iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

hi54ever
post Dec 24 2009, 11:51 AM

744 posts

my iphone recently keep auto running the data, just happened these few days, before everything is fine coz all me apn are disabled. only MMS are in right value. When i checked further, carier version is now Maxis 5.0! before this it was Maxis 4.0, is it maxis recently updated it?

so is there anyway to disable edge and gprs under Maxis 5.0? non jailbroken iphone 3g here anyway sad.gif

Added on December 24, 2009, 12:00 pmor downgrade it back to 4.0?

Added on December 24, 2009, 12:13 pmbtw, was causes the change from 4.0 to 5.0? is it due to Maxis where i can call them to downgrade?

or its the iphone itself?

This post has been edited by hi54ever: Dec 24 2009, 12:13 PM
hi54ever
post Dec 24 2009, 03:32 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 24 2009, 03:19 PM)
there's not much apps that doesn't access internet. Maybe in future Apple will find a way to block the 3G/GPRS from being DISABLE, after all, the user will only enjoy the true capabilities of iphone using their apps by going online.

Added on December 24, 2009, 3:22 pm

yup, 1mb = rm10 . you could launch safari to try if you are still connected after you adjust the setting nod.gif
did u guys check your carier version...? setting>general>about , as mentioned in a thread, that apn thingy setting only work with Maxis 4.0....mine was 4.0 before, just now i checked mine already become 5.0, so the apn thing doesn't work anymore...now im trying to restore to factory setting and see how thinhs going

This post has been edited by hi54ever: Dec 24 2009, 03:34 PM
hi54ever
post Dec 24 2009, 04:15 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 24 2009, 04:11 PM)
even if it's freeware which connect to data, it should prompt you if you would enable it to connect. So I guess it shouldn't be a problem. But now I'm really waiting for someone who can help me solve this problem. Else it's gonna be a big problem with my bill this coming month
@superman7

did u check ur maxis version? coz i think im in the same situation as you, but from wat i found "i think" is due to the changes in carier version, ie Maxis 4.0 to maxis 5.0 . how about ur version?

restoring to factory in time of writing

Added on December 24, 2009, 4:17 pmAny sifu's can help solving the latest Maxis trick? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hi54ever: Dec 24 2009, 04:17 PM
hi54ever
post Dec 24 2009, 04:27 PM

744 posts

done restoring to factory settings, the carrier version remains at 5.0, great and i have no idea how already tongue.gif

any other alternate way now?
hi54ever
post Dec 25 2009, 01:23 AM

744 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 24 2009, 09:11 PM)
i don't think you could 'down-grade' the carrier version since it's been done at the telco side ?
but at the pinned thread, there state that if we were in Maxis 5.0, we can reset to factory setting to revert it back 4.0, its under firmware 3.0 though, im using 3.1.2.....so hoping some1 out there knows any solution...sad.gif

Added on December 25, 2009, 2:05 amdoes maaxis carrier version 4.0 or 5.0 do any effect on the APN setting?

This post has been edited by hi54ever: Dec 25 2009, 02:05 AM
hi54ever
post Dec 25 2009, 03:16 AM

744 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 25 2009, 02:56 AM)

from the day i received my phone, the carrier version is 5.0 n i haf no probs wif the apn wor. tat time due to the guide in lyn mention tat mms only work wif carrier version 4.0 so i haf to no choice restore to factory setting bt to no avail. it's still version 5. i guess the probs is at maxis n nt our phone. perhaps maxis upgrade their carrier to version 5
Is urs 3gs or i3g? firmware 3.1.2 or 3.1 or 3.0? mine is i3g 3.0 with maxis 5.0 now. tried disabled everything on apn now still not working..the data is going through...mayb i have to wait awhile for it to take effect?
hi54ever
post Dec 25 2009, 03:18 AM

744 posts

Superman7, u cant sleep without settling this issue izit?? lol, till now still awake, i bet u get nervous for solution when u saw '1 new post' in this thread, haha
hi54ever
post Dec 25 2009, 10:52 AM

744 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 25 2009, 03:58 AM)
the data no increase after i put the ipcc file
i did change my .ipcc file d..

apn: xxxxx
username: xxxxx
pass: xxxxx

MMS setting as normal with unet , wap etc...

by right this should be ok but the data still gt through...did u switch to different sim card when changing apn? im afraid the carrier might lock on the apn setting with the same simcard unless we change switch it and switch back.
hi54ever
post Dec 25 2009, 10:46 PM

744 posts

so my guess is not wrong after all when i realize this 'gift' from Maxis..great.

try to switch between all ipcc files and playing with apn settings, do have ONCE the cellular data failure, but return to normal data access after awhile.

