111 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

iPhone OS 3.0(OUT NOW!) + iPhone 3GS(Late July?), Apple Store Italy sells 3G[S] UNLOCKED!

SUSMike3300
post Mar 14 2009, 02:44 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(cyhing @ Mar 13 2009, 01:48 PM)
anyone know what is the changelog for OS3.0  smile.gif
God knows, lol. We will know on March 17th, it's the reason why Apple is having this event for anyway. To make changes and improvement to the iPhone OS.

Not a problem, stringfellow.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Mar 14 2009, 02:50 AM
rx330
post Mar 14 2009, 09:04 AM

11,808 posts

another sleepless wednesday morning biggrin.gif
andyz
post Mar 14 2009, 09:11 AM

503 posts

maybe this is why singtel is sending all their iphones to maxis...to clear stock.. as where got singaporean so good to us...

Rumours: free iPhone from O2 this summer

The rumormill has been churning away about a new iPhone this summer. UK iPhone carrier O2 may even offer the iPhone 3G for free in May in order to clear out inventory before new models arrive in June or July. As we get closer to the summer, we’re getting closer to the one-year anniversary of the iPhone 3G. We’ve heard some rumblings of a new iPhone landing this summer, with “evidence” mounting as each week passes. One rumor that appeared this week comes from Mobile Today, which is reporting that O2 may cut iPhone 3G prices in May before the launch of a new model.

Austrian iPhone carrier T-Mobile dropped its iPhone prices in January, perhaps to get rid of inventory, so a similar move by O2 is entirely plausible. Currently, the 16GB iPhone is available for free to customers paying £75 per month, and the 8GB model is free to customers paying £45 per month or more. The rumor suggests that the iPhone 3G (probably the 8GB model) will become free for users paying £35 per month as well. At that price, I’m sure O2 would move a few extra units. Mobile Today also says that O2 competitor Orange may also want to sell the next iPhone in the UK, but it’s unclear exactly what the next iteration or iterations of the iPhone will look like. It’s possible that we’ll hear more hints about upcoming iPhones at the iPhone OS 3.0 event next Tuesday, but given Apple’s love of secrecy, I wouldn’t exactly count on it.

http://www.mobiletoday.co.uk/O2_lowers_iPh...ew_handset.html

O2 drops price on 3G iPhone ahead of new Apple device this summer

[O2 drops price on 3G iPhone ahead of new Apple device this summer]

Stocks cleared as new Apple iPhone set for July release

O2 is poised to tweak prices on the 3G iPhone in May, ahead of what is believed to be a new Apple mobile phone in June or, most likely, July, Mobile can exclusively reveal.

The 3G iPhone (pictured) will be free on its £35 and £45 per month tariffs from May. The 16GB version is currently only free on the £75 per month contract, while the 8GB handset is free only on the £75 and £45 per month deals.

Customers currently spend between £59 and £159 for an iPhone on the £35 and £45 monthly tariffs.

O2 is believed to be keen to clear its inventory of the 3G iPhones ahead of the new device.

Details of the new Apple handset planned for June or July are not known, but there has been considerable speculation that it will be a mid-range ‘Nano-style’ device, which will be cheaper by compromising either on memory, camera or screen size.

Sources claim Orange is in talks with Apple to make its next mobile phone available on the Orange network as well as O2 in the UK.

O2 has notched up one million iPhone sales in the UK, and previously stated that its deal with Apple is ‘multi year and multi device’. The operator has exclusively stocked the original 2G iPhone and the more recent 3G iPhone.

Orange currently sells the iPhone in 27 countries, including France. The network clashed in the French courts over its exclusivity, which was opposed on the grounds of being anti-competitive, and is still being challenged.

This post has been edited by andyz: Mar 14 2009, 09:17 AM
moyl_finuda
post Mar 14 2009, 10:47 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 13 2009, 12:00 PM)
kekekke, and i just make my booking at maxis tongue.gif
lol, going to book mine today with maxis oso.....after thinking for a while, can't get ahead of tech d la now, when u buy something, 1 month later new one come out, how? hmm.gif

anyways its always been cat and mouse game between maxis n dev team, n its matter of time anybody will come out with something to c***k anything nowadays sweat.gif

allornothing
post Mar 14 2009, 12:24 PM

Melancholic //
926 posts

Next-gen iPhone!

