|| The Official Thread for iPhone 3G Malaysia ||, Officially available by Maxis (Unlocked)
jep
Mar 20 2009, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(teikwing @ Mar 20 2009, 05:24 PM) no free calls and SMS between main iValue & all other Family Plus supp lines. but supp lines and supp lines can still enjoy free calls & SMS between them. So in a way it cost more if you're bf & gf in this ivalue + family plan eh...hmmm
TSteikwing
Mar 20 2009, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(jep @ Mar 20 2009, 05:28 PM) So in a way it cost more if you're bf & gf in this ivalue + family plan eh...hmmm yes. that's why i'm sticking to my VP50 + Family Plus 50 rather than registering with the iValue plan, based on my monthly calls & SMS usage. i don't see myself utilizing that much of data per month. and most of my calls made are to my Family Plus supp line, plus most of my usage are on SMSes. @string: do update us on what happened there. photos would be great. appreciate it. This post has been edited by teikwing: Mar 20 2009, 05:39 PM
bearbearhong
Mar 20 2009, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(teikwing @ Mar 20 2009, 05:38 PM) yes. that's why i'm sticking to my VP50 + Family Plus 50 rather than registering with the iValue plan, based on my monthly calls & SMS usage. i don't see myself utilizing that much of data per month. and most of my calls made are to my Family Plus supp line, plus most of my usage are on SMSes. @string: do update us on what happened there. photos would be great. appreciate it.  same here, currently under VP80+FP50, so cant shift to any of ivalue plan, or else sure will grab one white iphone this evening
yewjin
Mar 20 2009, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Mar 20 2009, 05:52 PM) same here, currently under VP80+FP50, so cant shift to any of ivalue plan, or else sure will grab one white iphone this evening  Well that is the disadvantage of iValue plan but my family plan (calls to my supp lines) doesn't come up to that much either. My other calls are huge - average RM200 a month so iValue would be good for heavy users. Question : What if I take the iValue 155 and my local calls are RM55 but my international calls are RM100. Am I charged RM155 or RM155 + International calls. I call overseas a lot!
vui_msia
Mar 20 2009, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(yewjin @ Mar 20 2009, 05:55 PM) Well that is the disadvantage of iValue plan but my family plan (calls to my supp lines) doesn't come up to that much either. My other calls are huge - average RM200 a month so iValue would be good for heavy users. Question : What if I take the iValue 155 and my local calls are RM55 but my international calls are RM100. Am I charged RM155 or RM155 + International calls. I call overseas a lot! Ivalue really targat on iphone personal usage ONLY. no sms, no free calls between family & members... worse case in... average usage in Local Calls (RM50) and LOW usage for 3g Data (500MB, guess just download some apps and surf during weekend ) This post has been edited by vui_msia: Mar 20 2009, 06:00 PM
yewjin
Mar 20 2009, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(vui_msia @ Mar 20 2009, 05:57 PM) Ivalue really targat on iphone personal usage ONLY. no sms, no free calls between family & members...  damn you are right and if use international call - need to top up. E.g. ivalue plan + sms + mms + roaming charges + international calls - wah lau.. not so good ler.. What is included in the bundled talk time of an i-Value plan? The bundled talk time includes only domestic calls (on-net & off-net). Hence, it excludes Video Calls, IDD, International Roaming, Value Extras subscriptions, SMS, Downloads and other subscription-based services.
TSteikwing
Mar 20 2009, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(vui_msia @ Mar 20 2009, 05:57 PM) Ivalue really targat on iphone personal usage ONLY. no sms, no free calls between family & members... worse case in... average usage in Local Calls (RM50) and LOW usage for 3g Data (500MB, guess just download some apps and surf during weekend )  QUOTE(yewjin @ Mar 20 2009, 06:01 PM) damn you are right and if use international call - need to top up. E.g. ivalue plan + sms + mms + roaming charges + international calls - wah lau.. not so good ler.. What is included in the bundled talk time of an i-Value plan? The bundled talk time includes only domestic calls (on-net & off-net). Hence, it excludes Video Calls, IDD, International Roaming, Value Extras subscriptions, SMS, Downloads and other subscription-based services. agreed with both statements. so the only reason reason to go for iValue is when you're a moderate data user, calls are mostly domestic, low SMS usage, does not bother about Family Plus free calls/SMS & looking for local warranty for your iPhone 3G.
