Travel Outdoor activities, hiking & camping, treking, rock climbing & more xtreme act

etigge
post Oct 4 2010, 12:12 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(determinism @ Oct 4 2010, 04:39 AM)
10/10/10 is just around the corner
i believe many has already decided what to do on this special date
but if you still dont have any plan

why dont you join my camping and hiking trip to Gunung Tahan 8-11oct
we are planning to be at the peak on 101010

p/s im not travel agent neither do i run any outdoor company, just do this for fun
4 days! Must be quite tough. I am gamed but the duration too short. I am a slow trekker, tongue.gif Which starting point will you be starting from?
etigge
post Oct 16 2010, 10:57 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(leozai @ Oct 15 2010, 05:15 PM)
hi there... any other hiking place to recommend ???

i have been went to
-broga hill
-bukit gasing
-bukit Apek

any others?
biggrin.gif If you want nearby, try G.Nuang.
etigge
post Nov 24 2010, 10:13 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(K3yboardWarrior @ Nov 24 2010, 03:14 PM)
Dear All,

Appreciate your kind input on (actual)camping site available which is not too extreme in Selangor preferably nearby or in Klang Valley, a few friends of mine is planing on a 3d2n camping activity with few girls involved thus some of them have their worries on security and convenience on the camp site (trust convenience wise wont be much of an issue as most of them expect what is to come about when they mean camping).

To those who are lazy to read:-

- I need campsite name/location and procedures (if any to camp there)
- Any useful advice or better past experience

P.S: any1 camped on brogahill before? will it be safe and convenient?
hmm.gif Camping is roughing it out and maybe adventurous to some. If you want a camping site, it must be near a water source. I don't think Broga has a water source eg. by the river banks that are clean and clear. I can think of Ulu Pangsoon which is at the 18th mile Ulu Langat. Entrance is via Cheras near the 11th mile. Safety wise, it is better to have at least one or better, more that are used to camping. The river there is a quite clear and clean and you need to register with the Forestry wardens there so safety wise is OK. I was late once coming out and they sent villagers to look for us.

It is also the starting trail for Gunung Nuang which is the highest peak in Selangor. The entrance is at the Forestry Department in Ulu Pangsoon.
PS. You have to hike 5 kms. to reach the river banks though.
etigge
post Aug 9 2011, 11:54 PM

295 posts

I think the base of Gunung Nuang in Ulu Pangsoon, Hulu Langat is suitable. It is quite near the city near Kajang and the river is cooling and drinkable after boiling and the campsites realtively safe within the forestry station. Sore point is you got to hike 5 kilometers to the camp site but parking facilities is good. For those fitter campers can hike up Gunung Nuang. I had an experience when I didn't turn up after the planned time that I was supposed to leave, the Penghulu came with a few guys on motorcycles to look for you. You have to register yourself at the Forestry Ranger station. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Aug 9 2011, 11:54 PM
etigge
post Dec 30 2011, 03:29 PM

295 posts

There's a mountain hike to Gunung Rajah on the 7th Jan. Saturday. Interested? thumbup.gif It will be an ascend to 1683 meters summit and also descend on the same day. 100 people have confrimed for this hike, are you gamed? If you are check out this site. Off course, I will be going too.

http://www.meetup.com/KLhiking/events/41086252/
etigge
post Jan 4 2012, 03:39 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(esprit25 @ Jan 4 2012, 09:37 AM)
hike once with the member from meetup.com.. horrible experience.. not well organize and group leader dun have enough experience to guide.. total failure..
Meetup.com is just a site for hikers to meet and and to plan to hike in a group. They are not profit orientated and do not receive any fees for assisting interested hikers to hike. They are actually helping out groups to hike for safety purposes and also to let hikers alike to meetup and create their own groups and for newcomers to join the hikes done by the others. You can actually suggest or organise your own hikes and post your plans there so others can join you. They are not a paid guided tour or something. I think co-organizers in the group deserved to be praised for doing it for free.

