|| The Official Thread for iPhone 3G Malaysia ||, Officially available by Maxis (Unlocked)

yewjin
post Mar 19 2009, 12:43 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Mar 19 2009, 10:39 AM)
If only the package is a little bit more interesting..i don't mind forking out a  little bit for the local Iphone..i'm on a VP50..and hardly max it out...probably will wait if there's a change in the plan in the near future...probably will check it out too at the launch..
Here is how I look at it. I am currently on a VP100 (I think) but being in corporate, my bills come up to about RM200 ++ a month. And that is without data usage. With the unlimited data usage will cost an additional RM99 per month which makes it RM300 a month usage if one is on the non maxis iphone.

The point that I want to make is that if you were to buy a non-maxis iphone 3G 8GB SECONDHAND - it would cost you about RM2000 right? Correct me if I am wrong. And you will be paying like at least RM150 with the unlimited data usage if you plan is VP50.

With the iVP155 for 12 month - you will be getting your iPhone 3G 8GB for RM1780 and with 1GB data usage per month which is more than sufficient. RM155 is much similar than paying VP50 + RM99 for unlimited data usage and much cheaper than buying the singtel iphone 3G 8GB.

Some may argue that you dont need the RM99 unlimited data usage - frankly to me the iphone is hopeless without data usage. So Maxis is offering a pretty good deal if you look at the overall package. Dont just look at the price of the iphone - look beyond it.
yewjin
post Mar 20 2009, 04:31 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Mar 19 2009, 04:50 PM)
How does this plan works eh with Family Plus plan?..positive/negative sides
no family plus plan with the ivalue. Sorry. No more free calls between supplementary lines right?
yewjin
post Mar 20 2009, 05:55 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Mar 20 2009, 05:52 PM)
same here, currently under VP80+FP50, so cant shift to any of ivalue plan, or else sure will grab one white iphone this evening  rolleyes.gif
Well that is the disadvantage of iValue plan but my family plan (calls to my supp lines) doesn't come up to that much either. My other calls are huge - average RM200 a month so iValue would be good for heavy users.

Question : What if I take the iValue 155 and my local calls are RM55 but my international calls are RM100. Am I charged RM155 or RM155 + International calls. I call overseas a lot!
yewjin
post Mar 20 2009, 06:01 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(vui_msia @ Mar 20 2009, 05:57 PM)
Ivalue really targat on iphone personal usage ONLY. no sms, no free calls between family & members... mad.gif
damn you are right and if use international call - need to top up. E.g. ivalue plan + sms + mms + roaming charges + international calls - wah lau.. not so good ler..

What is included in the bundled talk time of an i-Value plan?
The bundled talk time includes only domestic calls (on-net & off-net). Hence, it
excludes Video Calls, IDD, International Roaming, Value Extras subscriptions,
SMS, Downloads and other subscription-based services.
yewjin
post Apr 10 2009, 11:23 AM

356 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Apr 8 2009, 10:28 PM)
anyone got suggest where to get my maxis iphone?
at machine? or during the coming pc fair ?
saw machine got free gift that day, but forgot what it is sweat.gif
yeah there is a free gift for every maxis iphone. A belkin case.

I got my iphone and am a heavy internet, email - PUSH, application user. Got my iphone on the 22nd of March and today is the 10th of April. In the 19 days, my download usage is about 391 MB and counting. I got another 12 days or so but I doubt it will hit my 1GB limit. 500MB for an average user would be ok.

This post has been edited by yewjin: Apr 10 2009, 11:24 AM
yewjin
post Apr 23 2009, 11:34 PM

356 posts

Added on April 23, 2009, 6:45 pm
QUOTE(graneon @ Apr 23 2009, 02:38 AM)
just wondering what is the data usage for each chat imput thru yahoo messenger? or what is the likely data usage for constance chatting, say for an hour? is 500mb per month sufficient if you're frequently online chatting?
I have exceeded my 500mb usage due to heavy email, applications, web surfing, skype calls and some yahoo messenger. I exceeded but by not much so with some precaution 500mb maybe just nice. 

Added on April 23, 2009, 11:41 pm
QUOTE(prototype_x0 @ Apr 23 2009, 05:46 PM)
can anyone using maxis set share your experience? what will happen if use maxis set with other simcard from celcom/digi/umobile etc...? please share... thanks.
actually when overseas I used a local (foreign) sim card on my maxis iPhone and it works without hiccups.

This post has been edited by yewjin: Apr 23 2009, 11:41 PM
yewjin
post May 21 2009, 12:24 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(samngcheesan @ May 16 2009, 05:45 PM)
just take a minimum Value 50 + RM 99 [ 3gb ] = iphone3G will be Rm 1700
damn it. the new plans are more attractive. The Value 50 + iData RM99 - is still cheaper than my iValue 155 - The new plan has a family plan as well - calling between family numbers are free which is not in the iValue plans... WTF!!!

0.0311sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:25 PM