86 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Travel Outdoor activities, hiking & camping, treking, rock climbing & more xtreme act

pilotHans
post Feb 1 2012, 06:58 PM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

just went to outdoor centre in jln ampang around 5.15pm to only find it closed sad.gif
base on website its open till 6.30pm..........i even tried calling on my way there but no one answered sad.gif
thought they were bz with customers so..hmm..

QUOTE(aidono @ Feb 1 2012, 05:00 PM)
Might as well buy a durable tent from Coleman first unless you have good money to fork to an ultralight tent. Damage RM200++. You can head to Jusco Mid Valley or UFL at Bangsar (the same row as McDonald)
okay, coleman sounds ok...damange 200++ is for a coleman or for the ultralight ones sweat.gif

among other features i find useful is a tent with a ventilation on top/can open/close....saw some vid on youtube blush.gif
b00n
post Feb 1 2012, 09:05 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

RM200+ is for coleman.
Ultralight costed much more than that. EG: a 2 man ultralight MSR hubba costs almost around RM1k. Whereas for Coleman, RM200+ can get you a 4 people tent.

Added on February 1, 2012, 9:06 pm
If you're not pressed for time, you may try PM Keong and ask his opinion. He is one outdoor guru... smile.gif

-------------

Just noticed he no longer log in to LYN.
Anyway, this is facebook link where he help source for outdoor stuffs: https://www.facebook.com/ogmadmin
And this is blog: http://www.my-rainforest-adventures.com/

Anyway, if you're going somewhere with trees; may I suggest hammock camping instead if you're not bringing partners/families. Additional flysheet for a dry area.

Added on February 1, 2012, 9:18 pmHere is another outdoor store in SS2: http://mycorezone.com/ (price is steep because mostly expensive and branded)

There's 2 in Telawi Bangsar.
One is beside Mcdonald (can't recall the shop name), and hosted Dueter and Coleman Jusco and World Of Sport is selling consignment for them.
The other one is Yellowstone or better known as Lafuma. It's at the back facing the residential area.

This in Cheras has affordable stuffs:
http://www.evergreenadventure.cc/default.htm

Tearproof also housed some tents and sleeping bags besides backpacks.

This post has been edited by b00n: Feb 1 2012, 09:18 PM
aidono
post Feb 1 2012, 10:35 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Feb 1 2012, 07:58 PM)
just went to outdoor centre in jln ampang around 5.15pm to only find it closed sad.gif
base on website its open till 6.30pm..........i even tried calling on my way there but no one answered sad.gif
thought they were bz with customers so..hmm..
okay, coleman sounds ok...damange 200++ is for a coleman or for the ultralight ones  sweat.gif

among other features i find useful is a tent with a ventilation on top/can open/close....saw some vid on youtube  blush.gif
Ultra light normally would be around RM1.2k. Coleman got few type of tents - personal preferance Sundome type 3 men tent. Weight not more than 2.5kg if not mistaken. Nowadays I am using fly, and ground. Paiseh paiseh.

Like what Boon stated in the earlier post - those are the place where you can get good hiking stuff. If you love Karrimor brand, head to Jusco 1 Utama. Forget their shop name but remember it is located at Subang Jaya.
putrakorn
post Feb 4 2012, 10:30 PM

42 posts

I want to buy Coleman Sundome tent, where to get???
aidono
post Feb 6 2012, 05:32 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(putrakorn @ Feb 4 2012, 11:30 PM)
I want to buy Coleman Sundome tent, where to get???
You can find them at UFL, Bangsar or Mid Valley's Jusco hiking section if you are from Kuala Lumpur.
pilotHans
post Feb 10 2012, 08:15 PM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

okay, i already bought my 1st tent ....from Outdoor centre, jalan ampang... rclxm9.gif Brand pun Outdoor biggrin.gif
that shop sells a lot of Outdoor stuff..b4 that, i went to Bangsar shop same row with mcD..was close at 930am, yeah i was making
some last minute shopping that day b4 i went camping on the same day...

