98 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues

frega
post Mar 9 2010, 08:58 PM

396 posts

Okay, so, I sent my iMac for repairs. Do the repair people actually diagnose the machine?

I called AppleCare and they couldnt figure out what was wrong over the phone. But I told VR I suspect its the video card after self testing (machine shuts down when I load 3D games on Windows / orange screen, wont boot on OSX), and it was noted in the copy of service note they gave me.

Then I called and asked, they said they ordered a new vid card. Do they actually open it up and check? Or was it based on what I said? They have my AppleCare case number and it certainly wouldnt say the vid card is borked. I mean it coulda been the fan malfunctioning overheating everything or the vid card connector on the Logic Board or the Logic Board itself.

I mean I can boot into Windows7 and do a buncha stuff with AERO effects (except games), but not OSX, straight to orange screen.

Im a lil worried they might actually take my word and ordered that vid card cos I suspected it.

This post has been edited by frega: Mar 9 2010, 09:03 PM
TSwei
post Mar 10 2010, 12:41 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Usual procedure they will diagnose before claiming the parts. Cause the faulty parts will have to return to Apple. If Apple found out the parts is not the issue, the Service Center will have to answer Apple on that. Or pay for the parts.

When the parts installed, they will run another round of test. Test passed only the unit will released to client.

That's a standard procedure requested by Apple.
gcwc
post Mar 19 2010, 01:39 AM

45 posts

rclxm9.gif Alrighty!!!!!!!

Just got my first Mac! rclxms.gif Have always dreamt of owning one......albeit a 2nd hand blush.gif unit but it's still great!

However, I'm facing 2 problems which I hope some of you can help me to solve: -

1) The battery is not working at all - my Mac can't detect it or charge it, I don't think it's spoiled though. Any idea?

2) The keyboard gila-gila rclxub.gif one. Sometimes the A to L row cannot type and sometimes can. Also the whole F1 - F10 is not functioning plus the RIGHT SHIFT is also not working permanently.

Appreciate any help from you Mac 'Sifu(s)' out there to help out a newbie here...... icon_question.gif

Thanks! thumbup.gif
jaelee1
post Mar 19 2010, 01:41 AM

134 posts

send back to apple ... you may want to spend some moneh thou ...
TSwei
post Mar 19 2010, 10:07 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(gcwc @ Mar 19 2010, 01:39 AM)
rclxm9.gif Alrighty!!!!!!!

Just got my first Mac! rclxms.gif  Have always dreamt of owning one......albeit a 2nd hand blush.gif  unit but it's still great!

However, I'm facing 2 problems which I hope some of you can help me to solve: -

1) The battery is not working at all - my Mac can't detect it or charge it, I don't think it's spoiled though. Any idea?

2) The keyboard gila-gila rclxub.gif  one. Sometimes the A to L row cannot type and sometimes can. Also the whole F1 - F10 is not functioning plus the RIGHT SHIFT is also not working permanently.

Appreciate any help from you Mac 'Sifu(s)' out there to help out a newbie here...... icon_question.gif

Thanks!  thumbup.gif
Welcome to the world of Mac.

To your issue:
1. Try to loan another known good battery or test your batter on another known good MacBook to be sure what's wrong.
2. You need to replace the topcase (keyboard, trackpad, power button assembly).

jayelleenelial
post Mar 22 2010, 07:56 AM

153 posts

how long would it take for Apple to repair a machine that is still under warranty? I am still having trackpad issues.
TSwei
post Mar 22 2010, 10:22 AM

6,496 posts

5-7 working days if you send to proper service center. Not resellers.
ric0225
post Mar 26 2010, 10:33 AM

Good Morning...

I'm trying to upgrade the RAM on my Power Mac G4 (1.25GHz)... It currently has 1Gb in with 2 empty slots remaining. How much more can I get and what's your recommendation on the brands. Checked on the net and it says DDR333 / PC2700 RAM, is that correct. Can I just go to Low Yat and get any RAM with that configuration?? Appreciate your help... Thanks.
TSwei
post Mar 26 2010, 10:43 AM

6,496 posts

Hi, your PowerMac should be Mirror Drive Door (MDD in short) the last model before G5.
The maximum RAM you can have is 2GB (4x 512MB).

I'm not sure if you can still get DDR1 333 in the market. The last we check there's only DDR1 400. But we uses that on some G5 and it works. Yet to try on G4, it's been a while we come across such Mac. When you buy you might want to check if the shop allow you to return the RAM in case unsupported. Maybe return for other brand or other items at equal value.
tdled
post Mar 26 2010, 08:57 PM

61 posts

Hi, I got my Macbook Air wet, now it won't turn on. If I send back to apple will it be covered by the warranty? If not how much u think will cost to fix it?
Do you think it will work after it drys out for a few days?

Thanks for you advise
TSwei
post Mar 26 2010, 09:03 PM

6,496 posts

I've send you a PM. You need to take immediate action on wet unit.
b48753
post Mar 30 2010, 02:58 PM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

QUOTE(ric0225 @ Mar 26 2010, 10:33 AM)
Good Morning...

