120 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

Eithanius
post Aug 4 2010, 01:17 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Aug 4 2010, 01:06 PM)
Is it ok for me to mix the 2GB module with 4GB module for my Mac Pro?
The mix will make my system RAM to 16GB.
make sure they're in pairs...

I assume your RAM config is 4x2GB and 2x4GB...?
b48753
post Aug 4 2010, 07:00 PM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Aug 4 2010, 01:17 PM)
make sure they're in pairs...

I assume your RAM config is 4x2GB and 2x4GB...?
Yup..correct
And mine is Harpertown series..
Eithanius
post Aug 4 2010, 07:14 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Aug 4 2010, 07:00 PM)
Yup..correct
And mine is Harpertown series..
it doesn't matter whether it's Woodcrest, Clovertown or Harpertown... they have to be in pairs...
b48753
post Aug 5 2010, 06:46 PM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Aug 4 2010, 07:14 PM)
it doesn't matter whether it's Woodcrest, Clovertown or Harpertown... they have to be in pairs...
I thought the Nahalem setting is different.. sweat.gif I mean the sequence on the high and lower riser.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by b48753: Aug 5 2010, 06:47 PM
Eithanius
post Aug 5 2010, 08:12 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Aug 5 2010, 06:46 PM)
I thought the Nahalem setting is different..  sweat.gif I mean the sequence on the high and lower riser..  blush.gif
Nehalem is the micro-architecture for Gainestown (set of Xeon processors used in MP 2009), which no longer use FB-DIMM RAM modules on upper and lower riser cards anymore... It comes in a single tray for processors and ram slots... And it has nothing to do with the previous MP setups... In case you are confused about code names and architectures:

Woodcrest - Core - MP 2006
Clovertown - Core - MP 2007 8-core only
Harpertown - Penryn - MP 2008

Bloomfield - Nehalem - MP 2009 4-core only
Gainestown - Nehalem - MP 2009 8-core only, MP 2010 4-core only
Gulftown - Westmere - MP 2010 8- and 12-core only

Info courtesy of Wiki...

This post has been edited by Eithanius: Aug 5 2010, 08:25 PM
frega
post Aug 6 2010, 07:04 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jul 31 2010, 12:26 AM)
i mean, they are basically the same thing. the difference is they are actually tested on a mac, thus it's the best bet smile.gif

feins is selling a 2x2gb KTA for rm460. i got my non-certified corsair 2x2gb for rm370. so it's really up to what rm90 means to a person. better assurance, or a nice tshirt lol
Where else can I get KTA or equivalent RAM?

PC1333 1x2gb DDR3.
feins
post Aug 6 2010, 07:27 PM

133 posts

I don't think there us any KTA ram with speed 1333. Unless ur mentioning for Mac pro 2009 model.
Eithanius
post Aug 6 2010, 07:51 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(feins @ Aug 6 2010, 07:27 PM)
I don't think there us any KTA ram with speed 1333.  Unless ur mentioning for Mac pro 2009 model.
Why not...?

Kingston website is listing KTA-MB1333/4G for iMacs 2010....

And mind you, Mac Pro 2009 uses 1066 modules, not 1333...
feins
post Aug 6 2010, 08:33 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Aug 6 2010, 07:51 PM)
Why not...?

Kingston website is listing KTA-MB1333/4G for iMacs 2010....

And mind you, Mac Pro 2009 uses 1066 modules, not 1333...
Tq for the clarification cos I'm only updated to 2009.
akarsan
post Aug 7 2010, 05:14 AM

67 posts

Starccs, if you dont mind, could you tell me where you got the ram and how much is it? planning to upgrade my mpb to 8gb. PM me if its not convinient for you to post the prices here. tq and cheers.
CreamMilk
post Aug 8 2010, 01:26 PM

