Apr 29 2009, 09:58 AM
9,799 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Apr 29 2009, 03:24 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Malaysia |
ok..
what about transplanting a non-turbo engine? any idea what engine to put in? can't go beyond 850cc tho..current on is only a 660. |
Apr 29 2009, 04:56 PM
275 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Kepong |
if that is the case i think u hav not much choice of NA engines to choose from...coz if u transplant back any NA 660cc engine...power gains not much...plus some NA halfcuts wont be cheap also...
choice u hav is L5 SOHC NA,L5 DOHC NA...both r 660cc...the L5 SOHC NA halfcut i think is around 1.8k like that where as L5 DOHC NA cost around 2.5k...as much as a L2 halfcut... if ur car is 850cc then its a totally diff story...can plonk in kelisa/kenari 1000cc engine... i also had the same idea as u to play NA last time...coz turbocharged maintainence is a major issue...but transplanting a NA engine wont giv u much difference and the money u spent in transplant is as much as transplanting a turbo engine...but i have seen turbocharged kancil maintainence is as much as NA kancil...as long as u keep the engine standard then there is no major issue..if u start modding the injectors n turbo then its a different issue... y not consider to plonk in L2 engine??haha... |
Apr 29 2009, 05:28 PM
I'm planning on keeping my kancil for a long long time.
Its been with me for 13-14 years already since my family got it. I Just did up the interior and body the past few months..just a little bit more left. Engine is still fine, just have problems now and then due to wear and tear from usage. Its a 660 Daihatsu engine. My intention is to reduce FC and prolong "life" for my kancil add in a little power will do. After all these years FC slowly increased..loss of power too.. Was thinking of EFi cause it has lower FC & quiet too. What about a 850cc Kelisa ED-DE? This post has been edited by JasonB: Apr 29 2009, 05:45 PM |
Apr 29 2009, 06:10 PM
haha..same here...my kancil also followed my family quite long..its a 10 year car btw...i was my bro car inherited 2 me...but my bro didnt take care of the car really well...dats y my car now got alot of problems..most of the minor problems i solve ady...
even my engine suffers from high FC n loss of power.. i too want to keep my kancil for a very long time as my bro has got himself a new car...n i love kancil alot...its small n ez to handle n most importantly its a pocket rocket capable... i wanted to source for this engine too but its quite rare even in halfcut shop...unless u r able to find a kelisa 850cc owner n he/she is willing to let go of the engine...but then u will have to go through alot of things such as wait till the owner get a new engine into his car...then he go for inspection...then u take the engine n plonk in ur car n bla bla bla... |
Apr 29 2009, 08:02 PM
3,795 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: .: Old Klang Road :. |
Apr 29 2009, 08:04 PM
ooohhh...its good to hear that ur car is back to normal now...haha...
Apr 30 2009, 03:00 PM
guys?
any of you have made/installed your own OCT? any pics to share? want to make one for my kancil. its spewing oil and vapour on my air filter.. |
May 1 2009, 08:57 PM
241 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Saitama-ken, Japan/ Penang |
QUOTE(JasonB @ Apr 30 2009, 03:00 PM) guys? I was planning to install OCT for my car actually. Haha. But its out of budget though. I guess I save up money for next time usage though.any of you have made/installed your own OCT? any pics to share? want to make one for my kancil. its spewing oil and vapour on my air filter.. |
May 1 2009, 10:48 PM
I know that ppl DIY their OCT for less than RM20 or so.
