135 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

zwanvedder
post Nov 27 2009, 11:19 AM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

QUOTE(azim61 @ Nov 27 2009, 07:11 AM)
guys
help me
i already take prepaid broadband daily for hotlink
now i dont know how to setup
it says APN : bbnet
so i change APN to "bbnet"
and tried with safari
it says im not connected to internet
Somethin somethin is ask maxis to enable ur 3g service
not worth waiting
post Nov 28 2009, 01:43 AM

in previous post there is something teach us to turn off the EDGE? but I failed in the Ipcc thing. somebody helps?
scofield
post Nov 28 2009, 03:12 AM

1,252 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 27 2009, 10:58 AM)
@scofield,
If you're on a plan, the data rates are 0.5sen/kb.  Also, the way the Maxis bill comes is that it'll charge you for your total usage but they'll credit it back.  Perhaps U wanna double check with 123 Y you're being charged for data usage since 42MB is within the plan you're signed on.
I think you misunderstand me..what i wanted to say is, if that 500mb data is not in my plan, it will cost me RM200++ for that 42mb usage..dont worry i'm not being charge for that data usage.. smile.gif
iphoneiphone
post Nov 28 2009, 03:27 AM

122 posts

one question.
how much do the IM apps such as ebuddy takes on data usage? with push-notification?

can someone tell me on this. roughly how much does it takes when we use it?
azim61
post Nov 28 2009, 02:03 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 27 2009, 10:58 AM)
@scofield,
If you're on a plan, the data rates are 0.5sen/kb.  Also, the way the Maxis bill comes is that it'll charge you for your total usage but they'll credit it back.  Perhaps U wanna double check with 123 Y you're being charged for data usage since 42MB is within the plan you're signed on.

@azim61,
Check out http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281 for the APN settings; if that fails, go to Maxis and tell them your problem.  They will need to manually enable "something" on their system.  Forummer nokia2003 reported the same issue and apparently Maxis had to do "something something" on their system; once that was done, he managed to get online *smiles*

PS: Don't ask what "something something" is because we really don't know! tongue.gif
QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Nov 27 2009, 11:19 AM)
Somethin somethin is ask maxis to enable ur 3g service
ok
thx both of you
tinkerbel
post Nov 29 2009, 06:27 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@zwanvedder,
Ah.. oKies doKies so "something something" is now to just enable 3G services; now that sure is easier to explain to newbies *smiles*

@azim61,
So.. does it work?

@iphoneiphone,
It shouldn't take up that much; text files are generally not humongous in size!

iphoneiphone
post Nov 29 2009, 11:36 PM

122 posts

@tinkerbel
thanks for the reply. biggrin.gif i thought the same. it shouldn't take much on IM
clautee
post Nov 30 2009, 11:37 AM

48 posts

Actually Maxis shud implement the data usage statistic i.e. like wat P1 wimax providing to save all the hassles.
tinkerbel
post Nov 30 2009, 12:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@clautee,
Perhaps it's in the pipeline *shrugs*

@iphoneiphone,
If you're using your phone just for IM purposes, 500MB is definitely more than suffice smile.gif
iphoneiphone
post Nov 30 2009, 11:04 PM

122 posts

@tinkerbel
yes, it should be more than suffice. but we'll see how much total data i will use for this month. smile.gif
oh anyway, just wanted to share something with you. last month (before i subscribe the data monthly passes), it was 'pay per use', when my bill came, i see the data usage count on bill is PERFECTLY same as my iphone count which is 52KB tongue.gif
so i guess, for a 'non-jailbroken iphone user' like us, it should be match as the iphone's counter and bill.

but for this month, we shall see how it goes.
JakzT
post Nov 30 2009, 11:25 PM

455 posts

Guys iValue 1 Data 500Mb Is Free Right?

hades86
post Nov 30 2009, 11:33 PM

173 posts

hi, can someone make sense from this statement?

taken from Maxis frequently asked questions

No.3 and No.5 answers is a little bit confusing....basically what they say is unlimited packages is capped at 3GB but the speed wont reduce even after we exceeds the capped limit rclxub.gif
so why the use of word capped?

