Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues

TSwei
post Mar 25 2015, 09:59 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Mar 24 2015, 10:50 PM)
How do we clean that? I noticed that there are some greyish deposit built up on the magsafe port.
toothpick, toothbrush, any tools that come handy. Peeling and dirt is normal, what we talking here is larger object that obstruct the connection.
astro85
post Mar 28 2015, 04:36 AM

402 posts

What the problem if charging 10 minutes , it not charging ... Need to plug out , then put it in again while charging ... Charger problem or charging port problem ???
Cap Jones
post Apr 10 2015, 11:24 AM

294 posts

Guys , I've my MBA 2013 still under warranty , where can I go to upgrade my RAM and HDD ?
KoYuKii
post Apr 10 2015, 04:34 PM

1,979 posts

QUOTE(Cap Jones @ Apr 10 2015, 11:24 AM)
Guys , I've my MBA 2013 still under warranty , where can I go to upgrade my RAM and HDD ?
i don't think u can upgrade MBA's ram coz it was soldering on the board. as for the HDD/SSD, yes u can replace with after market SSD. check here
Cap Jones
post Apr 22 2015, 11:01 PM

294 posts

Guys , my mba about to expire in 10 days , should I get the apple protection plan ? is it worthy it ? heard it will cover the warranty for 3 years , say if my mba reached the battery cycle count of 1000 within that 3 years , will they replace it ?
Ulutorabook
post May 18 2015, 04:43 PM

Hi Guys, I am having problem with my iMac HDD fan. If I run something requiring high graphic usage like Video Rendering or Gaming, it will make a noisy fan sound and then the performance will drop drastically.

I have done the Hardware test and the error msg confirms it is the HDD Fan.

Can anybody share to me, what is the price of repairing it at Apple or whether i shall opt to repair it myself?

doh.gif

This post has been edited by Ulutorabook: May 18 2015, 04:44 PM
kenlimfornication
post May 19 2015, 10:39 AM

729 posts

hi all,

my fiancee has a 2010 or 2011 MBP and it is super slow, can hardly run word, safari, chrome without having to wait for a minute or so.

we just sent it for dust cleaning few months back and we suspect that this happen after installing OS X. Is there common issue we can easily fix? I'm an apple newbie and have never touched it more than once.
TSwei
post May 19 2015, 11:26 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Ulutorabook @ May 18 2015, 04:43 PM)
Hi Guys, I am having problem with my iMac HDD fan. If I run something requiring high graphic usage like Video Rendering or Gaming, it will make a noisy fan sound and then the performance will drop drastically.

I have done the Hardware test and the error msg confirms it is the HDD Fan.

Can anybody share to me, what is the price of repairing it at Apple or whether i shall opt to repair it myself?

doh.gif
Which year model is yours?
What error you get? Fan spinning below speed?

QUOTE(kenlimfornication @ May 19 2015, 10:39 AM)
hi all,

my fiancee has a 2010 or 2011 MBP and it is super slow, can hardly run word, safari, chrome without having to wait for a minute or so.

we just sent it for dust cleaning few months back and we suspect that this happen after installing OS X. Is there common issue we can easily fix? I'm an apple newbie and have never touched it more than once.
Cleaning shouldn't affect the unit performance, in fact, if done right it should run smoother.
If you have older model and you install the latest Yosemite, slow is expected, else there might be other issue with your unit. You can try performing simple troubleshooting like repair disk and repair permission, also check if you have enough free space.
kenlimfornication
post May 19 2015, 05:00 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 19 2015, 11:26 AM)
Cleaning shouldn't affect the unit performance, in fact, if done right it should run smoother.
If you have older model and you install the latest Yosemite, slow is expected, else there might be other issue with your unit. You can try performing simple troubleshooting like repair disk and repair permission, also check if you have enough free space.
Thanks buddy. As of now, it frustrates me even to open chrome!!

I'll probably wait around 20mins to find the repair disk and repair permission! haha
SUSforthepeople
post May 25 2015, 11:31 AM

36 posts

hi.

wanna ask my Mac was struck by lightning last year and the unit is dead. i tried sending it for repair at 3rd party place and they suggested to replace the whole logic board for rm2k (refurbished board).

do u know whether Apple will charge the same or not? rm2k is so expensive might as well i buy a new mac mini.

This post has been edited by forthepeople: May 25 2015, 11:35 AM
TSwei
post May 25 2015, 02:26 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(forthepeople @ May 25 2015, 11:31 AM)
hi.

wanna ask my Mac was struck by lightning last year and the unit is dead. i tried sending it for repair at 3rd party place and they suggested to replace the whole logic board for rm2k (refurbished board).

do u know whether Apple will charge the same or not? rm2k is so expensive might as well i buy a new mac mini.
In general logic board is not cheap. Apple replacement is subjective whether they still accept your old board as exchange. Price can be RM2k+ up to 3-4k depends on model, spec with or without exchange.
Ulutorabook
post May 26 2015, 02:50 PM

QUOTE(wei @ May 19 2015, 11:26 AM)
My IMac is late 2011.

The error is 4MOT.

What do you thingk about it Wei?
TSwei
post May 28 2015, 09:55 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Ulutorabook @ May 26 2015, 02:50 PM)
My IMac is late 2011.

The error is 4MOT.

What do you thingk about it Wei?
could be the sensor, hdd or the fan.
Ulutorabook
post May 29 2015, 06:33 AM

QUOTE(wei @ May 28 2015, 09:55 AM)
could be the sensor, hdd or the fan.
what do you suggest? any other solution besides sending it for repair?
TSwei
post May 29 2015, 10:04 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Ulutorabook @ May 29 2015, 06:33 AM)
what do you suggest? any other solution besides sending it for repair?
Send to repair.
kazumanj3
post May 31 2015, 09:27 AM

GamerzUnited BEST!
3,006 posts

hi, I try to insert a disc into my drive slot, I can only push it in about half way and it feels like it hits something. There is not a disc in the drive, as I just ejected a disc before I had the problem. please help

MacBook Pro (13-inch, Early 2011)

This post has been edited by kazumanj3: May 31 2015, 09:28 AM
wen9x88
post May 31 2015, 02:30 PM

2,933 posts

the magic mouse so sensitive.
easily lost connection.

This post has been edited by wen9x88: May 31 2015, 03:30 PM
buncho89
post May 31 2015, 05:55 PM

282 posts

Ive got a 13" mbp end 2011 model thats laggish. Thinking of replacing the HDD with an SSD. Any recommendations guys?
Joelles
post Jun 3 2015, 12:15 PM

@Call me Uncle@
1,355 posts

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ May 31 2015, 02:30 PM)
the magic mouse so sensitive.
easily lost connection.
Not only sensitive, it's easily spoil especially on the optical sensor part. As for the lost connection, you can kindly place a piece of slight thicker paper under the cover before you cover it. It's because the battery contact are loosen and misplace which have cause the lost connection.
wen9x88
post Jun 3 2015, 12:24 PM

2,933 posts

QUOTE(Joelles @ Jun 3 2015, 12:15 PM)
Not only sensitive, it's easily spoil especially on the optical sensor part. As for the lost connection, you can kindly place a piece of slight thicker paper under the cover before you cover it. It's because the battery contact are loosen and misplace which have cause the lost connection.
yes i put paper under the cover now.
thinking sell off this mice.
hopefully apple come out new mice since this magic mice very old already.

btw is there any wireless mice without receiver ?

This post has been edited by wen9x88: Jun 3 2015, 12:30 PM

98 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:52 AM