TSteikwing
Mar 20 2009, 06:15 PM
@yewjin: there's another thread solely for the launch discussions. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/971137
vui_msia
Mar 20 2009, 07:59 PM
I think i am still better of getting iPhone. under iValue100 x 12 mths. Claimable RM100 phone bills (Monthly) + RM800 for phone (once a year)  So, overall 16GB costs me RM1500 ..
jep
Mar 20 2009, 11:26 PM
Let's just wait for the first month to go by and get feedbacks from the users on the billing + charges and stuff
SothysSaleShop
Mar 21 2009, 11:09 AM

Not sure where to post this, I have a question,
Has anyone confirmed if the maxis iphone 3G units are locked or unlocked units?
prasys
Mar 21 2009, 11:10 AM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(SothysSaleShop @ Mar 21 2009, 11:09 AM) Not sure where to post this, I have a question, Has anyone confirmed if the maxis iphone 3G units are locked or unlocked units? Thanks Its an unlocked unit. Works with any other telecos as well
SUSFeeD
Mar 21 2009, 11:40 AM
BTW I dont really understand the plan.. http://www.maxis.com.my/iphone/rateplan1.asplet's say if i got for ivalue1 have to pay rm1900+200(advance payment)+(100x12month) ??? This post has been edited by FeeD: Mar 21 2009, 11:40 AM
harmeet15
Mar 21 2009, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(FeeD @ Mar 21 2009, 11:40 AM) BTW I dont really understand the plan.. http://www.maxis.com.my/iphone/rateplan1.asplet's say if i got for ivalue1 have to pay rm1900+200(advance payment)+(100x12month) ??? very simple bro... lets say u want i3g 8gb with 100 commitment so, on da registration day, u pay rm1900 for the phone plus rm 200 advance payment. this 200 wud be refunded back 2 u in da next few months via rebates in ur bills. on top of tat, u'll pay 100 permonth for the next yr...not tat complicated...
arshad
Mar 21 2009, 12:10 PM
Can I go buy directly or need to book? If I book today, how long does it take to get the Iphone?
harmeet15
Mar 21 2009, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(arshad @ Mar 21 2009, 12:10 PM) Can I go buy directly or need to book? If I book today, how long does it take to get the Iphone?  Well. It's just depending on which date u n maxis agree on for the collection. From wat I noe, just head on to maxis website. Click on book now n select the date time n location n u shud be able to collect it. Not a hassle.
audiocool
Mar 21 2009, 02:28 PM
found out from apple website http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1937 , our Maxis Part number is exactly same with Singapore set which are: MB489ZA/A MB496ZA/A MB500ZA/A
harmeet15
Mar 21 2009, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(mightyguy1970 @ Mar 21 2009, 03:33 PM) Just found out from a friend who was invited to the launch. Apparently, Maxis is committed to 250,000 units for a year, so they need to sell at least 20,000 Iphones a month. Hope this is true and we shall be seeing more aggressive promotion soon. it is true... however da acctual num is not confirmed ranging from 150k to 200k Added on March 21, 2009, 3:55 pmQUOTE(audiocool @ Mar 21 2009, 02:28 PM) found out from apple website http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1937 , our Maxis Part number is exactly same with Singapore set which are: MB489ZA/A MB496ZA/A MB500ZA/A i'll confirm tat... the part num on da box is one of da above... This post has been edited by harmeet15: Mar 21 2009, 03:55 PM
TSteikwing
Mar 21 2009, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(audiocool @ Mar 21 2009, 02:28 PM) found out from apple website http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1937 , our Maxis Part number is exactly same with Singapore set which are: MB489ZA/A MB496ZA/A MB500ZA/A » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Mar 20 2009, 01:21 AM) oh well, nothing new about the iPhone camera anyway i.e. macro-ly they suck...   that is weird. it's different from what nokia has posted (MB504ZA/A). This post has been edited by teikwing: Mar 21 2009, 03:55 PM
stringfellow
Mar 21 2009, 06:11 PM
I'm surprised nobody brought this up.
Inserting a Maxis sim card, according to observation made by Harmeet, resulted in the inability to edit or access the wireless network setting and/or APN setting. It just disappears. Inserting other simcard made this window reappear back again, and being able to edit them back again. I guess Maxis went automatic with the 3G setting for their phones.
As long as they dont totally shut out other telco settings, it should be fine. Otherwise, you'd have to follow how the NZer did it when their got their Voda-based iPhones.