111 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

iPhone OS 3.0(OUT NOW!) + iPhone 3GS(Late July?), Apple Store Italy sells 3G[S] UNLOCKED!

TSstringfellow
post Mar 17 2009, 02:30 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

This little tidbit of info, scoured from sources still bounded by Apple's NDA, describes what's coming in OS3.0, take this with grains of salt (saltier, the better tongue.gif), these are not official until Apple's done with the event tomorrow at 0100.

1. Kevin Rose's "copy and paste" rumor, and how it works is spot on. Doubletap on the word, a magnifier comes out with quotes on both ends of the tapped word, stretch the quote around blocks of text you want to manipulate, an option window will come out for either a copy, paste or cut action on those quoted blocks of text.

2. Remember Push notification? The feature promised to come last year September and not heard of since? This one crashed and burned, ladies and gentlemen. However a lighter, alternate version of that, allows up to 3 (subject to change) apps with supported background-running features to run.

3. Home screen revamp. Gone is the generic black background Home screen, you can now use your own background image to spruce things up. Also to your discretion is the ability to organize your apps (no more swiping right for your apps on Page 8) using stacks, not unlike the fanning(or gridding if you wish) out of the items when you click your document stack on your current Mac.

No mention from these sources about MMS does not menas they are not included in tomorrow's reveal of OS3.0.

Even more wilder, are the reference back to the "next-gen" iPhone made unibody-style. Take this skeptically folks, tomorrow's event focuses around the new OS and SDK, therefore any reveal of the "new iPhone" will be minimal in chance anyway.

Don't kill/maim/brutally beat the messenger. blush.gif tongue.gif

g3n0c1d3
post Mar 17 2009, 05:59 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

my best bet is tomorrow... since US time is somehow almost a day late than us....

harmeet15
post Mar 17 2009, 11:24 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

ya bro
at one

Added on March 17, 2009, 11:37 pmall set for the big event...smile.gif

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Mar 17 2009, 11:37 PM
andyz
post Mar 17 2009, 11:55 PM

503 posts

Apple to show off new iPhone software

SEATTLE - Apple Inc. is planning to take the wraps off a new version of software for its iPhone Tuesday, and while the company — as usual — has given few hints, rumors of new features have surfaced online.

The company is holding a "sneak peek" event for journalists at its Cupertino, Calif., headquarters to introduce the third generation of the iPhone software, plus the tools programmers outside Apple use to build applications for the device.

The current iPhone model, Apple's second, launched last summer and promised faster connection to the Internet.

Shaw Wu, an analyst for Kaufman Bros., wrote in a research note last Friday that he believes the company could add speech recognition and text-to-speech functions that would make the iPhone easier to use on the go.

Wu also mentioned the possibility of a new version of Apple's Safari Web browser for the iPhone and improvements to the iTunes App Store, which sells add-on programs for the device.

Some bloggers have posted rumors that Apple will add a copy-and-paste function, fixing a common frustration among users. Others speculate the company will add multimedia messaging, which lets people snap a photo and send it just like they would a text message.

Also on the list: the ability to power a laptop's Internet connectivity by tethering it to the iPhone, and a premium store to sell $20-and-up applications.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/29735963/
davidgary73
post Mar 18 2009, 12:13 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Here are some links to keep up with the live blog feed when the events starts.

Auto refresh site:

http://live.slashgear.com/

http://arstechnica.com/apple/news/2009/03/...os-30-event.ars

Manual refresh site:

http://live.appscout.com/2009/03/apple_iph...announcemen.php

50 minutes to event starts.

Cheers

*Let's keep spam to the minimum. Thank you guys.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Mar 18 2009, 12:15 AM
rx330
post Mar 18 2009, 12:17 AM

11,808 posts

thanks david, i had kopi just now, shud be able to spam kaw kaw
chizzu
post Mar 18 2009, 12:18 AM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

some other liveblogs that i will follow smile.gif

http://live.gizmodo.com/

http://www.engadget.com/2009/03/17/live-fr...-preview-event/
davidgary73
post Mar 18 2009, 12:24 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 18 2009, 12:17 AM)
thanks david, i had kopi just now, shud be able to spam kaw kaw
Hahhaha..sure you can. Just post the right info. All are welcome to post as the event starts.

Don't say i did not warn anyone. Spams will be delete kaw kaw. So..take note.

Have fun.

40 mins to go.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Mar 18 2009, 12:29 AM
rx330
post Mar 18 2009, 12:39 AM

11,808 posts

bro, sure boh
how fast u can delte the spam, dun sekaligus kasi hapus all replies hor
ff8ong
post Mar 18 2009, 12:46 AM

2,550 posts

This time i use Engadget live image,scare later Macrumors kena hack like last time.
davidgary73
post Mar 18 2009, 12:47 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@rx330

Pretty fast i must say..

Alrite. Door has open and they are seated. Apple Logo on screen and playing Coldplay songs.

10 more minutes to go.

Post them news when it's up..

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Mar 18 2009, 01:00 AM
davidgary73
post Mar 18 2009, 01:12 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Nope..nothing to delete ..only yours..hahahha. Sorry ah.

Everyone can post but no one is posting. Maybe all prefer to watch the live blog.
chizzu
post Mar 18 2009, 01:13 AM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

well, i guess its all about a new API for iphone OS 3.0 and no firmware release yet? tongue.gif
harmeet15
post Mar 18 2009, 01:14 AM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

thr are no major updates so far...
just talking abt stats n sdk
chizzu
post Mar 18 2009, 01:17 AM

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

SDK is important for developers. usually when you announce on OS update, the major interest is placed on the developers. if these developers never get a taste of the OS beforehand how they are going to make new apps? tongue.gif no new apps means no revenue for apple tongue.gif
davidgary73
post Mar 18 2009, 01:17 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Now: Peer to Peer connectivity.

Phone 3.0 now has a standard system for finding other devices in the same area - no WiFi network needed.

Automatic discovery performed over Bluetooth.

No pairing.
rx330
post Mar 18 2009, 01:18 AM

11,808 posts

ipod touch got bluetooth built in?
selinix
post Mar 18 2009, 01:19 AM

7,343 posts

Now Iphone users can game together !
chizzu

ブラック★ロックチューター BEAST
1,357 posts

LAN Gaming on iphone anyone? tongue.gif
wow. hardware based api.
SUSMike3300

6,866 posts

This time they're making more money off customers, you have to buy more level or more stages for games apps and you'll have to buy for more info guides on different countries or cities on certain apps.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Mar 18 2009, 01:20 AM

111 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:22 AM