135 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

k3v1n
post Nov 23 2009, 10:31 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

Hi, can i know whether when is the best time i should reset the Cellular Network Data so that i can monitor the data usage more accurately every month?
dinozilla
post Nov 23 2009, 10:59 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Nov 23 2009, 10:31 PM)
Hi, can i know whether when is the best time i should reset the Cellular Network Data so that i can monitor the data usage more accurately every month?
check ur bill
reset on statement date...
usually before the first usage of urs on tat day
me i reset when i wake up...or before i sleep if i sleep after 12am
k3v1n
post Nov 23 2009, 11:29 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Nov 23 2009, 10:59 PM)
check ur bill
reset on statement date...
usually before the first usage of urs on tat day
me i reset when i wake up...or before i sleep if i sleep after 12am
Ok Thanks for the info bro...
notworthy.gif
Cyan7
post Nov 23 2009, 11:30 PM

124 posts

@tinkerbel
lols better make full use of it. Not to say kia su but u pay for something, myself fully utilized it right?
But just afraid if overused, thats the problem.
So i'll just go easy on the first month to see how is the usage rate and stuff..

@ken
U mean daily surfing basis? like 2-3 hours of surfing the facebook and emails each day..
max2k
post Nov 23 2009, 11:42 PM

236 posts

just gotten my first bill.. only 351 mb utilized nia... still got plenty to go for 1gb le.. so far no issue on the billing..

how do u guys maximize the data usage r ? dont know what to use anymore.. hehe
Cyan7
post Nov 23 2009, 11:54 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(max2k @ Nov 23 2009, 11:42 PM)
just gotten my first bill.. only 351 mb utilized nia... still got plenty to go for 1gb le..  so far no issue on the billing..

how do u guys maximize the data usage r ? dont know what to use anymore.. hehe
download p**n..
haha j/k. 1st day i dun dare to use.. cuz the ivalue activated after few days or few hours if im not mistaken.. correct me if im wrong.
tinkerbel
post Nov 24 2009, 12:38 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Cyan7,
Yes that is absolutely right, and also beware of the 1st month bill due to Maxis pro-rating your entire plan.

@max2k,
You don't have to FULLY maximise it; don't be kiasu lah - but assuming there's something you aren't doing with ur iPhone because you were afraid of the data charges, U can now just go ahead and do that without worrying about your charges going way overboard; you should act check if the Usage counter correlates with your bill; that way there's still an indication for you to check smile.gif
Cyan7
post Nov 24 2009, 12:43 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 24 2009, 12:38 AM)
@Cyan7,
Yes that is absolutely right, and also beware of the 1st month bill due to Maxis pro-rating your entire plan.

@max2k,
You don't have to FULLY maximise it; don't be kiasu lah - but assuming there's something you aren't doing with ur iPhone because you were afraid of the data charges, U can now just go ahead and do that without worrying about your charges going way overboard; you should act check if the Usage counter correlates with your bill; that way there's still an indication for you to check smile.gif
Yeah absolutely right.
Compare the difference between the data usage in the monthly bills with the usage rate counter and see the gap so that we can estimate roughly eventho it is not accurate tho.

Btw tinkerb, do u mind explaining "Maxis pro-rating your entire plan."?
I don't get that part.

This post has been edited by Cyan7: Nov 24 2009, 12:56 AM
rattan
post Nov 24 2009, 02:27 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

if u get the maxis package, the Rm155 one with 1gb data usage, which currently i applied for, i realize with heavy surfing on the iphone the data doesnt even ready 200mb. and i also realize it is sufficient for normal surfing on pc using the tethering function.

Do much downloading definitely.
dinozilla
post Nov 24 2009, 08:06 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(Cyan7 @ Nov 24 2009, 12:43 AM)
Btw tinkerb, do u mind explaining "Maxis pro-rating your entire plan."?
I don't get that part.
if u r activating the iValue/iData on the collection, and it is away from your usual billing cycle day (your statement date)
usually it will be pro-rated to the next billing cycle.

