|| The Official Thread for iPhone 3G Malaysia ||, Officially available by Maxis (Unlocked)

harmeet15
post Mar 12 2009, 02:43 AM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

away for a day from comp and i miss the most happening news til date, well for some of u guys...tongue.gif
was laughing when read...be the among the first to own an iphone....
buts its, better late than never....smile.gif
its a good news for many malaysians, but some of here can just wait till july n hope maxis 2 launch da next, mucg awaited phone on time n not a yr late...tongue.gif

and off topic,
@ff8ong,
gd luck for results 2molo

harmeet15
post Mar 21 2009, 12:01 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(FeeD @ Mar 21 2009, 11:40 AM)
BTW I dont really understand the plan..

http://www.maxis.com.my/iphone/rateplan1.asp

let's say if i got for ivalue1

have to pay rm1900+200(advance payment)+(100x12month) ???
very simple bro...

lets say u want i3g 8gb with 100 commitment
so, on da registration day, u pay rm1900 for the phone plus rm 200 advance payment. this 200 wud be refunded back 2 u in da next few months via rebates in ur bills.

on top of tat, u'll pay 100 permonth for the next yr...not tat complicated...
harmeet15
post Mar 21 2009, 12:51 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Mar 21 2009, 12:10 PM)
Can I go buy directly or need to book? If I book today, how long does it take to get the Iphone? biggrin.gif
Well. It's just depending on which date u n maxis agree on for the collection.
From wat I noe, just head on to maxis website. Click on book now n select the date time n location n u shud be able to collect it. Not a hassle. smile.gif
harmeet15
post Mar 21 2009, 03:49 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(mightyguy1970 @ Mar 21 2009, 03:33 PM)
Just found out from a friend who was invited to the launch. Apparently, Maxis is committed to 250,000 units for a year, so they need to sell at least 20,000 Iphones a month. Hope this is true and we shall be seeing more aggressive promotion soon.
it is true...
however da acctual num is not confirmed
ranging from 150k to 200k

Added on March 21, 2009, 3:55 pm
QUOTE(audiocool @ Mar 21 2009, 02:28 PM)
found out from apple website
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1937 , our Maxis Part number is exactly same with Singapore set which are:
MB489ZA/A
MB496ZA/A
MB500ZA/A
i'll confirm tat...
the part num on da box is one of da above...

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Mar 21 2009, 03:55 PM
harmeet15
post Mar 21 2009, 06:22 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 21 2009, 06:11 PM)
I'm surprised nobody brought this up.

Inserting a Maxis sim card, according to observation made by Harmeet, resulted in the inability to edit or access the wireless network setting and/or APN setting. It just disappears. Inserting other simcard made this window reappear back again, and being able to edit them back again. I guess Maxis went automatic with the 3G setting for their phones.

As long as they dont totally shut out other telco settings, it should be fine. Otherwise, you'd have to follow how the NZer did it when their got their Voda-based iPhones.
ya bro...
i tested it properly
da apn settings appear on da digi card but on maxis da settings r not thr but 3g working fine...smile.gif

those who r on this no settings on maxis, they r on version 3.1 for the carrier....
the rest of us r at 2.9

harmeet15
post Mar 21 2009, 06:39 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Mar 21 2009, 06:35 PM)
MMm .... I think the APN setting can be enable back by tweaking the carrier bundles? It's been a long time since i godek2 those settings but there are lots of option you can specify in the carrier bundles.
bro, i posted a query here
can u take a look?
harmeet15
post Mar 23 2009, 01:53 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(jenN @ Mar 23 2009, 01:22 PM)
I called Maxis today to enquire about the Penalty fee for iValue plans.

They told me it's :

monthly commitment * remaining months * advance penalty
And I was told that I could only know about the advance penalty only after i suscribe to iValue plans  doh.gif
Can anyone confirm with me the exact Penalty charges? For iValue Plans and also Value Plus Plans..
Thanks a lot  tongue.gif

iPhone 3G – Value Plus Plans (6 months contract)
Only RM100 penalty will be imposed for this plan in the event a customer
decides to terminate the 6 months commitment before its expiry.

harmeet15
post Mar 29 2009, 01:07 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(nicholas88 @ Mar 28 2009, 11:21 AM)
Wow.. that's very very expensive.

