Hardware MacBook Alu HOT, MacBook Alum feel hot
MetalZone
Jul 23 2009, 12:44 AM
In my opinion, Apple is a bit too conservative to try to keep it's Macbooks silent. Some users have reported the MBP crashing when trying to game just upon starting up their a MBP. the fan speed doesn't ramp up fast enough resulting in a crash due to overheating.
What I did is just to adjust the graph of which it uses to ramp up the fan speed in proportion to the CPU temp. Help's keep the temps down while not keeping the fan running at a high speed all the time. So I suggest not using smcFanControl but instead look for Fan Control (a different app) to control how fast your fan speed ramps up.
Masamune
Jul 23 2009, 05:56 PM
Guys my MB alu seems hot these few days.. Running nothing...just maybe safari and adium + mail.. My fan speed goes up to 6k+ rpm and the temp is like 65 degress celcius..
cRazYee
Jul 23 2009, 06:24 PM
super hot use in windows in summer
aizad02
Jul 23 2009, 07:17 PM
from what i read in apple website,we are not advised to take out the macbook battery. Apple recommends to NEVER take out the battery,that's why now the latest version of macbook pro,they use an internal battery. maybe bcoz there's some ppl who likes to take out battery to spare the battery life cycle. I think there's something connected to the system hardware that needs the battery to be attach to the macbook. Maybe some of heat issues caused by taking out the battery. just maybe.
Masamune
Jul 23 2009, 08:02 PM
I never ever take out the battery as i've read online not to take out.. But at times my laptop really hot and the fan rpm very high.. I'm not even running on AC..
shumaky
Jul 24 2009, 12:04 AM
There was this dude in the garage sale that is selling a cooler pad made from gel. Anyone got the link. I cant seem to find it.
MetalZone
Jul 24 2009, 10:48 AM
http://www.thermapak.com/yes there is someone selling the above in the trade zone. just give it a search. i bought this for my mbp. there is also another much cheaper one whos effectiveness is unknown.
preducer
Jul 25 2009, 02:51 PM
better get thermpak atleast the review is good.
BridgestoneRE711
Jul 26 2009, 12:06 PM
Macbook battery is quite advanced that it has it's own chip to count the charge cycle and manage it's power.
if i am not too mistaken , the era where the battery will be overcharged is over already. most of the laptop battery has it's own controller chip inside to prevent overcharging. as a result of that it is always better to put it in.
imjowen
Jul 29 2009, 06:22 PM

just bought 1 recently, luckily dun have problem lik this.
Superman7
Jul 29 2009, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(imjowen @ Jul 29 2009, 06:22 PM) just bought 1 recently, luckily dun have problem lik this. bought what? the MB or Thermapak?
jind86
Jul 29 2009, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Jul 26 2009, 12:06 PM) Macbook battery is quite advanced that it has it's own chip to count the charge cycle and manage it's power. if i am not too mistaken , the era where the battery will be overcharged is over already. most of the laptop battery has it's own controller chip inside to prevent overcharging. as a result of that it is always better to put it in. talking about the batteries, what about if the battery is already fully charged and the laptop is in sleep? where does the power go then? will it affect negatively onto the battery then? (somehow i know it won't affect battery performance but i just feel paranoid leaving the AC plug on when my MBP on sleep)..
nimrod323
Jul 29 2009, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(jind86 @ Jul 29 2009, 09:38 PM) talking about the batteries, what about if the battery is already fully charged and the laptop is in sleep? w here does the power go then? will it affect negatively onto the battery then?(somehow i know it won't affect battery performance but i just feel paranoid leaving the AC plug on when my MBP on sleep).. the battery is still bypassed by the AC even then.
sugarboi
Jul 30 2009, 09:29 PM
Has anyone's Mac gotten so hot that when you're watching a movie/online clip the the whole video and audio goes into slow motion? For me its usually about 82c. Thats the highest I've even gotten. Fans were spinning at 6200 rpm.
nimrod323
Jul 30 2009, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(sugarboi @ Jul 30 2009, 09:29 PM) Has anyone's Mac gotten so hot that when you're watching a movie/online clip the the whole video and audio goes into slow motion? For me its usually about 82c. Thats the highest I've even gotten. Fans were spinning at 6200 rpm. thats weird, never faced this problem before,is anything covering your exhaust vents?
Superman7
Jul 30 2009, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(sugarboi @ Jul 30 2009, 09:29 PM) Has anyone's Mac gotten so hot that when you're watching a movie/online clip the the whole video and audio goes into slow motion? For me its usually about 82c. Thats the highest I've even gotten. Fans were spinning at 6200 rpm. nope.. normally I get mine to be around 65 degC..
sugarboi
Jul 30 2009, 11:06 PM
Nope. When that happens I start closing tabs and applications and put my mac on top of a dictionary for ventilation. Seems to solve the problem.
jind86
Jul 31 2009, 05:14 PM
guys, what is the normal range for the temperature and fanspeed? and what is the temperature and fanspeed which is considered too high?
siawgu
Jul 31 2009, 06:06 PM
when normal usage the temperature is about 59-70C. if play game it up to 82C n you can hear the fan speeding in full blast..