Renovations Kitchen Cabinet

steve426
post Oct 1 2011, 03:12 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(Hannibal @ Sep 30 2011, 02:08 PM)
Went to eleganz concept today and was told it was closed for 3 days....  then tried everskill design but couldn't find the shop even when I was already on the correct road..... damm, wasted so much time just for the jam!
the shop is in front of the giant there , u can reach the shop with Google map:

Copy and paste this HTML to embed in your website:

http://maps.google.com.my/maps?q=everskill...=m&z=14&vpsrc=6

lowlowc
post Oct 2 2011, 01:15 AM

918 posts

In the end, is the custom made kitchen cabinet or modular type like Signature Kitchen and Ikea has better quality?

3olyn
post Oct 2 2011, 11:52 PM

95 posts

Please quote me on below designs, interested of them, thx a lot..

kindly reply or pm me...

design 1:

design 2:
aXin
post Oct 3 2011, 04:09 PM

69 posts

Hi all, I have been reading this topic for quite a while. However this is my first post here. Really have to ask your kind advice:

I will be getting keys for my 1st home (condo) soon. I plan to do some reno especially in the kitchen. The previous owner left a 'L' shape concrete table with the flat height of 40". It is not convenient to do the cooking at this height. Not quite sure what is the best solution for solving this.

So far I have only ask for quotation from a kitchen designer, he advised to dismantle the existing concrete top, remain the legs and rebuild a new concrete top. The kitchen designer quoted me rm6k (including cost of material) to rebuild the concrete table with new tiles installed.

While I am also thinking of dismantle the entire concrete table, and rebuild everything with either a solid surface or granite top.
For this solution, do I need to install new tiles on the walls from buttom up till ceiling? Or just install at the middle part (between table top and cabinet)? Trying to save cost... Pls advice, newbie here. icon_question.gif

May I know all your feedback please? Which will be a better way?
Thanks with much appreciate.

Added on October 3, 2011, 7:28 pmHi Erny,

I kind of like the concept of this kitchen, including the small glass mosaic.
Do you know where can I get those? And is it manually arrange by the sifu to make up the effect? Please advice me, tq.

Eric will be giving me the quotation of the kitchen cabinets, hopefully u can give me discount on that. Thanks!

This post has been edited by aXin: Oct 3 2011, 07:28 PM
riwanzi
post Oct 3 2011, 07:55 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(aXin @ Oct 3 2011, 04:09 PM)
Hi all, I have been reading this topic for quite a while. However this is my first post here. Really have to ask your kind advice:

I will be getting keys for my 1st home (condo) soon. I plan to do some reno especially in the kitchen. The previous owner left a 'L' shape concrete table with the flat height of 40". It is not convenient to do the cooking at this height. Not quite sure what is the best solution for solving this.

So far I have only ask for quotation from a kitchen designer, he advised to dismantle the existing concrete top, remain the legs and rebuild a new concrete top. The kitchen designer quoted me rm6k (including cost of material) to rebuild the concrete table with new tiles installed.

While I am also thinking of dismantle the entire concrete table, and rebuild everything with either a solid surface or granite top.
For this solution, do I need to install new tiles on the walls from buttom up till ceiling? Or just install at the middle part (between table top and cabinet)? Trying to save cost... Pls advice, newbie here.  icon_question.gif

Do you know where can I get those? And is it manually arrange by the sifu to make up the effect? Please advice me, tq.

Eric will be giving me the quotation of the kitchen cabinets, hopefully u can give me discount on that. Thanks!

Hi. How about you just add the slab height and you can step on it. Make sure the slab height until top concrete top around 33@34 inch. I think it can reduce the cost. Just my opinion only.smile.gif
aXin
post Oct 3 2011, 09:01 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(riwanzi @ Oct 3 2011, 07:55 PM)
Hi. How about you just add the slab height and you can step on it. Make sure the slab height until top concrete top around 33@34 inch.  I think it can reduce the cost. Just my opinion only.smile.gif
Hi Riwanzi, I also thought of this way...
However the concrete base is 2.5" away from the current floor height, if top up 6~7" on floor height, it is pretty awful ... T_T
Any other best solution guys?
wrb7878
post Oct 3 2011, 09:08 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(aXin @ Oct 3 2011, 09:01 PM)
Hi Riwanzi, I also thought of this way...
However the concrete base is 2.5" away from the current floor height, if top up 6~7" on floor height, it is pretty awful ... T_T
Any other best solution guys?
What is the length of ur concrete top? rm6K is very expensive. normally they will charge u a small amount to hack the existing concrete top if you give him the new concrete top.
So the labour for new concrete top is around RM90-100per foot run without tiles, you can buy your own tiles.