I thought iPhone 3G only cost around RM 2,000.
act bro..if u look at it, u r paying arnd 2k for the phone...
da rest is ur usage.
lets say, im a maxis subscriber
i pay 150 monthly...
i plan to get i3g..so i go n sign up n pay da amnt...n still continue paying monthly 150...
wat diff does it make...u get urself a cheap i3g...
many ppl may oppose me, but i tink its ok...provided u noe u will use da line for one yr or two...smile.gif
im with maxis for more than 10yrs.... tongue.gif
harmeet15
post Mar 29 2009, 08:27 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(phsoon @ Mar 29 2009, 08:29 AM)
Do anyone know that Maxis Official unlocked iphone 3g are pre-configured with Maxis APN? Mean when you change to other telco, you cannot change APN(Access Point Name). so you cannot use internet services.
QUOTE(zer0hour @ Mar 29 2009, 04:25 PM)
Someone mentioned this in an earlier thread somewhere. IIRC, Maxis Iphones are preconfigured with Maxis APN. However, when you insert other telcos simcard the APN settings page reappears and you can configure your telco's settings.
i'll like to confirm da latter...
i tested it myself...
with maxis u cant change edit da apn as they alredi preconfigured 2 maxis...but with other sim cards u can

harmeet15
post Apr 5 2009, 02:43 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(Da_Shiang @ Apr 5 2009, 02:09 PM)
sorry, i kinda blur after reading so much.

let say if i wanted to get i3g on iValue 1 on the 24 months contract and myself is a Maxis postpaid user that used for a year plus.

So, how much do i need to pay upon collecting the i3g 8Gb?
Is it RM1510 only?
its simple bro...
Monthly commitment rm100
iPhone 3G price rm1510
Advance payment rm400

so, on da day u want 2 get ur phone, u hv 2 pay rm1510+400= 1910
the 400 wud be refunded 2 u back in da next 5 months
get it?
harmeet15
post May 18 2009, 10:22 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ May 18 2009, 06:49 PM)
FYI, I don't chase my gadgets. In retrospect, this iPhone has been the longest phone I've held onto in my history of using a cellphone, since last year July.

The fact is, there are a majority of us here that has gone through and make full use of our iPhones, and are more than ready for the next transition. The gripe I personally have are the whines and complaints from late adopters that either disbelief, refuse to believe, or even ridicule the notion of an impending new iPhone launch, just because they just got their Maxis iPhones recently. These are the annoyance. I sincerely hope you are not part of these annoyance, and seeing your reasonings, I know it is not the case.

Reward goes to the enlightened and the hardworking. Lust and wantings almost always leads to remorse and regrets later.
totally agree with u bro..
i used to change phones every 3-4 months..or at least i wud get the most out of it within a couple of weeks...
then came along iphone...after using tis phone..my eyes saw no other phone n my heart no longer pushed me to change to a new hp...
im lucky i got iphone arnd apple's initial release n wud be strictly following da product cycle n grab on the chance to upgrade when i can...
i agree thr are ppl who buy a phone and plan 2 stick with it for few years b4 the next change...tat is totally cool n understandable... but those who buy the iphone following the maxis launch n argue tat how can apple launch a new iphone when u just bought one, well u need 2 wake up n start reading n researching....

harmeet15
post Jun 1 2009, 09:19 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(frega @ Jun 1 2009, 08:22 AM)
im not really getting the "plans". what does it mean iPhone price rm260, you pay 2000, you save whatever...
it really simple.
the iphone which is rm260 is da 16gb rite...and u r going for a 24 months contract...
da rrp of iphone is 2960...u r paying rm2260, but in tat, rm2000 wud be returned to u in terms of ur talktime...
so u wud be paying only rm260...

u r paying alot at one go, but just tink of it like ur monthly commitment fees paid in one go...smile.gif
harmeet15
post Jun 1 2009, 06:34 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(frega @ Jun 1 2009, 06:20 PM)
so um, i pay rm2000 over 5 months* and rm260 upfront? which gives me a 2 year contract with maxis? and over that 2 years i get rm2000 worth of talktime/data transfer?

*said so in the picture
u dun pay rm 200o over five months...
maxis rebates it 2 ur acc over 5 months...meaning for few months, a certain amt wud be deducted from ur bill
why are u guys making life so hard...
its a simple out n out clear plan... rclxub.gif
harmeet15
post Jun 1 2009, 10:17 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(frega @ Jun 1 2009, 06:45 PM)
well its not really clear, it doesnt has the word "rebate as talktime/data for the first 5 months" does it now

so how does the 24 month plan come in? i have to stick with maxis and pay rm100 monthly for 2 years?
24 month contract is a commitment...
like tis...u walk in 2 maxis store...sign up for a 24 month i value 2..
u wud be paying rm 1260 for the phone itself..
u hv 2 add rm620 prepayment...
so, now u hv 2 pay rm1880 on da day of ur purchase
in tis situation...u wudnt hv pay ur bill for the next five months
then after five months, u'll continue paying rm155 for the remaining period...
get it
harmeet15
post Jun 10 2009, 10:52 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jun 10 2009, 06:18 PM)
Then the Big Ads regarding "get up to Rm1050 rebate for your old iphone" never happened?
thr is a possibility that maxis was told before hand abt i3gS and hence tis rebate might as well include i3g in july?
never noe rite...

0.0325sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:32 PM