try searching it online. Want to try but not sure where the hoses are and where they go? |
May 1 2009, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(JasonB @ May 1 2009, 10:48 PM) I know that ppl DIY their OCT for less than RM20 or so. I saw some of them even use the Metal water bottle from those departmental free one comes from FOS or more. Here I paste some of the thingy about the hose.try searching it online. Want to try but not sure where the hoses are and where they go? # Brass hose connectors for PVC hoses. You'll need two 5/8" hose barbs. Mine were 1/2" threaded on the other side. # Oil level tube. To make this, you need two 3/16" hose barbs and two male to female elbows to get the barbs oriented correctly. A short length of 3/16" clear hose will allow you to see how much oil has been collected. # Heater hose. I was able to reuse the heater hose that connected my PVC to the intake. Depending on whether you reuse some of the heater hose you already have, you'll need 3 to 5 feet of heater hose. You'll need at least 3 feet of new hose to make the new connection. # Drain valve To make emptying the oil catch can easier, you'll want a drain valve. I used a 1/4" ball valve. It is offset from the bottom of the can by a 1/4" male to male pipe. I also used 3/8" hose barb to allow me to run a drain line to the underside of the bumper. A few feet of 3/8" hose is needed to make this drain. |
May 2 2009, 10:42 AM
thanks for the info.
will most prob make one rather than buying. That'll be later. cause now car engine giving more prob..power loss is tremendous. even 4ton lorry can overtake me on slopes..seriously considering a engine transplant. But a non turbo engine..if cant find a ED-DE (kelisa 850) was thinking of a ED-10 (kancil 850) manual of course. guys, any recommendations/tips/reviews for Na engines? |
May 3 2009, 12:18 PM
Guys, have anyone using 3Max Performance Bars? I was planning to get one of those soon. Trying to compare UR Bars and 3max bars. Anyone can give any comment on those bars?
Thanks. |
May 4 2009, 12:54 AM
9,799 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(JasonB @ May 1 2009, 11:48 PM) I know that ppl DIY their OCT for less than RM20 or so. less than rm8 also can~ try searching it online. Want to try but not sure where the hoses are and where they go? QUOTE(nixZorus @ May 3 2009, 01:18 PM) Guys, have anyone using 3Max Performance Bars? I was planning to get one of those soon. Trying to compare UR Bars and 3max bars. Anyone can give any comment on those bars? 3max wor~Thanks. i can get it cheaper ard rm130~ |
May 4 2009, 06:17 AM
1,896 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(JasonB @ May 2 2009, 10:42 AM) thanks for the info. Ok, here the tipswill most prob make one rather than buying. That'll be later. cause now car engine giving more prob..power loss is tremendous. even 4ton lorry can overtake me on slopes..seriously considering a engine transplant. But a non turbo engine..if cant find a ED-DE (kelisa 850) was thinking of a ED-10 (kancil 850) manual of course. guys, any recommendations/tips/reviews for Na engines? ED-DE kelisa 850, is a good upgrade option, looking for spec sheet from factory also look very promising.. yet it quite a performer even in kelisa body... try ask a few kelisarians who owns 850 model manual, most of the car are able to follow a 1.0L kelisa in top and wins 1.0L kelisa in short distance drag races... due to shorter ratio and less engine drag(no p/steering..) but putting kelisa engine in Kancil Body is quite experimental project, - engine frame is different, must use back kancil unit. - if option to use kelisa ED-DE Gearbox kelisa driveshaft are a bit longer.. while kancil are shorter..kelisa inner CV joint are only for kelisa AFAIK.. ..so have to customized kelisa driveshaft+kancil driveshaft as need to match 'teeth' on knuckle side. kelisa using shaft for gearknob.. while kancil using cable.. so must find gearknob too.. - easier option, use back ori kancil gearbox.. radiator, can have ori kancil, aircond system can have ori kancil<piping,compressor,condenser, cooling coil only, a/c wiring are from kelisa> - wiring part. have to take from a - z from the kelisa.. kelisa is fuel injected.. kancil is not.. fuel pump need wiring not mechanical like carbie - fuel tank... kancil is carb... either u swap to L2 tank(internal pump) or u can have external pump - dashboard... to make things easier, plonk in L5 dash as L5 dashboard morelikely easier to do wiring.. as kelisa Meter are direct swap to L5 dash..no need to worry to mod meter.. if u