7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v2, Everything you need to know about bass!

mys_terious
post May 21 2009, 12:03 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(attentional @ May 21 2009, 11:02 AM)
12d also consider entry level, how about those rogers sub? garbage level?
entry level among klipsch line up la.. if RW-12D is its hi end models then where do klipsch KW-120-THX, XW-500d, RT-12D stand.. i said entry meaning among commonly talked abt hometheater brands like velodyne, klipsch, svs, hsu.. it is a fact these are the common brands hometheater enthusiast buy and their entry line normally cost usd550 to usd650.. they do cost a bomb to us but its a fact they r entry level.. i dont see many rogers discussions here so i have no idea how much they cost n sound.. if u feel offended and want me to call RW-12D a benchmark model i am more than happy to edit my post specially for u uncle roger

This post has been edited by mys_terious: May 21 2009, 12:21 PM
mys_terious
post May 21 2009, 12:40 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(attentional @ May 21 2009, 12:21 PM)
sorry la my friend, to be honest i'm just jealous so many upgrading to svs, i'm just using pariah low end velodyne 10r nie... so i feel sad and offended inside because my sub is considered worst than entry level and i cannot afford to upgrade to svs. i think throw into klang river also nobody pick up. pardon me pls, i'm a bit emotionally imbalanced now. sad.gif
svs is not any higher level higher than velodyne.. it is just designed to go lower it just cost more here bcoz of the transport n tax.. svs pb10-nsd is only usd429 and velodyne 10r is usd499.. it also have its weakness compared to 10r.. it is a huge plain looking black box..

i am emotional and imbalanced too.. to c that genius went shopping for submarine, helicopters, tanks and jet fighters with our money.. while i save so long to buy a an entry sub
mys_terious
post May 21 2009, 05:45 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 21 2009, 04:53 PM)
By calculation including tax, PB13Ultra is about USD3,430, which is about RM12,213.
wah.. that for 1 unit ah... the shipping cost is how muchy
mys_terious
post May 22 2009, 11:44 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(zerorulez @ May 22 2009, 11:06 AM)
I've read that also..  but sadly.. Velo warranty in MY one year only... that is what i've been told..  hmm.gif
In malaysia the distributors have a guideline for warranty.. 'high price short period'.. many reviews and products get high ratings in overseas partly bcoz of reasonable price n the warranty offered... but it doesnt apply to malaysia market..
mys_terious
post May 23 2009, 08:55 AM

882 posts

Guys i heard there r ppl who sell paypal in lowyat forum with a lower US currency rate, y dont u guys pay SVS with paypal?

This post has been edited by mys_terious: May 23 2009, 08:55 AM
mys_terious
post May 23 2009, 09:28 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 23 2009, 09:01 AM)
the paypal safe bor?? late kena connn... sad.gif
cod ma.. meet in starbucks payhim then he transfer in front of u lo.. just a suggestion nia
mys_terious
post May 23 2009, 11:12 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(Blastomuss @ May 23 2009, 10:35 AM)
SVS accepts CC ma. Just got an email from SVS, telling me they are testing the authenticity (spelling correct?) of my credit card.
using cc doesnt give u a cheaper usd rate..
bro i suggested paypal not bcoz its convinient.. its bcoz i heard got ppl in lowyat who wants to cash out their paypal money.. so they offer a lower rate of usd.. u pay him cash they he transfer money into svs in front of u.. coz they cant cash out their balance of paypal in malaysia.. so when these malaysian sellers sell internationally accepting paypal, they cant cash out. i am also noob in this, this is what my friend told me... any1 can help to clarify?
mys_terious
post May 23 2009, 11:39 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 23 2009, 11:20 AM)
You're correct, there are quite a number of people on LYN who sell paypal below USD market rate. You can do COD or if you think the seller is trustworthy then all can do online. I've traded paypal with several people before (to the tune of over USD1000 altogether) and it's been painless.
kamsiah bro.. now at least i know my friend is tipuing me
mys_terious
post May 23 2009, 04:49 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 21 2009, 04:53 PM)
By calculation including tax, PB13Ultra is about USD3,430, which is about RM12,213.
boss this is door to airport or door to door
mys_terious
post May 25 2009, 04:48 PM

882 posts

To all svs fans who r not in a rush to get their svs i MIGHT be able to get a big discount through MO.. i am meeting the guy this Friday to get more info.. so if u r not in a rush u might wanna wait for another week and see the MO can jadi or not
mys_terious
post May 25 2009, 05:06 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 25 2009, 05:05 PM)
Sure let us know more info about the MO when u find out. I'm kinda on the fence but if you can get big discount then that would persuade me. smile.gif

