speed as what the name implies.. if you look at the data transfer rate is capped at 700/200kbps while maxis is 3.6mbps/384kbps

This post has been edited by Remedy: Dec 28 2009, 04:40 PM
Remedy
post Dec 28 2009, 10:10 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 27 2009, 04:30 PM)
yeah. Pls let us know. It's about time to JB my phone.
I had my 3G phone fully charged this morning 100%. Used it to listen to couple (may around 10 songs) on headphones, occasionally browsed few websites.. talked twice.. not more than 5 mins each.

and left it idle till now... Its around 35% left. Is this normal? somehow i felt the batter ran out pretty quick..

Another problem afte JBed and using SBSettings... i notice that everytime i would launch the SMS editor or Settings screen... the screen will wait for 3 - 5 seconds before it loads up.. I don't recall that happening when its unJBed.

Anyone of you guys experience this?

i am running 3.1.2.

Remedy
post Dec 29 2009, 10:03 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(DFlo @ Dec 29 2009, 09:44 AM)
Guys, for some reason, the Fake APN works again (I've tested it out yesterday evening and today). Anyone else can confirm this?
Isn't that a bit too much?
Well, for my 3GS, honestly I don't feel any lags when launching any apps.

Well brother, I'll keep monitoring the Fake APN thingy to see if it works again today. If it does, you may wanna un-JB.
Hey thats great news... yeah please do update again... I want to un-JBed... by the way bro.. where u get the firmware to un-JB? the link in lowyat to get that is not working.
Remedy
post Dec 30 2009, 07:40 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(12321 @ Dec 30 2009, 02:42 PM)
help!anyone their fake apn still working?i got a problem 2day~
before that the fake apn work for me when i click on safari,it will show "cellular data cannot...."but 2day morning i change back to origin apn to use internet for a while,but when i change the apn to fake word,it didnt work again,it stil can surf net or go itunes..wats wrong is this?i oredy try to change sim and change back again,still the same!currently maxis and fw 3.1.2!
any1 help?!
The best option so far is combination of fake apn + JBed install SBSettings then disabled both 3G and EDGE using that.

Like you my fake apn not working and i have to resort to jail break. 100% confirmed block.

0.0462sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:00 PM