Can you explain more on your horrible experience? hmm.gif
etigge
post Jan 20 2012, 05:08 PM

295 posts

If you are looking for camping sites without hiking you can actually do that in Chamang waterfalls in Bentong. You can just camp beside the carpark which is just beside the river. laugh.gif There are also toilet and bathing facilities there. Just after Bentong town on the road to Raub, lookout on the left for Chamang and drive till the end.

etigge
post Feb 14 2012, 05:30 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Feb 10 2012, 08:15 PM)
okay, i already bought my 1st tent ....from Outdoor centre, jalan ampang...  rclxm9.gif Brand pun Outdoor  biggrin.gif
that shop sells a lot of Outdoor stuff..b4 that, i went to Bangsar shop same row with mcD..was close at 930am, yeah i was making
some last minute shopping that day b4 i went camping on the same day...

will post some pictures here once ive uploaded at my photobucket.... smile.gif

jan - Sg Chiling, Ikan kelah santuary  thumbup.gif

Just to let you know, the only campsite in Chilling is at the grounds of the Fisheries Department. It is only there they allow open fire and anything beyond the bridge(where the waterfall is), they do not allow open fire.

If you prefer waterfall campsites, Lata Naning in Bentong  thumbup.gif  Almost unreachable to those normal waterfall visitors. I will be going Lubuk Mecu and Lata Medang this weekend. Will post pictures of it for you.

etigge
post Feb 20 2012, 10:31 AM

295 posts

As said previously, I did a trip with KL Hiking Group to Lata Medang and Lubuk Mecu. Too bad the weather was not really favourable and water a bit muddy due to the rain. It was a great hike anyway and we reached the first falls (Lata Medang) within 2 hours from the Kg.Pertak carpark. Another member cleared another path to the upper falls (Lubuk Mecu) and it was another few hundred meters climb and the gushing waterfalls was incredible! thumbup.gif

Lata Medang

Lubuk Mecu

This post has been edited by etigge: Feb 20 2012, 10:32 AM
etigge
post Feb 21 2012, 05:56 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Crazy07 @ Feb 21 2012, 03:28 AM)
Hi guys,

I’m planning for my first camping trip. 
Place not confirm yet, but most probably beach side or waterfall.
Since this is my 1st time going camping i don’t have any camping equipment.....So can i know where i can rent some camping equipment in KL? 

At the moment i want to rent the things only coz this trip will be like trial... if everything goes well thn we will plan more trips and  will buy our own tent and the other things.
I doubt there are any establishments or individuals who rents camping equipments. There are afterall not expensive items. Maybe you can try booking trips with outdoor travel agents to try it out and if you are not gamed on trying pre-planned camping trips, a 2 man tent can be bought for just less than RM60 and a 4-man tent can be bought for a mere RM70. They are available in Mudah.my. Other than that stoves are personal choices. Like me I prefer the lighter self made alcohol stoves which is fuel by methylated spirits (easier to carry). Just youtube "alcohol stove" for instructions on how to make them. Then a pair of mess tins is available from Jusco for RM20. Sleeping bags or sleeping mat is a personal choice and some use both together for more comfort. Some use hammock. For a group of 4, they actually cost less than RM100 per person and I think it is easier to just buy them, don't you think so?

For a more practical trip just a ground sheet and a fly sheet, you can actually build yourself a tent. This can even house more people. Check it out in youtube, it can be rewarding and cheap. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Feb 21 2012, 10:42 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Crazy07 @ Feb 21 2012, 06:30 AM)
Thank you for fast reply bro, notworthy.gif

never know the tents are so cheap, i thought it will be like rm200/300.... I will check in Mudah 1st...!!!!

Added on February 21, 2012, 7:02 amafter went through the whole thread i decide want to go to Chiling Waterfall for camping...

1.) issit safe to camp here.. any problem previously ?
2.) is this place crowded in the weekends ?
Ha,ha,ha. Chilling would be the safest place to camp because you will be setting up tent on the same compound as where the Fisheries Department chalets are. That's the only place you can set up camps. It's a heavily regulated place as it is a fish santuary (Kelah's). You can only go beyond that with permission (where the waterfall is). The chalets and the camping grounds is beside the river and guess what? It is ladies friendly too. There's bathing and toilet facilities too. Camping there is not really roughing it out. It's sometimes busy during weekends but mostly day trippers to the waterfall. Not many camp there though as you have to cross the river 6 times to reach the waterfall and you are not allowed to start an open fire or camp at the waterfall.

Added on February 28, 2012, 9:39 amHai, mountain trekkers! smile.gif

I have just got a quote from the guide for Mount Tahan. I am a slow trekker but dreamt of summitting G.Tahan but most of the times the schedule was more for the fitter climbers. So, I decided to organize a slower ascent from Merapoh which usually takes 5 days but I prolonged it to 7 days. To make the ascent more successful, the meals and tents are also provided by the guides and also we are also not required to carry them to the peak. This expedition will be easier although mentally we still need to be strong and we also have to be regular hikers and must be fit.

