120 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v2, Everything you need to know about bass!

megatron007
post May 25 2009, 11:12 PM

4,000 posts

WoW nice...

SG MO is about SGD1200 for the entry level bolster ...belom kira transport n pulau kettam fee sad.gif
craven dusk
post May 25 2009, 11:17 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ May 21 2009, 11:06 AM)
Link to v1

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/725192
The L.Y.N. Subwoofer Owners Club (updated 13/5/2009)

B&W

AS6
choontoy

ASW300
tongkito

HSU Research

rizzo8

KLIPSCH

RW-12D
Nakata101

MONITOR AUDIO

BRW-10
ah_chak

MORDAUNT SHORT

Genie 409W
mikapoh

PARADIGM

PS1000
Dddrive
SiriuslyCold

PS1200
fevercrash

Ultracube-12
nadky

DSP-3400
HornyAngMoh

PROFICIENT AUDIO

samlee860407

REL

Strata 5
fourzee

Q50
butter finger

SVS

PB12-NSD
mys_terious

PC 20-39+
callmevill

PC-12+
(Coming very soon)  rclxms.gif
megatron007
blostomous
kianwee
htkaki
mpyw
ARJ
NAKATA101
robinlim (next upgrade in far future......)

VELODYNE

CHT-10R
Sunauto
Aiman04
Arremie
ycs
suitangi
Hackwire
jwyj

CHT-12R
mpyw
splee8868
arj
albertonia
shich80
WCH69
timothyy
Htkaki
Rakyat
Gtafan
Slicardo
Howie
gizmodo

CHT-10Q
robinlim
Kevin
eugenengkarmeng

CHT-12Q
augustinesoh
state of abyssmal
eugenengkarmeng

DD-12
Pierreye

SPL-1000 Ultra
Superamd

SPL-1200R
jwyj cheers.gif
pratt cheers.gif  cheers.gif

Impact-12

Optimum-12

VA 68/79 XII
choontoy

WHARFEDALE

SW150
yfyap69
megatron007
Jediknight8820

HSU STF-3 owner here
zerorulez
post May 26 2009, 06:40 AM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(craven dusk @ May 25 2009, 11:17 PM)
HSU STF-3 owner here
Welcum.. welcum tongue.gif rclxms.gif

how much u bought? any reviews?
aiman04
post May 26 2009, 07:15 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

The L.Y.N. Subwoofer Owners Club (updated 13/5/2009)

B&W

AS6
choontoy
ASW300
tongkito

HSU Research

rizzo8
STF-2
craven dusk

KLIPSCH

RW-12D
Nakata101

MONITOR AUDIO

BRW-10
ah_chak

MORDAUNT-SHORT

Genie 409W
mikapoh

PARADIGM

PS1000
Dddrive
SiriuslyCold
PS1200
fevercrash
Ultracube-12
nadky
DSP-3400
HornyAngMoh

PROFICIENT AUDIO

samlee860407

REL

Strata 5
fourzee
Q50
butter finger

SVS

PB12-NSD
mys_terious
PC 20-39+
callmevill
PC-12+
(Coming very soon) rclxms.gif
megatron007
blostomous
kianwee
htkaki
mpyw
ARJ
NAKATA101
robinlim (next upgrade in far future......)

VELODYNE

CHT-10R
sunauto
aiman04
arremie
ycs
suitangi
Hackwire
jwyj
CHT-12R
mpyw
splee8868
arj
albertonia
shich80
WCH69
timothyy
Htkaki
Rakyat
Gtafan
Slicardo
Howie
gizmodo
lightnin69
CHT-10Q
robinlim
Kevin
eugenengkarmeng
CHT-12Q
augustinesoh
state of abyssmal
eugenengkarmeng
DD-12
Pierreye
SPL-1000 Ultra
Superamd
SPL-1200R
jwyj
pratt
VA 68/79 XII
choontoy
Impact-12
-
Optimum-12
-

WHARFEDALE

SW150
yfyap69
megatron007
Jediknight8820

Barricade, appreciate if you can copy this and paste in the first post. The links to the official websites have been updated.
htkaki
post May 26 2009, 08:40 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 25 2009, 06:47 PM)
The Poor-Man's Subdude

The talk about the Subdude made me experiment with DIY my own since I discovered I had some material lying around. Really all u need is 2 items: the platform and the feet.

For the platform you need something rigid. I remembered I had a piece of 2'x2' 20mm granite slab spare. You can also get MDF board or plywood, etc. But the real key item is the feet. How do I know this - because I first experimented with just putting the granite slab on the floor and the sub on it. Not much effect since nothing to absorb the vibrations (the granite is after all very hard).

For the feet I remembered that the packaging foam that came with the FCC 2 was a very firm/dense type. It's not styrofoam (too hard) nor the usual type of foam (too soft & airy). So I placed 2 pieces under the granite. The result: sub is less boomy now, bass is tighter, my plaster ceiling rattles less. In fact I'm able to turn up my sub volume. Previously volume at 35 was the threshold before ceiling rattles. Now can push to 40, so can enjoy louder! biggrin.gif This validates the effect of the real Subdude and also demonstrates that it can be DIY easily (of course I'm not saying my DIY version is as good as the real thing). The key is to find the right foam.

