Oh this scares me..
I haven get my phone yet but 1gb free data is more than enough i supposed?
iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!
Nov 11 2009, 12:54 PM
124 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Subang Jaya |
Oh this scares me..
I haven get my phone yet but 1gb free data is more than enough i supposed? |
Nov 11 2009, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(teikwing @ Nov 11 2009, 12:57 PM) Thanks alot teikwing. QUOTE(wz3k @ Nov 11 2009, 01:05 PM) xpresside, True!found some info from this forum: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=764706 from the forum, looks like the cause are push and notification. If you have these two things enabled, then your iPhone will be looking for connection when it needs to fetch data for push or notification service. also from the forum, I find the tool "iPhone Configuration Utility 2.1" is a great tool to track what your phone is doing (console view). So far my phone is not connecting randomly or searching for updates "sesuka hati". I'll do some more tracking using this tool and I'll update if anything changes.. [attachmentid=1298289] Push emails and notifications automatically updates your email which means they connect to 3g. Correct me if i'm wrong. So if it's not useful to you, just simply switch it all to Fetch.. This post has been edited by Cyan7: Nov 11 2009, 01:13 PM |
Nov 11 2009, 04:50 PM
Nov 12 2009, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(angemk @ Nov 12 2009, 12:51 PM) i juz got my iPhone last 2weeks...its on 22nd of OCT..but on 24th OCT, my bill reached RM176.95 deduct the RM40 advance payment, i have to pay RM136.95...i subscribed for the iValue 1...it should be RM60 but it double up. And now the bill reached me and it stated thereĀ I had used up 65GB of network...what the hell?!! 2days can use up 65GB...Whats the matter? I complain to maxis CS and dont know what are they talking about what need 3days to activate my iValue la...But now the bill there stated everything is iValue1..the call and sms they deduct for my but not the network..The usage of my network is RM327.51..WHAT The hell wrong with their calculation? No tethering and sowhatever. Sad.. they did not inform u that the ivalue takes effect only after 3 day on the day u took ur phone??But supposedly, the ivalue should have start take effect right after u got the phone if im not mistaken.. This post has been edited by Cyan7: Nov 12 2009, 05:20 PM |
Nov 13 2009, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 13 2009, 12:04 AM) @`arthas, Thanks, then once i get my phone, ill use it after 2+ hours..I've 500MB p/month and thus far I haven't had problems with over usage. @Cyan7, The iValue plans should take effect about 2hrs after you get your phone; it'll take a while for Maxis to get it activated. @Ken, Wifi usage is not calculated in the Usage counter. |
Nov 13 2009, 12:44 AM
Nov 13 2009, 06:47 PM
QUOTE(lleihuan @ Nov 13 2009, 09:14 AM) b4 digi subscriber,just because of iphone i have to convert maxis.The whole data usage issue is a big heartache. Thought of going back to Digi.Do not mind the penalty of 100+ plus the 300+subsidy paid to maxis. Guys,iphone 3gs on Digi works? Supposedly, as it is an unlocked unit.Correct me if I'm wrong. |
Nov 14 2009, 09:03 PM
Nov 15 2009, 08:44 PM
Nov 16 2009, 09:12 AM
Nov 20 2009, 11:14 PM
Nov 23 2009, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(12321 @ Nov 23 2009, 10:52 AM) oh Sh*t! Ouchh.. my phone showed tat my last month usage was 26mb ++ but yesterday when the bill come,it charged me 700mb++(currently idata 2) how can it be a HUGE gap like this? or anything wrong with the counter at maxis? wat can i do? maxis charger RM 400++ can i make a report or wat? Nah u can't even complain. Listen to what they gonna tell u, end up paying them. But yeah it's weird tho with that super huge different. |
Nov 23 2009, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 23 2009, 06:38 PM) @12321, Lol thats quite little. Then i might have chosen the wrong plan.I don't bother disabling APN since I've a data service plan; though I've done it before during the i3G days [that time, no data plan yet *grins*]. Will share this months' usage when I get it; bill cycle is 7th of the month. I also did track for Jul & August but I didn't write that down. If I'm not mistaken, Jul was like <25MB and August was <50MB I've chosen the iValue 2 which given 1gb free data. I didn't know how to estimate those data before this. Shuld have take iValue 1 instead @12321 So did you ask the SA staff regarding that huge amount of total data u encountered out of sudden? |
Nov 23 2009, 11:30 PM
@tinkerbel
lols better make full use of it. Not to say kia su but u pay for something, myself fully utilized it right? But just afraid if overused, thats the problem. So i'll just go easy on the first month to see how is the usage rate and stuff.. @ken U mean daily surfing basis? like 2-3 hours of surfing the facebook and emails each day.. |
Nov 23 2009, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(max2k @ Nov 23 2009, 11:42 PM) just gotten my first bill.. only 351 mb utilized nia... still got plenty to go for 1gb le.. so far no issue on the billing.. download p**n..how do u guys maximize the data usage r ? dont know what to use anymore.. hehe haha j/k. 1st day i dun dare to use.. cuz the ivalue activated after few days or few hours if im not mistaken.. correct me if im wrong. |
Nov 24 2009, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 24 2009, 12:38 AM) @Cyan7, Yeah absolutely right.Yes that is absolutely right, and also beware of the 1st month bill due to Maxis pro-rating your entire plan. @max2k, You don't have to FULLY maximise it; don't be kiasu lah - but assuming there's something you aren't doing with ur iPhone because you were afraid of the data charges, U can now just go ahead and do that without worrying about your charges going way overboard; you should act check if the Usage counter correlates with your bill; that way there's still an indication for you to check Compare the difference between the data usage in the monthly bills with the usage rate counter and see the gap so that we can estimate roughly eventho it is not accurate tho. Btw tinkerb, do u mind explaining "Maxis pro-rating your entire plan."? I don't get that part. This post has been edited by Cyan7: Nov 24 2009, 12:56 AM |
Nov 24 2009, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(max2k @ Nov 24 2009, 10:39 PM) with all those push turn on also - my personal humble opinion 1GB also u cannot finish lor.. Yes, ur opinion might be true. I haven try yet cuz i haven get my phone. Im on free 1gb data also.cause dont forget if you r on the go.. do u really surf that much ? battery will not last.. then u need to carry cable everywhere u go... and some of my friends also said its more than enuf or too much he can say. So i hope i don't exceed that amount when i get em =) Will check it out |
Nov 25 2009, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(iphoneiphone @ Nov 25 2009, 12:08 AM) im currently didnt subscribe to any data plan. If cannot purchase without contract, then u must subscribe the Rm50 or Rm99 one instead.im planning to subscribe iDATA plan which is the RM30 / 250MB per month. so i want to ask, this idata plan need contract right? but i cannot find how long we need to contract with them? any of you guys know? thanks for your kind help. http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/iphone3gs/rateplan2.asp Same as iValue, either 24 months or 12 months. |
| Change to: | 0.0230sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:07 AM |