For those who are interested, please PM me for details. The minimum number required is 10, so places are limited. The cost for each person is RM1350.00 inclusive of guides, park fees, 2 days hostel accomodation (on arrival and also upon descending), all meals and camp. These 2 days accomodation are not included in the real climb so it is actually a 9 day holiday. PM me with your email add and I will firward the guides itinerary and also quote to you. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Feb 28 2012, 09:39 AM
etigge
post Mar 7 2012, 09:59 AM

295 posts

I have always wanted to reached this magnificient peak but at the same time did not want to hamper others' effort as my fitness is in question. My main aim in this trip is to reach the peak and also to enjoy the multiple days camping. The forest reserve in that area and also the camping sites there are well known and used. This trip will accommodate those who are into nature photography too as the speed of the trek will be at a leisurely pace so you can take your time taking photos and will not slow down the whole group as we have all the time to summit. We will used the faster Taman Negara Sungai Relau, Merapoh route but spend a longer time ascending. The whole trip will take 7 days actual hike with another 2 days for rest at the hostel upon arrival and also after hike before departing. All the camps and meals ( I mean all 4 meals per day) are catered for and also carried by the guide's team. We only have to bring our personal snack and also our mat and sleeping bag. This way we only have to carry a smaller backpack making the trip much easier for us. The proposed itinerary are a follows as suggested by the registered guide. The guide has proposed an average 4 hours trekking per day but this timetable is for the seasoned and fitter hikers so for hikers like me, it would be an average of 6 to 7 hours daily with lots of time to rest in between. Most importantly, the aim is to reach the summit.

Day 00 - Arrival at Taman Negara Sungai Relau. Check into hostel and briefing by the guides and also last minute equipment check. Meals are on our own here.

Day 01 - 0830 hours. Registration and documentation process by Perhilitan (forestry dept). Depart by 4WD to Kuala Juram. Start hike and will push to Kem Kor (13.5 kms. + 750m asl) This is actually the longest hike per day for the whole duration but the gradient is easier.

Day 02 - Kem Kor to Kem Kubang (6 kms. + 1406m asl) Day 03 - Kem Kubang to Kem Botak (10 kms. + 1943m asl) Although the distance is 10 kms but there only less than 500 metrs ascent.

Day 04 - Kem Botak to Summit and descend back to Kem Bonsai. (2.4 kms. ascend to peak 2187m asl and 5.4 kms. descend back to Kem Bonsai 1705m asl))

Day 05 - Kem Bonsai back to Kem Kubang (7 kms.)

Day 06 - Kem Kubang back to Kem Kor (6 kms.)

Day 07 - Kem Kor back to Kuala Juram (13.5 kms.) Then ferried back by 4WD to Sungai Relau and check into hostel for a real bath and rest. Documentation and issuance of certificate. You can either depart or rest for another day before departing the next day.

The price quoted by the guide was RM1350 per pax for a minimum of 10 pax and max 12 pax. So, I will also limit the hikers to that number. The guide requires a 50% deposit and the balance 14 days before departure. If we have less RVSPs, we might scuttle the plan or we can re-negotiate with the guide, so this is a tentative suggestion. Please bear in mind, Perhilitan only allows 48 hikers at any one time in the forest reserve. If we can confirm earlier, we can confirm the date.

If you are interested, pls. RVSP in the following site.
http://www.meetup.com/KLhiking/events/55273972/
etigge
post Apr 23 2012, 07:38 AM

295 posts

I have been joining groups from KL Hiking and Meeting since September last year. So far, have been to Saga Hill, Angsi, Datuk, Kutu, Nuang, Ulu Semangkok, Rajah, Broga and Tok Wan and for waterfalls to Lata Medang and Chilling. They are not hardcores and they also have simple hikes to Gasing Hill and Saga hills. There are also Gunung Tahan and Ulu Sepat trips. Join them and you will find a new group of friends and at all levels.
etigge
post Apr 24 2012, 07:30 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Apr 23 2012, 01:09 PM)
atigge, Medang got camp site? thanks.
Yes, there's a camping spot in Medang but it's not big. It can fit maybe a group of 10 and off course you can improvise if the group is larger.