Here's the pic of my poor-man's Subdude:

[attachmentid=985091]
I am going to meet up with one acoustic foam / industrial grade foam supplier this week. I will take the subdude and show them since I saw that their products are near identical to it. Maybe can produce something similar to Auralex but at 'affordable' price (if there is a market for this). I do hope that I don't make life difficult for other hi-fi shops blush.gif

mpyw
post May 26 2009, 08:44 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 26 2009, 08:40 AM)
I am going to meet up with one acoustic foam / industrial grade foam supplier this week. I will take the subdude and show them since I saw that their products are near identical to it. Maybe can produce something similar to Auralex but at 'affordable' price (if there is a market for this). I do hope that I don't make life difficult for other hi-fi shops  blush.gif
No..no. I want some cheap cheap one (maybe RM30 a piece drool.gif brows.gif ) to put under my center & front tongue.gif
htkaki
post May 26 2009, 08:52 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Probably not easy to get it that cheap if it is audio grade which will not 'disintegrate' (flake) and the foam is quite sturdy to withstand heavy items. Substandard foam would probably out of shape after some time.
jchong
post May 26 2009, 09:00 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 26 2009, 08:40 AM)
I am going to meet up with one acoustic foam / industrial grade foam supplier this week. I will take the subdude and show them since I saw that their products are near identical to it. Maybe can produce something similar to Auralex but at 'affordable' price (if there is a market for this). I do hope that I don't make life difficult for other hi-fi shops  blush.gif
Great!

Anyway, this is called competition mah so consumers benefit.
aiman04
post May 26 2009, 09:48 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Good effort there Htkaki. rclxms.gif

Turns out there is Speakerdude from Auralex, but it's too small for my fronts. Do the local shops have this? Or the Mopads?

Maybe I'll just drop by marble shop and have them custom made the granite into a plinth. My fronts already got spikes on shoes, so the decoupling is already there. But it's too ugly standing on the bare floor.

pierreye
post May 26 2009, 10:19 AM

1,308 posts

What I do is get those cutting board from Jusco (RM 15 per piece) which is quite heavy and solid. Then to raise it from the floor, I use those silicon feet you you get from DIY shop (for chair) and stick below it. Imaging does improve a bit. Previously I had problem where my speaker is not really stable on my carpet due to uneven pattern plus thick rubber underlay.
arremie
post May 26 2009, 10:29 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ May 26 2009, 09:48 AM)
Turns out there is Speakerdude from Auralex, but it's too small for my fronts.
bro ur front need subdude instead tongue.gif
jchong
post May 26 2009, 10:32 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ May 26 2009, 10:19 AM)
What I do is get those cutting board from Jusco (RM 15 per piece) which is quite heavy and solid. Then to raise it from the floor, I use those silicon feet you you get from DIY shop (for chair) and stick below it. Imaging does improve a bit. Previously I had problem where my speaker is not really stable on my carpet due to uneven pattern plus thick rubber underlay.
You mean those wooden vegetable cutting board? Good idea.

Do you find those silicon feet provide enough isolation, compared to a big piece of foam underneath? I'm thinking what to experiment with next.
pierreye
post May 26 2009, 11:24 AM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 26 2009, 10:32 AM)
You mean those wooden vegetable cutting board? Good idea.

Do you find those silicon feet provide enough isolation, compared to a big piece of foam underneath? I'm thinking what to experiment with next.
Yup. Vege cutting board. If you use foam, you should cut out 2 strips and stick to each side. You want maximum isolation from the floor so the less contact you have the better. Not sure which one is better as I just use whatever material available to test out the effect.
jwyj
post May 26 2009, 05:29 PM

H
1,006 posts

Can I show you mine?

I use the soft ball toys. Under the Sub & players.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
SUSHornyAngMoh
post May 26 2009, 05:36 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ May 26 2009, 05:29 PM)
Can I show you mine?

Wow! So far the best DIY idea here! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Now I think I better go & buy some ball for my Para sub. I have try form before, didn't work as it is too heavy, now it is sitting on 4 thick book. blush.gif
Do post up so more DIY project. Saving some $$$$ is always my aim. Tq very much & have a very nice day to all sifu here.
jwyj
post May 26 2009, 05:58 PM

H
1,006 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ May 26 2009, 05:36 PM)
Wow! So far the best DIY idea here!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  Now I think I better go & buy some ball for my Para sub. I have try form before, didn't work as it is too heavy, now it is sitting on 4 thick book. blush.gif
Do post up so more DIY project. Saving some $$$$ is always my aim. Tq very much & have a very nice day to all sifu here.
HAM,
Can I get to know you? I'm coming back to kuching on thr for a week. Maybe we can go and visit the Satok HiFi shop together? His velo 15Q has arrived. brows.gif PM me your contact?
htkaki
post May 26 2009, 07:33 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

jwjy, it would be no match for your SPL lah. Everytime audition SPL-1200R, I felt my CHT-12R is underpowered sad.gif Must hide mine sweat.gif
jchong
post May 26 2009, 08:08 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(jwyj @ May 26 2009, 05:29 PM)
Can I show you mine?

Ingenious idea. rclxms.gif That's what makes us a community of enthusiasts.
car_o_scope
post May 26 2009, 08:29 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

Other than toy balls, we can also use squash balls..
jwyj
post May 26 2009, 09:27 PM

H
1,006 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 26 2009, 07:33 PM)
jwjy, it would be no match for your SPL lah. Everytime audition SPL-1200R, I felt my CHT-12R is underpowered sad.gif Must hide mine  sweat.gif
CHT-15R also no match for SPL-12? Hear first, hear first.... nod.gif Eh, when your SVS arriving. In my next visit to KL, please spare some time and bring me to your showroom or your house. rclxms.gif

120 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:48 AM