Business ACCA V5!, Long live bean counters! :D

carlosandy
post Aug 3 2009, 11:25 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(waihong03 @ Aug 3 2009, 10:35 PM)
Hi

Anyone here study F8 under Philip Woo in Kasturi School of Accountancy ?

I saw the timetable in the website...It seem that Philip Woo only teach on Saturday while Jackson Chan will teach on Tuesday for both full & part time.

Is it mean that if i take f8 paper in KSA i will have 2 lecturer ?

Can anyone verified it?
For F8 in KSA, 2 lecturers will run together, so you need to choose one from them la.

I advise you better choose Philip Woo bcos he is give better explanation and understanding as compare to Jackson. Btw, Philip Woo only come back weekend to run F8 & P1 in KSA, that's the reason his time table in Saturday la.
carlosandy
post Aug 3 2009, 11:29 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(waihong03 @ Aug 3 2009, 07:05 PM)
Thanks for the info....what about Marcus Ong? I think he from Inti Subang Jaya (correct me if I'm wrong).
Is he teaching F8?? I read the previous post and found that he seem to be a good lecturer ( read from comment)

Added on August 3, 2009, 7:45 pm
Philip Woo is from Kasturi School of Accountancy ? I suppose the class has start for a while. and you joined recently.
So they are still accepting student now?
I'm not sure about PJ lecturer. Btw, Philip Woo and Sheila are the top F8 lecturer in KL currently.

Ya, u are correct, Philip Woo is from Kasturi School of Accountancy (KSA). I think KSA still accept student for F8 currently if the class not full yet.

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Aug 3 2009, 11:30 PM
carlosandy
post Aug 3 2009, 11:33 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Aug 3 2009, 08:56 PM)
Anyone here doing P6 at Sunway? I needed to borrow the Advanced Taxation book from CKF
Better buy new one la since 2009 edition already out.
Topace111
post Aug 4 2009, 12:40 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Aug 3 2009, 11:29 PM)
I'm not sure about PJ lecturer. Btw, Philip Woo and Sheila are the top F8 lecturer in KL currently.

Ya, u are correct, Philip Woo is from Kasturi School of Accountancy (KSA). I think KSA still accept student for F8 currently if the class not full yet.
KSA never practice students limitation, as long as one pays then still can attend class. I knew one girl once that skip almost 75% of first term class as she was holiday in england. She can still register but have to pay full amount lo. I never heard KSA reject students bcos of of overcrowded obstacle. The best case scenario is to use Parmindar class, I have my fair share of experiece of seeing some late students that forced to study without table for 6 hours & suffer in silence.

Ask the college to help then some will say, heck they have already cramped 300 students in a 100 students hall capacity. Sometimes this is what you will get if all decisions are made by ACCA people. Money is No 1 & student satisfaction is No 2.
carlosandy
post Aug 4 2009, 01:11 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 4 2009, 12:40 AM)
KSA never practice students limitation, as long as one pays then still can attend class. I knew one girl once that skip almost 75% of first term class as she was holiday in england. She can still register but have to pay full amount lo. I never heard KSA reject students bcos of of overcrowded obstacle. The best case scenario is to use Parmindar class, I have my fair share of experiece of seeing some late students that forced to study without table for 6 hours & suffer in silence.

Ask the college to help then some will say, heck they have already cramped 300 students in a 100 students hall capacity. Sometimes this is what you will get if all decisions are made by ACCA people. Money is No 1 & student satisfaction is No 2.
First P1 class during Dec 07 (ie the 1st sitting in new syllabus), Philip Woo class got more than 250 students, they reject student register for 1st term course and said the class already full. In 2nd term, they still reserve the place for 1st term student until result out then baru accept new student.

karhoe
post Aug 4 2009, 05:07 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Aug 3 2009, 11:33 PM)
Better buy new one la since 2009 edition already out.
No point la, cause next year only I will do my P6, by then, can get the 12th edition already
Topace111
post Aug 4 2009, 05:36 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Aug 4 2009, 05:07 PM)
No point la, cause next year only I will do my P6, by then, can get the 12th edition already
Just becareful about tax though since CKF Tax book (although recommended) has many differing views of both F6 & P6 examiner. You will see examiner gives answer A & he gave answer B (although both are accepted for exam standards).
BABIyat
post Aug 4 2009, 07:05 PM

Validating
60 posts

have you guys check out the latest acca student magazine?

i wanna ask about:

seminar held by McOrange
for the professional ethic modules

whats that?
karhoe
post Aug 4 2009, 08:47 PM

6,238 posts

Guys, today at college, I received a notice saying that ACCA will increase the exam fees for Dec sitting.