Those glass mosaic you can buy from tiles shop, maybe around rm15-20/pcs(1'x1')...it wont cost u a lot...cos u just need to lay between top and bottom of kitchen cabinet only.

I bought mine for dry kitchen 7 feet long x 2 feet height, so i need 14pcs x RM16(mine is square type not long size) = 200++ and labour also around 140. which total cost me less than RM350.

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Oct 3 2011, 09:11 PM

aXin
post Oct 3 2011, 09:34 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Oct 3 2011, 09:08 PM)
What is the length of ur concrete top? rm6K is very expensive. normally they will charge u a small amount to hack the existing concrete top if you give him the new concrete top.
So the labour for new concrete top is around RM90-100per foot run without tiles, you can buy your own tiles.

Those glass mosaic you can buy from tiles shop, maybe around rm15-20/pcs(1'x1')...it wont cost u a lot...cos u just need to lay between top and bottom of kitchen cabinet only.

I bought mine for dry kitchen 7 feet long x 2 feet height, so i need 14pcs x RM16(mine is square type not long size) = 200++ and labour also around 140. which total cost me less than RM350.
Hi Wrb7878,

I have 2 parts in the kitchen,
A: L Shape total 23 feet
B: only 4 feet

The mosaic is really nice, but too expensive for me right now, i guess. smile.gif
wrb7878
post Oct 3 2011, 09:41 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(aXin @ Oct 3 2011, 09:34 PM)
Hi Wrb7878,

I have 2 parts in the kitchen,
A: L Shape total 23 feet
B: only 4 feet

The mosaic is really nice, but too expensive for me right now, i guess. smile.gif
Try few more contractor, maybe you able to get it cheaper.
aXin
post Oct 3 2011, 09:52 PM

69 posts

Hi, anyone can help to explain what are the differences between wood grained and melamine board?
What are the pro and cons, also what are the cost like for both?

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Oct 3 2011, 09:41 PM)
Try few more contractor, maybe you able to get it cheaper.
Yeah, checking the quotation right now.
Have to compare then only know which one is the best.

The mosaic is really nice... You are making me mount dripping... XD

This post has been edited by aXin: Oct 3 2011, 09:54 PM
Erny_Looi
post Oct 3 2011, 09:56 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(aXin @ Oct 3 2011, 04:09 PM)

I will be getting keys for my 1st home (condo) soon. I plan , and rebuild everything with either a solid surface or granite top.
For this solution, do I need to install new tiles on the walls from buttom up till ceiling? Or just install at the middle part (between table top and cabinet)? Trying to save cost... Pls advice, newbie here.  icon_question.gif

The mosaic's tone actually from black to white, we just paste another piece up side down below it so that it look like from black to white then black. Hehe!

If the concrete table too old then better dismantle it and make a new one. Many of my customers want to save the money and keep the old floor tiles, after we install the cabinet and they will regret and said they should change it coz now the kitchen look nice with the cabinet but look weird because of the old floor tiles.. Haha!

Added on October 3, 2011, 10:02 pm
QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Oct 3 2011, 09:08 PM)

Ya, right! Mosaic price normally from rm15-20 only. Unless u choose those crystal type, it look like sweet and it is smaller than 1 inch x 1 inch.

By the way, Wrb7878, your photo look so familiar, is that your cabinet? Hehe, from Unity also?

This post has been edited by Erny_Looi: Oct 3 2011, 10:02 PM
wrb7878
post Oct 3 2011, 10:09 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(Erny_Looi @ Oct 3 2011, 09:56 PM)
Ya, right! Mosaic price normally from rm15-20 only. Unless u choose those crystal type, it look like sweet and it is smaller than 1 inch x 1 inch.

By the way, Wrb7878, your photo look so familiar, is that your cabinet? Hehe, from Unity also?
from your album lo....haha...but my mosaic will like your showroom 1...have gold mark.
I have quotation from you since last year OCT, and then get my condo key on MAY and your designer come on July.
until now my house still not complete renovation yet. but next round after the floor tiles is done, patrick will come.

Added on October 3, 2011, 10:14 pmEnry, need to ask you the mosaic location.

i ask the contractor to lay from top position at 60" downward 2 feet height.
cos i assume the GAP between top and bottom cabinet is around 2 feet?

then will it have the problem for bottom cabinet, if my mosaic lay until 36" from floor. as i assume the soild surface will install at 34" then another 2" cover by backslash? i believe u able to make the backslash more than 2" incase cannot cover until the mosaic?

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Oct 3 2011, 10:16 PM
aXin
post Oct 3 2011, 10:55 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Erny_Looi @ Oct 3 2011, 09:56 PM)
The mosaic's tone actually from black to white, we just paste another piece up side down below it so that it look like from black to white then black. Hehe!