This is locally organised MO or via Singapore?
locally organised la... sg one very mafan u come in malaysia kena ketam again.. then gst also 7percent

This post has been edited by mys_terious: May 25 2009, 05:08 PM
mys_terious
post May 25 2009, 06:34 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 25 2009, 05:24 PM)
good news

HUGE discount?? fat or thin hope? sad.gif
not sure la bro.. will update u guys straight away after fri..
mys_terious
post May 27 2009, 07:15 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ May 27 2009, 03:59 PM)
Do let us know your finding... hmm.gif  thanks!
Brothers and sisters i have good but not great news yet as there is still there are still a few things to settle. I have called Erik (svs) and up to now he is ok with my arrangement. If jadi, the MO will be done using sea freight. I will be using my friend's left over container space to send the over the subwoofers so we are saving on freight cost.
Below are my rough calculation

Normal price plus tax to your door steps

Pc12Plus price=USD949 USD350 door to door
FULL price =USD949+350=USD1299
TAX 30% X USD 1299 =USD 389
FULL PRICE TO YOUR DOOR =USD1688 OR (X 3.6) =RM6076.8

MO price to your door steps will be = RM5000
Rough Savings =Rm1000

PB12Plus - USD450 door to door
FULL PRICE=USD1139+450=USD1589
TAX 30% X USD 1589 =USD476
FULL PRICE TO YOUR DOOR=USD2065 OR (X3.6)= RM7434

MO price to your door steps will be =RM5800
Rough savings =RM1634

PB12NSD
full price to your door steps=RM3832
MO PRICE TO YOUR DOOR=RM3150
Rough savings =RM 682

Advantages of the MO (if jadi)
1) Hassle free sent to your door step. If you buy door to airport and fail to pick within few days (forgot how many days already) then a daily storage fee will be applied. If your car couldnt fit in then you will have to arrange for transportation from the airport to your house. You will also have to meet the custom officers. In short you waste quite some time and money at the airport.

2) Cheaper

Disadvantages
1) Should have to wait longer since it is sea freight (will find out the details if MO jadi)
2) I might run away with your money (will workout something if MO jadi)

There is a BIG catch as we can only get the savings mentioned above with a 20units of svs. Less orders means less savings.

Anyway there is no point getting too excited or worried as i cant even promise u guys if the MO can be done or not. If i miss out any calculation or calculated wrongly pls feel free to point out to me.

mys_terious
post May 27 2009, 08:44 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ May 27 2009, 07:36 PM)
PB12NSD dooor to dooor RM3150!  I want one!
bro like i said dont get too excited as nothing is concrete yet
mys_terious
post May 27 2009, 10:25 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 27 2009, 09:34 PM)
sea ship need 3 moons ker?? can ship other speakers inside bor?
can ship svs speakers only.. u can have a look at their speakers in their website
mys_terious
post May 28 2009, 10:50 AM

882 posts

[quote=geforce1999,May 28 2009, 09:52 AM]
So this MO price is inclusive of tax if there is any? And it will not be more than this MO price, right?

Added on May 28, 2009, 10:15 am

MO price stated is all inclusive. Price shouldnt be more then MO price mentioned. Lets leave it as it is ok as i shouldnt have even posted anything unless everything is 100percent sure. But this taukeh htkaki la, buy subwoofer like buy bak chang suddenly order 2 biji so i was worried too many of u bought liao then we cant even get enough ppl for the MO (if it can be done) and i also cant fulfill my svs ultra dream.

I hope u all would spare me the bashing if the MO doesnt happen but i am really trying my best as i also wanna get 1 and up to now most of the obstacles have been solved.
mys_terious
post May 28 2009, 05:01 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(emk @ May 28 2009, 03:14 PM)
No intention to be a spoiler, I really hope this project would happen soon.
Just don't forget the freight insurance. My friend sent back his ht system from the states. Somehow water can seep thru the container. Fortunately the water only ruined the boxes. His deftech BP10s were spared.

We just want our system to be in good working condition. Good luck guys.
thanx for the advice.. i will certainly check the insurance price..

Just to let u guys know the higher model u buy the more u save coz we r saving on freight cost and a bit on tax.

pls add 1 pc13utlra to the list for me
mys_terious
post May 29 2009, 09:51 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Jack28HT @ May 29 2009, 12:19 PM)
megatron007, put you on the PC12-NSD, ok?