I also saw something like "applicable for those who sign up after August XX"

Anyone know anything about this?
elviratkh
post Aug 4 2009, 09:28 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(waihong03 @ Aug 3 2009, 07:05 PM)
Thanks for the info....what about Marcus Ong? I think he from Inti Subang Jaya (correct me if I'm wrong).
Is he teaching F8?? I read the previous post and found that he seem to be a good lecturer ( read from comment)

Added on August 3, 2009, 7:45 pm
Philip Woo is from Kasturi School of Accountancy ? I suppose the class has start for a while. and you joined recently.
So they are still accepting student now?
i did not enroll during his first class but yea, they are still accepting students. nod.gif

carlosandy
post Aug 4 2009, 10:33 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 4 2009, 05:36 PM)
Just becareful about tax though since CKF Tax book (although recommended) has many differing views of both F6 & P6 examiner. You will see examiner gives answer A & he gave answer B (although both are accepted for exam standards).
Ha Ha, I think u don't know too much about CKF. He is the person like to challenge ppl even in the practice also. In the class, he told us a lot of story about how he help his client to challenge IRB ppl (don't know whether true or not la).

Btw, that's no fixed answer for P6 oso since today's P6 is more on advise client question. So student no need to worry this thing too much la.

Pooh-Bear
post Aug 5 2009, 01:26 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jun 27 2009, 11:48 PM)
Generally recommended books will be BPP & Kaplan.
However if you want direct from the source you should buy books written by Johnson & Scholes since examiner used their works heavily in P3.
Does anyone have any idea where to get this book? Thanks! smile.gif
I also noticed there are 2 versions of the book:

1) Exploring Corporate Strategy: Text only
2) Exploring Corporate Strategy: Text and cases

Does that mean the 2nd one would be better?

This post has been edited by Pooh-Bear: Aug 5 2009, 01:28 AM
jonwei
post Aug 5 2009, 06:29 PM

274 posts

anyone downloaded the STUDENT ACCOUNTANT AUGUST issue (76.3MB)? mind to attach here....so all can download it........the acca website download really slow n annoying, been downloading for whole day up to 97% then got error....zzz
karhoe
post Aug 5 2009, 07:09 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(jonwei @ Aug 5 2009, 06:29 PM)
anyone downloaded the STUDENT ACCOUNTANT AUGUST issue (76.3MB)? mind to attach here....so all can download it........the acca website download really slow n annoying, been downloading for whole day up to 97% then got error....zzz
76MB how to attach here? I tried to download it using flashget, got turtle speed sweat.gif
`twinkles
post Aug 5 2009, 08:09 PM

121 posts

Can I know how to download the student magazine??

Anyone has Low Chin Ann's lecture recording? Please Pm me if you still keep any of his F8 lectures recording. Thanks
HBK-reloaded
post Aug 5 2009, 09:23 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Pooh-Bear @ Aug 5 2009, 01:26 AM)
Does anyone have any idea where to get this book? Thanks! smile.gif
I also noticed there are 2 versions of the book:

1) Exploring Corporate Strategy: Text only
2) Exploring Corporate Strategy: Text and cases

Does that mean the 2nd one would be better?
the second is better,if u wanna related to real life case study..
but of coz,the case is too bulky..and too many case study,and not suitable for 4month course like acca..but u can juz choose the case study which one u want to refer to. i have the book(2nd one) didnt have time to go through the case study,only read during my free time..
ahpek78
post Aug 6 2009, 12:01 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(elviratkh @ Aug 4 2009, 09:28 PM)
i did not enroll during his first class but yea, they are still accepting students.  nod.gif
This post has been edited by ahpek78: Aug 6 2009, 12:02 AM
jones007
post Aug 6 2009, 01:10 PM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

hey acca ppl! wana ask which college/uni is appropriate to study acca? is segi recommended?
Topace111
post Aug 6 2009, 09:44 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Aug 6 2009, 01:10 PM)
hey acca ppl! wana ask which college/uni is appropriate to study acca? is segi recommended?
In acca, we are more concerned with the lecturer than the college itself. Its the person who teach you which is more important than the building you are going to. However if you want to familiarise with acca style first by sticking to one college then Sunway will be recommended for now.
Segi used to be quite good in teaching acca (also known as systematic) but they have diversified their business & acca becomes their "by-product". There are far better place & lecturer in other places compared to those at Segi's.
carlosandy
post Aug 6 2009, 10:19 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Aug 6 2009, 01:10 PM)
You can refer to 1st page for recommended lecturers for ACCA if you prefer to follow lecturer to study ACCA.

126 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:49 PM