will post some pictures here once ive uploaded at my photobucket.... smile.gif

My 2012 camp list

jan - Sg Chiling, Ikan kelah santuary thumbup.gif
feb - PD beach, two different spots...with my brand new n 1st tent for four peeps flex.gif
april - Lata hammer... btw, anyone here have experience camping at Sungei Perting Fall aka Lata Hammers ? plz advice icon_question.gif coz im kindda organizing a camp trip there with some of my buddies...around 10 peeps ++...
may - Janda Baik brows.gif
TBC - lumut/pangkor

sorry all for beginners like me blush.gif
aidono
post Feb 10 2012, 08:33 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Feb 10 2012, 09:15 PM)
okay, i already bought my 1st tent ....from Outdoor centre, jalan ampang...   rclxm9.gif Brand pun Outdoor  biggrin.gif
that shop sells a lot of Outdoor stuff..b4 that, i went to Bangsar shop same row with mcD..was close at 930am, yeah i was making

My 2012 camp list

jan - Sg Chiling, Ikan kelah santuary  thumbup.gif
feb - PD beach, two different spots...with my brand new n 1st tent for four peeps  flex.gif
april - Lata hammer... btw, anyone here have experience camping at Sungei Perting Fall aka Lata Hammers ? plz advice  icon_question.gif coz im kindda organizing a camp trip there with some of my buddies...around 10 peeps ++...
may - Janda Baik  brows.gif
TBC - lumut/pangkor

sorry all for beginners like me  blush.gif
Lata Perting got a campsite right beside the waterfall, but as I warned earlier please be careful when playing at that waterfall due to strong underwater current. You will need to cross the first river before jungle trek about 30-45 minutes before reaching a slope which head down. Once you reach the slope bottom, you will be able to see the waterfall on the left and you will need to cross for the second time to reach the campsite. Camp at the higher ground and not the lower. Can pitch quite a number of tents and hammocks.

Janda Baik - You can do Lata Chemperoh when you are on your way up to Gunung Nuang - if you intended to do. If to the waterfall, it will took you only 1.5-2 hours. Trek are quite muddy and infested with leeches. Carpark space are quite limited near to the first river bank crossing.

This post has been edited by aidono: Feb 11 2012, 10:12 AM
Sky.Live
post Feb 13 2012, 05:51 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Jan 17 2012, 03:25 PM)
Bukit Rasa, Rawang
Bukit Tabur, Melawati - Got three (East,West,Extreme)
Bukit Kutu, KKB
Gunung Chenuang, Hulu Langat
Gunung Nuang, Hulu Langat
Gunung Hitam, Hulu Langat
Gunung Ulu Semangkuk, Fraser's Hill
Pine Tree & Twin Peak, Fraser's Hill
Thanks for your help I have done it,

Here is the GPS data for the hike,
http://www.trainingpeaks.com/sw/ETN7OBTBT7BEVNCHBCXMLUYPPM

It's really difficult and as kids, uncles, auntie pass by me like nothing, I am the last person from start. I think i need to shred a lot of weight to be good. Also spoiled my newly bought VFF for this.. heart broken now T_T..

But have a great experience of knowing what a climbathon is, also Gunung Datuk is a good training spot, straight ascending to near 900m too me 1:15 to do that = ="

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Jan 19 2012, 03:10 PM)
update 1st Entry plz . can even put the names of people who went there..so next time some newbies in the topic(like me  blush.gif ) i know who to ask/pm perhaps? smile.gif

Hiking trail around klang valley
1) Bukit Saga (my training spot)
2) Broga (too crowded IMO)
3) Gasing - never been before
4) Bukit Tabur, Melawati - would want to go again, only done once
5) Gunung Nuang / Camp Pacat - Never did but interested to do at least once
6) Templer park - if you consider that as hike it's quite nice actually
7) Bukit Rasa, Rawang
8) Bukit Kutu, KKB
9) Gunung Chenuang, Hulu Langat
10) Gunung Nuang, Hulu Langat
11) Gunung Hitam, Hulu Langat
12) Gunung Ulu Semangkuk, Fraser's Hill
13) Pine Tree & Twin Peak, Fraser's Hill
14) Sg Chiling, KKB.  - pilotHans - went camping there 1st week of Jan  icon_idea.gif

Hiking in Pahang
-lata hammer?

Hiking in Perak
-

Hiking in N9
-gunung angsi /ulu bendul

just my suggestion  icon_idea.gif
I just realise we have the same
1) same
2) agree
3) same
4) done once too
5) Interested to do too
6) Templer park, yeah it's nice, i used to go there once a week when I was a kid.