already take Kelisa wiring.. so no need to worry about the meter wiring... L5 dashboard aircond blower are 3 speed.. same like kelisa.. so it easier to match the wiring.. if needed... cooler aircond though with L5 dash.. -steering rack.. if u dashboard L5.. better take together steering rod from L5.. so nicer fit with L5 dash... find non p/s unit one.. take rod+rack .. - kelisa 850 dun have hydrolical p/steering pump.. so use back original / L5.. steering rack.. power 'lengan' ... - airfilter.. original kelisa airfilter box are cant be fitted as engine room is getting smaller. so .. have to customized nice stainless steel pipe.. for a better looking.. redirect flow from compartment that dun have hot air.. so its like a must do including power modifying process haha... ... if wanna convert 850 kancil engine.. better dont waste ur money here.. its 6 valve engine.. engine struggling for air.. even its fuel injected.. it wont save u petrol mileage..... if u want to have further upgrade then it good loh... put in 72mm piston in 850 block.. already turn the engine around 1L capacity.. he he he.. suggessted if wanna use kancil 850... 12v head + 72mm hi comp piston... but but but.. carbie are abit hard to set the idling and FC.. he he he. Added on May 4, 2009, 6:19 am QUOTE(nixZorus @ May 3 2009, 12:18 PM) Guys, have anyone using 3Max Performance Bars? I was planning to get one of those soon. Trying to compare UR Bars and 3max bars. Anyone can give any comment on those bars? UR seems more longer in market.. so the product morelikely acceptable in motoring world... otherwise the company already bungkus carpet dy..Thanks. This post has been edited by detomaso: May 4 2009, 06:19 AM |
May 5 2009, 04:14 AM
167 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Soviet Sarawak Fellow 凸(◣_◢)凸 |
hi bro.. i'm new to this car world's.. im planning to buy kancil. then i read advertisement on site. i found kancil registered 1996, convert to l2s at 2008. RM11k. is the price ok or maybe i can find another cheaper one if i go around klan valley area?
specs: kancil l2s turbo (standard) red colour moonroof full bodykit l2s interior convert to l5 13' sport rim. need suggestion from all SLK bros here thanx in advance |
May 5 2009, 06:43 AM
1,896 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(azsmartz @ May 5 2009, 04:14 AM) hi bro.. i'm new to this car world's.. im planning to buy kancil. then i read advertisement on site. i found kancil registered 1996, convert to l2s at 2008. RM11k. is the price ok or maybe i can find another cheaper one if i go around klan valley area? nice one, but take note, for easier name change inspection make sure the car u getting already get 'sun/moonroof' permission. surat pelepasan tanggungan or so what ever document regarding the roof.specs: kancil l2s turbo (standard) red colour moonroof full bodykit l2s interior convert to l5 13' sport rim. need suggestion from all SLK bros here thanx in advance |
May 5 2009, 10:17 AM
Thanks Deto for your extensive explanation.
Sounds like alot of work to transplant the ED-DE then. Deto and LYN Kancil gang! I have started restoring my old Kancil since Nov last year. The last item for me to do is the engine. I want to complete this project of mine before end of this year. So hope you guys don't mind me bugging & asking too much questions ya. Need all your opinion on this. What i want: - Improve FC. (current 12.5cents/Km, +/-) - Easy to maintain. (currently every month sure have something to fix..old car ma..) - Spare parts easily available. - Just enough power to climb Genting cukup la..heheh no need power power..kepish! (Currently with 2 ppl can only reach Gotong Jaya, engine struggling gear 3 or 2.. What i have: - Daihatsu 660 6v na (M) - RM3.5k to transplant. (if able to cut down cost better la haha..) Options: - Top overhaul. - Overhaul. - L5 660 4piston na (M) - any more ideas?? Greatly appreciate all your contributions. Thanks! Jason |
May 5 2009, 03:02 PM
311 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: P. J |
QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Apr 29 2009, 08:02 PM) Just bring my car to my mom's fren have a look, how much it costs if u dont mind me asking?found out this hose broken : everything become normal back after replaced it me also facing same prob, even in idle, RPM stay at 2000-2500rpm but i see the engine, nothing weird also, no broken hose or anything.. maybe carburetor.. anyone knows how much should i prepare if carb got prob? tqtq |
| Change to: | 0.0297sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:21 PM |