Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D5000 V5, Best entry level DSLR from Nikon

illegaldragon87
post Jun 22 2009, 08:48 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(heLLtuRt @ Jun 22 2009, 07:21 AM)
I've done some googling and found out that d60 has 3-focus point and d5000 has 11-focus point..
what actually this 'focus point' do, is it important?
and i currently decided to buy d5000 but my friend said that dslr that come with a video recording features will affect the picture quality...is it true?
focus point is to determine the subject tat u focus... since D60 got 3 focus point, means u can focus ur subject left, middle n right... for 11 focus points means thr r 11 points tat u can choose for ur cam to focus...

for the video thingy, i m not too sure coz i din own a video recording DSLR be4.. smile.gif
aaron1kee
post Jun 22 2009, 09:55 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jun 22 2009, 02:14 AM)
yeah...im torn between these two.. canon 40D is really the choice for outdoor shots/sports etc because of :
1. high fps
2. under just over rm3k for kit set
3. tough magnesium body a weather proof suitable for outdoors and sports

d90
1. better features and ease of use
2. performance at high ISO
3. much better lcd screen & video recording
u got the d90 kit or body only? how much?
Go for 40D. You can forget about D90 video recoding. A not so important feature afterall.
edministrator
post Jun 22 2009, 10:07 AM

1,940 posts

long time no visit this thread. something i snapped earlier this year with my D40 combo'ed with 18-200VR .

This post has been edited by edministrator: Jun 22 2009, 10:07 AM
project-o
post Jun 22 2009, 10:09 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Nice shot... how long was the exposure time ?
QUOTE(edministrator @ Jun 22 2009, 10:07 AM)
long time no visit this thread. something i snapped earlier this year with my D40 combo'ed with 18-200VR .

edministrator
post Jun 22 2009, 10:13 AM

1,940 posts

around 8-10secs, need to check my exif. using nikon wireless trigger. here's another one:

those that commented that 18-200VR is not sharp, well.... it is sharp enough for me.
project-o
post Jun 22 2009, 10:16 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

That's another interesting shot.

To say 18-200 is not sharp is an overstatement. It should be that it is sharp at certain focal lengths and not as sharp in others.
edministrator
post Jun 22 2009, 10:24 AM

1,940 posts

i would say it is sharp across all focal lengths (at least for my copy) but not as sharp as prime lenses. but we can't have it all, right?

i think rather than depending on lens sharpness alone, more importantly is the steady handheld (assisted by VR, hehe) and the composure of the photos.

This post has been edited by edministrator: Jun 22 2009, 10:26 AM
heLL[tuRt]
post Jun 22 2009, 10:26 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Jun 22 2009, 07:48 AM)
focus point is to determine the subject tat u focus... since D60 got 3 focus point, means u can focus ur subject left, middle n right... for 11 focus points means thr r 11 points tat u can choose for ur cam to focus...

for the video thingy, i m not too sure coz i din own a video recording DSLR be4..  smile.gif
so that mean the more focus point the better it is brows.gif
anyone own d5000 n would like to share some opinion/experience?
or some snapshot maybe wink.gif
alpha_company
post Jun 22 2009, 11:07 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ Jun 22 2009, 10:16 AM)
That's another interesting shot.

To say 18-200 is not sharp is an overstatement. It should be that it is sharp at certain focal lengths and not as sharp in others.
yes this is true.. a superzoom will have this problem.. sharp ar certain focal lenghts & aperture.

that's y every pro will say to me that superzooms are Jack of all trades, master of none.

normal zoom lens will be better at their respective focal lengths and of course primes are superior at their respective focal lengths.

but it's a tradeoff between convenience and IQ

If you're into primes...you have to carry a lot of other lenses as well. (i'm not really into this because you gotta spend a lot more and dont have the versatility of longer focal lenghts when i need it)

If you have normal zooms u will need to carry much less lenses. (i use these for weddings etc because of versatility and image quality)
If you have superzooms u might only need to carry only that one lens. (i do prefer this for normal trips, outdoors, sports etc)
project-o
post Jun 22 2009, 11:31 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

