90 posts

life studying at Monash really sucks like what people have thought? ==
zstan
post Nov 18 2010, 05:10 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cohenchow @ Nov 18 2010, 04:57 PM)
life studying at Monash really sucks like what people have thought? ==
to be honest, every uni you go in malaysia sure got people say it sucks, Monash & Nottingham included.
ryan18
post Nov 19 2010, 08:11 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(cohenchow @ Nov 14 2010, 08:05 PM)
You heard bout that too?
What did your friend say?
strict marking scheme not really as long as you got the main points you get the mark and also it depend on who is your lecturer.If you get a fussy lecturer, then its not your lucky day lah!
impossible assignment tasks.not really too, the lecturer will explain it really thoroughly not just pass you the assignment paper and here go do it on your own
regarding exam questions not related to lectures notes.its NO too except when the examiner feel like want to test you then it may be the case, however your lecturer will prepare you for it

And this is for Business courses so far 1st year 1st semester

Added on November 23, 2010, 8:55 pmoh yes Monash open day is 12 dec on a sunday from 10-4pm

Added on November 30, 2010, 10:52 amhi there any seniors can provide me info regarding transfer to clayton/caulfield?
i know that clayton need at least 70%,while caulfield 65%.
tried to ask at course management office but they give very little info i.e. should be compatible.
tried to email clayton/caulfield also but got very little info also.
and from this forum i read about some1 saying that some units that we take in Sunway is not the same there.
any1 mind to give some info on the units that are not same? I read Company reporting AFW 2491 is not same.then another issue Msia ts Bachelor of Business & Comm, but in Caulfield/Clayton its Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting & finance)

This post has been edited by ryan18: Nov 30 2010, 10:52 AM
evilhomura89
post Dec 2 2010, 09:32 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 18 2010, 05:10 PM)
to be honest, every uni you go in malaysia sure got people say it sucks, Monash & Nottingham included.
yes, as long as u're still in Malaysia, u'll know what to expect..it sucks tongue.gif

btw, results out, hope everyone is doing well and celebrating by now

@ryan18
i believe they do organize talk regarding transfer issue during the semester
you might wanna find out when is that and attend it
AFAIK, business students shouldn't have any problem in transferring as most are the units are the same or equivalent to the units offered in aus campus

baoz
post Dec 3 2010, 08:21 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Dec 2 2010, 09:32 PM)
btw, results out, hope everyone is doing well and celebrating by now
cry.gif

Passed everything but my WAM and CGPA just keep dropping and dropping beyond the reach of a 1st class honours or 2nd upper even. sad.gif

I'm taking a science-related course and I wonder if dropping grades is a normal thing or is it just me?

This post has been edited by baoz: Dec 3 2010, 08:24 AM
zstan
post Dec 3 2010, 09:56 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Dec 3 2010, 08:21 AM)
cry.gif

Passed everything but my WAM and CGPA just keep dropping and dropping beyond the reach of a 1st class honours or 2nd upper even. sad.gif

I'm taking a science-related course and I wonder if dropping grades is a normal thing or is it just me?
nola..normal in pharm n medical course only cry.gif
janice17
post Dec 3 2010, 09:59 AM

147 posts

cry.gif

lol it's normal that units are getting harder from one sem to another sem..
work harder for coming semesters wink.gif

This post has been edited by janice17: Dec 3 2010, 10:04 AM
evilhomura89
post Dec 3 2010, 12:19 PM

5,886 posts

cry.gif

mine fluctuates
some units can be really good, some can be quite bad

eclipsed
post Dec 4 2010, 08:30 AM

43 posts

I am going to Monash in the Feb 2011 intake and planning to do Business and Commerce. However, I have not done any accounting or economics subjects before, will it be hard to cope with the new subjects or will there be guidance and teaching from a basic level? Also, can someone recommend some accounting/economics books that I should get in preparation for the first semester?