If the concrete table too old then better dismantle it and make a new one. Many of my customers want to save the money and keep the old floor tiles, after we install the cabinet and they will regret and said they should change it coz now the kitchen look nice with the cabinet but look weird because of the old floor tiles.. Haha!

Added on October 3, 2011, 10:02 pm

Erny, thanks for the reply.
You have any idea i can get those nice mosaic as per photo? biggrin.gif
Waiting for Eric to quote me for the others... biggrin.gif

Also, do u mind to explain the differences between wood grained and melamine board?
What are the pro and cons, also what are the cost like for both? TQ
Jo_da48
post Oct 4 2011, 11:05 PM

1,529 posts

any recommmendation what type of KC surface colour will suitable for this? (Have kids in house hence like to avoid 3G type which easily scratch)

aXin
post Oct 5 2011, 02:58 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Oct 4 2011, 11:05 PM)
any recommmendation what type of KC surface colour will suitable for this? (Have kids in house hence like to avoid 3G type which easily scratch)

Sorry my English is not that good, just to share my thoughts:

- 3G not easily scratch as they are finish with glass surface, unlike the glossy paint (piano kind).
It may only cause scratches by something sharp like knife.
- 3G is a little thicker than the usual wooden material (cause of the glass).
- Normally they don't come with handles, only aluminum around the edge to open. (refer photos in this topic). More secure for kids. (some kids just love to play with handles)
- Easy to clean n maintain the surface.
- Colorful personalize options, U may play around with the colors (max 3 tones) and you will have your own taste kind of kitchen.
- With the glossy effect, it makes the vision brighter and spacious.

Of cAuse the cost will be slighty higher if compare to others.

Other materials surface r mainly make of wood, it is even easier to get dirt (kids drawing especially).

Just some personal thoughts. Hope u don't mind.

Added on October 5, 2011, 3:16 amI like the mosaic on the wall. Seems that you have ald prepared the area for cook n hood. :-)

Do you like Mediterranean sea style? May try blue, white and frosted glass. Will brighten and spacious up your kitchen. Very cossy and holiday style. Can be kinda warm and cold too, depends on your deco. :-) may add small deco like sea shells and etc too. Hahaha....

This post has been edited by aXin: Oct 5 2011, 03:16 AM
edu
post Oct 5 2011, 11:44 AM

287 posts

just wondering, can we change/paint/spray the color of 3G door, let say after certain year if wanna switch to other color? or we have to change the whole door?

This post has been edited by edu: Oct 5 2011, 03:23 PM
ra2zy
post Oct 5 2011, 03:41 PM

41 posts

hi erny,

can PM me your office num or ur num? i'm looking for quotation for my kitchen & wardrobe..
Eleganz Concept
post Oct 5 2011, 05:13 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(edu @ Oct 5 2011, 11:44 AM)
just wondering, can we change/paint/spray the color of 3G door, let say after certain year if wanna switch to other color? or we have to change the whole door?
You may still can just change the glass surface only, using back other part (if is not spoil). But take note that when removing glass, may make the aluminium frame spoil, if that happen, will need to change new aluminium frame.
phoenix69
post Oct 5 2011, 06:15 PM

1,836 posts

Hail to all Kitchen Cabinet Sifus notworthy.gif

I am in the midst of renovating my house how, and are now concentrating on the Kitchen area.
Due to budget constraints, sad.gif decided to do Concrete Table with tiles first.
Later 6 months later, when saving permit will add on the cabinets. blush.gif

It is a small kitchen.
This is what I plan to do.
1. "L" shaped
2. Planning to put in Refregirator at the top of the "L"
3. The kitchen hob at the lower portion of the vertical "L"
4. The sink at the horizontal "L" (facing window)

My Kitchen area is approx 14.5' X 7'

Appreciate on advise on the following points. icon_question.gif

1.What is the width clearance I should allow for the Refrigerator area before the concrete table starts (personal estimate 3')?

2. As I need working table area at least 4-5 feet (between the fridge and the hob), plan to put future oven below the table. Like that can ah? blink.gif

3.What are the standard tabletop height?

4. In future wants to build in cabinet what points I should keep in mind when building the table top?

5.Since cabinet only comes 6 months (or later) afterwards I have to put tile on the wall. Cabinet makers can install over tiles ah?

I would welcome any other configuration suggestions based on my small kitchen. notworthy.gif

lowlowc
post Oct 5 2011, 09:24 PM

918 posts

Is white color the best option for solid surface? I want to get grey color solid surface but don't know whether it's hard to maintain. Scratches easily visible?

147 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:24 AM