Is installing the stove and hoods at the kitchen island much more expensive than installing at the cabinet attached to wall?
Renovations Kitchen Cabinet
Jul 30 2011, 11:03 PM
918 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Is installing the stove and hoods at the kitchen island much more expensive than installing at the cabinet attached to wall?
Jul 31 2011, 10:43 PM
I'm looking for kitchen cabinet and I roughly draw the style I wanted. The sink cabinet is about 4ft and the long base cabinet is around 11ft with an island. Not sure how big I wanted for island but the standard 3X 6ft is too big but 2x4ft seemed a little small. Think I can custom make it into 2.5X5 ft? The height from floor to ceiling is about 286cm but there's an ugly beam there.
What price should be reasonable for something like this? ![]() Top : Granite Cabinet : Acrylic or Melamine ABS depends on whether the price will be far different between these 2. Color: Black top with high gloss light grey cabinet OR Grey top with high gloss white cabinets. Usually will the price include the mosaic for the walls? This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jul 31 2011, 10:45 PM |
Jul 31 2011, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 31 2011, 10:50 PM) hi there, Thanks for your comment. I left 30 inches gap between the island and cabinet. Each door is around 18 inches wide so I thought that would be enough. Did I calculate wrong? From your 3d drawings, I would recommend you to remove the Island... reason being, the space in between your cabinet and island is congested.. And might cause your kitchen cabinet door unable to open or stuck halfway... I need an island because for more space to put things when cooking and baking. A contractor suggested I push the island to the walls like a bar but then, I would not know where to put my fridge liao. Any suggestion? This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jul 31 2011, 11:37 PM |
Aug 1 2011, 10:29 PM
Thanks all, I try experiment squating down in space of 30 inch gap and it's cramp. I would have to remove island then. Based on the base and wall cabinet, how much should I expect the price is?
Aug 7 2011, 01:44 AM
Has anyone tried AB Kitchen before? They're doing a lot of acrylic and granite top which are just the material I'm looking for. Went to their showroom at Kota Damansara just now, but I was too late and they're close. Appreciate any comments on their services and workmanship. Thanks.
Also went to Ikea and wow.. I love their design but too bad they're mostly laminate top. This post has been edited by lowlowc: Aug 7 2011, 01:50 AM |
Aug 9 2011, 10:27 AM
A forumer posted this question before but no answer given. My kc installer ask for 10% to book them (before coming to measure). After measurement they want me to give 50%. Is this a standard payment term in this line? For ppl already install kc, did you hold on some payment until you're sure therr's no defect after 2 weeks?
Need answer asap because I need to pay booking tml. If 10% I would be paying 900. That day I asked whether I can get the quotation once pay 10%, they said no need cause it's just an estimation. Final quotation only give after measurement. Is this safe? Sorry, no offence to honest contractor/kc installer out there. It's just that I had bad experience before. |
Aug 9 2011, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(Erny_Looi @ Aug 9 2011, 10:52 AM) If you like their service or you trust them, then just go ahead. If you have friends deal with them before, then even better. Just make sure they don't increase the price later you paid the deposit. Or you also can look for those company which provide free 3D drawing and free quotation. Cheers! That's the problem. I can't find a single comment when googling for this kc though I would say first impression from them are good. First impression la. The quote is around my budget. Btw, I had pm you for quotation too. QUOTE(sue.chan @ Aug 9 2011, 11:06 AM) ppl who have had bad experience will definitely tread more carefully. no one needs to feel stressed or offended at all. after all, forums are created to share knowledge and experience. I think I can guess which kc is that. Only C or A gives free granite but A hardly seen in fair. The one i'm negotiating now is A. Is there a kc that provides free measuring before placing any booking? Last time at fair, another request I pay 500 first too.for lowlowc, I wouldn't consider your KC at all. There are many KC makers out there who's willing to take measurement and give u a quotation without obligation. I was at the M'sian Furniture and Furnishing Exhibition at KLCC over the weekend and came across one KC who requires 50% upon confirmation and the other 50% BEFORE installation. He kept telling me his price is very low as he's giving FREE granite top !! Then I asked if I have paid the full amt even b4 installation, what will happen if something is not right during/after installation ? His face immediately turned sour, never replied me and I just said thank you and walked off. He was so friendly initially and this is what I meant in my earlier post. funny how some ppl are...maybe i looked like a dumbo who'll agree to terms like that without questions. hahaha.... |
Aug 9 2011, 06:19 PM
Sue.chan, Serofax, i'll continue to scout for other kc with free measuring. kiv my current kc and tell them I want measuring, 3d drawing and quotation before paying. My colleague actually laughed at me, saying she only pay rm50 booking and everthing after job done.