Others not done b4

Pahang - never did b4
N9 - Mt KK if you consider

Others - Sarawak Mulu Pinnacles

maybe we can meet up someday for gunung nuang
etigge
post Feb 14 2012, 05:30 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Feb 10 2012, 08:15 PM)
okay, i already bought my 1st tent ....from Outdoor centre, jalan ampang...  rclxm9.gif Brand pun Outdoor  biggrin.gif

jan - Sg Chiling, Ikan kelah santuary  thumbup.gif

Just to let you know, the only campsite in Chilling is at the grounds of the Fisheries Department. It is only there they allow open fire and anything beyond the bridge(where the waterfall is), they do not allow open fire.

If you prefer waterfall campsites, Lata Naning in Bentong  thumbup.gif  Almost unreachable to those normal waterfall visitors. I will be going Lubuk Mecu and Lata Medang this weekend. Will post pictures of it for you.

aidono
post Feb 14 2012, 08:34 AM

1,124 posts

Lata Naning can be reachable expecially for normal waterfall visitors. It is just the matter you can get used to long distance trekking. Lata Naning got two falls (I am referring to 50 - 100m height only).

Lata Medang also the same. Located at Kampung Pertak, KKB and got two falls. One you can enjoy the pool and the other you can't. One thing for sure, Lata Medang would be a great place to take photography if you are into one. Be aware that the route heading to Medang might have lots of snake sad.gif and durian smile.gif

Added on February 14, 2012, 8:40 am
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 13 2012, 06:51 PM)
Thanks for your help I have done it,

Here is the GPS data for the hike,
http://www.trainingpeaks.com/sw/ETN7OBTBT7BEVNCHBCXMLUYPPM

It's really difficult and as kids, uncles, auntie pass by me like nothing, I am the last person from start. I think i need to shred a lot of weight to be good. Also spoiled my newly bought VFF for this.. heart broken now T_T..

But have a great experience of knowing what a climbathon is, also Gunung Datuk is a good training spot, straight ascending to near 900m too me 1:15 to do that = ="

Vibram Five spoilt? I just wonder how did you do that unsure.gif .

This post has been edited by aidono: Feb 14 2012, 08:40 AM
Sky.Live
post Feb 14 2012, 11:50 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ Feb 14 2012, 08:34 AM)
Lata Naning can be reachable expecially for normal waterfall visitors. It is just the matter you can get used to long distance trekking. Lata Naning got two falls (I am referring to 50 - 100m height only).

Lata Medang also the same. Located at Kampung Pertak, KKB and got two falls. One you can enjoy the pool and the other you can't. One thing for sure, Lata Medang would be a great place to take photography if you are into one. Be aware that the route heading to Medang might have lots of snake sad.gif and durian smile.gif

Added on February 14, 2012, 8:40 am

Vibram Five spoilt? I just wonder how did you do that  unsure.gif .
how? not sure..

but anyway

I am not interested in long hike in particular, dislike camping anyway.. hope that there's a one day hike which don't have to carry too much stuff.. carrying water alone is tiring enough

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Feb 14 2012, 11:54 AM
chinkw1
post Feb 15 2012, 06:26 PM

3,158 posts

I would like to buy a 6pax camping tent, air bed, pump.

Which shop to recommend pls??

Coleman too expensive. I want mid range quality one enuff dy.

4Rings
post Feb 17 2012, 01:47 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

Here are a few more at Ampang area.

Hiking trail around klang valley
1) Bukit Saga
2) Broga
3) Gasing
4) Bukit Tabur, Melawati
5) Gunung Nuang / Camp Pacat -
6) Templer park -
7) Bukit Rasa, Rawang
8) Bukit Kutu, KKB
9) Gunung Chenuang, Hulu Langat
10) Gunung Nuang, Hulu Langat
11) Gunung Hitam, Hulu Langat
12) Gunung Ulu Semangkuk, Fraser's Hill
13) Pine Tree & Twin Peak, Fraser's Hill
14) Sg Chiling, KKB.
15) Ampang Jaya/ Bt Indah, Ampang
16) Ketumbar Heights, Ampang
17) Bt Puteh or Bt Apaksan, Ceupacs, Cheras.

Hiking in Pahang
-lata hammer?