Added on April 24, 2012, 7:35 am
QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 23 2012, 10:23 PM)
what are the tips when beginners joining any elite group for hiking? im sure the elite won't like newcomer to slow  them down. when joining groups like that, it's best to train a little bit am i right?
In KL HIking, the group will naturally break into groups. The faster ones will hike at the front and moderate ones hikes averagely and the slower ones like myself (lol) will always be at the back. You have to hike at your comfort pace and trying to force yourself to catch up with the others will tire you out. Finally you can't hike anymore. Find a group which takes care of every hiker. There's always a sweeper at the back who knows the trail so nobody gets lost. Problem with many newbies is they try to keep the pace with experienced hikers and in the process did not enjoy the hike and gave up! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Apr 24 2012, 07:35 AM
etigge
post Apr 26 2012, 04:16 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 25 2012, 11:09 PM)
do u carry a pocket knife? im thinking to get Swiss Knife, afraid of Tiger or Wild Boar attack.
Ha,ha,ha. That's the perception of most people. You won't find wild boars in FRIM or Gasing Hills and chances of meeting tigers is almost nil. The only news of wild boars I have heard is in Liang East West and even that, the boars will move away when they sense the presence of humans. They are even more scary meeting us than the other way. Snakes also can sense vibrations and the moment when a herd of humans are tramping nearby they slithered away. Getting the knife for emergencies is a good idea but not for protection against wild animals. laugh.gif
etigge
post Apr 30 2012, 10:34 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Naughtybones @ Apr 27 2012, 08:30 PM)
Anybody interested in going trekking at klang gates on the 13th May?Me and Hackwire are in... any rookie trekkers are most welcome to join.
I can join you on the 13th and take you to the lake. What time? Shall we meet at 7.00am at the Zoo entrance?
etigge
post Apr 30 2012, 02:58 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Naughtybones @ Apr 30 2012, 12:24 PM)
Oh that would be nice, hackwire?
Etigge we r not exactly at tip top condition, so last thing would be to slow you down...
I am not a fast hiker, don't worry. laugh.gif
etigge
post May 1 2012, 11:33 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Naughtybones @ May 1 2012, 09:29 PM)
Yes I believe its called bukit taburfrom what i have read.
I don't think we are doing Tabur. we are just hiking the simple trail from Kemensah village to the dam. There are also views from the hills behind the quartz ridge. I don't think I want to clamber up the rock faces of Tabur.
etigge
post May 3 2012, 11:17 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Naughtybones @ May 2 2012, 08:27 AM)
Oh ok, my mistake. A simple trail hike would be good enough for a start. Pseudogene how many in your group? Btw i have never hike in klang gates b4 so any question ettigge would be a better person ask.

Added on May 2, 2012, 8:34 amSo tentatively we set d date on the 13th may? Anybody has d coordinates where we can park our cars?ettigge? Need a good safe place to park our cars so that we can hike in peace of mind without worries of our vehicles being damage or worst stolen. Anybody else wanna join up? More the merrier.
Don't worry. There's a car park at the trail head where we have to pay RM2 per car. I think it should be safe.
etigge
post May 12 2012, 02:32 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ May 10 2012, 09:03 PM)
Thanks, will check that out. Any other brands?
Sports Direct sells a few brands of hiking shoes, namely Karrimor, Campri and the higher priced Hitecs. Karrimor also have higher priced models. don't get too dependant on the Vibram as it is also as useless if the trail is really muddy. Sadly, you cannot really try a pair until you hit the trails. I have to change 3 times until I find one that is quite OK to me, price considered too! I started off with Merrel but found out the soles are not that grippy and then a pair of bargained Hitec from Outdoor world. The Hitec was good but the soles are too soft for my heavy body and pebbles nudged my soles and this made me choose the harder soled Hitec for the next purchase. Least but not least! Timberland is like a Ferrari in Petaling St. Cost a lot but can't find any advantages over the others in fact nowadays they even performed badly over the other brands. Columbia is a good brand!

Added on May 12, 2012, 2:39 am
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ May 8 2012, 01:43 PM)
I never camp in my life, thus to date I only do day hike haha.. hate to carry bulks of things when I do exercises.. I am not that "outdoor" kind of people. Lacking of survival skill can cost you a lot during an outdoor event, even day hike. I'm still trying to learn, touch wood so far so good haven't encounter any major incident yet. I cant imagine one day if i fall down and have crawl all the way down..
Usually when you go camping, just make sure you go with some experienced guys. There are alot of do and don't in camping or even hiking especially when you are hiking into the jungles. Here's a good place to learn about camping and hiking.

http://www.meetup.com/KLhiking/events/62887412/

This post has been edited by etigge: May 12 2012, 02:39 AM

0.0434sec    1.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:41 PM