It's no secret that the the companies themselves expect a new iPhone coming as much as us consumers. Reducing prices and giving out free hardware is already a good indication. Those who still deny it, know that Apple is different from other companies. Get yourselves familiar with their pattern. With the success of the 3G model, this time the new model's leap, technologically will be much greater than the previous one.

leonloke
post Mar 14 2009, 12:30 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(moyl_finuda @ Mar 14 2009, 10:47 AM)
lol, going to book mine today with maxis oso.....after thinking for a while, can't get ahead of tech d la now, when u buy something, 1 month later new one come out, how?  hmm.gif

anyways its always been cat and mouse game between maxis n dev team, n its matter of time anybody will come out with something to c***k anything nowadays  sweat.gif
Agree with you. If you think you like the current Iphone 3G....just go ahead and make your purchase. I'm thinking of getting another one for my wife.
moyl_finuda
post Mar 14 2009, 02:46 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(leonloke @ Mar 14 2009, 12:30 PM)
Agree with you. If you think you like the current Iphone 3G....just go ahead and make your purchase. I'm thinking of getting another one for my wife.
lol, feel good somebody agree, neways if the new model got video call, or ichat, with my previous 2 phones that got video call, i dun like, coz expensive n slow, n no point looking at the other party's face, jst by sound faster, wat i think la, hehe tongue.gif

looking forward to the rumoured mms n bluetooth feature very much though drool.gif
deepan84
post Mar 14 2009, 03:06 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

what if there is minimal hardware update..mayb more to software oni..dat'll leave all those maxis iphone 3g buyers happy..haha.. neway i doubt bluetooth will come.
TSstringfellow
post Mar 14 2009, 04:07 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(moyl_finuda @ Mar 14 2009, 02:46 PM)
lol, feel good somebody agree, neways if the new model got video call, or ichat, with my previous 2 phones that got video call, i dun like, coz expensive n slow, n no point looking at the other party's face, jst by sound faster, wat i think la, hehe tongue.gif

looking forward to the rumoured mms n bluetooth feature very much though  drool.gif
Another guy with the old "my previous phones" mentality. Apple does things differently. This is evident from the way the approach firmware upgrades, application development and yearly product cycles. You have to shed this "Nokia/SE" mentality, and the experience tied to using these kinds of phone, what Apple is going to do, will, and has always been, evolutionary. They do not follow everyone else (sometimes to my own anger...where's my Blu-ray drive, Steve!), they do it their way. And most of the time, it BREAKS the mold of what people usually associate it with their previous experiences.

Video conference calls , even on iChat has changed many ways people converse with each other. Unless you've used iChat and its multi-client conference feature, you wont get what I mean. iChat on iPhone would definitely be a killer app, not to mention killing the bandwidth as well. It will not be slow(like your previous experiences with your other 2 phones), otherwise Apple would definitely not add it in, if it is not worthwhile.

Your "previous 2 phones" probably has VGA resolution cameras with pathetic processing power to begin with, resulting in that "slow" experience, but what if Apple adds the same resolution camera as its front-facing camera for its iChat? All these while other cellphone manufacturers stuck to the tried-and-true formula, and not willing to step up and change the way things are done. How long have we had VGA resolution front-facing cameras? How long, and still is, has the cellphone manufacturers has STUCK themselves with physical buttons until the iPhone comes along, and FORCES a change in perception on virtual keypads? The same paradigm shift will happen again once Apple decides the next new features of the next-gen iPhones.

I can dream, and those are my wishlist. But as wishful as it is, I dont see it as being impossible. If I told you in the year 2005 that virtual keypads will move to replace physical buttons, and buttonless phones will be popular, you'd probably laugh back in my face. Look where we are now, with the iPhone.
moyl_finuda
post Mar 14 2009, 09:20 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 14 2009, 04:07 PM)
Another guy with the old "my previous phones" mentality. Apple does things differently. This is evident from the way the approach firmware upgrades, application development and yearly product cycles. You have to shed this "Nokia/SE" mentality, and the experience tied to using these kinds of phone, what Apple is going to do, will, and has always been, evolutionary. They do not follow everyone else (sometimes to my own anger...where's my Blu-ray drive, Steve!), they do it their way. And most of the time, it BREAKS the mold of what people usually associate it with their previous experiences.

