120 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

b48753
post Nov 2 2010, 12:14 PM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

QUOTE(Newbie^^ @ Oct 19 2010, 11:39 PM)
hi all expert, gonna ask about the upgrading ram for my old mac mini...

this is the spec:

Model Name: Mac mini
  Model Identifier: Macmini3,1
  Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed: 2 GHz
  Number Of Processors: 1
  Total Number Of Cores: 2
  L2 Cache: 3 MB
  Memory: 1 GB
  Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
  Boot ROM Version: MM31.0081.B06
  SMC Version (system): 1.35f0
  Hardware UUID: C272292F-1825-5E1C-A0F5-9382D2907B2D
the original ram is 1GB DDR3, recently multitasking, and realize my mac is really like tortoise, so gonna upgrade to 4GB, can i use the normal ram (i mean KVR-kingston value ram)? bcos my budget very limited, cant afford KTA-kingston..

pls give me comment, thank you:)
Try asking the guy at link below for best price of KTA RAM

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=2469
skool87
post Nov 2 2010, 11:09 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Nov 2 2010, 12:14 PM)
Try asking the guy at link below for best price of KTA RAM

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=2469
can we change ourself the ram?i thought it fixed alredi....
marcus20125
post Nov 3 2010, 07:39 AM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(skool87 @ Nov 2 2010, 11:09 PM)
for sure you can change the ram by your own
dvlzplayground
post Nov 3 2010, 09:02 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

only MBA cannot. for MB/MBP it's even in the manual tongue.gif (well it used to be, not sure now)

iMac also can change. but quite hard lah
b48753
post Nov 3 2010, 10:58 AM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

Can..but need some putty knife to open the case tongue.gif
raining again
post Nov 4 2010, 07:39 PM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

just when ahead and upgrade my mbp 2009 to 5gb ram.

KVR1066D3S7/4G 1066MHz PC3-8500, 1066MHz CL7- rm245

like what calvin did. absolute satisfied xD now i can fully utilized premiere pro.
jinaun
post Nov 5 2010, 08:57 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

installed ocz vertex2 1.23 into my 2009 MBP.. and its extremely snappy

apps opens damn fast and system very responsive

very happy with the upgrade smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 5 2010, 10:15 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

just got my 500gb momentus XT today. will install sometime next week. i dun dare to change HDD until i finish my assignments tongue.gif
Eithanius
post Nov 6 2010, 12:54 AM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 5 2010, 10:15 PM)
just got my 500gb momentus XT today. will install sometime next week. i dun dare to change HDD until i finish my assignments tongue.gif
Just make sure yours is firmware SD23... tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 6 2010, 01:41 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

yes it's FD23. what's wrong with the earlier ones?
Eithanius
post Nov 6 2010, 02:12 AM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 6 2010, 01:41 AM)
yes it's FD23. what's wrong with the earlier ones?
beachball related to HDD spindown issue...
dvlzplayground
post Nov 6 2010, 02:31 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

wow ok, i wasn't aware of that issue. maybe latest batch no more. thx anyway smile.gif
buyoq
post Nov 6 2010, 10:34 AM

hat ni sebulan...........
1,305 posts

Hi guys, would like to ask about macbook charging
is it ok if i let the magsaver connected to my laptop all day long ?
would it harm the battery ?
dvlzplayground
post Nov 10 2010, 12:10 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

ok guys...help me out here tongue.gif i juz bought a seagate momentus xt. last night i was trying to install it but got problem. i'll go one by one

1) took my WD out n swap in the seagate. booted from OSX dvd, erased the drive to HFS journaled, then proceed to Restore from my time machine. it proceeded to erase the seagate, then it was "transferring files... 0%" for about half an hour (the estimated remaining time was 1400+ hrs n counting lol). so i gave up. Repair disk didnt work.

2) swapped back my WD into my mbp, erased the usb-connected seagate using disk utility. this time i use SuperDuper to clone the WD to the seagate. when it's done, i swapped the seagate back in, but cannot boot. stuck at the plain grey screen (without apple logo). when i reboot and holding down option, no icon was shown.

3) i connected the WD by usb n booted off it. when i open disk utility, i realize the seagate SMART status is not available (it should, seeing as it is installed internally)

4) i swapped the WD back in, n this time externally boot off the seagate via USB. guess what, it runs fine! so i boot from the WD, then in DU i juz do a Repair disk for the seagate, and also used Drive Genius to repair again

5) then i swapped the seagate back in, try to boot, still cannot. same problem as in (2), plain grey screen. PRAM reset didnt help either

any idea what's going on? sad.gif

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Nov 10 2010, 12:12 PM
hnr2802
post Nov 10 2010, 12:19 PM

627 posts

last resort is you should try to install fresh copy of osx instead restore from time machine/superduper. see how it goes & report back.
dvlzplayground
post Nov 10 2010, 01:39 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

Juz tried installing fresh copy. Stuck at 0% too. I checked in DU the smart status is still not available
kalisair
post Nov 15 2010, 09:07 PM

51 posts

I want to buy 500GB seagate momentus XT for my macbook pro, but the 32MB is twice the price of 16MB.. Is it worth the price or should I just get the 16MB?

dvlzplayground
post Nov 16 2010, 12:27 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(kalisair @ Nov 15 2010, 09:07 PM)
I want to buy 500GB seagate momentus XT for my macbook pro, but the 32MB is twice the price of 16MB.. Is it worth the price or should I just get the 16MB?
the XT only comes in 32MB cache. the half-price 16MB is normal momentus drive, not the XT
frozzbyte
post Nov 16 2010, 08:38 AM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

@dvlzplayground
So bro ... How was your installation of the XT? already kawtim?
dvlzplayground
post Nov 16 2010, 10:14 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i got a bad unit. talked to seagate customer service n they told me to get a replacement. i already sent it back n now waiting for the new one to arrive smile.gif

120 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.6233sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:08 PM