486 posts

upgraded my macbook to 4GB kingston for SC II, lol~
got it from pc fair at RM268 smile.gif now running flawlessly.
Was in dilemma to get from Apple store or ciplak Kingston, luckily it works, save 60% of price.
feins
post Aug 8 2010, 01:42 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Aug 8 2010, 01:26 PM)
got it from pc fair at RM268 smile.gif  now running flawlessly.
Was in dilemma to get from Apple store or ciplak Kingston, luckily it works, save 60% of price.
Which spec of mbp u got there can it run in full detail? I order my sc2 sea ver for rm189 waiting for it to arrive.
nimrod323
post Aug 8 2010, 04:01 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Aug 8 2010, 01:26 PM)
got it from pc fair at RM268 smile.gif  now running flawlessly.
where got apple store here, apple reseller lah, if you guys need recommendation try crucial its the closest to the oem apple uses since the company that makes it happen to make apple's oem ram modules.
starccs
post Aug 8 2010, 05:06 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(akarsan @ Aug 7 2010, 05:14 AM)

Starccs, if you dont mind, could you tell me where you got the ram and how much is it? planning to upgrade my mpb to 8gb. PM me if its not convinient for you to post the prices here. tq and cheers.
Heya,
It was in Lowyat. I cant remember which for sure i think it's cycom, the mac area. or was it czone? tongue.gif price was RM580 for a stick. Kingston
Eithanius
post Aug 8 2010, 09:42 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(starccs @ Aug 8 2010, 05:06 PM)
Heya,
It was in Lowyat. I cant remember which for sure i think it's cycom, the mac area. or was it czone? tongue.gif price was RM580 for a stick. Kingston
Was it a corner lot...? The last I checked couple of weeks ago, they quoted me RM 1040 for a single stick of 4GB... Kingston KTA... You sure they quoted you a KTA and not a KVR...?
CreamMilk
post Aug 8 2010, 11:01 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Aug 8 2010, 04:01 PM)
where got apple store here, apple reseller lah, if you guys need recommendation try crucial its the closest to the oem apple uses since the company that makes it happen to make apple's oem ram modules.
almost every Mac users know there's no Apple store in Malaysia, thus OBVIOUSLY I was referring to Apple Online Store smile.gif
I know the difference between apple store and apple reseller smile.gif

This post has been edited by CreamMilk: Aug 8 2010, 11:03 PM
starccs
post Aug 9 2010, 07:36 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Aug 8 2010, 09:42 PM)
Was it a corner lot...? The last I checked couple of weeks ago, they quoted me RM 1040 for a single stick of 4GB... Kingston KTA... You sure they quoted you a KTA and not a KVR...?
Am using a KVR. All is running fine smile.gif
nimrod323
post Aug 10 2010, 06:53 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(CreamMilk @ Aug 8 2010, 11:01 PM)
almost every Mac users know there's no Apple store in Malaysia, thus OBVIOUSLY I was referring to Apple Online Store smile.gif
I know the difference between apple store and apple reseller smile.gif
You'd be surprised how many people here that are CLUELESS about that, and to be correct with terms Apple Store and Apple Online Store has a huge difference, by just removing "ONLINE", its easily understood that you are reffering to a brick and mortar store, comprende?
b48753
post Aug 10 2010, 12:35 PM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Aug 5 2010, 08:12 PM)
Nehalem is the micro-architecture for Gainestown (set of Xeon processors used in MP 2009), which no longer use FB-DIMM RAM modules on upper and lower riser cards anymore... It comes in a single tray for processors and ram slots... And it has nothing to do with the previous MP setups... In case you are confused about code names and architectures:

Woodcrest - Core - MP 2006
Clovertown - Core - MP 2007 8-core only
Harpertown - Penryn - MP 2008

Bloomfield - Nehalem - MP 2009 4-core only
Gainestown - Nehalem - MP 2009 8-core only, MP 2010 4-core only
Gulftown - Westmere - MP 2010 8- and 12-core only

Info courtesy of Wiki...
Thanks for the info..so now new mac pro can use about the same RAM available for desktop.. like it biggrin.gif
Eithanius
post Aug 10 2010, 01:21 PM

3,952 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Aug 10 2010, 12:35 PM)
Thanks for the info..so now new mac pro can use about the same RAM available for desktop.. like it  biggrin.gif
Read ECC... tongue.gif

There are reports that using non-ECC memory modules work fine, but then again it is always recommended to use ECC RAM as Mac Pros are designed to just in case to avoid certain risks of the machine hanging due to data corruption on the modules...

120 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:31 PM