I'm trying to upgrade the RAM on my Power Mac G4 (1.25GHz)... It currently has 1Gb in with 2 empty slots remaining.  How much more can I get and what's your recommendation on the brands.  Checked on the net and it says DDR333 / PC2700 RAM, is that correct.  Can I just go to Low Yat and get any RAM with that configuration??  Appreciate your help... Thanks.
Same like mine, now my RAM is 1.5GB. I'm using Kingston KTA. Got it from some forumner selling at garage sales. Very cheap.
Try the link below and contact him.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/948679

pukarix
post Apr 9 2010, 08:47 PM

1,053 posts

after more than 3 years.. my mb pro died on me...

i think its d logic board or mayb d graphic card.. d laptop turns on, but screen continues to be black as if nothing happens.. n the white light on the latch button hangs..

i hope u guys know what i mean.. mine is the old mb pro.. which has a button to open the screen.. not the unibody ones..

any one knows how much it would cost? any suggestions on where to repair it?

apple care expired... so any suggestions?

dvlzplayground
post Apr 10 2010, 02:19 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(pukarix @ Apr 9 2010, 08:47 PM)
after more than 3 years.. my mb pro died on me...

i think its d logic board or mayb d graphic card.. d laptop turns on, but screen continues to be black as if nothing happens.. n the white light on the latch button hangs..

i hope u guys know what i mean.. mine is the old mb pro.. which has a button to open the screen.. not the unibody ones..

any one knows how much it would cost? any suggestions on where to repair it?

apple care expired... so any suggestions?
i had the same problem with my previous MBP...GPU problem. only way is to replace the GPU...which in notebook terms it's replacing the logic board...together with CPU n everything.

the cost for a new logic board, with the same already-outdated specs was around rm3000..not including shipping n labour. 3k for old spec stuff...u can get a new laptop with better specs for 3k after 3 years

so it's time to get a new machine bro...
TSwei
post Apr 10 2010, 10:06 AM

6,496 posts

Ehh... I'm collecting faulty macs if you still have the MBP.
jasperng
post Apr 17 2010, 03:19 AM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

my mbp is about 9 months old and im beginning to hear some fan's sound emitted from the mbp. Any idea whether my mac has problem ? it appeared that i only hear it when i open too many softwares . is it because of the overloading ? ..

also, im still wondering should i buy the apple care ... any idea ?
alexng2208
post Apr 17 2010, 03:51 AM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

dear jasperng:

please help to cook tomorrow.. and go buy the acpp lar... jangan buang masa lagi just in case. bring to meadowhall and check...

also, decide on the foof asap
TSwei
post Apr 17 2010, 03:24 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Apr 17 2010, 03:19 AM)
my mbp is about 9 months old and im beginning to hear some fan's sound emitted from the mbp. Any idea whether my mac has problem ?  it appeared that i only hear it when i open too many softwares . is it because of the overloading ? ..

also, im still wondering should i  buy the apple care ... any idea ?
If you don't hear the fan noise it's what you need to worried. It gets noisier most likely dust start collecting inside your MBP especially the air vent, heatsink and fan. So if it didn't get clean, it's normal to get noisy. If no noise, meaning your fan is not working or not spinning up as it should when your MBP under loads. If that happen for prolonged period, it will damage the MBP component due to overheats.

once again:
Dont be stingy on AppleCare.
jasperng
post Apr 17 2010, 06:51 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

ok ... i should be relief but at the same time ... it means i need to clean my fan... the problem is how ? >....<

alrite i will buy the apple care lol ... for peace of mind ..

Added on April 17, 2010, 6:54 pmAnother thing is that, i wanna buy the extension to connect mbp to projector.

Im confused between Mini Displayport to VGA and Mini DVIport to VGA. May I know which one is the one for me to connect to project for presentation ?

Also, I am looking to buy a presenter ( changing slides + laser beam) .. any idea i can get best deal ? cheers

This post has been edited by jasperng: Apr 17 2010, 06:54 PM
dvlzplayground
post Apr 17 2010, 11:56 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Apr 10 2010, 10:06 AM)
Ehh... I'm collecting faulty macs if you still have the MBP.
that was one year ago haha. managed to trade it in to get my current MBP smile.gif

QUOTE(jasperng @ Apr 17 2010, 06:51 PM)
ok ... i should be relief but at the same time ... it means i need to clean my fan... the problem is how ? >....<

alrite i will buy the apple care lol ... for peace of mind ..

Added on April 17, 2010, 6:54 pmAnother thing is that, i wanna buy the extension to connect mbp to projector.

Im confused between Mini Displayport to VGA and Mini DVIport to VGA. May I know which one is the one for me to connect to project for presentation ?

Also, I am looking to buy a presenter ( changing slides + laser beam) .. any idea i can get best deal ? cheers
fan sound is normal... if ur mac is doing heavy stuff, processor will heat up, and the fan will increase it's speed (more noisy) to cool the processor down. when u're not doing anything, the speed will be slow (around 2000rpm) so u wont hear anything

but if ur mac is idle, but the fan still very loud, then need to clean already lah. go to www.ifixit.com n search for ur mac. for the current macbooks, pretty easy...juz take out a few screws and open the bottom panel, u can see the fan already. juz clean it lah smile.gif make sure u use the right screwdriver though, n be careful with the other components. u need to clean the rear vents as well.

miniDisplayPort or miniDVI depends on which macbook model are you using. the old macbook white need miniDVI, the newer ones need miniDP.

98 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:20 PM