Dear all I'm selling some Kingston apple certified ram KTA-MB1066K2/4G kits. If interest can brouse at my thread still have around 14 pack at mean time.
Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc
May 24 2010, 12:45 AM
133 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: Kuantan |
Dear all I'm selling some Kingston apple certified ram KTA-MB1066K2/4G kits. If interest can brouse at my thread still have around 14 pack at mean time.
May 24 2010, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 24 2010, 11:22 AM) Anyone tried to DIY upgrade the HDD for the Alum iMAC early 2008 model ? My friend its not easy to upgrade the HDD for ur iMac u need to nearly remove everything cos the HDD was exactly at the back of ur Display Panel and the Back Cover. Co u need to remove the front GLASS remove all front mounting screw take out ur LCD then u can see ur HDD. So its better to send it back to one of the Apple Retail store to have it done n pay some service fees. I manage to 'kill' it via Disk Utility yesterday morning when I found "Invalid Node Structure". It was verifying the HDD when it hit much errors and the HDD refuses to mount. The partition seems to have disappeared. I then loaded DiskWarrior, it could not repair the issues. It reports that it was a hardware failure that causes it unable to replace the new recovered data or something. I still manage to remove much of my data uncorrupted via preview So I'm thinking what the heck, lets give it an upgrade while we are at it. Then I saw the online tutorials. Its like doing surgery, anyone tried it before? Cheers~ |
May 25 2010, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 25 2010, 02:25 PM) yes your right. I was doing much research on it past few days. A lot of care has to be done, but not entirely impossible. yes my friend any apple authorise should be able to do it for u on ur HDD replacement on ur iMac. Regards of SWITCH or MACHINES.Agreed. =) I dont think we have those in Kuching. Or maybe have, I have no idea. Switch can upgrade for me ? Initially I got the Invalid node structure, and Invalid sibling link error. Found via Disk Utility (boot from DVD). Then I could not select / mount / access the HDD. After much dismay I loaded DiscWarrior which found heaps of errors and tried to repair, and gave me result saying could not save due to hardware error. So I moved out some data which I still have not back up to my external drives via Preview. Then Rebooted again to OSX DVD. Back to Disk Utility and found that I can click the HDD again (no more grey out) ! So quickly I formatted it, and remounted it. Did another reboot, just in case and loaded the 10.6 DVD =) (I was still on 10.5 before the Invalid's came along) By the time I was done installing it was 3.40 am this morning. So far.. So good. Did few more disc utility test. and it says the drive is healthy and functioning properly. Anyways I'll be monitoring the HDD for now, hopefully its not an hardware error, else I really need to do surgery on it. Lucky I have my MBP to entertain me when my Imac was out! Added on May 25, 2010, 8:57 pm QUOTE(frozzbyte @ May 25 2010, 08:33 PM) @dvlzplayground Regarding on HDD replacement it's better to go for Hitachi as mostly u won't hit problem like WD as hitachi HDD are the mainly HDD provider for recent Mac.I did post the hdapm workaround last time but dare not try myself as it change the Apple Power Management and make the HD spins and spins. I'm afraid it will cause more problem than solving it. @tarvalslain87 Wahhh just 2 month only bought ... already mau kaput ka? Not all clicking sound means HD want to kaput. There are type of clicking that indicate the HD want to kaput. This 'click' is the sound when the HD head is parked. It affect a bit on the HD performance when the 'click' happens. Infact, from my previous googling on this, I found mix reaction from MB/MBP user that use WD Scorpio Blue. Some will have the 'clicks' and some don't. Dunno why that happens but from wht I've read here ... dvlzplayground, me and another forumer (that tried the hdapm) did encounter this 'clicking' issue. Since there's other alternatives to WD and SG, might try it later and see if it solve this problem. Mmmm ... now going to have another external HD for me to use. Last time i've always trust IBM travelstar. I think hitachi already taken over the travelstar HD. I still have 2 IBM travelstar thats already reaching 10 years, taken from my very old laptop (RIP) and still can be used up till today. This post has been edited by feins: May 25 2010, 08:57 PM |