Aug 10 2011, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(cwhong @ Aug 9 2011, 11:16 PM) WOW a lot of queries!! ok one by one. most of the standard approach for walk-in customers to showroom they will ask u to provide a floor plan and they will estimate the costs of the cabinet, once u're satisfy with the material thinggy then they will ask u to have booking fees to enable them to go over ur house to take the measurements once measurement confirmed then then the quote is OK then deal have to place 40-50% from the total amount to lock in and the works shud proceed to the factory > order the materials > waiting for the installations > all DONE > balance payments. that's the lower and medium end KC manufacturer practices. Higher end confirmed before measurement already 30-40% once measurement done the 3D drawing was completed then before installation already call for 2nd payment 30-40% again > everything done > final payment. AS I SAID IN PREVIOUS COMMENT RM 50 deposit until DONE only pay balance is UNBELIEVABLE !!! My colleague got her deal in balakong area, I donno how she got her deal but they proceed the work very very fast! 9 am already waiting at her house on the installaton day and finished within that day. But her project is smaller and simpler.For my case, I'm concerned because i'll be paying 10% without getting a single thing that can safeguard myself. I read a post in anither topic here, a forummer kena after paying more than 1 k booking fees, kc raised their price significantly. I think i'll stick to no paying before getting measurement, final quotation and 3d. At most i'll pay rm50 considering they travel to my house to measure. 50% before getting a single piece of wood install in my house, do they really need that much? I know placing rm50 from start till end is not good lah, but say if I gave rm500 when confirming? |
Aug 14 2011, 01:52 AM
Need a little clarification here. The KC we went before, told me high gloss and acrylic are different stuff. I was shown 2 units of kitchen cabinet which showed the difference between these two; acrylic has smoother 'glow/reflection' while hi gloss's 'glow' is a little blur/shadowy.
But the second KC I went yesterday, showed me an acrylic kitchen cabinet display but it looked to me like hi gloss. On asking, he said acrylic and hi gloss are the same. Can anyone clarify on this? This post has been edited by lowlowc: Aug 14 2011, 08:23 AM |
Aug 18 2011, 10:17 PM
B
QUOTE(cwhong @ Aug 15 2011, 12:02 AM) seems like nobody answer your questions, maybe i can help .... Thanks for clarifying. No wonder the reflection is so different from the acrylic I saw in another kc, bcos they're hi gloss not acrylic! Sien.. Still waiting for quotation from 2 kc.High-gloss: is using MDF board as the base material and after spray painted it will give u a glossy finishing. but MDF board is very sensitive to water which is also its main disadvantage beside this it will be very hard to maintain in the longer run coz will scratch very easily and very troublesome to touch up once scratch. Arcylic: is another type of material which made from plastics materials but higher grade type (dunno the scientificaly name) which can use many types of base materials to produce like aluminum frame, plywood, melamine board aka chipboard, and even mdf but this is rare due to the above issues So conclusion Arcylic and High-gloss is not the same product !!!! Anyone can guess Solid wood and solid board is the same??? anyone wanna try to answer this? Ikea selling their solid top (germany) at rm290 per ft run. This is about the same with lg brand, right? |
Aug 19 2011, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 19 2011, 01:54 AM) I'm still waiting for another 2 kc I approached to quote me so haven't decide. One of them promise to email me by this week, but today is friday already. I'm looking for solid top and acrylic cabinet doors, but if their melamine colors are good might consider melamine abs.I went to ikea to quote too because I remember seeing posts saying they had used ikea cabinet, so far no problem and service is ok. Maybe in lowyat or other forum. Unfortunately, their quote is over my budget. Has anyone seen the pipe below sink that ikea has? Sorry didn't take a pic but instead of normal pvc pipe, they have flexible hose pipe, something like our washing machine draining pipe but bigger diameter. Better? |
Aug 19 2011, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 19 2011, 09:52 AM) hi lowlowc, i went to quote ikea cabinets also. The strange part, their show units looks larger and reasonably price, somemore include accesories and their soft close. Donno why when quote it's so different.my wallet not enough money for their cabinets la. so expensive!!! |
Aug 21 2011, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(itanium2 @ Aug 20 2011, 11:55 AM) Only know - went to Dformat twice. First time, they want to close early on that day. Second time got discuss with them and they couldn't quote me on the spot. Agreed to email me the quotation, but already 8 days passed. |
Aug 23 2011, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 21 2011, 10:46 PM) lowlowc, i went to dformat showroom before oso. My friend did his cabinet and one breakfast top with dformat, he said installation was smooth and so far everything OK so i paid them a visit. Adele, remember to share your KC photo once install wor.. ya..same thing lor, nobody to quote me, but there was an indian gal took down my details and measurement, and i think about 6-7 days later i receive a quotation via e-mail. The person also called me to inform me sent the quotation. But the quotation was way pricey Anyway, I signed up kitchen cabinets with them dy..just only at perfect living. I'm crossing my fingers! Hope everything turns up perfectly and smoothly just like my friend. But he didn't sign up during fair.. so.. |
Aug 29 2011, 11:55 AM
I have this question, if go for solid top and granite is it important to ask about the thickness they're providing, or it's standard? I notice some online kc pics, some has 2 layers of granite, one on top of another.
Aug 29 2011, 02:56 PM
Sep 2 2011, 03:12 PM
Can all types of hood be hidden inside kitchen cabinet?
Sep 2 2011, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(benedict1213 @ Sep 2 2011, 04:12 PM) All hood can be hidden or fixed on cabinet system but make sure that the what type of ventilation system of that hood.. the air flow discharge from the hood.. Take note that it's important to take note of the flow of discharge because without a proper system for the ventilation, it could lead the hood spoilt easily even-though its was the best and most powerful hood. hope this help I'm nto going for non-ducting air recirculation type. Can hide without compromising the performance? |
Sep 12 2011, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(Jack Hee @ Sep 8 2011, 12:10 PM) Gd afternoon lowlowc, im jack hee, manager of D Format Cabinet Shop. So sorry 4 the delay on the quotation, shall i know which sales executive u was dealing with that day? Let me check what's the problem, and would email u the quotation asap.Thanks. Sorry, been absent for some time from this thread.I went to Kota Damansara branch and a guy attended to us. It's been a long time, so I basically threw away his name card already |
| Change to: | 0.0232sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:01 PM |