I'm with you. Superzooms sacrifice a longer and more versatile focal range for image quality and sharpness. It is a tradeoff between less lenses vs image quality.
QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jun 22 2009, 11:07 AM)
yes this is true.. a superzoom will have this problem.. sharp ar certain focal lenghts & aperture.

that's y every pro will say to me that superzooms are Jack of all trades, master of none.

normal zoom lens will be better at their respective focal lengths and of course primes are superior at their respective focal lengths.
but it's a tradeoff between convenience and IQ

If you're into primes...you have to carry a lot of other lenses as well. (i'm not really into this because you gotta spend a lot more and dont have the versatility of longer focal lenghts when i need it)

If you have normal zooms u will need to carry much less lenses. (i use these for weddings etc because of versatility and image quality)
If you have superzooms u might only need to carry only that one lens. (i do prefer this for normal trips, outdoors, sports etc)
edministrator
post Jun 22 2009, 12:32 PM

1,940 posts

i do agree with your opinions, and i would like to share some interesting findings from Case Study: Nikon 18-200mm Lens Review :

http://naturephotoadvisor.com/Articles/Nik...ns%20Review.htm

This post has been edited by edministrator: Jun 22 2009, 12:35 PM
latias93
post Jun 22 2009, 02:24 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

LOl guys.. this is weird.. this morning before going to school I saw a security guard who tripped on the road through my window, so I took my cam.. turns out suddenly my camera/lens can snap again in M/A focus mode. It can just go in a moment!

I suspect this is the lens motor, lens motor got such thing as sekejap OK, sekejap tak OK?!
aaron1kee
post Jun 22 2009, 02:31 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Jun 22 2009, 02:24 PM)
LOl guys.. this is weird.. this morning before going to school I saw a security guard who tripped on the road through my window, so I took my cam.. turns out suddenly my camera/lens can snap again in M/A focus mode. It can just go in a moment!

I suspect this is the lens motor, lens motor got such thing as sekejap OK, sekejap tak OK?!
Your camera still under warranty? Maybe send it back to Nikon centre for checking. No harm doing so. smile.gif
alpha_company
post Jun 22 2009, 04:16 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Jun 22 2009, 02:24 PM)

yup i too suspect that it's the lens and u should send it for warranty if there's still one or just send it for repairs. remember to bring your d60 when sending it..ask ur dad 1st if got warranty..
rickylaw86
post Jun 22 2009, 04:22 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Jun 22 2009, 12:32 PM)
i do agree with your opinions, and i would like to share some interesting findings from Case Study: Nikon 18-200mm Lens Review :

indeed will need the users of this lense to test the Raw-specific sharpness.
HiroBoroi
post Jun 22 2009, 05:33 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Jun 22 2009, 12:32 PM)

Here's the main finding of above article:
This photo was developed in Adobe Camera Raw with sharpening set to 100 (max).

BaBam. Mystery solved.

Huh? I think I have a problem with above. My understanding from this article is that the ACR software is damn good, but the Nikkor zoom lens is still sucky. biggrin.gif Better stay with 18-105. rclxm9.gif
alpha_company
post Jun 22 2009, 05:41 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

18200vr and 18105vr..

18105vr better in terms of IQ right?
AlphaBeta
post Jun 22 2009, 05:43 PM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

nope...i dont see any difference between them...and 18200 af speed is faster than 18105.
HiroBoroi
post Jun 22 2009, 05:49 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jun 22 2009, 05:43 PM)
nope...i dont see any difference between them...and 18200 af speed is faster than 18105.
The difference is a bigger hole in your pocket. Hole in pocket ... cannot see maa flex.gif ... but definitely can feel it. cry.gif

rclxm9.gif
AlphaBeta
post Jun 22 2009, 05:55 PM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

yea...the hole is the major difference...lol Hiroboroi..u r always hilarious...

126 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:42 PM