May 25 2010, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(mfitri77 @ May 25 2010, 09:19 PM) Aisey, now Seagate has already come out with hybrid drives already. The Momentus XT. 4GB SSD + Hard drive spinning at 7200RPM. Think it'll be good for our macs? But not many has tested the new SG HDD so donno how the performance somemore apple not always fancy on latest product so maybe after install it might not even reconize it then really die hard standing. As for the most reliable drives list for macs, I think... 1. Hitachi 2. Seagate / Toshiba 3. 4. 5. WD (Most problematic) |
May 25 2010, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 25 2010, 09:35 PM) u also have to remember that WD is the most problematic also because it's the most widely available. kinda like why there are more ppl complaining about streamyx rather than P1 ;p Actually i think SG HDD have more problem compare to WD as i had 6 WD HDD some are the 1st batch SATA 1.5 until today some still in working condition only the recent 2 years WD gives me alot of headache. But i also had 5 SG SATA 2 HDD but 4 already send for warranty and all come back with a Green label with "Certified Repaired HDD" on top of the HDD the fastest kong one was 1 week and most are kong just after 1 year. You wont know that those HDD fail use as normal but for me i always Raid those HDD on all my PCs and Servers my Raid Array will prompt me that one of the HDD report fail and its always a SG HDD. So now i rather go for Hitachi and i had some Samsung HDD so fat so good.any experiences with samsung drives? |
May 26 2010, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 26 2010, 12:00 AM) Yeap SSD definitely is a whole new level of time saving when it comes to booting up your comp or applications... Many people have commented that they are very satisfied and worth every money spent on their SSD... Yes I totally agree with you since today most affortable SSD are the intel 40GB cost rm800 but think in another year u might get a 128GB for rm400 so the price war will goes on and on. Just like SATA HDD I remember the 1 SATA I bought was a 120gb for rm500 now 1tera are above rm100+.But I guess i still can bear the waiting of apps to boot as I dont have a budget to get one =(... I guess ill be one of those people who will wait till it hit mainstream price haha which is maybe a few years down the road.. |
May 26 2010, 02:59 AM
QUOTE(b48753 @ May 26 2010, 02:13 AM) I'm asking this question cause getting the FB-DIMM directly from Apple will cause me a bomb, further mine still covered by ACPP. So need someone that have experience on this. If no one can answer this then later I'll ask wei or eithanius. U always can keep ur existing RAM if u scare that it will Void ur warranty. |
May 26 2010, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(forger @ May 26 2010, 01:19 PM) lol, mine is still okay. my scorpio blue 640GB just install last week. still working as per normal. Not all HDD will gives u problem only certain batch are having issue they will change to another revision if they found that the particuler revision having issue. That's y while u buy a same type of HDD u might notice that the firmware or the revision might be different. Certain manufacture might provide firmware update like IBM or Seagate to fix certain issue but that's not always available cos if there a misstake during flashing the firmware n the HDD will be brick.i guess im just lucky. maybee (still monitoring for any click) |
May 26 2010, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 26 2010, 03:02 PM) Totally agree Added on May 26, 2010, 4:22 pm QUOTE(ZhaoYun @ May 26 2010, 02:03 PM) Hmmm..who said the cheapest intel is rm 800 ?? Check out the 40gb intel ssd for rm 413. Thanks for the info but 40gb for rm400 still not enof to fully fit a win7. Cos after use for few month the windows size will grow over 60gb. Same for mac if u install CS4 master collection u regrat should get a 128gb one.before you upgrade anything, upgrade to ssd first, the different is night and day. This post has been edited by feins: May 26 2010, 04:22 PM |
May 26 2010, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 26 2010, 05:25 PM) I would actually allocate at least 60-100GB for my Windows for my window files and games... That should be more than enough for a windows partition... Maybe put some songs etc also... Yes enof for a few month but Windows partition will definitely grow especially the page file size. So its best allocate more for windows it self i never put any appl on my windows partition. like mine i allocate 120Gb for windows it slef and now it only left 71Gb of free space. Cos im doing quite a number of Video encoding and some application will cache it temp data in the windows partition until the project completed. |