Hiking in Perak
-

Hiking in N9
-gunung angsi /ulu bendul

aidono
post Feb 17 2012, 03:03 PM

1,124 posts

Bukit Ketumbar under Cheras area not Ampang, and
Bukit Saga (Jalan Saga 28) and Bukit Apek (Cheras Awana) located at Bukit Puteh Forest Reserve are two different hills o.O
etigge
post Feb 20 2012, 10:31 AM

295 posts

As said previously, I did a trip with KL Hiking Group to Lata Medang and Lubuk Mecu. Too bad the weather was not really favourable and water a bit muddy due to the rain. It was a great hike anyway and we reached the first falls (Lata Medang) within 2 hours from the Kg.Pertak carpark. Another member cleared another path to the upper falls (Lubuk Mecu) and it was another few hundred meters climb and the gushing waterfalls was incredible! thumbup.gif

Lata Medang

Lubuk Mecu

This post has been edited by etigge: Feb 20 2012, 10:32 AM
Crazy07
post Feb 21 2012, 03:28 AM

45 posts

Hi guys,

I’m planning for my first camping trip.
Place not confirm yet, but most probably beach side or waterfall.
Since this is my 1st time going camping i don’t have any camping equipment.....So can i know where i can rent some camping equipment in KL?

At the moment i want to rent the things only coz this trip will be like trial... if everything goes well thn we will plan more trips and will buy our own tent and the other things.

This post has been edited by Crazy07: Feb 21 2012, 03:29 AM
etigge
post Feb 21 2012, 05:56 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Crazy07 @ Feb 21 2012, 03:28 AM)
Hi guys,

I’m planning for my first camping trip. 
Place not confirm yet, but most probably beach side or waterfall.
Since this is my 1st time going camping i don’t have any camping equipment.....So can i know where i can rent some camping equipment in KL? 

At the moment i want to rent the things only coz this trip will be like trial... if everything goes well thn we will plan more trips and  will buy our own tent and the other things.
I doubt there are any establishments or individuals who rents camping equipments. There are afterall not expensive items. Maybe you can try booking trips with outdoor travel agents to try it out and if you are not gamed on trying pre-planned camping trips, a 2 man tent can be bought for just less than RM60 and a 4-man tent can be bought for a mere RM70. They are available in Mudah.my. Other than that stoves are personal choices. Like me I prefer the lighter self made alcohol stoves which is fuel by methylated spirits (easier to carry). Just youtube "alcohol stove" for instructions on how to make them. Then a pair of mess tins is available from Jusco for RM20. Sleeping bags or sleeping mat is a personal choice and some use both together for more comfort. Some use hammock. For a group of 4, they actually cost less than RM100 per person and I think it is easier to just buy them, don't you think so?

For a more practical trip just a ground sheet and a fly sheet, you can actually build yourself a tent. This can even house more people. Check it out in youtube, it can be rewarding and cheap. icon_rolleyes.gif
Crazy07
post Feb 21 2012, 06:30 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 21 2012, 05:56 AM)
I doubt there are any establishments or individuals who rents camping equipments. There are afterall not expensive items. Maybe you can try booking trips with outdoor travel agents to try it out and if you are not gamed on trying pre-planned camping trips, a 2 man tent can be bought for just less than RM60 and a 4-man tent can be bought for a mere RM70. They are available in Mudah.my. Other than that stoves are personal choices. Like me I prefer the lighter self made alcohol stoves which is fuel by methylated spirits (easier to carry). Just youtube "alcohol stove" for instructions on how to make them. Then a pair of mess tins is available from Jusco for RM20. Sleeping bags or sleeping mat is a personal choice and some use both together for more comfort. Some use hammock. For a group of 4, they actually cost less than RM100 per person and I think it is easier to just buy them, don't you think so?

For a more practical trip just a ground sheet and a fly sheet, you can actually build yourself a tent. This can even house more people. Check it out in youtube, it can be rewarding and cheap.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thank you for fast reply bro, notworthy.gif

never know the tents are so cheap, i thought it will be like rm200/300.... I will check in Mudah 1st...!!!!

Added on February 21, 2012, 7:02 amafter went through the whole thread i decide want to go to Chiling Waterfall for camping...

1.) issit safe to camp here.. any problem previously ?
2.) is this place crowded in the weekends ?

This post has been edited by Crazy07: Feb 21 2012, 07:02 AM
etigge
post Feb 21 2012, 10:42 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Crazy07 @ Feb 21 2012, 06:30 AM)
Thank you for fast reply bro, notworthy.gif

never know the tents are so cheap, i thought it will be like rm200/300.... I will check in Mudah 1st...!!!!

Added on February 21, 2012, 7:02 amafter went through the whole thread i decide want to go to Chiling Waterfall for camping...