Video conference calls , even on iChat has changed many ways people converse with each other. Unless you've used iChat and its multi-client conference feature, you wont get what I mean. iChat on iPhone would definitely be a killer app, not to mention killing the bandwidth as well. It will not be slow(like your previous experiences with your other 2 phones), otherwise Apple would definitely not add it in, if it is not worthwhile.

Your "previous 2 phones" probably has VGA resolution cameras with pathetic processing power to begin with, resulting in that "slow" experience, but what if Apple adds the same resolution camera as its front-facing camera for its iChat? All these while other cellphone manufacturers stuck to the tried-and-true formula, and not willing to step up and change the way things are done. How long have we had VGA resolution front-facing cameras? How long, and still is, has the cellphone manufacturers has STUCK themselves with physical buttons until the iPhone comes along, and FORCES a change in perception on virtual keypads? The same paradigm shift will happen again once Apple decides the next new features of the next-gen iPhones.

I can dream, and those are my wishlist. But as wishful as it is, I dont see it as being impossible. If I told you in the year 2005 that virtual keypads will move to replace physical buttons, and buttonless phones will be popular, you'd probably laugh back in my face. Look where we are now, with the iPhone.
lol, no matter what it is, i stated that i dun like to use video calls neways, n i think its faster no matter wat, if u jst use voice, even if apple ichat on iphone is revolutionary, will it be as cheap as voice call? and what is the frequency of u using it? every call that u make ur going to use ichat?

diff ppl diff opinion, i got nothing against apple, i like apple, i just wanna share that my experience with video calls are bad, i didn't say ichat is going to be bad as well, i just dun use it.

but what if Apple adds the same resolution camera as its front-facing camera for its iChat?...what if, neways wish you the best on ur wishlist, hope apple will grand it smile.gif

gyver
post Mar 14 2009, 11:51 PM

1,067 posts

I was really upset to find out that A2DP support was not available on my new Iphone 3G. I was trying to pair my Calypso SP to my Iphone for nearly 15 minutes, when I finally gave up and google for some information about bluetooth headset. Then I found this article here...

http://www.a2dp.info/Front-Page/A2DP-Why-D...-in-iPhone.html

One of the comments explain it all...

I have an iPhone and spent hours on the phone with Apple support whenI fisrt bought it. I couldn't believe it didn't have A2DP. Most of their support staff didn't even realize it. However, I finally got transferred to a guy who knew what he was doing and he said it was his opinion that they left out A2DP support because of DRM (digital rights management). He said that when audio files are streamed through A2DP, the DRM is stripped and the file can be captured without DRM. That would mean that the music Apple wants to sell you, you could get from your friend for free without the DRM on it. Now that Apple is dropping DRM from all iTunes songs, it wouldn't surprise me to see them add A2DP support to an upcoming iPhone software update.

So hopefully with this new firmware update, we will get our A2DP among other things such as copy and paste. Finger crossing... biggrin.gif
andyz
post Mar 16 2009, 10:34 AM

503 posts

Kevin Rose On iPhone 3.0: Cut/Paste, Features Equal Palm Pre
By Jack Loftus, 12:44 PM on Sun Mar 15 2009, 62,209 views

Digg's Kevin Rose is again peddling his Apple rumors, this time in regards to the upcoming 3.0 preview scheduled for this Tuesday. He was dead on last time around—can he do it again?

Now the good stuff. We've had two separate tipsters ping us with the rumors today, which Rose talked about last night during the live Diggnation show at SXSW in Austin.

The breakdown of unconfirmed rumors goes like this:

- Cut and paste in 3.0
- Users magnify or double tap a word to bring up cut and paste
- Pinch "boundaries" to select word(s); Rose called them "copy boundaries"
- Then you get option to cut, paste or copy

Also, the 3.0 update will have enough new features and additions to bring it up to the Palm Pre levels. Whatever Palm Pre has shown us so far, apparently, the iPhone will have too when 3.0 becomes official. That point remains a bit hazy right now, so anyone who was at Diggnation last night who can help elaborate a bit more would be awesome in my book.