Say, ur statement date is 1st of the month, and u collected at 15th, means half month...
assume u taken 1GB plan, so it will pro-rated for the recent month in ur bill ---> 500MB

unioptom
post Nov 24 2009, 09:28 PM

45 posts

Hmm.. I'm now undecided between the iData 2 & 3 after hearing your experiences and how little data some of you are using. Anyone here using the iPhone for VOIP calls thru Skype? I'm just wondering what the data usage rate will be like with that and push notification turned on for IM.

max2k
post Nov 24 2009, 10:39 PM

236 posts

with all those push turn on also - my personal humble opinion 1GB also u cannot finish lor..
cause dont forget if you r on the go.. do u really surf that much ? battery will not last.. then u need to carry cable everywhere u go...
Cyan7
post Nov 24 2009, 10:52 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(max2k @ Nov 24 2009, 10:39 PM)
with all those push turn on also - my personal humble opinion 1GB also u cannot finish lor.. 
cause dont forget if you r on the go.. do u really surf that much ? battery will not last.. then u need to carry cable everywhere u go...
Yes, ur opinion might be true. I haven try yet cuz i haven get my phone. Im on free 1gb data also.
and some of my friends also said its more than enuf or too much he can say.
So i hope i don't exceed that amount when i get em =)
Will check it out

iphoneiphone
post Nov 25 2009, 12:08 AM

122 posts

im currently didnt subscribe to any data plan.
im planning to subscribe iDATA plan which is the RM30 / 250MB per month.
so i want to ask, this idata plan need contract right?
but i cannot find how long we need to contract with them?

any of you guys know?
thanks for your kind help.
Cyan7
post Nov 25 2009, 12:40 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(iphoneiphone @ Nov 25 2009, 12:08 AM)

any of you guys know?
If cannot purchase without contract, then u must subscribe the Rm50 or Rm99 one instead.
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/iphone3gs/rateplan2.asp
Same as iValue, either 24 months or 12 months.
Shoki
post Nov 25 2009, 12:41 AM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(iphoneiphone @ Nov 25 2009, 12:08 AM)

any of you guys know?
1-2 years.
loumou
post Nov 25 2009, 12:54 AM

579 posts

anyone try maxis hourly/daily internet pass?is it as fast as normal idata?will they remind you when your hourly/daily time limit or usage limit is up?
iphoneiphone
post Nov 25 2009, 01:29 AM

122 posts

@shoki
thanks!

@loumou
thanks man. wow, thats quite long. i tot i would only take 3-6month.

This post has been edited by iphoneiphone: Nov 25 2009, 01:30 AM
tinkerbel
post Nov 25 2009, 03:26 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Cyan7,
Hmm.. what I mean about pro-rating is that assuming your iValue/iData plan was activated 15th of the month and your bill cycle is 1st of the month, your plan will be based on 15 days and not 30 days hence your usage will be pro-rated based on 15 days *I thought I kinda explained it before; but too lazy to find the thread - hope this answers your question though*

@rattan,
What you're saying is not true; if someone is really doing heavy downloading the usage will definitely exceed 1.5GB; it all depends on what he's downloading. For example, I was out this evening and had to access M2U so instead of using the unsecured network, I Internet Tethered in using my i3GS; I was barely on for 5 minutes but I'd forgotten to switch off my download manager hence the stuff I was downloading kept downloading and by the time I realised and logged off, I oredi downloaded about 100MB of data.

@unioptom,
VOIP calls via Skype isn't available on the 3G network; U will need to connect to wifi to be able to use VOIP; hence it's not gonna take up any additional data tongue.gif If you don't use data much, go with iData 2; U won't regret it because in the long run you'll really be saving *smiles* I certainly am glad I swapped over from Unlimited RM99 p/month to RM50 for 500MB p/month.

@iphoneiphone,
I believe you're talking about iData 1 - there's no contractual period on that particular plan so you can stop it anytime you like smile.gif

@Shoki,
I don't believe your information is accurate; kindly recheck tongue.gif

@loumou,
Since we're on the same system the hourly pass speed is the same as those binded to a contract. The only difference is that those on a contract is probably getting it slightly cheaper (ie: RM50 for 500MB vs RM58); don't know about the reminder though but someone did post to say he got "spammed" by Maxis when he was on the hourly pass; Maxis kept sending some kinda reminder. I didn't bother to check with him and forgot which forummer that is tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Nov 25 2009, 03:27 AM
iphoneiphone
post Nov 25 2009, 09:32 AM

122 posts

@tinkerbel

oh really? no contract needed? i would be happy for that.
i thought idata plan 1 also need contract.
so, may i ask you how to subscribe?

from *100# there's no option for it. meaning i need to go to maxis center and subscribe, am i correct?

-thanks tinkerbel. im happy that all the forumers here are very helpful.

135 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0160sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:07 PM