The Official Subwoofer Thread v2, Everything you need to know about bass!
ycs
May 25 2009, 10:51 AM
my Harmony also works flawlessly with my velo setup from Logitech's database. If yours not working, most likely the velo's remote function is broken-that's why sold cheaply?
megatron007
May 25 2009, 11:14 AM
maybe the light on 12-R turn-off??
lightning69
May 25 2009, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(ycs @ May 25 2009, 10:51 AM) my Harmony also works flawlessly with my velo setup from Logitech's database. If yours not working, most likely the velo's remote function is broken-that's why sold cheaply? I think that is why i can get for Rm1300. There is a blue light on the left though. Anyway, it still works fine without the remote.
zerorulez
May 25 2009, 11:46 AM
have u ever tried control using velo remote?? go n pinjam
htkaki
May 25 2009, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(jchong @ May 25 2009, 10:39 AM) lightning69 can't use the learning method because his sub did not come with the remote control. Yes, that's the main problem. I dont think you could learn the signal from the sub's IR, right? *Scratching itchy hands* Bolster, oh my bolster.....
zerorulez
May 25 2009, 12:56 PM
this bolster sindrome maybe a 'kurap' things, since all got itchy hands me n those who dare to dream only...
megatron007
May 25 2009, 01:13 PM
same...i m back to dreaming stage
zerorulez
May 25 2009, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 25 2009, 01:13 PM) same...i m back to dreaming stage  i tot u already in the running for the bolster syndrome cure....
lightning69
May 25 2009, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ May 25 2009, 11:51 AM) Yes, that's the main problem. I dont think you could learn the signal from the sub's IR, right? *Scratching itchy hands* Bolster, oh my bolster.....  If anyone can lend me his 12R remote for me to try out, I would really appreciate it.
mys_terious
May 25 2009, 04:48 PM
To all svs fans who r not in a rush to get their svs i MIGHT be able to get a big discount through MO.. i am meeting the guy this Friday to get more info.. so if u r not in a rush u might wanna wait for another week and see the MO can jadi or not
jchong
May 25 2009, 05:05 PM
Sure let us know more info about the MO when u find out. I'm kinda on the fence but if you can get big discount then that would persuade me.  This is locally organised MO or via Singapore?
mys_terious
May 25 2009, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ May 25 2009, 05:05 PM) Sure let us know more info about the MO when u find out. I'm kinda on the fence but if you can get big discount then that would persuade me.  This is locally organised MO or via Singapore? locally organised la... sg one very mafan u come in malaysia kena ketam again.. then gst also 7percent This post has been edited by mys_terious: May 25 2009, 05:08 PM
jchong
May 25 2009, 05:14 PM
Excellent! Looking forward to your update.
megatron007
May 25 2009, 05:24 PM
good news HUGE discount?? fat or thin hope?
mys_terious
May 25 2009, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 25 2009, 05:24 PM) good news HUGE discount?? fat or thin hope?  not sure la bro.. will update u guys straight away after fri..
jchong
May 25 2009, 06:47 PM
The Poor-Man's SubdudeThe talk about the Subdude made me experiment with DIY my own since I discovered I had some material lying around. Really all u need is 2 items: the platform and the feet. For the platform you need something rigid. I remembered I had a piece of 2'x2' 20mm granite slab spare. You can also get MDF board or plywood, etc. But the real key item is the feet. How do I know this - because I first experimented with just putting the granite slab on the floor and the sub on it. Not much effect since nothing to absorb the vibrations (the granite is after all very hard). For the feet I remembered that the packaging foam that came with the FCC 2 was a very firm/dense type. It's not styrofoam (too hard) nor the usual type of foam (too soft & airy). So I placed 2 pieces under the granite. The result: sub is less boomy now, bass is tighter, my plaster ceiling rattles less. In fact I'm able to turn up my sub volume. Previously volume at 35 was the threshold before ceiling rattles. Now can push to 40, so can enjoy louder!  This validates the effect of the real Subdude and also demonstrates that it can be DIY easily (of course I'm not saying my DIY version is as good as the real thing). The key is to find the right foam. Here's the pic of my poor-man's Subdude:
aiman04
May 25 2009, 06:56 PM
Very nice bro! You've got some skills.
jchong
May 25 2009, 06:59 PM
Thanks, but there is no real skill involved. Just have to find the materials, put platform on top of foam and that's it.
If skill comes in, it would be to beautify the thing. Like sewing fabric to cover the foam/platform. That's one reason why I'm happy I found the granite platform - it looks good as is, no need to beautify some more. If I had chosen MDF board, it would be more plain.
This post has been edited by jchong: May 25 2009, 07:03 PM
nakata101
May 25 2009, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ May 25 2009, 06:47 PM) The Poor-Man's SubdudeThe talk about the Subdude made me experiment with DIY my own since I discovered I had some material lying around. Really all u need is 2 items: the platform and the feet. For the platform you need something rigid. I remembered I had a piece of 2'x2' 20mm granite slab spare. You can also get MDF board or plywood, etc. But the real key item is the feet. How do I know this - because I first experimented with just putting the granite slab on the floor and the sub on it. Not much effect since nothing to absorb the vibrations (the granite is after all very hard). For the feet I remembered that the packaging foam that came with the FCC 2 was a very firm/dense type. It's not styrofoam (too hard) nor the usual type of foam (too soft & airy). So I placed 2 pieces under the granite. The result: sub is less boomy now, bass is tighter, my plaster ceiling rattles less. In fact I'm able to turn up my sub volume. Previously volume at 35 was the threshold before ceiling rattles. Now can push to 40, so can enjoy louder!  This validates the effect of the real Subdude and also demonstrates that it can be DIY easily (of course I'm not saying my DIY version is as good as the real thing). The key is to find the right foam. Here's the pic of my poor-man's Subdude:
Hehehe....i think i got the material u list, i should try it when i m free..... thx bro.  Added on May 25, 2009, 7:02 pmQUOTE(mys_terious @ May 25 2009, 04:48 PM) To all svs fans who r not in a rush to get their svs i MIGHT be able to get a big discount through MO.. i am meeting the guy this Friday to get more info.. so if u r not in a rush u might wanna wait for another week and see the MO can jadi or not Bro, really hope that u can make it.... This post has been edited by nakata101: May 25 2009, 07:02 PM
lexonline
May 25 2009, 10:34 PM

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 25 2009, 05:24 PM) good news HUGE discount?? fat or thin hope?  Yea good news.. interesting to see how the price would be. Hopefully is within my budget.