May 27 2010, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 26 2010, 11:28 PM) looking at ur sig...why the hell are you doing video encoding on ur MBW? My PC cum hackintosh duo boot previously before I fried my gtx280, I use that to do video encording cos using osx I can do a 4hour with windows rendering in just 30min after than use back windows to do my DVD author. Cos DVD author with osx application was slow compare with windows counter part.assuming u're talking about bootcamp lah |
May 27 2010, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 27 2010, 11:54 AM) Hmm Im not into video editting and stuff... The reason im going bootcamp is to be able to play some games that arent compatible with mac and also some word processing... Others will be done on Mac OSX =) Oh I do run CCleaner to clean up those unused cache, temporary files etc... To enjoy game to it's enjoyable lvl need a extreme gpu that's y after my gtx280 zotac amp was kill after my water host rapture n cooled was pour onto my gpu now I went for the gtx480. For mac u hardly get the most latest gpu as even the 295 doesn't support on mac by default. So if really going for game it's better to setup a PC power horse. |
May 28 2010, 05:01 PM
May 28 2010, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ May 28 2010, 05:47 PM) Im not a hardcore gamer and I do have a core i7 desktop with gtx260 which can play most of the current games with high settings... Just that some light gaming on the Mac would be enough for me... Water cooling is not so scarry actually. I'm been with water cooling for nearly 10 years already but it only need some maintenence that's all. I always love mac os. Only some super nice app for windows like Tmpgenc n foobar never got an alternative for mac.@dvlz & feins Yea Im also quite paranoid with water cooling system for my PC... Always have the feeling that someday it will shoot water all over my PC and blow it up.. LOL |
Jun 11 2010, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(Kim^.^" @ Jun 11 2010, 12:33 AM) guys, i'm planning to upgrade my MacBook 2.16GHz's RAM from 2GB to 3GB. bro,question, is it okay for me to use two different RAM brands? (value RAM only) I've searched the forum but seems like not many people are doing that. since Kingston value ram are so cheap y don't u direct upgrade it with the 4gb kit. For DDR2 ram there is no issue upgrading with value ram. Only for DDR3 Version u recomended to go for apple certified ram. I use Kingston value on my MBW 2.4. No issue after using for over 2 years. |
Jun 11 2010, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(Kim^.^" @ Jun 11 2010, 01:01 AM) FYI, my machine can only support 3GB max. anything more than that will be wasted except for the dual-channel thingy but from wat I understand it won't affect the performance much. Bro,Furthermore, some users faced problem with KVR according to this thread (eg. kernel panic) I'm currently on 1GB+1GB so I just need to get a 2GB then can dy. Or maybe I should just forget about it, tahan a bit longer then get a new comp? Using value RAM is an gamble as u might know it already. So some tested ok some dont. As like i said i've been using KVA 4gb kit since day one and face no problem until now for the MBW 2008 and 2007. but we found out quite number of user on MB 2009 version face alot of problem especially on the DDR3 version. So that's y i mention its recommended to go for Apple Certified RAM if ur on DDR3 but its not a must depend on ur luck sometime. Well also now DDR2 2GB is about RM160 per piece so u might wan to try one just head down to Lowyat and hunt around. |
Jun 26 2010, 03:27 PM
Leopard up to 10.5.8 that's the max u can go. As snow leopard is for intel mac only.
Jun 27 2010, 01:14 AM
There is indeed sufficient for leopard with 1gb of ram. As mbw 2007 only come with 1gb of ram. Only different is that the 2007 mbw come with a core2d 2.2 his only a PPC 1.6.
Jul 5 2010, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jul 5 2010, 02:08 PM) Hey guys, I'm trying to apply the "Security Update 2010-004" update. It's been showing me the rainbow spinner for the past 2+ hours. Is this normal? Or what should I do about it... That's indication wheel of dead. Mean ur installation freezes. Just do a reboot n try again. |
Jul 5 2010, 02:35 PM
Most cases nope just try to do an update again that's all.
| Change to: | 0.0508sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:55 PM |