Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues

kenlimfornication
post May 19 2015, 10:39 AM

729 posts

hi all,

my fiancee has a 2010 or 2011 MBP and it is super slow, can hardly run word, safari, chrome without having to wait for a minute or so.

we just sent it for dust cleaning few months back and we suspect that this happen after installing OS X. Is there common issue we can easily fix? I'm an apple newbie and have never touched it more than once.
kenlimfornication
post May 19 2015, 05:00 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 19 2015, 11:26 AM)
Which year model is yours?
What error you get? Fan spinning below speed?
Cleaning shouldn't affect the unit performance, in fact, if done right it should run smoother.
If you have older model and you install the latest Yosemite, slow is expected, else there might be other issue with your unit. You can try performing simple troubleshooting like repair disk and repair permission, also check if you have enough free space.
Thanks buddy. As of now, it frustrates me even to open chrome!!

I'll probably wait around 20mins to find the repair disk and repair permission! haha

0.0406sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:04 AM