Those who still have APN working, see if these few days still able to block data from going out or not, my guess is Maxis JUST implement this, so have not gone effect on all user. biggrin.gif

great 2009 ending from Maxis, kampai

Added on December 25, 2009, 10:48 pmgotta switch off all my openfient...plus network....no more TTR unnecessarily...gotta watched out on every apps that have ads...

Added on December 25, 2009, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 25 2009, 08:48 PM)
Check in the "About" under general settings to see if the carrier settings is 5.0 or 4.0.

I guess the only solution via JB.
Time to switch to the smarter side, tried digi simcard and it does not connect via EDGE/GPRS biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hi54ever: Dec 25 2009, 11:04 PM
hi54ever
post Dec 26 2009, 11:12 PM

744 posts

all this means that the most secured ways to prevent data from moving in called up Maxis to stop all 3G/EDGE etc, means that no MMS for now until alternative method is found.
hi54ever
post Dec 27 2009, 05:14 PM

744 posts

@superman7 , just get maxis and close all connection, settle, haha
hi54ever
post Dec 31 2009, 09:37 AM

744 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Dec 30 2009, 11:02 PM)
I've JBed, blocked 3G/EDGE with SBSETTINGS, used FakeAPN just to be sure, now monitoring like crazy.

So how does Version 5.0 Maxis differ from 4.0? Where do you get your info?

Thanks!
i myself not so sure about the version thingy but if you read the pinned thread, the fake APN only works with maxis 4.0, not 5.0 (setting>general>abt) and in 3.0 firmware. since some has upgraded to 3.1.2 and version no longer 4.0, so APN stuff not working d is not a surprise biggrin.gif , as for differences, no diea, haha

hi54ever
post Oct 4 2010, 04:07 PM

744 posts

youtube takes up alot of data usage? i occasionally watch youtube posted in FB biggrin.gif

1 Q is, we OFF cellular and 3g, then we run on Wifi, will it somehow reconnect using cellular data? Does Off-ing cellular data can prevent data roaming (roaming OFF i assume) but wifi ON, will get bill shock? probably will go overboard for awhile soon, dowan happy happy go and back shock mati tongue.gif
hi54ever
post Oct 4 2010, 04:46 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Oct 4 2010, 04:30 PM)
Depends on the video quality..if you watch HD youtube clips then yes alot data (dont ask me which youtube clip is HD) coz i dont know laugh.gif

OFF Cellular DATA and 3G and run on WiFi = Run on WiFi ONLY will not try to connect to Cellular DATA because if its set to OFF, its OFF definitely

Same turning off CELLULAR DATA will prevent DATA ROAMING. and if you turn on WiFi only during roaming say when you're overseas. No BILL SHOCK cause it uses the Internet Connection at the location youre in and not your roaming.

Tried and tested when i was in Amsterdam and Bangkok laugh.gif never got any bill shock for data. Only bill shock was for my calls and SMS laugh.gif lucky company pay!
QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Oct 4 2010, 04:43 PM)
if you guys are running iOS4 and above you can turn off cellular data if you dont have plan then it is OK else it will drain your data like mad...
lol, understood la. jz feel abit troublesome need to manually On/Off cellular data but BILL SHOCK definitely more troublesome smile.gif

btw, if ON 3g and OFF cellular, data still running? logically by jz off cellular should have block every leakage no? hmm.gif
hi54ever
post Nov 23 2010, 02:00 PM

744 posts

similar things had happen to my cousin

whr do u all stay?? is it only certain area being affected? so far, finger crossed, northen side still good :S
hi54ever
post Dec 8 2010, 06:57 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(likkylooq @ Dec 8 2010, 06:40 PM)
the reason why we didnt go to dg coz :

1-coverage issue
2- 2 years contract ..too loooong..
2nd to tat biggrin.gif

being experience digi network before, maybe coz my area, always drop calls and sms late deliver, + my gf house dun hav a single bar of Digi line, might as well sign up those that serve me better with less benefit than that network tat almost useless with better benefit biggrin.gif

entirely up to individual

0.0392sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:25 AM