Lastly, there will NOT be video, nor will there be MMS. Boo. This last point seems to contradict BGR's MMS rumor from the other day. [Thanks, Kyle and Abdul!]

http://i.gizmodo.com/5170262/kevin-rose-di...-equal-palm-pre

This post has been edited by andyz: Mar 16 2009, 10:34 AM
allvin
post Mar 16 2009, 11:49 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(andyz @ Mar 16 2009, 10:34 AM)
Kevin Rose On iPhone 3.0: Cut/Paste, Features Equal Palm Pre
By Jack Loftus, 12:44 PM on Sun Mar 15 2009, 62,209 views

Digg's Kevin Rose is again peddling his Apple rumors, this time in regards to the upcoming 3.0 preview scheduled for this Tuesday. He was dead on last time around—can he do it again?

Now the good stuff. We've had two separate tipsters ping us with the rumors today, which Rose talked about last night during the live Diggnation show at SXSW in Austin.

The breakdown of unconfirmed rumors goes like this:

- Cut and paste in 3.0
    - Users magnify or double tap a word to bring up cut and paste
    - Pinch "boundaries" to select word(s); Rose called them "copy boundaries"
    - Then you get option to cut, paste or copy

Also, the 3.0 update will have enough new features and additions to bring it up to the Palm Pre levels. Whatever Palm Pre has shown us so far, apparently, the iPhone will have too when 3.0 becomes official. That point remains a bit hazy right now, so anyone who was at Diggnation last night who can help elaborate a bit more would be awesome in my book.

Lastly, there will NOT be video, nor will there be MMS. Boo. This last point seems to contradict BGR's MMS rumor from the other day. [Thanks, Kyle and Abdul!]
http://i.gizmodo.com/5170262/kevin-rose-di...-equal-palm-pre
here's the video --> http://www.engadget.com/2009/03/15/iphone-...tures-but-no-b/

everyone keep 'BOO' when kevin say NO VIDEO.. biggrin.gif He said it is due to some 'technical' issue.. sweat.gif
g3n0c1d3
post Mar 16 2009, 02:29 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

1 day till D-day folks.... keep ur finger and toe crossed...
nokia2003
post Mar 16 2009, 02:33 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Mar 16 2009, 02:29 PM)
1 day till D-day folks.... keep ur finger and toe crossed...
oh yeah! this will also determine if i'm moving over from virgin (har dee har har tongue.gif ) to optus. i know that it makes not much difference as virgin is technically using optus infrastructures and will therefore offer iphones as well.

but i reckon if i'm with optus, then my chances of getting the latest third generation iphone is even higher (psychological la!!!)

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Mar 16 2009, 02:36 PM
rx330
post Mar 16 2009, 02:35 PM

11,808 posts

wat do i really wan to see on the iphone 3.0... hmmmm
no idea... man... according to my usage, seems ok for me currently
although last satruday, it hang twice....
g3n0c1d3
post Mar 16 2009, 03:05 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 16 2009, 02:35 PM)
wat do i really wan to see on the iphone 3.0... hmmmm
no idea... man... according to my usage, seems ok for me currently
although last satruday, it hang twice....
hang? thts kindda normal laa mr. rx330... it'll hang a couple of times... but all good for now...

rx330
post Mar 16 2009, 03:28 PM

11,808 posts

long time no hang liao
last saturday, hang at the calling area, kenot get out to home page
kyon22
post Mar 16 2009, 05:41 PM

141 posts

like that I better pull off my iphone purchase this month..
SUSMike3300
post Mar 16 2009, 07:41 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(kyon22 @ Mar 16 2009, 05:41 PM)
like that I better pull off my iphone purchase this month..
You can still update your firmware even you own the first generation iPhone, there's nothing to be worry about. It's not like different firmware version for different generation iPhone. Every generation of iPhone runs the same version of iPhone OS, it's just the build version is different.

111 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:07 AM