125 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!

dlwl
post Nov 20 2009, 12:47 AM

4,789 posts

fuh...almost spent the whole day setting up my p4 replacement, the athlon x2 biggrin.gif
seems like the mobo is quite picky on rams. this set of rams was used on a gaygay mobo running dual channel, on this mobo cant. keep giving me restarts at bios. seems like the timings are not right. even tried manual timings, even worse, cant boot at all. maybe some sifu here can help me tongue.gif
KahLooN
post Nov 20 2009, 07:37 AM

~(^^)~
704 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 19 2009, 04:58 PM)
most of them got "powderfool IC" inside, let me list them down:
KHX3200ULK2 2x512MB 2-2-2-5 <TCCD inside>
KHX3200 [b]2x1GB 3-3-3-8 <unsure, test later>
Kingston normal 4x1GB 3-3-3-8 <unsure, test later>[/B]
Mushkin Blueline 512MB 2-2-2-5 <Winbond UTT>
Mushkin Redline 512MB 2-2-2-5 <Winbond UTT>
Corsair XMS3200C2PRO v1.1 2x512MB 2-X-X-X <old winbond? test later>
hope to sell the 512MB wan la, didn't test most of 1GB yet.

now DDR RAM price is stable or going up?
Hm, quite interesting on your 2x1GB ram. Maybe after you tested it, let us know ya. flex.gif
I would suspect the 2x1GB would be samsung IC. tongue.gif

QUOTE(dlwl @ Nov 20 2009, 12:47 AM)
fuh...almost spent the whole day setting up my p4 replacement, the athlon x2 biggrin.gif
seems like the mobo is quite picky on rams. this set of rams was used on a gaygay mobo running dual channel, on this mobo cant. keep giving me restarts at bios. seems like the timings are not right. even tried manual timings, even worse, cant boot at all. maybe some sifu here can help me tongue.gif
Probably can you list down the spec for this setup? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by KahLooN: Nov 20 2009, 07:42 AM
dlwl
post Nov 20 2009, 09:53 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Nov 20 2009, 07:37 AM)
Probably can you list down the spec for this setup? hmm.gif
Athlon X2 3800+
Abit AN-M2
512MB Mushkin RAM
8500GT
320GB HDD
DVD-ROM

there's another thing, the bios sometimes just hangs at boot, i've to reboot again a few times sad.gif
KahLooN
post Nov 20 2009, 01:22 PM

~(^^)~
704 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Nov 20 2009, 09:53 AM)
Athlon X2 3800+
Abit AN-M2
512MB Mushkin RAM
8500GT
320GB HDD
DVD-ROM

there's another thing, the bios sometimes just hangs at boot, i've to reboot again a few times sad.gif
I guess you must already update the BIOS right? Since you also mention "the bios sometimes just hangs at boot", I would suspect might caused by proc or ram.

I'm not really sure other symptom. hmm.gif
Maybe others can help? smile.gif
dlwl
post Nov 20 2009, 01:50 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Nov 20 2009, 01:22 PM)
I guess you must already update the BIOS right? Since you also mention "the bios sometimes just hangs at boot", I would suspect might caused by proc or ram.
I'm not really sure other symptom. hmm.gif 
Maybe others can help? smile.gif
Bios is already updated to the latest.
I guess the proc should be ok, if not supported it wouldn't be detected at the startup rite?

btw, i think it's better we proceed to this thread here, don't wanna off topic tongue.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1233224
ravewar
post Nov 20 2009, 09:11 PM

*Retired Drifter & M-ITX Fan*
686 posts

I don't think I will be investing in my P4 rig with rams anymore...

currently running fine with 1gb rams....though it's tempting to upgrade... doh.gif

most to most may wanna change case...to a better case... hmm.gif
shinjite
post Nov 20 2009, 09:50 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Nov 20 2009, 12:17 AM)
Smells TCCD & probably some BH-5 to be in the ram list. brows.gif Guys, just grab the TCCD since it comes with pair! Gem indeed! Something that i used to break 4Ghz! blush.gif....
if the 2x 1GB is a TCCD, i am gunning for it brows.gif
TSraymond5105
post Nov 20 2009, 10:09 PM

5,341 posts

@ravewar ,tempting? then upgrade lo...Haha........ drool.gif

@shinjite, 2*1GB kit is running at 3-3-3-8 ...I guess maybe is a Hynix chip there. brows.gif

I believe the seller PMed you all.
busyman
post Nov 20 2009, 11:46 PM

1,465 posts

Athlon X2 3800+ better than pentium 4 or pentium D????
dlwl
post Nov 20 2009, 11:59 PM

4,789 posts

it's definitely better than the pentium 4, coz it's dual core.
the athlon x2 3800+ is meant to compete with the pentium D.
so probably the performance is almost similar.

This post has been edited by dlwl: Nov 21 2009, 12:00 AM
shinjite
post Nov 21 2009, 02:12 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Pentium D is after all still using Pentium P4 proc, 2 P4s in 1 die

So performance wise Athlon X2 still wins clock by clock

toottut89
post Nov 21 2009, 04:09 AM

704 posts

anyone here lapped their heatsink??
fylon
post Nov 21 2009, 09:17 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@KahLooN & shinjite
High chance will be samsung chip as most of the gem like TCCD / D43 / BH-5 were came in smaller capacity. But nevertheless, sometime miracle does happened. brows.gif Pray har it was TCCD! Tight latency low vdimm. I believe shinjite rigs can be pushed more harder with better ram since his porc is an ES, more tweaking head room.
shinjite
post Nov 21 2009, 03:56 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Its hard to say though for mine
Since the ES I am using is a D1 revision

With my current Aeneon rams, it sucks, can't go high~~only good for AMD

This post has been edited by shinjite: Nov 22 2009, 12:16 AM
TSraymond5105
post Nov 22 2009, 11:42 PM

5,341 posts

shinjite,i thought Aeneon RAM is good in both P4 and AMD platform.

@fylon,P4 nowadays no need to push that hard. Even can push up to 4GHz also still going to lose to an E2180.
shinjite
post Nov 23 2009, 02:17 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

If you check the Aeneon thread, those getting 250-260Mhz are all AMD procs and its stable, heck most of the good results are from AMD

P4 processors don't really gain much with it, thats why I say it sucks
TSraymond5105
post Nov 23 2009, 10:15 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Nov 23 2009, 02:17 PM)
If you check the Aeneon thread, those getting 250-260Mhz are all AMD procs and its stable, heck most of the good results are from AMD

P4 processors don't really gain much with it, thats why I say it sucks
shinjite,sad to hear this. I am not aware that these chips are good in P4 platform. Are you plannnig to get the 2*1GB? I think the price is very reasonable. thumbup.gif
shinjite
post Nov 23 2009, 11:06 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

You mean the KHXs?

Got a reply from ktek, the 1GB * 2 didn't perform well on the board he was testing, 230Mhz range nia sad.gif

He said he will be changing to DFI, so we wait for the results. As for me, I am researching on my next ship to jump, and it won't be Intel, its gonna be AMD this time wink.gif

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE C3 stepping 125W TDP, hunting it now smile.gif Got potential to hit 4Ghz air cooling with it smile.gif
dlwl
post Nov 23 2009, 11:38 PM

4,789 posts

IMHO Phenom II procs are quite nice and easy to OC laugh.gif
Jcsy
post Nov 24 2009, 10:21 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

p4 thread talking about AMD cpu liao, hahaha biggrin.gif

anyways hang at bios a few weeks ago and it was coz my CPU was overheating (heat sink not placed properly with fan)

your CPU / RAM ok?

125 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0343sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:09 AM