1.) issit safe to camp here.. any problem previously ?
2.) is this place crowded in the weekends ?
Ha,ha,ha. Chilling would be the safest place to camp because you will be setting up tent on the same compound as where the Fisheries Department chalets are. That's the only place you can set up camps. It's a heavily regulated place as it is a fish santuary (Kelah's). You can only go beyond that with permission (where the waterfall is). The chalets and the camping grounds is beside the river and guess what? It is ladies friendly too. There's bathing and toilet facilities too. Camping there is not really roughing it out. It's sometimes busy during weekends but mostly day trippers to the waterfall. Not many camp there though as you have to cross the river 6 times to reach the waterfall and you are not allowed to start an open fire or camp at the waterfall.

Added on February 28, 2012, 9:39 amHai, mountain trekkers! smile.gif

I have just got a quote from the guide for Mount Tahan. I am a slow trekker but dreamt of summitting G.Tahan but most of the times the schedule was more for the fitter climbers. So, I decided to organize a slower ascent from Merapoh which usually takes 5 days but I prolonged it to 7 days. To make the ascent more successful, the meals and tents are also provided by the guides and also we are also not required to carry them to the peak. This expedition will be easier although mentally we still need to be strong and we also have to be regular hikers and must be fit.

For those who are interested, please PM me for details. The minimum number required is 10, so places are limited. The cost for each person is RM1350.00 inclusive of guides, park fees, 2 days hostel accomodation (on arrival and also upon descending), all meals and camp. These 2 days accomodation are not included in the real climb so it is actually a 9 day holiday. PM me with your email add and I will firward the guides itinerary and also quote to you. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Feb 28 2012, 09:39 AM
etigge
post Mar 7 2012, 09:59 AM

295 posts

I have always wanted to reached this magnificient peak but at the same time did not want to hamper others' effort as my fitness is in question. My main aim in this trip is to reach the peak and also to enjoy the multiple days camping. The forest reserve in that area and also the camping sites there are well known and used. This trip will accommodate those who are into nature photography too as the speed of the trek will be at a leisurely pace so you can take your time taking photos and will not slow down the whole group as we have all the time to summit. We will used the faster Taman Negara Sungai Relau, Merapoh route but spend a longer time ascending. The whole trip will take 7 days actual hike with another 2 days for rest at the hostel upon arrival and also after hike before departing. All the camps and meals ( I mean all 4 meals per day) are catered for and also carried by the guide's team. We only have to bring our personal snack and also our mat and sleeping bag. This way we only have to carry a smaller backpack making the trip much easier for us. The proposed itinerary are a follows as suggested by the registered guide. The guide has proposed an average 4 hours trekking per day but this timetable is for the seasoned and fitter hikers so for hikers like me, it would be an average of 6 to 7 hours daily with lots of time to rest in between. Most importantly, the aim is to reach the summit.

Day 00 - Arrival at Taman Negara Sungai Relau. Check into hostel and briefing by the guides and also last minute equipment check. Meals are on our own here.

Day 01 - 0830 hours. Registration and documentation process by Perhilitan (forestry dept). Depart by 4WD to Kuala Juram. Start hike and will push to Kem Kor (13.5 kms. + 750m asl) This is actually the longest hike per day for the whole duration but the gradient is easier.

Day 02 - Kem Kor to Kem Kubang (6 kms. + 1406m asl) Day 03 - Kem Kubang to Kem Botak (10 kms. + 1943m asl) Although the distance is 10 kms but there only less than 500 metrs ascent.

Day 04 - Kem Botak to Summit and descend back to Kem Bonsai. (2.4 kms. ascend to peak 2187m asl and 5.4 kms. descend back to Kem Bonsai 1705m asl))

Day 05 - Kem Bonsai back to Kem Kubang (7 kms.)

Day 06 - Kem Kubang back to Kem Kor (6 kms.)

Day 07 - Kem Kor back to Kuala Juram (13.5 kms.) Then ferried back by 4WD to Sungai Relau and check into hostel for a real bath and rest. Documentation and issuance of certificate. You can either depart or rest for another day before departing the next day.

The price quoted by the guide was RM1350 per pax for a minimum of 10 pax and max 12 pax. So, I will also limit the hikers to that number. The guide requires a 50% deposit and the balance 14 days before departure. If we have less RVSPs, we might scuttle the plan or we can re-negotiate with the guide, so this is a tentative suggestion. Please bear in mind, Perhilitan only allows 48 hikers at any one time in the forest reserve. If we can confirm earlier, we can confirm the date.

If you are interested, pls. RVSP in the following site.
http://www.meetup.com/KLhiking/events/55273972/

86 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0319sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:08 PM