Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

kalvinhui
post Jun 24 2009, 11:37 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Jun 24 2009, 11:12 AM)
Try using disk utility and format the hdd using GUID partition table.
you mean format the HDD 1st before installing it on a mac?
kalvinhui
post Jul 19 2009, 09:11 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(scph50004 @ Jul 19 2009, 11:42 AM)
Did some research and decided to buy 2 sticks of 2GB Kingston DDR3 1066MHz RAM and a WD 5400RPM 500GB HDD as a replacement. Should be no problem?
i would say just go ahead, i just did that a week ago and nothing is happened to me(touch wood) and they are working great.
but i havent update the firmware to 1.7 as lots of users make complaint on crashes and their machine slow after they have upgraded the firmware.
of course there are lucky guys anywhere.........just dont dare to take the risk.
kalvinhui
post Jul 19 2009, 09:28 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Jul 19 2009, 09:18 PM)
what firmware are you refering to ?
this 1
EFI 1.7
kalvinhui
post Jul 19 2009, 09:40 PM

112 posts

i tot that was only designed for mid 2009 model 13"uMBP and 15"uMBP?
kalvinhui
post Jul 20 2009, 08:07 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(scph50004 @ Jul 20 2009, 02:12 AM)
what do you mean? i'm a complete newbie in the Mac world... if I replace the HDD inside the Mac Mini to say 500GB, I have to reinstall the OS right? Just like Windows? And RAM shouldn't be a problem yeah?
yeap, you have to install the os again. if you have set up the time machine on an external HDD, you can just transfer all your previous files to your new HDD by just a single click. to install os on a new HDD, simply insert ur os x CD and follow the on screen instruction. very simply.
im a newbie too.....hope it helps

kalvinhui
post Sep 27 2009, 11:50 PM

112 posts

some programs did raise up the heat problem on macbook pro.
some like
msn messenger
facebook games
adobe suite
youtube and some flash website.
kalvinhui
post Oct 30 2009, 08:59 AM

112 posts

a silly question here,
i've been using my mac for almost 4 months and i just realized that the firewall is not on and i didnt kena any Virus so far..."touch wood"? was it purely my luck or my machine will finally get worms if i keep my firewall remain off? imaging if im using my PC, Firewall is a must but not sure about Mac?
anyway, i have just turned it on..just need to find out is it very important to turn it on or off?

0.0420sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:03 AM