Frequently Asked Questions
unioptom
post Dec 1 2009, 01:02 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(hades86 @ Nov 30 2009, 11:33 PM)

No.3 and No.5 answers is a little bit confusing....basically what they say is unlimited packages is capped at 3GB but the speed wont reduce even after we exceeds the capped limit  rclxub.gif

My two cents - I think what they mean capped as in the amount of data (ie 3GB) which is inclusive in the RM88. Guess if you exceed the limit, you will still be able to surf as normal as long as you pay the extra.

Ken
post Dec 1 2009, 08:26 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(JakzT @ Nov 30 2009, 11:25 PM)
Guys iValue 1 Data 500Mb Is Free Right?
RM100 a month is free ?
dinozilla
post Dec 1 2009, 08:27 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(hades86 @ Nov 30 2009, 11:33 PM)

No.3 and No.5 answers is a little bit confusing....basically what they say is unlimited packages is capped at 3GB but the speed wont reduce even after we exceeds the capped limit  rclxub.gif

originally...u pay 99...u get unlimited...but threshold 3GB, once u exceed, speed reduced....

now...u pay 88...u still can get connect(they wont cut), again threshold 3GB, once u exceed, speed remains...but u now pay for all the extra u used after 3GB
Mackiddo
post Dec 2 2009, 10:11 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Dec 1 2009, 08:27 AM)
now...u pay 88...u still can get connect(they wont cut), again threshold 3GB, once u exceed, speed remains...but u now pay for all the extra u used after 3GB
easier for the telco to make $$$ this way, instead of just reducing the speed rclxms.gif
wolverinc
post Dec 9 2009, 09:59 AM

32 posts

Do anyone in here know what kind of app I could get for Iphone to monitor our data usage?

I am very pissed at Maxis, my first month bill, I was charged an additional RM430+

They said I exceeded my 500MB limit. I told them it was impossible as I was tracking for 2 weeks, and it was WAY below the 250MB (halfway usage).

This guy (Marwan) from the Maxis HD was helpful though, and very patient. I told him its very scary coz I use it quite minimally....some map, some email, no IM, a little surfing and some web news.

I told him the Maxis sales person said, that I can track my usage via iphone's statistics. I told him, I am more than happy to get Maxis to cap my limit at 500 MB, but he says its not possible, which I think was a load of crap.

Any advice?

clautee
post Dec 9 2009, 11:15 AM

48 posts

dun think there is any app available to track the data usage

For ur case, u might use the data before ur data plan is been activated which can cost u a bomb for every single KB usage.

Or, u accidentally exceed ur pro-rated data for the 1st mth.

Term & Condition no 3

Data included in iValue Plans applies to mobile Internet usage only and excludes SMS, and other subscription based services. Data bundle is for local usage only. The maximum charge for local usage is up to RM250. While roaming overseas, the prevailing data roaming charges will apply.

wonder this can help u to reduce the RM430++ to RM250 onot
wolverinc
post Dec 11 2009, 10:48 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(clautee @ Dec 9 2009, 11:15 AM)
dun think there is any app available to track the data usage

For ur case, u might use the data before ur data plan is been activated which can cost u a bomb for every single KB usage.

Or, u accidentally exceed ur pro-rated data for the 1st mth.

Term & Condition no 3

Data included in iValue Plans applies to mobile Internet usage only and excludes SMS, and other subscription based services. Data bundle is for local usage only. The maximum charge for local usage is up to RM250. While roaming overseas, the prevailing data roaming charges will apply.

wonder this can help u to reduce the RM430++ to RM250 onot
After further talking, I told him, at the Iphone launch, their dealer told me that I could track data usage on the phone thru settings. That got me a 50% rebate for wrong info, but I told him, I am concerned about last month, as I only found out about this over limit data usage charges and can only begin controlling it now.

I told him, I'll take this matter to MCMC and write to major newspapers. I personally feel if Maxis can do bandwidth shaping on your broadband, it should be close to also mobile data as well.
tinkerbel
post Dec 11 2009, 11:54 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@wolverinc,
You actually can check your usage via Settings.

135 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:09 AM