--------------------------------------------------------
The L.Y.N. SVS Subwoofer MO club (if Jadi)

PC12-Plus
------------
1)
2)
3)

PB12-Plus
------------
1) geforce1999
2) jwyj
3)

PC12-NSD
------------
1)megatron007??
2)

PB12-NSD
------------
1) lightning69
2) lexonline
3)

PC12-NSD
-------------
1)
2)

AS-EQ1
---------
1) Jack28HT
2)

PC13-Ultra
-------------
1) mys_terious
2) Jack28HT (depends on cost)
3)

PB-13 ULTRA
---------------
1)
2)
Jack28HT not to say u cant buy AS-EQ1 but i strongly advise against it if our MO jadi .. coz we r not having our own container anymore.. small boxes are easy to steal.. besides, u wont save too much on freight i think
mys_terious
post May 30 2009, 01:22 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ May 30 2009, 09:32 AM)
If the SVS PC12+ did not eat the SPL1200 for lunch, then the mass order can cancelled already. So you all think carefully what to write here later eh?  nod.gif
yeah i agree if u r not impressed (comparing with local available subs at the similar price) then no point of us going through so much trouble to send our stuff trough the Black Pearl...

anyway i am still waiting to confirm US port charges.. it has been 4 days.. dont know what kuku they r doing.. and today is weekend again.. zzz need to wait another two days...
mys_terious
post May 30 2009, 04:40 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Yk Ng @ May 30 2009, 02:50 PM)
(sorry this was copy from "best subwoofer discussuion topic" to this side)hello frens,anybody using Jl Audio Fathom,Sun Fire,Rel or Velodyne product subwoofer?
Example:JL Fathom F113,Sunfire HRS-12,Rel subwoofer and Velodyne SPL Ultra series.
Pls omit Hsu Research and SVS brand as they don't have local distributor and we cannot even go for the sub demo in Malaysia.
In case the above(Hsu Research and Svs) got problem,what should we do since no local dealers and we have to deal with the direct factory and wait for the spare parts for weeks.(although they were teaching how 2 fix it via internet but not everybody know how to use the internet very well)
I went to many of the forum site,most of them were discussing Jl Audio Fathom,Sun Fire,Rel or Velodyne and being describe as one of the best subwoofer brand company in the world(excluding Wilson Benesch Torus which at different price catagories and quality)
Lately i observe that there is a forum started by a local members comparing SVS sub Velodyne sub.
1st you must let me know do you have the right facilities to test the above(SVS and Velodyne)sub or just by a normal room home theatre set up instead of a right facilities which is a studio set up.
I don't 100% believe it since everybody had different listening level as most of the local don't have the right facilities to test the true quality of the subwoofer and lately this JL Fathom model F113 was being recommended by as a no buy good product(do you know this product was awarded by PerfectVision january 2007 issue as the Subwoofer of the year and not to mention that another award has been awarded by Home Theatre and Sound January 2007 issue as a product subwoofer of the year too)
I think the local buyers should not been brain wash by the local forum user as you must REVIEW EVERY PRODUCT by yourself so that you will satisfy and will not made any mistake when buying it.
So read more review of it over the internet of magazine and most important is go for the demo because everybody got different listening level unless you have a real studio facilities to test and compare it.
Thanks and hope you all won't make the wrong choice.
i agree with u thats y nobody is rushing into it.. we will let htkaki compare with the other subs .. ppl who lives near him can go for a listen too.. if they are not impressed then i wont buy too.. but i will still believe in his results if he doesnt own a studio coz i am not planning to build a studio at home too. Chances r my laubeh theater room will be similar to his.

I admit 100 percent that i am a gambling when i buy a subwoofer i havent even tested. I am trying to get a subwoofer that cost alot less that a Fathom that sounds similar to Fathom 113. Based on foreign forums (not local forums) the chances are good that svs ultra will match the performance.. but still it is a big gamble.. Thats y i have never encourage any 1 to follow my footsteps. I am also warning every1 not to gamble like me. If u have the money to buy F113 then dont waste your time waiting for a MO here as it is better to get F113.. u dont have to wait for delivery, can try out b4 buying, u get a cosmetically much nicer sub and a lot more benefit.

Peace bro YK Ng, appreciate your advice

This post has been edited by mys_terious: May 30 2009, 04:47 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0505sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:46 PM