dragonskin
post Dec 4 2010, 04:19 PM

Monash no longer offering 100% entrance scholarship?
Is this true?
ryan18
post Dec 5 2010, 12:36 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(eclipsed @ Dec 4 2010, 08:30 AM)
I am going to Monash in the Feb 2011 intake and planning to do Business and Commerce. However, I have not done any accounting or economics subjects before, will it be hard to cope with the new subjects or will there be guidance and teaching from a basic level? Also, can someone recommend some accounting/economics books that I should get in preparation for the first semester?

hi there
the accounting which is part of your compulsory subjects is a basic level unit which means it suits for people who have not studied Accounting before.
book for Accounting? you mean the textbook that we use for Accounting course or other books for Accounting.if textbook we are using Principles of Accounting & Finance from John Wiley & Sons. its green in colour
if other books i suggest you get a Form 6 level Accounting textbook
eclipsed
post Dec 5 2010, 11:55 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Dec 5 2010, 12:36 AM)
hi there
the accounting which is part of your compulsory subjects is a basic level unit which means it suits for people who have not studied Accounting before.
book for Accounting? you mean the textbook that we use for Accounting course or other books for Accounting.if textbook we are using Principles of Accounting & Finance from John Wiley & Sons. its green in colour
if other books i suggest you get a Form 6 level Accounting textbook
Thanks for your help, will get the book right away
mosquitotee
post Dec 8 2010, 12:44 AM

138 posts

hi there, im considering to take MUFY next year then continue my degree pharmacy. So i want to ask, how do i proceed to pharmacy course after MUFY? Like can i go overseas or will do it locally? And how bout the fees including my pharmacy degree? Thanks.
cxjiek
post Dec 8 2010, 01:58 AM

119 posts

Hi there. Year 1 student here. Are there any people taking an accounting major together with a minor in enterprise systems?
zstan
post Dec 8 2010, 11:25 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(mosquitotee @ Dec 8 2010, 12:44 AM)
hi there, im considering to take MUFY next year then continue my degree pharmacy. So i want to ask, how do i proceed to pharmacy course after MUFY? Like can i go overseas or will do it locally? And how bout the fees including my pharmacy degree? Thanks.
Hi, for starters you need really really good grades from your MUFY to be able to proceed to the pharm degree.you will most likely complete all 4 years in Malaysia. However you can opt to transfer to Australia for one semester if your results are good.
Course fees will be about 165k, excluding MUFY. So all in all might reach about 190k?

mosquitotee
post Dec 8 2010, 12:48 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 8 2010, 12:25 PM)
Hi, for starters you need really really good grades from your MUFY to be able to proceed to the pharm degree.you will most likely complete all 4 years in Malaysia. However you can opt to transfer to Australia for one semester if your results are good.
Course fees will be about 165k, excluding MUFY. So all in all might reach about 190k?
only good grades then only i can proceed to the pharm degree? What if i just pass all?
and i can opt to transfer to Australia for one semester if my results are good..the "good" as in very good?

This post has been edited by mosquitotee: Dec 8 2010, 01:10 PM
Hikari0307
post Dec 8 2010, 01:09 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(mosquitotee @ Dec 8 2010, 12:48 PM)
only good grades then only i can proceed to the pharm degree? What if i just pass all?
Entry into programmes like Pharmacy and Medicine are very competitive. You might as well forget it if you just get all passes. Even meeting the minimum requirements is not enough to get in because of the competition and the minimum requirement itself is above average.
zstan
post Dec 8 2010, 01:09 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(mosquitotee @ Dec 8 2010, 12:48 PM)
erm...pass is not enough to gain admission la sweat.gif

http://www.monash.edu.my/advancement/stude...gree/index.html
Hikari0307
post Dec 8 2010, 01:12 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

http://www.mufy.monash.edu.au/destination/pharmacy.html
the minimum requirement from MUFY to enter Pharmacy in both the Sunway Campus, Malaysia and Parkville, Australia is 340/400 and 70% from English and minimum 80% in MUFY Chemistry and Mathematics.

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Dec 8 2010, 01:15 PM
roxxor
post Dec 19 2010, 01:42 PM

129 posts

Hi everyone. Have a question here. Is there any chance entering monash pharmacy with SAM score of 85? The requirement stated is 90. If I appeal, would it normally be successful? Thanks.

125 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:27 PM