135 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

wolverinc
post Dec 12 2009, 02:08 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 11 2009, 11:54 PM)
@wolverinc,
You actually can check your usage via Settings.
HI Tinkerbell,

Thats exactly what I did, and I tracked my usage on a spreadsheet. Shocking it went overboard.
nickygin
post Dec 12 2009, 01:55 PM

240 posts

Hi all, just wanted to thank you all in advance for the information on the bill. Planning to get the iPhone 32GB soon and I was already planning the apps to install... if i didnt read this earlier, I would have gone online as soon as I got the plan and I think if I did that and the plan not in forced, I would be paying a lot... 50apps @ 5MB... smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Dec 12 2009, 04:07 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@wolverinc,
Shocking it went overboard; as in the settings usage is not accurate or u used too much?
Ken
post Dec 13 2009, 04:13 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

just got my first full month bill for november, i data plan 1 ....

the iphone setting shows total usage of download and upload 180MB ...

and maxis bill shows 195MB ... i remember i reset the counter 1 day later then the billing date, so for me, my billing date is 10th every month and i reset on 11th, i quite believe on the phone counter already ... hehe
yvonnesoo
post Dec 14 2009, 10:08 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

i got probs wif my iphone data usage. b4 that i didn't kno need to change the cellular network setting and i accidentally use the 3G or Edge. my phone is an unlocked phone from maxis but i didn't sign up any data plan. when i check my unbilled amount, it cost me a bomb.. thn i follow the steps n instruction given in the forum to disable the edge and type in using gribbish words on the apn n etc. after tat my usage in the cellular data didn't increase and remain as the same as where i stop previously.

but then i feel tat maxis slowly charge me $ on my unbilled amount when i check on theh *100#. i oredi stopped everything n i'm sure i can't even access the connection after i disable the edge cz i try to load the weather or stock page it prompt me a msg stating "cellular data is not available". but i dun get it why maxis still charge me the $.. my main n the sub line haven't reach the free limit of the talk time so it won't charges me on tat.. so i suspect is the data charges..

i call maxis n they say i use data as i didn't even use cz the sent n receive data didn't even increase.. i use wifi at home n in the office..it's because i use wifi so they still charge me on tat?? as i kno wifi is free cz it didn't connected 2 maxis data

This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Dec 14 2009, 10:59 AM
hk_loo
post Dec 14 2009, 10:44 AM

1,750 posts

yvonnesoo, bear in mind when you using wifi and if the signal is weak, it will use cellular data ...

yvonnesoo
post Dec 14 2009, 10:58 AM

Wanderluster
2,169 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ Dec 14 2009, 10:44 AM)
yvonnesoo, bear in mind when you using wifi and if the signal is weak, it will use cellular data ...
yea i kno.. as i stated..i oredi disable the cellular data network.. i can't even on9. so how can the cellular data use it when it can't connect??
mingdynasty
post Dec 14 2009, 01:33 PM

656 posts

i dono this is the right place or not but correct me if not.. erm my iphone from australia.. Unlocked.. cant go online with the hotlink simcard? ? why?? i try me mates simcard has no problem.. only my sim card.. is there anyway to fix that ?? heaps thanks guys

Added on December 14, 2009, 1:33 pmi dono this is the right place or not but correct me if not.. erm my iphone from australia.. Unlocked.. cant go online with the hotlink simcard? ? why?? i try me mates simcard has no problem.. only my sim card.. is there anyway to fix that ?? heaps thanks guys

This post has been edited by mingdynasty: Dec 14 2009, 01:33 PM
Kain_Sicilian
post Dec 14 2009, 03:42 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

Hi, I'm a new user to iphone. After reading n searching much on how to toggle on and off edge/3g/gprs, This is what I gather:

1) 3G, can be turned off via iphone settings, but Edge cannot
2) SBsettings may be used to toggle 3G, Edge (via fakeAPN), and wifi on/off
3) Edge may be disabled via editing the APN to a fake nonsense entry (for Maxis, dunno abt Digi n Celcom)
4) Once a fake APN is inserted, 3G will be rendered unusable along with Edge

Please do correct me if I made mistakes/misunderstood the above statements, esp. statement #4, as that is the one I'm least sure about.

Now here's my question. I'm prepared to JB my iphone since there are tons of software I want to install. Is there anyway for me to toggle between a real/fake APN quickly without having to manually type the real/fake APN every time I wanna toggle it on/off. Are there apps that does this? Also, I do not want to install SBsettings coz it runs on the background, and I'm a memory freak.

rasyid
post Dec 16 2009, 06:13 AM

231 posts

i have questions here .. sorry if it dont belongs here .. im about to convert to iphone ..

im using Celcom postpaid with internet RM68 per month .. can i surf using the hsdpa on iphone 3gs ? i cant change to maxis .. thanks ..
tinkerbel
post Dec 16 2009, 09:02 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Ken,
I'm glad but if you'd trusted us earlier U wouldn't have had to worry for an entire month before your bill came tongue.gif

@yvonnesoo,
Wifi isn't/shouldn't be charged. Wait for your Maxis bill to arrive and if it's wrong, put in a report.

@mingdynasty,
Go to a Maxis store and get them to enable 3G on your SIM / phone number.

@rasyid,
Yes U can. Read the pinned threads for more information.
coduosp
post Dec 16 2009, 10:33 AM

443 posts

i think RM68 package will not reach HSDPA speed rite?

sexbomb
post Dec 16 2009, 01:53 PM

93 posts

I was also overcharged before both hotlink prepaid and maxis postpaid.
while it suck up credits like a lightning on my prepaid due to some apps that auto connects me to EDGE or 3G.

Now i have changed my number and i never setup my phone to 3G just because of these nonsense charges.

Just use the internet when there is WIFI. lazy to headache about all these nonsense charges
tinkerbel
post Dec 16 2009, 03:47 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@coduosp,
It really depends on where you're located. HSDPA speed is possible at certain areas.

@sexbomb,
That's another solution but what's the point of having an iPhone when U can't make use of its other uhm.... benefits?
clautee
post Dec 16 2009, 04:38 PM

48 posts

just enable the apn editing will save your wallet

my latest bill arrive with idata usage about 295MB which is just 10MB diff with my iphone statistic
xpresside
post Dec 16 2009, 08:24 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 16 2009, 03:47 PM)
@coduosp,
It really depends on where you're located.  HSDPA speed is possible at certain areas.

@sexbomb,
That's another solution but what's the point of having an iPhone when U can't make use of its other uhm.... benefits?
bcoz we like to have control of what's being transferred in and out?
so the benefits of having iPhone is sucking your credits without notice? rclxms.gif
tinkerbel
post Dec 16 2009, 09:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@xpresside,
Honestly, in the 2+ years I've used an iPhone I haven't had any problems with Maxis over-charging me.
butterflydarling
post Dec 17 2009, 02:55 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 16 2009, 09:40 PM)
@xpresside,
Honestly, in the 2+ years I've used an iPhone I haven't had any problems with Maxis over-charging me.
is it because of settings and stuff? i booked my iphone last week. I am worried about the data usage and maxis overcharging me.
is there anything i need to know of the settings?
tinkerbel
post Dec 17 2009, 07:55 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@butterflydarling,
Just don't start downloading stuff; know how much data U have and keep to that limit.
rasyid
post Dec 17 2009, 08:06 PM

231 posts

thanks tinkerbel . smile.gif

135 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:46 AM